Slash card, reviewed: a Japan-only USDC Visa with more questions than answers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The first thing to know about the Slash card is the part the marketing tends to bury: it is built almost entirely around the Japanese market. You need to live in Japan, the physical card is shipped within Japan, and the headline product is a Visa that lets you spend USDC anywhere Visa is taken, while merchants receive yen. That is the deal on offer, and for residents of Japan it could be useful. The trouble is how much the public information leaves out: conversion fees, ATM costs, daily limits, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, foreign-transaction fees, and even the card’s currency are not stated on Slash’s own pages. I have gone through what is published, what the press has reported, and what the wider crypto-card category tells us, and I want to walk you through what I found, what is missing, and where this card is likely to fit.

Slash works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Slash is a small, early-stage product with a real-world use case for one specific reader: someone in Japan who holds USDC and wants to spend it on a Visa without first going to an exchange. Outside that use case, the gaps start to add up — no published FX or conversion fee, no ATM disclosure, no statement on Apple Pay or Google Pay, and a cardholder base measured in months rather than years. The score below reflects the experience of using a card that exists, with documented issuance, against the experience of using a card you can plan around.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Japan residents aged 18+; physical cards shipped within Japan only
Cost 3 / 10 Free account opening, low launch prices for the cards, but conversion and FX fees are not stated
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC in the app on Solana and Ethereum; Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM marked as “coming soon”
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Issuer Iquitous, programme run by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. (Singapore), Orico as BIN sponsor; no independent complaints found, but the launch slipped from 2025 to 20 April 2026
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card is instant, physical card available, contactless pay in stores; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM behaviour are not stated
Total 4.6 / 10

If you are a Japan-based USDC holder and you want a Visa, the basics are there. If you live anywhere else, or you need a card you can plan a year of spending around, you should read the rest of this review before you commit.

Who will they give you the card

Slash is residence-based and Japan-only. You have to be a resident of Japan and at least 18 years old. Physical cards are sent within Japan, so even if your address were accepted, the card itself only reaches you inside the country. There is no citizenship rule in the public materials, but the fact that the only address you can ship to is Japanese is the practical limit: this is not a card for travellers or expats outside Japan.

Identity verification is built into the app — it is called *honnin kakunin* in the press coverage — and news reports mention a driver’s licence and biometric authentication as part of that step. Proof of address is not stated on Slash’s own pages, which is the kind of detail that usually shows up once a card has been live for a while and the support pages catch up. If proof of address turns out to be required and you cannot supply a Japanese address, that is where the application would stall.

There is no tier system in place yet. Slash has talked about member tiers ranked by how much you use the service, but those are described as “coming soon” and the perks have not been published. Today the product is a single offer: a virtual card, a physical card, or both, and you can have more than one of each. So the question “which Slash card should I get” does not really exist yet — you choose between virtual and physical, and you wait for the rest.

The card itself is a Visa. The press calls it Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins, and the brand emphasises that. What that label means in practice, and what the card actually does in the till, is the next part of the story.

How to get it

The path starts in the Slash App on iOS or Android. You create an account, complete identity verification, and from there you can issue a virtual card straight away or order a physical card. The virtual card is issued instantly — that is the simplest version of getting started. The physical card is delivered “nationwide” inside Japan, but the public pages do not give a delivery time or a shipping cost, and they do not say what a replacement costs if you lose it.

The card runs on the Visa network. Currency is not stated, which is a small but telling omission. News coverage says merchants are paid in yen, so a Japanese corner shop would receive yen from your USDC balance. That arrangement is what lets Slash call the card a stablecoin card: you hold USDC, the system handles the conversion in the background, and the merchant sees a normal yen transaction. If you take the card abroad, the foreign-transaction fee is not stated, so you have no way to budget for it from the public information.

The KYC process is single-step, not tiered — there is no mention of a basic versus enhanced verification, and there is no published list of accepted documents beyond the driver’s licence reported in the press. A few things that often come up in this kind of flow — proof of address, source-of-funds, occupational information — are not addressed at all. That does not mean Slash never asks for them, but it means there is nothing to plan around.

What it really costs — Fees

The headline prices are friendly. Account opening is free, and during the launch campaign a physical card costs 35 USDC instead of the regular 70 USDC. A virtual card is 20 USDC. The annual fee is free in the first year and 20 USDC from the second year onwards. None of those numbers require a calculator, and at the launch price the physical card is one of the cheaper ways into a Visa paid in stablecoins.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Slash payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The trouble is what the page does not say. The conversion fee, the foreign-transaction fee, ATM fees and the everyday spending limits are all listed as “not stated” in what Slash publishes. That is not the same as zero. It is the same as “you cannot plan around this from the website”, and it is the single biggest reason the cost score sits at 3 out of 10. With most crypto cards, the published fees include a conversion or FX line, so you can compare one offer with another; here, the comparison is on price for the card itself, with everything downstream left blank.

The costs table below shows what is published, and where the public material stops.

Item Amount
Account opening Free
Virtual card 20 USDC
Physical card (regular) 70 USDC
Physical card (launch campaign) 35 USDC
Annual fee, year 1 Free
Annual fee, year 2 onward 20 USDC
Conversion fee Not stated
Foreign-transaction (FX) fee Not stated
ATM fee Not stated
Daily and monthly limits Not stated

To put the costs in plain English, here is what three everyday situations would look like, given only the published information.

If you are the kind of reader who likes to know the total cost of a purchase before you tap, you should email [email protected] and ask. The published pages do not give you a number to work with.

Top up

Topping up Slash is a USDC transfer into the app, on a blockchain, and the choice of network is part of the deal. The published networks are Solana and Ethereum. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are listed as “coming soon”, which is the kind of roadmap line that needs to be checked at the moment you top up, not when you first read about the card.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Slash starts with a transfer to the right network

USDC is the only published funding token. There is no bank top-up, no card top-up, no SEPA or wire transfer described in the help centre articles I could see, and no minimum top-up amount. A stablecoin top-up is a sensible design for this product — it removes the question of “which yen balance do I draw on?” — but it also means you have to already hold USDC, and you have to hold it on a network the card supports, before the card is useful to you.

Two things matter when you move USDC to Slash, and both are general to crypto top-ups, not specific to this card. First, network fees (gas on Ethereum, the small fee on Solana) are paid to the blockchain, not to Slash, but they still come out of the transfer. Second, transfers are irreversible, so a USDC deposit sent on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or stranded in support. The help centre covers this in the usage-guide category, but the article-level details are in Japanese, which is worth knowing if your Japanese is limited.

Paying with it every day

The everyday story is short and mostly positive. You can tap the card at stores, and the press coverage describes contactless pay in shops as the main use case. The virtual card is issued instantly, which makes it useful for online subscriptions and one-off purchases from day one. The physical card has a BIN sponsored by Orico and runs as a normal Visa at the till.

What is missing is a list of where the card does not work well. The merchant-category-code blocklist is not stated, so you do not know whether gambling, crypto purchase, or other common block categories are restricted. Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not stated, and that matters: a card that is not on a phone wallet is harder to use at transport gates and contactless-only tills, and many readers will treat “Apple Pay” as a baseline rather than a feature. The card can be frozen instantly in the app, which is the one safety feature that is documented and useful from the first day.

There is no cashback published. Slash mentions a referral reward, paid out when a friend you referred both issues a card and makes a first payment, and the unofficial press figure is around US$10 equivalent per friend. Member tiers are “coming soon”, and the unofficial press figure for top-tier cashback is up to 1.5%, with a disclaimer that those numbers may change. None of the rewards side is firm yet, so I would treat the “earn” side of the card as a future feature, not a present one.

Support lives at [email protected], with a help centre at slash-card.zendesk.com hosted on Zendesk. The categories that are listed are issuance guide, usage guide, and terms and policies, all in Japanese. Hours and additional languages are not stated, which is the kind of detail that becomes important when something goes wrong at 11pm on a Saturday.

What can go wrong

There are three different kinds of risk to think about with Slash, and they are not equally severe. The first is the operational kind. The launch slipped: the partnership was announced on 13 February 2025, pre-applications opened in June 2025, and card issuance began on 20 April 2026. The general public opening was reported for around August 2026, and CoinPost reported a general public opening on 15 October 2026 with the driver’s licence now accepted for ID. None of this is a complaint, but it is a reminder that the product is in its first year, and a product in its first year is a moving target.

The second is the disclosure kind. A card that does not publish its conversion fee, its FX fee, its ATM fee or its spending limits is a card you cannot model, and a card you cannot model is a card you should test with small amounts first. Independent reviews or complaints were not found in the public search on the date of this review, which is good news in the short term and bad news in the long term — it means there is no track record to learn from, because there is no track record yet.

The third is the regulatory kind. Slash Vision Pte. Ltd., the brand and programme manager, is a Singapore company. The card issuer is Iquitous (iKitas) Inc. in Japan. Orico is the BIN sponsor and supports the international brand. Press releases describe the launch as compliant with Japanese rules including the Installment Sales Act and the Act on Prevention of Transfer of Criminal Proceeds, with strict identity verification and international AML standards. The custody model — who actually holds the USDC, and under what arrangement — is not stated. That is the part of the picture I would want to be clear about before I parked any meaningful balance in the app.

The press and most of the public information are in Japanese, so if you are not a Japanese reader, the support and disclosures are an extra effort. That is not unique to Slash, but it is worth naming.

What to take instead

Slash is one of the smaller and more local crypto cards, and if you do not live in Japan, or you need a card that publishes its fees, the comparison below is the next step. The three alternatives below are all Visa or Mastercard debit-style cards that spend from a crypto or stablecoin balance, and they all publish more of their economics than Slash does.

Card Score Where you can get it Card cost Conversion or FX Rewards
TokenPocket (TP) Card 5.8 / 10 Visa debit in a list of European countries; Mastercard debit in Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, UK, others NFT creation fee partly covered; no additional fees stated 1% on crypto deposit (refundable via rewards); FX not stated No cashback; 1% deposit fee refundable
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 45 listed countries; waitlist elsewhere; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed Virtual free, no annual fee; Metal $199/year “Minimal fee per transaction” (amount not stated); no foreign-transaction fee, Mastercard rate Virtual 1% mUSD; Metal 3% headline (1% over $10,000)
KAST 6.1 / 10 Country list shown at KYC, list not published Standard free; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year 0% on USDC/USDT top-up and USD spend; 0.5%–1.75% non-USD FX 1.5% (Standard) up to 3% (Private) cashback in USD

TokenPocket’s TP Card is a debit card issued on Arbitrum, and it works in the regions where its Visa or Mastercard is licensed. The published fee is a 1% deposit charge that is refundable later through rewards and reduced transaction fees; everything else is described as no additional fee, which is a strong line. Cashback is not part of the offer, and the country coverage is the deciding factor.

MetaMask Card is the strongest of the three on transparency. It publishes its cashback structure (1% on Virtual, up to 3% on Metal, with a footnote that the 3% rate applies to the first $10,000 spent and drops to 1% above that), runs on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and supports mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT. The catch is geography: 45 listed countries with a waitlist elsewhere, and US/UK sign-ups are temporarily closed.

KAST is the high-reward option, with cashback of 1.5% on Standard up to 3% on Private, paid in USD. Its top-up and USD-spend fees are 0%, and its non-USD FX fee is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on where you live and where the transaction is processed. The cost of the higher tiers ($1,000 and $10,000 a year) means the cashback only really pays off at higher spend, and the country list is shown only at KYC, not published in advance.

If you are in Japan and Slash works for you, the choice above is academic. If you are not in Japan, the three cards above are where the comparison starts.

Who I would recommend it to

Slash is for the reader who already lives in Japan, already holds USDC, and wants a Visa to spend that USDC at home and abroad without going through an exchange. For that reader, the launch pricing is reasonable, the virtual card is instant, and the Orico BIN means it is a real Visa, not a card that pretends to be one. The lack of published fees is the trade-off: you should test with a small balance, email support for the numbers you need, and avoid the card for any amount you cannot afford to have stuck while the disclosure catches up.

Slash is not for the reader who needs published FX and ATM fees, who wants a card with cashback, who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay, who lives outside Japan, or who is looking for a long track record of independent reviews. The alternatives in the previous section are the place to start for that reader, and the comparison is a fairer fight once you put fees and rewards on the same page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Slash card?

The Slash card is a Visa that lets you spend a USDC balance at merchants that accept Visa. The card is run by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. in Singapore, with Iquitous as the Japanese issuer and Orico as the BIN sponsor. Merchants receive yen or other local fiat, while you hold USDC.

How does the Slash card work?

You top up USDC in the Slash app on Solana or Ethereum, the system holds that balance, and when you tap the card the conversion is handled in the background. The card can be virtual (issued instantly) or physical (shipped within Japan), and the app lets you freeze the card if you lose it.

Is Slash a bank?

Slash is not a bank. The brand and programme management sit with Slash Vision Pte. Ltd., a Singapore company, and the card is issued by Iquitous (iKitas) Inc. in Japan with Orico sponsoring the Visa BIN. The public materials do not describe a banking licence or deposit insurance.

Where is the Slash card available?

The Slash card is available to residents of Japan aged 18 and over. Physical cards are shipped within Japan, and identity verification is done in the app. There is no public list of supported countries beyond Japan, and the press coverage does not describe an overseas shipping option.

Does the Slash card require KYC?

Yes. Account creation and identity verification, including a driver’s licence and biometric authentication per the press, are part of the signup flow. The exact documents and whether proof of address is required are not stated on the public pages.

How do I top up the Slash card?

You send USDC to a deposit address shown in the Slash app, on either Solana or Ethereum. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are listed as “coming soon”. The minimum top-up, any top-up fee, and any bank top-up option are not stated.

Is the Slash card free?

Account opening is free, the virtual card is 20 USDC, the physical card is 70 USDC (35 USDC during the launch campaign), and the annual fee is free in year 1 and 20 USDC from year 2. Conversion, foreign-transaction and ATM fees are not stated on the public pages.

Can I add the Slash card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not stated in the public materials. If you need contactless payment through a phone wallet, the safe thing is to confirm with [email protected] before you order the card.

Is the Slash card safe?

The press describes compliance with Japanese rules including the Installment Sales Act and AML standards, and the card can be frozen instantly in the app. The custody model — who holds the USDC and under what segregation or insurance — is not stated, and there is no independent review or complaint record yet because the card only began issuance on 20 April 2026.

How do I delete my Slash account?

The public help centre lists account, usage and policy articles in Japanese, but a step-by-step account-deletion article is not in the published list. The practical first step is to email [email protected] and ask for the closure process, including any remaining-balance withdrawal path.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team