A prepaid Mastercard on a euro IBAN, with most of the numbers unpublished

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Gekkard is a prepaid Mastercard attached to a European IBAN account denominated in euros, aimed at people in Europe who want a card that spends from a balance rather than from a current account. It comes in plastic or virtual form, ships by international mail, and is topped up by SEPA transfer or by buying and selling the euro-linked Gekkoin Europe (EURG). It is not a bank, and nothing about it looks like a bank.

Gekkard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That is where the goodwill ends and the reading starts. When I went through the card’s own pages, a large part of what you would want to know was simply not readable: the official site failed to load because of a certificate error, and the fee schedule, the identity-check rules, the cash machine terms, the withdrawal rules and the spending limits are all absent from the public material. The app claims 3% on EURG holdings and a 1% purchase bonus, but the official site is said to describe the service as not an investment product, and the conditions behind that claim were not readable either. On top of that, the crypto partner AtlantEX OÜ has paused onboarding of new clients since 1 July 2026 while it goes through MiCA licensing. My score is 4.7 out of 10, and the reasons are laid out below.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 4.7 out of 10

Gekkard suits a fairly specific person: a European who wants a euro IBAN, a prepaid Mastercard that works in shops, and the ability to hold or trade euro-pegged value in a single app. If that is you and you are comfortable with a custodial wallet and a provider that publishes very little, the card does a recognisable job. If you want to know what a payment costs before you make it, or you care who holds your money and under which licence, this is the wrong card to start with — not because anything scandalous has surfaced, but because the answers are not there to be read.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gekkard starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland; version 1.0.6 added registration outside the EEA, with plastic mailed “to any address worldwide”
Cost 5 / 10 Fees not disclosed — the site would not load because of a certificate error; the app claims 3% on EURG and a 1% purchase bonus
Top-up options 4 / 10 SEPA, Gekkoin Europe (EURG), and Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through partner AtlantEX OÜ; no stablecoins or networks listed, and new-client onboarding is paused
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Papaya Ltd; issuer and licences not readable; custodial app per WalletScrutiny; App Store 3.0 from 4 ratings, another storefront 2.6 from 15
Everyday use 5 / 10 Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual, limits and instant freeze in the app; wallets and cash machine not disclosed
Total 4.7 / 10 A euro-account prepaid card with a crypto front end and thin disclosure

The pattern across all five marks is the same: this is a product whose marketing outruns its paperwork. The functionality described is modest and plausible. The disclosure behind it is not there.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, on the face of it, to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland. Version 1.0.6 added registration for clients outside the EEA, and the physical card can be mailed “to any address worldwide”. That is a wider door than most cards in this category open.

Whether identity documents are required, what kind they are, how long review takes, and whether there are different verification tiers are all marked as not stated in what I could read. So I am not going to guess. In the EU, a regulated provider normally has to verify your name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, run a sanctions check, work out the purpose of the relationship and decide whether you are a politically exposed person. If that process cannot be completed, EU rules expect the institution to hold back from opening or to close the relationship. Practically, that is why accounts get frozen pending documents — and I cannot tell you where Gekkard sits on that path, because its public pages do not say.

How to get it

The card itself is a prepaid Mastercard, available in plastic or virtual form according to the FAQ. It is delivered by international mail, and additional cards can be ordered. Behind it sits a European IBAN account in EUR.

That is the whole product description in four facts: a card network brand everyone recognises, two forms, post in the post, and a euro account you can receive SEPA payments into. Which is exactly the thing to be careful about — a euro IBAN on a prepaid card is not the same as a bank account. Bank deposits sit under a deposit guarantee scheme in many jurisdictions; e-money balances do not, and an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, which is a different protection with a different claim on it.

Delivery time and cost are not stated. That matters more than it sounds: you are waiting on international post for the physical card, and the virtual route exists if you do not want to wait, but nothing in the public material tells me the timeline either way.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the weakest section, and I would not paper over it. The card’s own cost and fee pages could not be read, and the official website would not load because of a certificate error. The application’s own store listing states 3% on EURG and a bonus of 1% on purchases, but the official site is reported to say the service is not an investment product, and the conditions behind either claim were not readable.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gekkard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item What is published
Issuance fee not stated
Monthly or maintenance fee not stated
Conversion or exchange fee not stated; the app lists 3% on EURG
Foreign-exchange fee not stated
Cash machine (ATM) fee not stated; the version history mentions cash top-up locations
Daily limit not stated; spending limits are settable in the app
Monthly limit not stated; spending limits are settable in the app
Purchase bonus 1% per card purchase, per the version history
Card currency not stated; the IBAN account is EUR and multi-currency transfers appear in the version history
Tiers not stated

So what does a euro payment actually cost you? Honestly: I cannot tell you, and neither can the card’s public pages. A payment in the euro area is the one case where a conversion question never arises — but I do not know whether there is a per-payment fee, a monthly fee, or nothing at all. A payment in a non-euro currency hits the FX line, which is blank; on comparable cards that line is where the surprise lives, and I have no basis here to tell you whether it is small or ruinous.

A cash withdrawal hits three unknowns at once: the ATM fee, the card currency, and the monthly limit. And a crypto purchase hits a fourth, the EURG rate. Three everyday examples, three unanswered questions:

Before you load anything, the only way to fill this table in is to read the fee schedule inside the app or get it in writing from support. Treat the two app figures — 3% and 1% — as claims, not as a cost model, until the conditions behind them are in front of you.

How to top it up

Two routes are described. SEPA payments go into the euro account. And you can buy and sell Gekkoin Europe (EURG), pegged 1:1 to the euro, with access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through the partner Gekkoin, with the crypto services themselves provided by AtlantEX OÜ, described as a licensed exchange.

Cash top-up locations are also mentioned, in the version history. Fees and minimums for all of these are not stated.

The thing to sit with here is what is missing rather than what is present. There is no stablecoin in the list. No network names, no wallet addresses, no mention of USDC or USDT on any chain. That is unusual in this category, and it cuts both ways: you are not exposed to a wrong-network transfer, but you also have no on-ramp if you already hold dollars on-chain. EURG pegged 1:1 to the euro is the mechanism the whole product rests on, and it sits inside an app that WalletScrutiny describes as custodial.

One more thing belongs in this section rather than buried: AtlantEX’s onboarding of new clients is paused from 1 July 2026. If you are not already an existing client of that partner, the crypto side of the top-up may simply not be available to you right now. That is not a criticism — it is a MiCA licensing matter — but it is the kind of thing that turns a working card into a euro-only card without warning.

Paying with it every day

It is a prepaid Mastercard, so it spends from a stored balance. In the pre-loaded model you convert or top up a fiat or stablecoin-denominated balance first, and the card can only spend that balance — it cannot overdraw. The IBAN account is in euros; multi-currency transfers appear in the version history; the card’s own currency is not stated.

In the app you can set spending limits, track transactions and freeze the card temporarily. Biometric confirmation for online purchases appears in the version history. Those are the right controls and they are the ones I would want.

What is not disclosed is the part that decides whether daily life is smooth: which mobile wallets are supported, what the ATM terms are, and what the limits actually are. Whether you can add the card to Apple Pay is not something I can answer from the published material, and I am not going to imply otherwise.

The app itself is worth a look. On the US App Store it is “Gekkard: Prepaid Card & Wallet”, version 1.0.9, rated 3.0 out of 5 from 4 ratings as read on 2026-10-21. A Google Play app exists under com.papaya.gekkard, called “Gekkard: Banking Alternative”, with a rating I could not read. Four ratings is not a signal in either direction — it is simply too small a sample to lean on.

Two mechanics from the wider category are worth keeping in mind as you use any card like this. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money that stays for several days, typically up to seven, which is confusing when you did not spend anything. And merchants can look up the issuing country from the card’s first digits; when that differs from your billing address, some shops apply extra scrutiny or decline outright. That is not a quirk of Gekkard — it is how card acceptance works — but it is more visible with a prepaid card from a smaller programme than with a card from your own bank. Also worth knowing: 3-D Secure, the identity check on online payments, can shift liability for a fraudulent online payment away from the merchant, and some versions of that shift land on you rather than your bank.

What can go wrong

Start with the one that is concrete. AtlantEX’s onboarding of new clients is paused from 1 July 2026, during MiCA licensing. Under MiCA, the transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. So the pause is regulatory housekeeping — but it means the crypto rails under this card are mid-transition, and you should check whether they are open before you rely on them.

Next, custody. WalletScrutiny classes the app as custodial, and its verdict is that it is not verifiable. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you are trusting them completely. The risks are not theoretical in this industry: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted private key — anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and blockchain transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. None of that means anything bad will happen here. It means the question of who holds your keys is the question to ask, and the published answer is “the provider”.

Then the paperwork. Papaya Ltd is the developer named on the App Store, behind the Gekkard brand. AtlantEX OÜ is the crypto partner. The card issuer and its licences were not readable. I am not going to guess at any of these, and you should not either: before you put money in, find out which institution issues the card and which licence it holds, because an electronic money institution can issue e-money and cards but cannot lend, and MiCA governs the crypto side separately. A crypto card often depends on two licences rather than one.

Complaints: I found no official incidents readable and no Trustpilot page. Another App Store storefront listing shows 2.6 out of 5 from 15 ratings. Fifteen ratings is a small, unprompted, self-selected sample, and I would not treat it as evidence of anything except that some users were unhappy enough to write. Support arrangements are not stated.

One structural thing to hold on to: in this category, programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Pick a prepaid crypto card you can walk away from, not one you would be annoyed to lose.

What to take instead

Gekkard International Visa Card UNi Card Morse
Score 4.7 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 7.5 / 10
Card Prepaid Mastercard, plastic or virtual U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency card on Mastercard network Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit
Who it is for EEA and Swiss residents; registration outside the EEA added in 1.0.6 Not available to residents or registrants of a long restricted list; FATF grey list case by case Not stated 18+ and resident in a supported country; app in over 140 countries, closed beta in some
Cost to open not stated $5 virtual issuance, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month No annual fee not stated
Spending abroad not stated “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” No foreign transaction fee, live OTC rates Zero FX fees or markups, real-time Visa rate; card payments free
Top-up SEPA, EURG, BTC/ETH/MON via AtlantEX; cash locations; no stablecoins USDC or USDT 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow not stated Debit card, stablecoin transfer, Account Details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP; BRL needs Brazilian CPF
Custody Custodial per WalletScrutiny not stated not stated Self-custodial wallet
Rewards 3% on EURG, 1% purchase bonus none stated up to 3% spend-to-earn not stated

Reading across the row that matters most: fee transparency. Morse publishes zero FX fees or markups and the real-time Visa exchange rate, and says paying with the card online and contactless is free. UNi publishes no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live OTC conversion rates and “no hidden exchange fees”. The International Visa Card publishes a flat 2% FX fee on top of the Visa rate — unappealing as a headline, but at least it is a number you can plan around.

Morse is the one I would look at first, for two reasons beyond the fee line. It is the highest-scoring of the four at 7.5, and its wallet is self-custodial, which removes the counterparty risk that sits under Gekkard’s EURG. Its gatekeeping is the trade-off: a closed-beta list of countries needing an invite code includes Switzerland, the United Kingdom, Japan, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, Türkiye and others, it cannot serve customers subject to U.S., UK, EU or UN sanctions, and the supported-country list is not published — you check in the app. If you are in a listed beta country, that is an inconvenience. If you are elsewhere, it may not matter.

UNi at 6.1 is the middle option and publishes the cleanest fee language of the three, but its eligibility and top-up routes are not stated in what I read, which is the same gap that holds Gekkard down.

Who I would recommend it to

To someone already inside the EEA or Switzerland who needs a euro IBAN and a prepaid Mastercard, is comfortable with a custodial app, and has read the fee schedule inside the app themselves rather than trusting a store listing. To that person the product is coherent: a euro account, a card that everyone accepts, EURG as the bridge to crypto.

To everyone else, I would point at Morse first, because publishing your fees and holding your own keys are the two things that make a card survive contact with a bad month.

And to anyone reading this who is weighing a prepaid crypto card because ordinary banking is awkward — that is a reasonable reason to look, and this card does not have to be the answer. Before you commit money, check three things in writing: who issues the card and under what licence, what each payment and withdrawal costs, and what happens to your balance if the crypto partner’s licensing does not finish. If any of the three comes back vague, that vagueness is the answer.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gekkard card?

Gekkard is a prepaid Mastercard linked to a European IBAN account in euros. It spends from a balance you load rather than from a current account, and it comes in plastic or virtual form. Behind it sits a crypto app offering Gekkoin Europe (EURG), pegged 1:1 to the euro, plus Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero through partner AtlantEX OÜ. It is a payment and e-money product, not a bank.

How does Gekkard work day to day?

You top up, usually by SEPA transfer, and the card spends what is loaded. Because it is prepaid, it draws on a stored balance and cannot overdraw. In the app you can set spending limits, track transactions and freeze the card temporarily, and biometric confirmation for online purchases appears in the version history. What the card does not disclose is the mobile wallet support, the ATM terms and the actual limits.

Is Gekkard a bank?

No. It is a card programme attached to a euro-denominated IBAN account, with Papaya Ltd named as the developer and AtlantEX OÜ as the crypto partner. The card issuer and its licences were not readable from the public material. Bank deposits are not the same as e-money balances: an electronic money institution must safeguard funds by segregating or insuring them, but those funds do not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme the way bank deposits may.

Does getting the card require KYC, and what documents?

That is not stated in the card’s public pages, which is why I am not going to invent an answer. In the EU, due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person status. Prepaid cards are generally for adults aged 18 and over. You need to read the app’s own onboarding screens to see what Gekkard actually asks for.

How much does a Gekkard card cost to use?

I cannot tell you, and the honest reason is that the fee schedule could not be read and the official site would not load because of a certificate error. Issuance, monthly, conversion, FX and ATM fees are all not stated, as are the daily and monthly limits. The app listing claims 3% on EURG and a 1% purchase bonus, but the conditions behind those were not readable. Get the fee table in writing before you load money.

How do I top up Gekkard?

By SEPA payment into the euro account, or by buying and selling Gekkoin Europe (EURG), pegged 1:1 to the euro, with access to Bitcoin, Ethereum and Monero via partner AtlantEX OÜ, a described licensed exchange. Cash top-up locations are mentioned in the version history. No stablecoins or blockchain networks are listed. Fees and minimums are not stated, and AtlantEX paused onboarding of new clients from 1 July 2026.

Is Gekkard safe for my money?

It depends on what you mean by safe. Payments go over Mastercard, which is the part with an established track record. The crypto side is custodial per WalletScrutiny — the provider holds the keys — which means you are trusting a company whose issuer and licences I could not read. Custodial platforms have a poor history: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen, Coincheck about US$400 million, and the Ronin Network US$625 million. Nothing here says trouble is coming; it says the question deserves an answer.

Can I use the Gekkard card in my country?

The card was offered to residents of EEA countries and Switzerland, and version 1.0.6 added registration for clients outside the EEA, with the physical card mailed “to any address worldwide”. Acceptance at individual merchants is a separate matter: shops can read the issuing country from the card’s first digits and may decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, and some block gambling merchant codes by policy.

How do I withdraw money or cash from it?

Cash withdrawals and cash top-ups are both unaddressed beyond a mention of cash top-up locations in the version history. ATM fees, the card’s own currency and monthly limits are not stated, so I cannot tell you what a withdrawal costs or how much you can take out. Restricting a tokenised card number to phone-only use is also possible at the issuer’s discretion, so a physical card may be worth keeping.

Is a card like this worth it?

For a European who needs a euro IBAN with a prepaid Mastercard and is comfortable with a custodial app, possibly yes — after you read the fees yourself. If you want to know your cost per payment before you make it, or you would rather hold your own keys, alternatives publish more and score higher: Morse at 7.5 with zero FX fees and a self-custodial wallet, the International Visa Card at 6.7 with a stated 2% FX fee, UNi at 6.1 with no foreign transaction fee.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team