PowerPay card review — a virtual dollar card for Nigeria, with more unknowns than answers
PowerPay sells itself as Nigeria’s all-in-one app. The product the site leads with is a virtual dollar card you can top up by selling crypto. If that is the pitch, the interesting questions are not the marketing line but the ones underneath: who actually gets the card, what the fees look like, which networks the crypto comes in on, who issues the card and under which licence, and what recourse you have if something goes wrong. This review goes through those questions, one section at a time, using only what the company’s own pages say. Where the pages do not say something, I say so plainly rather than guess.
The short version is that PowerPay looks like a narrow, local product that simply has not been documented in the way that a card product normally is. That matters if you are comparing it to other options.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
PowerPay earns 4.0 out of 10 in this review. The score is built up from the criteria below. None of the marks are high; the lowest ones reflect what is missing from the public information.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it scores that way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The product is aimed at Nigeria; the site also mentions Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis. There is no public list of supported or excluded countries, and age is not stated. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | No fees are published. The App Store listing speaks of “competitive rates on every swap and sale” without giving a number. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | You can fund the wallet by selling crypto for naira, shillings or cedis; the site says USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH are supported, but the networks are not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | PowerPay Limited (Abuja) operates it, but the card issuer and any licences are not named. No public complaints have surfaced, and the iOS app has a single 5.0 rating. |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | A virtual dollar card with a stated “up to $10,000” threshold, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported. Plastic card and ATM access are not described. |
The audience this card suits, on what is actually written down, is a Nigerian user with crypto who wants a virtual dollar card for online spending and who is comfortable topping it up in naira. If you fall outside that, or if you need any of the standard things the public pages do not describe, this is not the card for you.
Who they will give you the card
PowerPay is set up for Nigeria. The App Store description calls it “Nigeria’s all-in-one app”, and the site lists wallet balances in Nigerian naira (NGN), Kenyan shillings (KES) and Ghanaian cedis (GHS). An earlier check of the same site also pointed at Nigeria, Kenya and Ghana, so those three currencies are the only ones surfaced publicly.
The terms are governed by Nigerian law. There is no published list of countries PowerPay will or will not serve, and there is no separate list for “we do not serve this country but we will serve the citizen of it” — the pattern some other crypto cards use. The site also does not say which age groups are accepted. The App Store description names the app “PowerPay Ng”, and the developer listed there is ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD; the legal operator on the site is PowerPay Limited, Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT.
The upshot: if you are in Nigeria you are within the stated audience. If you are in Kenya or Ghana, the wallet currency exists but the language and support point at Nigeria. If you are anywhere else, the public pages do not say, and that is itself the answer.
How to get it
The product is a virtual card in US dollars. PowerPay describes it as an “Instant virtual card”, and the card balance is in USD. The card network (Visa or Mastercard) is not stated on the public pages.
KYC is described as basic. You need a government-issued ID — the site lists National Identity Card, NIN (National Identification Number) and BVN (Bank Verification Number) — and a proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement. You also need a valid mobile phone number. Age is not stated. There is a second level, called Enhanced Due Diligence, applied to higher-risk customers; that level requires source-of-funds checks. The per-level limits and the processing time are not published.
Because the card is virtual, there is no shipping. Whether the virtual card is delivered inside the app, by email, or both is not stated.
The order of operations, as far as the public pages describe it, is: install the app, complete KYC, sell crypto into the wallet, and create the card.
What it really costs — the fees section
The honest finding on costs is that the public information is thin. PowerPay does not publish a fee schedule on the pages I could read. The App Store listing refers to “competitive rates on every swap and sale”, but it does not give a figure for the rate, the spread, the conversion margin, ATM withdrawals, monthly maintenance, or inactivity fees.

The card has a “up to $10,000 threshold” for the virtual card, which reads as a card limit, not a per-transaction fee. The per-KYC-tier limits are not stated.
Costs
| Fee or limit | What PowerPay says |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion / swap | Not stated (“competitive rates”) |
| FX on the card | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Card top-up limit | “up to $10,000 threshold” for the virtual card |
| Per-KYC-tier limits | Not stated |
| Supported wallet balances | NGN, KES, GHS |
| Card currency | USD |
That table is the honest size of the public information. If you need to know what a payment will cost, you have to find that out inside the app, in the flow, before you confirm.
Two everyday payments
Without a published fee schedule, a worked example can only be illustrative. The shape of the cost is the shape you would expect from a virtual card denominated in dollars, funded by selling crypto into a local-currency wallet and then spending in USD.
- Buying a $20 app subscription from a US merchant. You have sold some USDT into the naira wallet, then funded the card in dollars. The cost to you is the spread between the rate you got when you sold the USDT and the rate the merchant would otherwise see, plus any conversion margin the card adds. The card is denominated in USD, so FX on the card itself may not apply to a US-dollar transaction. None of the rates are published.
- Paying a $4 coffee at a shop abroad. The card is virtual and you can put it in Apple Pay or Google Pay. The cost to you is the same kind of spread and any conversion margin. ATM withdrawal is not described on the public pages, so taking cash out is not something I can map a fee to.
The practical advice is to treat the in-app preview screen as the only source of truth. It is reasonable to assume the rates are not zero: every step from crypto to wallet to card has a price, and the operator has to be paid somehow.
How to top up the card
The top-up path runs through the wallet. You sell crypto for a wallet balance in naira, shillings or cedis, and then fund the card. The site names USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH as the supported crypto; an earlier check of the same pages listed the same four. The networks on which those tokens are accepted are not named. If you have USDT on a network PowerPay does not support, the deposit will not arrive in the way you expect, and on-chain transfers cannot be reversed.

Two payment collection partners are listed: Paystack and Flutterwave (Nigerian payments companies) and Kora. Their role appears to be on the local-collection side rather than the crypto side, but the boundary is not described in the public material.
The site also notes that PowerPay may place a “lien restricting access to funds” in some circumstances. That is a familiar line from custodial product terms; in plain terms it means the company can hold your money in the wallet even if the card is yours to spend. The circumstances are not spelled out.
The daily and monthly top-up limits are not stated, and the per-tier limits are not stated. The $10,000 figure I mentioned above is described as the card’s threshold, not a top-up cap.
Paying with it every day
The card is virtual, denominated in dollars, and supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the everyday-use story the public pages actually tell. The site talks about paying safely online, monitoring spend, freezing the card and monitoring transactions; the user is responsible for the password.
A few things are noticeably absent. The site does not describe a physical card. It does not describe ATM access. The card network is not named, and so it is not possible to say whether it is Visa, Mastercard or something else. There is no published merchant category blocklist, no rewards or cashback, and no contactlesstap-to-pay detail beyond the mobile wallets.
If you want a card you can hand over in a shop, that is not what the public pages describe. If you want to take cash out, that is also not what the public pages describe. The intended use, on the evidence, is online and in-app spending in dollars, funded by crypto you have already sold into the wallet.
If something does not go right, the path the terms describe is: take the product complaint to the merchant, contact [email protected], and any unresolved matter goes to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator. Time frames are not stated.
What can go wrong
There are two layers to consider: the things that can go wrong with the product itself, and the things that can go wrong because the public information is thin.
On the product side, the absence of a published fee schedule is itself a risk. Without it, you cannot compare the real cost against an alternative before you commit, and the only way to see a number is in the in-app flow. The site also says PowerPay can place a lien restricting access to funds; that is a control the operator keeps over your wallet balance. The card issuer is not named, so there is no bank or e-money institution to point at if you want to escalate. There is no detail on what Enhanced Due Diligence actually requires, only that it can be triggered.
On the wider side, the publicly known history is uneventful. No official incidents or user complaints have surfaced in public records. The Trustpilot page for PowerPay is empty, and the App Store rating is 5.0 from a single rating. That is a thin data set rather than a clean one. A card product with no public complaints, a single App Store review and a single named operator is not the same as a card product with a long, clean public record. The licence picture is also unclear: PowerPay Limited is named as the operator, but no regulator, no card scheme licence, and no e-money licence are cited.
Three other risk points are worth raising, even if they are about the category rather than this specific card:
- Crypto transfers are irreversible. Sending USDT on a network PowerPay does not support, or to an address for a different network, can mean the funds are lost. The site does not name the supported networks, which makes the risk harder to manage.
- Custodial wallets carry counterparty and hack risk. The wallet here is custodial — PowerPay holds the credentials — so any failure on the operator’s side affects your balance. The history of custodial failures is long: Mt. Gox, Coincheck, the Ronin Network bridge, FTX, and so on. The operator is small and the licence information is missing, which is a relevant fact about how exposed you are.
- Stablecoins are not always stable. USDC and USDT aim to be one-for-one with the dollar, but they have depegged before, including USDC briefly in March 2023 during the US banking stress. Selling crypto for a card balance still leaves the gap between the moment you sold and the moment you spend to absorb.
A last point on safety: the site lists freeze-card-at-will and transaction monitoring as features. Those are useful when you can reach the app; they do not help if the operator itself is the source of the problem. The dispute path the terms describe ends in arbitration, not in a regulator you can name.
What to take instead
Three alternatives come up in this kind of search. None of them is a like-for-like with PowerPay — they are virtual or physical cards from other operators, with different geography, different licences and different price points. I have scored them on the same scale.
| Card | Score | Where it is aimed | What it costs up front | What it costs to use | Top-up routes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Nigeria, with a stated “Nigerians and global users” tagline | Creating a virtual card is free (site FAQ) | Fees not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer (networks not stated) |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Acceptance in “more than 176 countries” on the App Store page; no country list of who is eligible | Not stated | Not stated on the public pages | Deposit USDT, BTC, ETH in-app, converted to USD or EUR on the card |
| Card.fi | 6.6 / 10 | Ships cards to “200+ countries”, with a sanctions exclusion | Virtual Classic $49 one-time, Virtual Premium $249; no monthly, inactivity or minimum-balance fee | Top-up fee Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%; FX fee Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5% | 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch), with the fee shown before each top-up |
The headline difference is information. Card.fi publishes its fees, its top-up networks and its rewards. CardFlow publishes that creating a card is free, but not the rest. HyperCard does not publish a fee schedule on the public pages, but the acceptance reach is wider. PowerPay is at the far end of that spectrum: even the headline cost of the card is not published.
A few specific points to read across:
- If you are in Nigeria and the deciding question is the cost of the card itself, CardFlow is the only one of the four that states creation is free, and Card.fi states its prices. PowerPay does not state either.
- If the deciding question is the breadth of the top-up menu, Card.fi is the most explicit: it names 32 coins across 5 networks. PowerPay names four coins and no networks.
- If the deciding question is the regulatory picture, Card.fi states it issues cards “under licence from the relevant card schemes”, and the sanctions exclusion is named. PowerPay names no card issuer and no licence.
None of these alternatives removes the fundamental point that a crypto-funded card is still a custodial product, with the risks that come with it.
Who I would recommend it to
On what is publicly available, PowerPay fits a narrow reader: a Nigerian user with crypto, comfortable selling it into a naira wallet, who wants a virtual dollar card for online spending and mobile-wallet use, who is willing to rely on the in-app preview as the only fee source, and who understands that the wallet is custodial and that PowerPay can restrict access to the balance.
If you are in Kenya or Ghana, the wallet currency exists but the app description, the operator and the support contact all point at Nigeria; that is a mismatch worth weighing.
If you are outside those three countries, the public pages do not say whether you are eligible or how you would be served. That is not a recommendation, it is a gap.
If you need a physical card, ATM access, a published fee schedule, named card issuer and licence, or a wider list of supported top-up networks, this is not the card for you. The strongest of the alternatives in those cases is the one whose information you can read before you sign up.
Final thoughts before you decide
Two things to take away from this review. First, the score is low because the public information is thin, not because the product is doing something wrong; the rating reflects what a reader can check before committing. Second, the category itself — crypto-funded cards — has structural risks that no marketing page removes: the custody of the wallet, the irreversibility of transfers, the depeg risk on stablecoins, and the question of who holds the licence to issue the card. PowerPay’s public pages do not address any of those in detail, which is the practical reason the marks come in low.
If you are going to use the card anyway, the steps that protect you the most are the obvious ones: keep the amount you load small, double-check the network you are sending on before you confirm a transfer, and use the freeze feature the moment you do not need the card. If the in-app fee preview is not visible, do not proceed.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PowerPay card?
The PowerPay card is a virtual dollar card sold by PowerPay Limited, a Nigerian company. You fund it by selling crypto into a wallet that holds Nigerian naira, Kenyan shillings or Ghanaian cedis, then loading the card in US dollars. The site describes it as an “Instant virtual card”.
How does the PowerPay card work?
You sign up in the app, complete the basic KYC, sell your crypto into the wallet, and load the card from the wallet. When you pay, the card draws on that pre-loaded dollar balance. The model is pre-loaded rather than direct crypto spend, so the card cannot overdraw.
Is PowerPay a bank?
PowerPay is not described as a bank on its public pages. The operator is PowerPay Limited, based in Abuja, and the card issuer and any licence are not named. The site does not describe the product as a bank account, and the wallet is described as a place to hold balances, not as a deposit account.
Who owns PowerPay?
The site names PowerPay Limited as the operator, with an address at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT. The App Store developer is listed as ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD. There is no public ownership structure or investor information on the pages I could read.
In which countries is the PowerPay card available?
The public pages do not publish a country list. The App Store description aims at Nigeria, the site shows wallet balances in naira, Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis, and the terms are governed by Nigerian law. Outside those three currencies, eligibility is not stated.
How do I get a PowerPay card?
You install the app, complete KYC with a government-issued ID, NIN or BVN, and a proof of address, sell crypto into the wallet, and create the virtual card from inside the app. The order of steps, the time taken, and how the card details are delivered are not described on the public pages.
Does the PowerPay card require KYC?
Yes. Basic KYC requires a government-issued ID and proof of address. There is a second level called Enhanced Due Diligence for higher-risk customers, which involves source-of-funds checks. The age requirement is not stated.
How do I top up the PowerPay card?
You top up by selling crypto into the wallet, then loading the card from the wallet. The site names USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH as the supported crypto, but it does not name the networks they are accepted on. Sending on the wrong network is a common way to lose funds.
Can I add the PowerPay card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The public pages say the card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. The exact path inside the wallet app, the version requirements, and any 3-D Secure step are not described in the public material.
Is the PowerPay card safe to use?
The site lists freeze-card-at-will, transaction monitoring and password protection as features. The card is virtual and the wallet is custodial, so the operator holds the funds and the credentials. The card issuer, the licence and the regulator are not named, and the dispute path the terms describe ends in arbitration rather than with a named regulator.
Virtual cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
