The WhiteBird card reviewed: scores, fees, limits and the parts nobody publishes
If you are reading this, you have probably already hit a wall. Ordinary bank cards are getting harder to open for people who live in or are citizens of Belarus or Russia, and a crypto-linked card promises something simpler: a card number, a balance, and payments. WhiteBird is one of the names that comes up. My job here is not to sell it to you and not to talk you out of it either — it is to walk through the public information slowly and tell you what is actually documented, what is only claimed by third-party sites, and what nobody publishes at all.
That distinction matters more than usual with this card, because the card’s own public pages were unreachable when I checked them on 20 October 2026. The card’s official pages refused connections. So most of what follows about WhiteBird itself comes from secondary sources — financial news sites, a review platform, an exchange listing — and I will label it as such every time. Nothing here is confirmed by the card. Where the card’s public pages do not say something, I will say plainly that they do not.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.4 out of 10
WhiteBird scores 4.4 / 10. That is a low score, and I want to be honest about why rather than dress it up. The card is aimed at Russian and Belarusian residents who want to pay from a rouble-funded exchange balance, and for that narrow group it solves a genuine problem. But almost none of the details that would let you plan around it — limits, ATM access, mobile wallets, funding networks, what the card is made of — are published by the card itself. You are being asked to trust a product whose own website does not load.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Not officially disclosed. Unofficial sources say Belarus and Russia, with Visa support extended to cards from Belarus, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Georgia |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Unofficial figures: first virtual card for Belarusian non-residents 200 BYN, extra plastic 100 BYN, servicing 0; sell crypto to the card 1.5%, buy crypto from it 2.5% |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: rouble top-ups via SBP and SberPay, crypto sold on the WhiteBird exchange onto the card; bank fees 0.4–1.5%; networks and coins not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Unofficial: a Republic of Belarus licence, High-Tech Park resident, StatusBank as issuer; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Unofficial: a virtual digital card and plastic for 100 BYN; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM not disclosed |
| Total | 4.4 / 10 | A card that works for its intended audience, on paper almost nowhere else |
Who it suits: someone with a Belarusian or Russian connection who can fund the card in roubles, does not mind an exchange-card structure, and treats it as one spending tool rather than their main one. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs published limits, a clear fee schedule, ATM access, or the certainty that their identity documents and money are handled by a regulated, reachable organisation. This is not the card for you if you plan to run a business on it or depend on it as your only way to pay.
Will they give you the card?
Short answer: according to the card itself, we do not know — its public pages could not be reached. According to third-party reporting, it is open to citizens of Russia with a passport, and to residents of Belarus, with non-residents paying more.
Here is the honest split. The card’s official information is not stated — the pages were unreachable, so I cannot tell you what WhiteBird itself says about eligibility, and neither can anyone else today. What circulates instead comes from secondary sources, and I repeat it as unofficial:
- “Available to citizens of the Russian Federation with a passport” — this phrasing comes from financial press, not from the card.
- The first virtual card for non-residents of Belarus costs 200 BYN; residents of Belarus get it free. The starting data quoted elsewhere puts non-residents at 250 BYN for the Crypto card, so even the unofficial figures disagree with each other.
- The issuer is StatusBank, a Belarusian bank, and WhiteBird is a resident of the High-Tech Park (per a Belarusian investment site, updated 6 October 2026).
- Crypto Status cards are delivered across Belarus and Russia.
The wider picture worth knowing, independent of WhiteBird: identity checks are normal in this space and are not optional. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, with ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and documents, plus sanctions screening and PEP checks. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an ID number. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. If due diligence cannot be completed, an institution is required to stop — which is why accounts freeze pending papers. For WhiteBird, identification is reported as mandatory through a partner bank’s app and arrangeable without leaving the country, but that is unofficial and again not from the card.
How to get it
The route, as far as anyone can document it, runs through a partner bank’s app for identification and then through the exchange platform. The card’s own process is not stated, so treat the following as the shape of it, not as official instructions.
What is documented, unofficially:
- Identification is not stated by the card; third parties describe mandatory identification through a partner bank’s app, possible without leaving the country.
- What you end up holding is not stated officially. Unofficial descriptions: the Crypto product is a digital Mastercard debit card tied to the WhiteBird exchange and a non-custodial Bitcash wallet; the Crypto Status product is on Visa.
- Physical plastic is not stated officially; one Belarusian financial site says a physical card can be ordered with delivery to Belarus and Russia for 100 BYN.
- Whether there are identity tiers (light, standard, enhanced) is not stated at all.
So to get it: find a partner bank’s app, complete identification there, then look for the WhiteBird exchange and choose either the digital card or the delivered plastic. Which product you pick matters, because the two are not identical — see the fees section. Nothing about this is confirmed by the card.
What it really costs: fees, limits and everyday payments
This is where unofficial figures do the most work, and where I would slow down and read carefully, because the sources contradict one another. Every number below comes from a third-party site, not from the card, which publishes no cost or fee schedule at all.

| Fee or limit | Unofficial figure | Where it comes from |
|---|---|---|
| First virtual card, Belarusian non-residents | 200 BYN | Belarusian investment site, 6 Oct 2026 |
| First virtual card, Belarusian residents | free | Same source |
| Non-resident fee, alternative figure | 250 BYN (Crypto card) | Starting data |
| Extra plastic card | 100 BYN | Belarusian investment site, 6 Oct 2026 |
| Monthly servicing | 0 | Same source |
| Sell crypto to the card | 1.5% | Same source |
| Buy crypto from the card | 2.5% | Same source |
| Sell / buy on Crypto Status | 1.3% / 2.3% | Starting data |
| Sell / buy, conflicting figures | 2.5% sell, 3% buy up to $10k a month | A review platform (Habr) |
| Rouble top-up bank fees | 0.4–1.5% depending on channel | Belarusian investment site, 6 Oct 2026 |
| Single exchange operation limit | up to 39,950 BYN | A review platform (CoinSpot) — an exchange limit, not a card limit |
| Card daily and monthly spending limits | not stated | — |
| ATM withdrawal fee | not stated | — |
| ATM support itself | not stated | — |
| Currency the card holds | not stated (one site lists a “Crypto Status BYN” product) | — |
Now, three everyday payments, and which fees actually bite. Take a coffee paid for from crypto sitting on the card. You first sold crypto to the card at 1.5%. Then the payment goes through the network. If the merchant charges in the same currency the card holds, there is nothing extra to know — but the card’s currency is not stated, so I cannot tell you which currency that is. Take a subscription billed in a currency the card does not hold: a conversion applies, and the card’s conversion rate and any FX fee are not stated. That is a real hole, not a small one. Take a cash withdrawal: whether the card works at ATMs at all is not stated, and neither is the fee.
Two more things about the numbers. The 1.5% / 2.5% figures come from one Belarusian investment site; a review platform gives 2.5% / 3% for operations up to $10,000 a month; the starting data has a lower pair, 1.3% / 2.3%, for the Crypto Status product. These are unofficial figures and not confirmed by the card. I would not budget from any of them without checking the live terms. And the 39,950 BYN figure is an exchange limit reported by a review platform — it is not a card spending limit, and card limits are simply not published.
Which product is which? Unofficial: the Crypto card is a digital Mastercard debit card tied to the exchange and the non-custodial Bitcash wallet; the Crypto Status card is Visa, delivered across Belarus and Russia, and is said to have the lower exchange commissions (1.3% / 2.3%). What each product gives you beyond that is not stated officially.
How to top it up
Topping up is described as selling crypto on the WhiteBird platform onto the card — that is the model, not necessarily a bank transfer into the card. Rouble top-ups via SBP and SberPay are reported unofficially, and those transfers may carry bank fees of 0.4–1.5% depending on the channel. Which networks and which coins are accepted is not disclosed.
So a realistic top-up runs like this: you hold crypto, you sell it on the platform, the rouble lands on the card, you pay. Or you fund in roubles through SBP or SberPay first. The card’s own description of this is not stated. Note what is missing: no published list of coins, no published list of networks, no confirmation from the card that direct crypto deposits work at all — the described route goes through the exchange, not through a deposit address. If you are used to self-custody cards that give you an address and a network, that is a different model, and one that puts the exchange in the middle of every payment.
One general point about stablecoins, since they are the usual fuel for cards like this: a stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a currency, but as the BIS put it, stablecoins are not necessarily stable — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. On-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use gets a 6 / 10 — the second-highest mark in my scoring — but almost entirely on unofficial material. What is documented: a virtual digital card, and plastic for 100 BYN. What is not stated at all: Apple Pay, Google Pay, and ATM support. There is an Android app listing called WhiteBird (version 1.1.8) on a Russian software site, though I did not read its ratings. Wallets, rewards and the dispute process are all not stated.
That last cluster is the one to weigh. You are being asked to put ordinary household spending behind a product that does not publish how it handles a disputed transaction. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; US reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit-card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If a double charge lands on a prepaid-style card in Belarus, you are in territory where I cannot tell you what protection applies, because the card does not say.
Two structural points about how the payment flows. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number identifying the issuing institution; merchants can look it up and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is exactly what a Belarus-issued card looks like at, say, a shop in another country — foreign. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for that reason. And declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven.
Where you can actually spend, in practice, is not published either. Inside Belarus and Russia, fine. Elsewhere, expect the friction described above.
What can go wrong
Several things, and most of them are about what you cannot see rather than what you can.
The official documentation is unavailable. The card’s own pages refused connections when I checked. That is the single largest practical risk in this review: you cannot read the terms, the fee schedule, the limits or the complaint procedure from the issuer. Everything unofficial in this page is a substitute, not a confirmation.
Licensing is reported, not verified. Unofficially, WhiteBird holds a licence of the Republic of Belarus and is a High-Tech Park resident; StatusBank is the issuer. None of this is confirmed by the card. Consider what a licence does and does not cover. An electronic money institution can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend; customer funds must be safeguarded, by segregation or insurance, and such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. A crypto card often depends on two licences at once, because the card is a payment service and the exchange is a crypto service — MiCA covers the crypto side while e-money and payment-services law covers the card.
Self-custody cuts both ways. The Crypto card is tied to a non-custodial Bitcash wallet, which is the good news and the bad news. Good, because control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, so the provider cannot move your funds. Bad, because with a seed phrase of typically 12 to 24 words, anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend everything, and blockchain transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return funds. With self-custody you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses.
Exchange risk, on both sides. Because the described top-up runs through selling on an exchange, you are exposed to that platform. Custodial platforms have a record of failures: Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022). Networks themselves can close: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, and a deposit sent on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
Programmes get wound down. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw. There is also one report of a 2026 closure where new loads ended 8 July and spending stopped 8 August — a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is the pattern to watch for.
Compliance can stop you at any moment. Sanctions screening applies to citizenship as well as residence, and stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. If due diligence fails or a transaction looks wrong, an institution is expected to refuse the transaction or end the relationship.
Recent news, unofficial. WhiteBird is reported to have raised exchange limits and extended Visa card support to cards from Belarus, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Georgia. I did not read the date. Treat the country list as a moving target.
What I could not find. No complaints about Crypto Status surfaced in one reviews search — a weak positive signal, not an endorsement, especially for a product whose official site is down. Company structure beyond a reported name (White Bird CJSC), security practices, and support contact details are not stated.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my research, each with its own score and its own shape. None is a like-for-like substitute — WhiteBird’s specific niche is the Belarus-and-Russia market — but they show what a card with published rules looks like by comparison.
Young Card — 5.7 / 10. Eligibility, card type, cost and fees are all not stated in what I found, as is how you fund it. What stands out is the rewards structure: cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by Club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated).
Coinbase Card — 6.4 / 10. Available in all US states except Hawaii; account opening follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules (name, address, date of birth, ID), and no other countries. A Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical, spending cash or crypto, with all crypto converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals. “Zero spending fees and no annual fees,” with all fees disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement; no Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto at payment. Funding by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase at zero fees. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase for US Card users only, at a variable rate shown in the app.
OKX — 6.2 / 10. EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded (one explainer’s conclusion says “entire EEA,” which is inconsistent). A Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider; a physical card is not mentioned. No card fee (explainer, as of May 2026). No transaction fee and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is given as 0.1% by the explainer (May 2026) versus 0.4% in the launch press release — a conflict, with the explainer newer. Conversion to euro happens at purchase. Funding with USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first; no auto top-up, and a payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback only on USDG purchases (USDC earns none), with monthly caps in EUR: Regular 2% capped at 10; VIP1 4% at 300; VIP2 4.5% at 450; VIP3 5% at 1,000; VIP4+ 10% at 1,000 (the text says 2–5% while the table says 10% — inconsistent); promos vary.
| WhiteBird | Young Card | Coinbase Card | OKX | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.4 / 10 | 5.7 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 | 6.2 / 10 |
| Where | Belarus, Russia (unofficial) | Not stated | US states except Hawaii | EU plus Norway |
| Card | Mastercard digital (Crypto), Visa (Crypto Status) — unofficial | Not stated | Visa prepaid, virtual or physical | Mastercard euro virtual |
| Card fee | 0 servicing (unofficial) | Not stated | Zero spending fees, no annual fees | None (May 2026) |
| Conversion | 1.5% sell / 2.5% buy (unofficial) | Not stated | Spread on crypto conversion | 0.1% (explainer) vs 0.4% (launch) |
| Rewards | Not stated | YNG cashback by Club tier | Variable crypto rewards, US only | USDG cashback only, tier caps in EUR |
Two structural contrasts are worth naming. OKX’s cashback is the only one tied to a specific stablecoin, and the only one whose caps are published in numbers. Coinbase is the only one whose terms I could point you to by name, because they are disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement. And WhiteBird is the only one of the four where the official pages were unreachable.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend WhiteBird to a person who has a specific, narrow reason: you are in Belarus or Russia, you already hold crypto, you can fund in roubles through SBP or SberPay, and you want one card that spends a rouble balance without a traditional bank account. If that is you, the structure is coherent — sell crypto on the exchange, spend the card — and the reported licensing (a Belarusian licence, High-Tech Park residence, StatusBank as issuer) is a better foundation than an offshore shell.
I would not recommend it as your primary or only card. The reasons are the reasons above: no published limits, no published currency, no published ATM or wallet support, no published dispute procedure, no fee schedule from the issuer, and an official site that does not load. A card that you cannot read the terms of is a card you cannot reason about when something goes wrong.
And if the reason you are here is that ordinary cards are closing to you, my honest advice is to treat this as one option among several rather than the answer. Compare Young Card, Coinbase Card or OKX against what you actually need — country eligibility first, since only WhiteBird’s unofficial coverage includes Belarus and Russia, then published fees, then what happens when a payment is disputed. Whichever you pick, keep a backup payment method you can fall back on, and do not leave money sitting on a card whose terms you have never been able to read.
Frequently asked questions
What is the WhiteBird card?
WhiteBird is described as a crypto-linked payment card tied to the WhiteBird exchange, offered in two forms: Crypto, a digital Mastercard debit card linked to a non-custodial Bitcash wallet, and Crypto Status, a Visa card. Its public pages were unreachable when checked on 20 October 2026, so these descriptions come from third-party sources, not from the card itself.
How does the WhiteBird card work?
The described model is a pre-loaded balance: you sell crypto on the WhiteBird platform, the proceeds land on the card in fiat, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Crypto Status reportedly has lower exchange commissions, 1.3% sell and 2.3% buy, against 1.5% and 2.5% for Crypto — again unofficially.
Is WhiteBird a bank?
Not on the available information. Unofficial sources describe WhiteBird as holding a Republic of Belarus licence and being a High-Tech Park resident, with the Belarusian bank StatusBank as the actual card issuer. WhiteBird is better understood as a programme manager and exchange front-end than as a bank.
Who can get the WhiteBird card?
Unofficially, citizens of Russia with a passport and residents of Belarus, with non-residents of Belarus paying a fee — 200 BYN for a first virtual card according to one source, 250 BYN according to another. Residents of Belarus reportedly get the first card free. The card’s own eligibility rules are not stated.
Does the WhiteBird card require KYC?
Identity checks are reported as mandatory through a partner bank’s app, and can apparently be completed without leaving the country — an unofficial detail. This fits the general pattern: regulated businesses must verify customers under anti-money-laundering rules, and nationality is screened separately from residence because sanctions policy applies to both.
What are the WhiteBird card fees?
Unofficial figures: 1.5% to sell crypto onto the card and 2.5% to buy crypto from it, or 1.3% / 2.3% on Crypto Status. A review platform gives 2.5% sell and 3% buy for monthly operations up to $10,000. Servicing is reported as 0, extra plastic at 100 BYN, and rouble top-up bank fees at 0.4–1.5%.
How do I top up the WhiteBird card?
The described route is selling crypto on the WhiteBird platform onto the card. Rouble top-ups via SBP and SberPay are also reported, with possible bank fees of 0.4–1.5% by channel. Which coins and which networks are accepted is not disclosed, and direct crypto deposits are not confirmed by the card.
Can I add the WhiteBird card to Apple Wallet or use ATMs?
I cannot tell you, because the card does not say. Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM support are all not stated, as are the card’s daily and monthly spending limits and its ATM withdrawal fee. Anyone claiming otherwise is going beyond what the card publishes.
Where can I use the WhiteBird card?
Inside Belarus and Russia is the realistic answer. Elsewhere, expect friction: the issuer identification number shows the card as foreign, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs on that basis. Card payments can also be declined on address verification grounds, which is mainly a US, Canadian and UK system and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards.
Is the WhiteBird card safe and worth it?
Safe is too strong a word. Unofficially the Crypto card is tied to a non-custodial Bitcash wallet, which means you hold the keys — but also that a lost seed phrase means lost funds, since blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. Worth it depends entirely on your country and whether a traditional card is available to you; with no published limits and an unreachable official site, I would only fund it with money I can afford to lose.
Exchange cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
