A crypto Visa Platinum with a $450 issuance fee, a brand founded this year, and almost no published pricing

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Ultimo card is a Visa Platinum debit card that draws on an Ultimo account balance, which the user funds with crypto. On paper that is straightforward; in practice the card is unusually opaque for a product that asks for several hundred dollars up front. The brand says it was founded in 2026, the issuing bank is not named, the country list is not published, the official fee schedule is limited to a single conversion line, and the only public customer review I could find reports that cards and funds were locked after a domain change. That combination is the reason the card ends up at the bottom of the score table below.

Ultimo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Ultimo scores 3.7 out of 10 in my review. The good part of the score comes from the top-up side: BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT and more across nine networks, which is genuinely wider than most cards. Everything else is held back by a lack of published information and by complaints I could verify.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ultimo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 No country list published; unofficial sources say the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card was blocked in the EU and UK
Cost 1 / 10 The official site lists only a 1.5% “all-in” conversion fee; unofficial reports cite a $450 issuance fee and $550–$600 total setup cost
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” across nine networks including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 “Founded in 2026,” issuer not named, licences not listed, and a Trustpilot review says cards and funds were locked after the move to ultimox.io
Everyday use 6 / 10 Visa Platinum with a virtual card in minutes and a physical card in 10–15 banking days; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported

Who it suits: someone who already operates across offshore crypto platforms, is comfortable funding a card from a self-custody wallet, and does not need mobile wallet support, cashback or a published fee schedule before paying for the card.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the cost of a card payment before they make it, anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay, anyone who lives in a country that has not been confirmed as supported, and anyone who would feel uncomfortable paying a $450 fee to a brand that has been live for less than a year and does not name its bank.

Who will give you the card

The short answer is: I cannot tell you from the official pages. Ultimo does not publish a list of supported countries on the site, and the registration country is not stated either. One unofficial source reports that the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card was blocked in the EU and UK and that no country list has been published; that same source frames the block as sanctions-related. The current brand, on ultimox.io, does not confirm or deny any of this.

What that means in practice: you only find out whether your country is supported when you try to open an account and complete the identity check. If the platform declines at that stage you have already shared your documents. There is no published list to consult first, no “we do not serve these countries” notice, and no appeal process described.

The card itself is described as a Visa Platinum debit card linked straight to your Ultimo balance, with a virtual card and a physical card. The card currency is not stated. The company says the physical card is “issued through an offshore bank” but does not name the bank, and it does not list any payment-services or e-money licences. Reviewers who looked at starting data mention Silver Capital Financial s.r.o. and, later, a Laos bank called JDB that is said to have been “removed from the partnership”; neither name is confirmed by Ultimo.

For someone whose priority is being told, in writing, which countries are supported and under which licence, the Ultimo card is the wrong product to start with.

How to get it

Opening an Ultimo account is described on the site as a two-step process: an identity check before the account is fully opened, and another identity check before any withdrawal. The site does not say which documents you will need, whether proof of address is required, or what level of due diligence applies at which point.

Unofficial reporting says the process is lighter than a regulated bank: email, phone number and an identity document, with proof of address and a selfie not required. That is consistent with an offshore platform, and it is also the reason such platforms end up on restricted country lists at short notice.

Once the account is open, the virtual card is “ready in minutes.” The physical card is delivered in 10–15 banking days. The countries it is delivered to, the shipping cost, and what a replacement costs are all not stated. A user report on the older Ultimo Pay card says the support team became unreachable after the card stopped working in the EU and UK, and that account deletion was refused; that is a single report, not a pattern, but it is the only public report I could find on the brand.

Two things are worth doing before you pay anything. First, check whether the official pages now list a country list, a named issuing bank, and a licence register entry. If they do not, treat the absence as part of the price. Second, write to [email protected] from the email you plan to use and ask a direct question about your country, your citizenship and your expected use; keep the answer in writing.

What it really costs

This is the section I found hardest to write, because the official fee schedule is so thin. The site lists a 1.5% “all-in” buy-and-sell fee, shown up front, and a 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker rate on the spot order book. That is it. There is no card issuance fee, no monthly fee, no FX fee, no ATM fee, no top-up fee and no withdrawal fee on the official pages. There are also no card-specific limits, no card currency, and no tier system.

Unofficial sources fill some of the gaps, and the gaps are large: a $450 card issuance fee, $150 deposit, a $550–$600 total setup cost; another reviewer in the same source quotes $550–$600 for issuance; one Trustpilot user reports a 3% crypto-to-fiat conversion and a 0.75% per-transaction fee; an FX fee described as “free”; an ATM fee of 0.1% with no limit; daily, monthly and ATM limits all listed as “Unlimited”; and a top-up fee described as “free” with a 1% surcharge for an immediate USD transfer versus a 72-hour free transfer. None of those numbers is on the official site.

Costs

Fee or limit Official Unofficial
Card issuance Not stated $450 (one report); $550–$600 (another)
Total setup Not stated $600 ($450 card + $150 deposit)
Monthly fee Not stated Free
Buy & sell 1.5% all-in 3% crypto-to-fiat (one user)
Spot trading 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker —
Card transaction fee Not stated 0.75% per transaction (one user)
FX fee Not stated Free (one source)
ATM fee Not stated 0.1%, unlimited
Top-up fee Not stated Free; 1% for immediate USD transfer
Daily / monthly / ATM limits Not stated “Unlimited”
Card currency Not stated —
Reward / cashback Not stated None listed

Three everyday payments, walked through with the numbers above.

Coffee at €3.50. At the official 1.5% “all-in” fee, that is about 5 cents. At the user-reported 3% conversion plus 0.75% transaction — figures not confirmed by Ultimo — that is about 13 cents. The difference is small, but it is the difference between a published number and a number reported by one user.

A €40 supermarket shop. Official: 60 cents. Unofficial worst case: €1.50. ATM cashback of €100 on the unofficial 0.1% ATM fee would be 10 cents; on a 1.5% conversion plus 0.1% ATM fee, €1.60.

A €1,200 monthly spend (rent-sized, though Ultimo is unlikely to be the right tool for rent). Official conversion: €18. Unofficial worst case: €45. Across a year that gap is €324 on a single recurring payment.

The point is not that any one fee is huge. The point is that you do not get to choose which set of fees applies to you, because the official page only publishes the cheapest combination.

Top up

Top-up is the part of the card I have the fewest concerns about. The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL and USDT “and more” across nine networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche. The card is linked to the Ultimo balance, so the flow is: send crypto to the platform on a supported network, the platform credits the balance, the card spends from that balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ultimo starts with a transfer to the right network

The card-specific top-up fee is not stated on the official pages. Unofficial reporting says top-up is free, with a 1% surcharge for an immediate USD transfer versus a 72-hour free transfer. On-chain network fees (gas, bandwidth) are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and that is the same on any card.

Two network-level points worth keeping in mind. First, if you send USDC on Tron, you are using a path that Circle stopped supporting on Tron in February 2024, so any “USDC over TRC20” deposit that arrives on Ultimo’s side is a deposit you should be very sure Ultimo actually accepts. Second, blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network Ultimo does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee.

For someone who already holds assets on Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base or Avalanche, the funding side is genuinely flexible. For someone who holds coins only on, say, Stellar or Fantom, the published list does not cover them.

Paying with it every day

The card works “wherever Visa is accepted,” which is the right baseline for a Visa Platinum. The virtual card is “ready in minutes” after account opening, which makes it usable for online purchases on the day you sign up. The physical card arrives in 10–15 banking days, which is slower than the typical 5–7 business days for a regulated EU-issued card.

What is not supported, according to unofficial reporting, is Apple Pay and Google Pay. That matters more than it looks: for someone who is used to paying with a phone, the loss of mobile wallet support means going back to a physical card or typing a card number into websites. For someone who travels, it also means you cannot use the card at a contactless turnstile that requires a phone, only a card.

The app is a web app at app.ultimox.io. Store listings and ratings are not stated. The dispute process is not stated. There is no published cashback, reward or staking program, and unofficial sources confirm none is listed. In other words, the card does not pay you to use it; it costs you to use it.

On the merchant side, two structural points are worth being aware of. Address Verification Service (AVS) is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at smaller US online stores. A merchant that looks up the card’s BIN will see an offshore-issued Visa Platinum, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs as a matter of policy. A 3-D Secure challenge (Visa Secure) is more likely on an offshore card, which means a one-time code at checkout. None of these are unique to Ultimo, but they are all more likely on a card whose issuer is not named and whose BIN range is not published.

What can go wrong

Three risk categories, in order of how much they worry me.

1. The complaint trail

The single public customer review I could find on Trustpilot, dated 17/20 August 2026, says that after the move to ultimox.io, “cards and funds are locked.” A separate, undated user report on the older Ultimo Pay card (2025–2026) says the card stopped working in the EU and UK, the $600 fee was still charged, support was unreachable, and account deletion was refused. Trustpilot shows 3.2/5 across 1 review at the time of writing, which is too small a sample to be statistically meaningful, but the only review that exists is a 1-star review about funds being locked.

2. The company footprint

The brand says “Ultimo” and that it was “founded in 2026.” The registration country is not stated. The physical card is “issued through an offshore bank” that is not named. No licences are listed. Unofficial sources name Silver Capital Financial s.r.o. as a starting data point and a Laos bank (JDB) that is said to have been “removed from the partnership.” Infrastructure partners named on the site include BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex; unofficial sources add BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks as custody providers. None of those names is, by itself, a regulatory endorsement.

The reason this matters: a card product is the sum of its issuer, its programme manager and its custody. When the issuer is unnamed, the programme manager is a brand less than a year old, and the licence is not published, the user is the only party that is fully identified.

3. Operational risks

The custody model is not stated on the official pages. Withdrawals need a one-time code and email confirmation, then a routine risk check, and unofficial sources put the withdrawal fee at 0.1% plus 0.001 BTC. Support is described as 24/7 chat and email at [email protected], which is the same answer the undated EU/UK user report disputes. The Security page is linked but its content was not read for this review.

For context on the category, not this card: custodial platforms have a track record of failures (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin), and the network cannot reverse a transfer even when a custodian fails. Self-custody-linked cards keep funds in the user’s wallet until the moment of payment, but the user carries the key-loss and clipboard-hijacking risk. The brand is the variable the user cannot change.

What to take instead

Three alternatives, each with a different trade-off. None is a direct replacement for an offshore, founder-of-the-year card; all of them publish more than Ultimo does.

Young Card — 5.7 / 10

A cashback-in-token card. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens at rates that depend on the user’s Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%. Bronze and Silver tiers are not stated. The card’s own fees and supported countries are also not stated. The appeal is the token rewards if you are already in the YNG ecosystem; the limitation is the same lack of public pricing that affects Ultimo.

Coinbase Card — 6.4 / 10

A Visa prepaid debit card, available in all US states except Hawaii. Identity follows the USA PATRIOT Act rules: name, address, date of birth and ID. Coinbase charges “zero spending fees and no annual fees,” and a spread applies when Coinbase converts crypto at payment. Funding is by linking a US bank account or depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase. Optional crypto rewards are available to US card users only, with a variable rate shown in the app and a rotating set of reward coins the user picks. For a US reader, this is the cheapest card to operate; for a non-US reader, it is not available.

OKX — 6.2 / 10

A Mastercard in euro, virtual only (no physical card mentioned in the press release), launched in the EU plus Norway on 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein are excluded and the explainer’s conclusion that the card serves the “entire EEA” is inconsistent with that. The card is issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider. Fees: no card fee, no transaction fee, no OKX FX fee; conversion spread is 0.1% per the explainer (May 2026) versus 0.4% per the launch press release — the explainer is the more recent source. Funding: USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first; no auto top-up, payment declined if balance insufficient. Cashback is paid only on USDG purchases (USDC earns nothing), with monthly caps in EUR by tier: Regular 2% cap 10, VIP1 4% cap 300, VIP2 4.5% cap 450, VIP3 5% cap 1,000, VIP4+ 10% cap 1,000; the press release mentions 2–5% while the table shows 10%, which is inconsistent.

A short comparison of the three.

Card Score Card fee FX / conversion Cashback KYC weight Where it works
Ultimo 3.7 / 10 $450 unofficial 1.5% official; up to 3% unofficial None Email, phone, ID (unofficial) Not published
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Not stated Not stated YNG, up to 3.6% by tier Not stated Not stated
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 None Spread at payment Optional, variable, US only PATRIOT Act US (excl. Hawaii)
OKX 6.2 / 10 None 0.1% (explainer) USDG only, 2–10% by tier EEA rules EU + Norway

If you are in the US, Coinbase Card is the cheapest published option. If you are in the EEA, OKX is the only one of the three that explicitly serves a named region. If you are outside both, the choice comes down to whether you want Young Card’s token rewards or Ultimo’s offshore flexibility, and that is a trade-off between an unstated cost and an unstated cost.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Ultimo card to a narrow reader: someone who already operates across offshore crypto platforms, holds assets on the nine networks Ultimo supports, and is comfortable paying a $450 issuance fee (unofficial) for a card whose issuing bank is not named and whose licence is not published. That reader is also the reader who is least likely to be surprised by a 3-D Secure challenge, an AVS decline, a missing mobile wallet, or a 72-hour free top-up versus a 1% immediate one.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to know the cost of a card payment before they make it, anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay, anyone who lives in a country that has not been confirmed as supported by an answer from [email protected], and anyone who would feel uncomfortable paying a four-figure sum to a brand that has been live for less than a year and whose only public customer review is a 1-star report of locked funds.

The honest summary is this: the card’s top-up side is genuinely good; everything else is either not published, published only by unofficial sources, or both. Until the official site publishes a fee schedule, a country list, a named issuer and at least one licence register entry, the gap between what is on the page and what the card actually costs is the product.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Ultimo card?

The Ultimo card is a Visa Platinum debit card linked to an Ultimo account balance, which you fund with crypto such as BTC, ETH, SOL or USDT. The brand says it was founded in 2026, and the card is positioned as an offshore-issued product with a virtual card issued in minutes and a physical card delivered in 10–15 banking days.

How does the Ultimo card work?

You open an Ultimo account, complete an identity check, fund the account by sending supported crypto to the platform on one of the supported networks, and the card then spends from that balance. The card works wherever Visa is accepted, and the conversion from crypto to the merchant’s currency happens at the time of payment.

Is Ultimo a bank?

No, and Ultimo does not describe itself as a bank. The site says the physical card is “issued through an offshore bank” that is not named, and the brand does not list any banking, e-money or payment-services licences. Unofficial sources name Silver Capital Financial s.r.o. and a Laos bank called JDB as historical data points, but neither is confirmed by Ultimo.

Who owns Ultimo?

The site identifies the brand as “Ultimo,” founded in 2026, and does not name a parent company, a registration country or a beneficial owner. Infrastructure partners named on the site include BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex; unofficial sources add BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks as custody providers. None of these names is, by itself, an ownership disclosure.

Is the Ultimo card available in my country?

The official site does not publish a country list. Unofficial reporting says the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card was blocked in the EU and UK and that the current brand has not published a list either. The only way to confirm your country is to write to [email protected] before paying any fee and to keep the answer in writing.

Does the Ultimo card require KYC?

Yes. Ultimo says an identity check is required to open an account and a second check is required before any withdrawal. The official pages do not list the documents required; unofficial reporting says email, phone and an identity document, with proof of address and a selfie not required. That is lighter than a regulated bank, and it is the reason such platforms end up on restricted country lists at short notice.

How do I top up the Ultimo card?

You send supported crypto to the Ultimo platform on one of nine networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base or Avalanche. The supported coins include BTC, ETH, SOL and USDT, and the site says “and more.” On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Ultimo, and a top-up on a network Ultimo does not support can be lost.

How much does the Ultimo card cost?

The official pages list a 1.5% “all-in” buy-and-sell fee and a 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker spot rate, and nothing else. Unofficial sources cite a $450 card issuance fee, a $150 deposit, $550–$600 total setup, an FX fee described as “free,” a 0.1% ATM fee with no limit, a 0.75% per-transaction fee in one user report and a 3% crypto-to-fiat conversion in the same report. None of those unofficial numbers is on the official site.

Can I add the Ultimo card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Unofficial reporting says no: neither Apple Pay nor Google Pay is supported. That means paying with a phone at a contactless turnstile is not an option, and online checkout is by typed card number, not by a tokenised wallet. The official pages do not list mobile wallet support either way, but unofficial testing and reviews are consistent on the “not supported” finding.

Is the Ultimo card safe?

That depends on what you mean by safe. The card requires an identity check, uses a one-time code and email confirmation for withdrawals, and is built on custody and processing infrastructure that includes well-known crypto names. The risks that are specific to Ultimo are the ones that come from a brand that has been live for under a year, an unnamed issuing bank, no published licence, and a public customer report of cards and funds being locked after a domain change in August 2026.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team