Anodos card: spending from your own crypto, with the trade-offs that come with it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Anodos is a Visa payment card that lets you spend against crypto locked as collateral in a wallet you control. The company behind it, Anodos Labs Inc., does not hold your funds; instead, you pledge assets on a supported blockchain, and that pledge sets your spending limit. In return, the card behaves much like a regular Visa at checkout, and a foreign-currency purchase is converted to USD by the card network before Anodos adds its own fee on top.

Anodos works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That model has a clear appeal for people who already keep their crypto in self-custody and do not want to hand it to a card provider. It also comes with sharp edges: the published terms reserve broad discretion to liquidate your collateral if a payment is not covered, the international programme is closed to residents of seventeen countries, and the fee schedule sits somewhere in the middle of the market rather than at the cheap end. This review walks through who the card is for, what it actually costs day to day, and where it falls short, so you can decide whether the trade-off makes sense for your situation.

The information below reflects the card’s public pages and terms as of October 28, 2026. The country-availability page itself was last updated on 26 September 2026, and that is the date the figures here are pinned to.

Verdict

Anodos earns 7.2 out of 10 in my assessment. That score is the average of how the card performs across eligibility, cost, funding, reliability, and everyday use. The breakdown is below.

Criterion Mark Why it scores here
Who can get it 9 / 10 Available in 150+ countries with a closed list of seventeen. The international programme is also off-limits to US citizens, who are routed to a separate US product.
Cost 7 / 10 Free tier starts at $0 per month with the first virtual card included, but the FX fee of 1.50% on international spend and the ATM fee of $1 plus 1.75% are noticeable. Pro and Elite lower those numbers for $9.99 and $29.99 a month.
Top-up options 6 / 10 The card is funded by collateral, not top-ups, and the supported networks are Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum. The list of accepted coins is not published, and there is no ordinary “add money” button.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Anodos Labs is a technology provider, not a bank. The card is issued by Third National under a Visa licence, and the public terms contain a placeholder for the partner name. I could not find any formal complaints or user reviews, but the absence of feedback is itself a soft signal.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical or virtual Visa, ATM access on the three paid tiers with monthly caps, and standard dispute rights. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not mentioned in the terms.
Total 7.2 / 10

The short version: the card is well suited to someone who already holds crypto in a self-custody wallet and is comfortable with on-chain mechanics, and is poorly suited to someone who simply wants the cheapest prepaid Visa on the market, or who lives in one of the countries on the exclusion list. If you are between those poles, the sections below should help you place yourself.

Who they will issue the card to

The card is “currently available in 150+ countries, with a few exceptions.” That sentence sounds generous until you read the exceptions, which are spelled out by country of residence. Cards cannot be issued to residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. On top of that, Chinese and Hong Kong passports are not eligible regardless of where you live.

A second tier of countries is open only with extra checks. Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa are listed as available with “enhanced review + explicit approval,” which in practice means the card provider will look more carefully at your application and may turn you down. If you are a resident of one of those three, expect to provide more documents and to wait longer.

The exclusion list also affects spending, not just issuance. Even if you live in a permitted country, you cannot use the card in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine or Venezuela. Russia is double-barred: cards cannot be issued to residents and cannot be used for purchases made in Russia. Belarus is single-barred: the card cannot be issued to residents, but spending there is not separately listed as blocked.

A separate point that catches people out: the terms require users to attest that they are not US citizens, because the international programme is for those outside the United States. There is a separate US programme running in 30 US states, but it is a different product with its own onboarding flow. If you are a US citizen anywhere in the world, the version of the card described here is not the one you would apply for.

The minimum age is not stated in the public card terms. The terms do require that the information you provide be “true, correct, and complete,” and that the card be used for personal, family or household purposes. The card’s own description of KYC, the formal identity-verification process a regulated financial firm must run on each new customer, is similarly thin: there is no published step-by-step, no stated list of documents, and no mention of how long checks take. That lack of detail is something to keep in mind if you expect a bank-style application flow.

How to get it

The published steps are short. You sign up, link a self-custody wallet, and lock collateral on a supported blockchain to set the spending limit. From there, the card becomes available in physical or virtual form under a Visa licence, with the network converting any foreign-currency transaction to USD before Anodos applies its fee.

There is no published document checklist, no stated age floor, and no detailed description of what “true, correct, and complete” information means in practice. The card terms do not address delivery times or replacement procedures either, so if you lose a physical card and need a new one quickly, you are dependent on support rather than on a published service-level commitment.

The first virtual card is included at no extra cost on every tier. If you want a second virtual card, the fee depends on your plan: $20 on Free, $10 on Pro and $10 on Elite. A physical card is part of the offer too, but the shipping terms and replacement cost are not listed in the fee schedule.

What it really costs: Fees

The pricing is built on three monthly plans, all of which include the first virtual card. The numbers below are the headline figures from the card’s own fee schedule.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Anodos payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Free Pro Elite
Monthly fee $0 $9.99 (or $99.90/yr) $29.99 (or $299.90/yr)
Card FX / international fee 1.50% 1.25% 1.00%
Currency exchange (non-card) 1.00% 0.75% 0.50%
ATM fee $1.00 + 1.75% $1.00 + 1.00% $1.00 + 0.75%
ATM monthly limit $5,000 $10,000 $15,000
Extra virtual card $20 $10 $10
Late payment up to $40 up to $40 up to $40
Returned payment $29.00 $29.00 $29.00
Interest on purchases 0% APR (currently) 0% APR (currently) 0% APR (currently)

A few things stand out. First, the card is not a credit product, so the 0% APR line is mostly there for the rare situation where a balance is carried, and the late-payment and returned-payment fees will rarely apply to a collateral-backed card in normal use. Second, the FX and ATM percentages change with the tier you choose, so picking Pro or Elite is mostly a bet that the volume of foreign-currency spend or cash withdrawals will exceed the monthly subscription fee. For a Free user who spends $200 abroad a month, 1.50% is $3; for a Pro user paying $9.99 a month, 1.25% on $200 is $2.50, and the subscription does not pay for itself until the fee savings outrun the monthly charge.

The same fee schedule has an internal contradiction worth flagging. It says cash advances and balance transfers are not available, and then it sets out ATM withdrawal fees and monthly limits. The reading I find most consistent with the rest of the document is that “cash advance” in the card-rail sense is not supported, but ATM cash withdrawals from your card balance are, where enabled. If that distinction matters to you, it is worth confirming with support before you travel.

To make those numbers feel less abstract, here are three everyday situations and which fees apply.

You tap to pay for dinner in a restaurant in Paris. The merchant charges you in euros. The card network converts euros to USD and adds its own wholesale margin, then Anodos charges the international fee of 1.50% on the Free tier (1.25% on Pro, 1.00% on Elite). The non-card currency exchange rate does not apply here; that line is for converting balances in the app, not card payments.

You pull €200 out of an ATM in Berlin. On the Free tier, that costs $1.00 plus 1.75% of the amount, in addition to whatever the ATM operator itself charges. The $1.00 flat fee plus the 1.75% percentage is Anodos’s slice; the ATM’s own surcharge and the network’s FX margin are separate. On Elite, the same withdrawal costs $1.00 plus 0.75%.

You pay a $50 subscription in US dollars to a US streaming service. No foreign currency is involved, so neither the international fee nor the ATM fee applies. If the merchant triggers a currency conversion at its end (Dynamic Currency Conversion), you can usually insist on paying in USD to avoid the extra markup. The card’s own fees are silent on the merchant’s DCC choice; that is between you and the merchant at the till.

How to top it up: Top up

The card does not work the way most prepaid or debit cards do. There is no “add money” button. Instead, you lock crypto as collateral in your own wallet, on one of the supported blockchains, and that collateral value sets your spending limit across all cards on the account. The terms are explicit: $100 of collateral supports $100 of spending.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Anodos starts with a transfer to the right network

The blockchains listed in the card’s own pages are Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum (the page renders the last one as “Arbitrium,” a typo worth noting in itself). The issuer can add more networks later, but the list at the time of writing is those four. The list of accepted tokens is not published. If you only hold, say, a single token on a network that is not in the list, the card will not work for you until either the network or the token is added.

The collateral model has consequences that take a minute to absorb. Because the limit equals the collateral value, a price drop in your pledged asset can reduce your spending room in real time, even if you have not spent a cent. The terms reserve the right to change limits “at any time,” including reducing them to $0. There is no published threshold for what triggers a reduction, no warning system described, and no grace period mentioned. If your collateral value falls below the outstanding charges, a liquidation event is defined in the terms, and the gas fees for that liquidation are paid from your collateral. The wallet you connect remains yours; Anodos and the issuer are explicit that they do not hold custody of it.

There is no top-up fee in the published schedule, because there is no top-up transaction in the ordinary sense. What you do pay, when you lock or unlock collateral, is the network’s own gas fee, and that is charged by the blockchain, not by Anodos. Network choice matters here: Ethereum gas can be expensive during busy periods, while Polygon and the Layer-2 networks Optimism and Arbitrum typically cost a fraction of that. If you are moving meaningful sums, picking the right network is part of using the card cheaply.

When you close the account, the card must be surrendered or destroyed, and any repayment obligations you have built up survive the closure. The collateral itself stays in your wallet throughout, which is the point of the model.

Paying with it every day

The card behaves like a standard Visa at checkout: contactless, chip and PIN, and online. Foreign-currency transactions are converted to USD by the card network, so the card always settles in dollars even if you are paying in euros or yen. You can have a physical card or a virtual one, and the virtual card is generated free of charge on every tier.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned in the terms. That is not the same as a flat “no,” because the issuer can add support later and tokenised mobile wallets are common in the category, but if tap-to-pay on your phone is the way you intend to use the card, you should not assume it works today.

Some categories of spending may be restricted. The terms flag that cash-like transactions, which include crypto purchases, gambling and money transfers, can be blocked. Merchant category codes, the four-digit numbers a card network uses to classify a business, are how this works in practice: gambling typically falls under MCC 7995, money transfers under other codes, and crypto purchases under their own set. Whether a specific merchant is blocked depends on how the issuer has set its policy, not on the card itself.

Rewards are not stated in the card terms. There is no published cashback rate, no points scheme and no sign-up bonus. If you are comparing cards partly on what you get back, this is a clean zero to write down.

The dispute process is conventional: try the merchant first, then report the disputed charge to the card issuer no later than 60 days after it appears on your statement. Pending disputed charges may still be due while the investigation is open, and the card network’s own rules apply on top. The terms also require a binding arbitration process in New York under the rules of the American Arbitration Association, which is worth knowing if you ever need to escalate a complaint.

The Anodos app is described as covering send, save and invest, and the platforms it runs on are not stated. The card company’s public social channels include X, Discord, LinkedIn, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and TikTok, which is a wide footprint but not a substitute for a published support workflow.

What can go wrong

The first thing to weigh is who you are actually dealing with. Anodos Labs Inc. is a technology provider, not a bank, credit union or money services business. The card itself is issued by Third National, under a licence from Visa. That structure is common in the crypto-card market: the brand you interact with is usually the front-end, and the regulated issuer sits behind it. It also means that if something goes wrong with the issuing bank, the brand’s response depends on what its contract allows.

The card terms are governed by Puerto Rico law and require binding arbitration in New York, which gives the document a US-jurisdiction flavour even though the international programme is for non-US users. The terms contain a placeholder for the partner name. That is a small thing, but a published legal document that has not been cleaned up suggests the terms are still being finalised.

Liquidation is the risk that is specific to a collateral model. The terms define a liquidation event if a payment is not made “within one (1) calendar day” or if the collateral value falls below the outstanding charges. The account can be suspended or cancelled “in our sole discretion,” which is broad language. Gas fees on a liquidation are paid from your collateral, so a falling market can compound the cost: the price drops, the liquidation fires, and the gas fee takes a further slice. The terms do not describe a warning system, an appeal process, or a defined minimum time between a price alert and a liquidation.

Security features such as two-factor authentication and an in-app card freeze are not stated in the card terms. Standard app-level safeguards are common in the category, but if those specific features matter to you, treat them as “to be confirmed” rather than as a given. The card’s own pages do not advertise them.

Support is offered by email at [email protected] and by phone at +1 (307) 683-5768. The languages supported and the hours of operation are not stated. I could not find a Trustpilot page or a Reddit thread with substantive user reviews of the Anodos card, which is unusual for a product that has been live long enough to publish three pricing tiers. The absence of complaints is not the same as a track record of satisfied users; it is more accurately described as an absence of evidence in either direction.

Finally, the issuer’s discretion over limits includes the power to reduce a limit to $0 at any time. In a stress scenario, that could leave you holding collateral you cannot spend against, while the account is suspended pending review. The terms do not describe how that collateral is released in such a case, which is a gap I would want filled before committing large sums.

What to take instead

If Anodos is close to what you want but not quite right, three alternatives are worth a look. They are not direct substitutes in every respect, and they score differently against the criteria that matter most here.

Card Score Eligibility Card type Funding Headline cost Standout feature
Sponge 4.9 / 10 Not stated (platform minimum age 13) Virtual Visa, issued by Rain USDC collateral from the Sponge wallet (e.g. on Base) Not stated in the public pages Simple createSpongeCard flow for a virtual-only Visa
Xplace 7.7 / 10 Not stated country by country; “services are not available in all jurisdictions” Visa virtual (instant) and physical (Silver live; Gold/Platinum coming soon, 7–14 business days) BTC, ETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana Basic free; Silver $99/yr; Gold $249/yr; Platinum $999/yr 0% FX on Platinum; tiered cashback paid in USDC
ether.fi 6.7 / 10 Listed jurisdictions only, e.g. Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UAE, UK, plus 31 US states Visa virtual and physical Collateral in a Safe (Credit mode) or direct balance (Direct Pay); coin list not stated First virtual card free on Core; $10 in regional-pricing countries Tiered cashback in ETHFI, with locked-then-claimable mechanics

Sponge is the simplest of the three on paper: a virtual Visa created by running the createSpongeCard action in the Sponge wallet, funded by USDC collateral moved from that same wallet. The cost, fee and country coverage are not stated on the public card pages, so the comparison can only go so far. If all you need is a virtual card to spend USDC at Visa-accepting merchants and you are comfortable staying inside one wallet app, Sponge is a low-friction option, but it does not give you the breadth of a physical card or the multi-network funding that Anodos offers.

Xplace is the most feature-rich alternative in this list. It splits spending into Cash mode, which draws on your stablecoin balance, and Credit mode, which borrows against your holdings. The fee ladder is steeper than Anodos: $99, $249 and $999 a year for Silver, Gold and Platinum, but the headline 0% FX on Platinum and the USDC cashback (0.5% on Basic up to 2% on Platinum) are competitive at the top end. Funding is broader than Anodos’s collateral list, including BTC, ETH and a set of tokenised stocks, all on Solana. The catch is that the country list is not published, and the platform’s terms only say “services are not available in all jurisdictions,” so you would need to apply to find out.

ether.fi sits between the two on cost and reward. The eligibility list is published and is more restrictive than Anodos’s 150+ country reach: it names specific jurisdictions, and ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar. The reward structure is unusual: cashback is paid in the platform’s ETHFI token, locked for seven days before it can be claimed, and tiered by spend volume. If you are bullish on ETHFI and want a Visa that pays you in it, ether.fi is the most direct comparison. If you would rather not be paid in a volatile token, the 7-day lock is a small but real friction.

The honest summary: if self-custody and multi-chain collateral are the priority, Anodos is the most explicit of the three. If you want a richer rewards structure and are happy to operate inside a custodial balance, Xplace is the stronger pick. If you want a published eligibility list and ETHFI-denominated rewards, ether.fi is the middle ground.

Who I would recommend it to

Anodos is the right card in a narrow band of situations, and the wrong card outside that band. The clearest cases are these.

If you already hold crypto in a self-custody wallet, want to spend it without first selling it to a custodian, and accept that a price drop in your pledged asset can reduce your spending room or trigger a liquidation, Anodos is built for that workflow. The four supported networks cover most of the major Ethereum-family chains, the collateral stays in your wallet, and the first virtual card is free on every tier.

If you travel or spend abroad frequently, and the volume of foreign-currency purchases is high enough that the lower FX and ATM fees on Pro or Elite save you more than the monthly subscription, the paid tiers earn their keep. For a Free user with modest spend, the 1.50% FX and $1 + 1.75% ATM numbers are workable but not class-leading.

If you are in Nigeria, Sri Lanka or South Africa and willing to go through an enhanced review, the card is technically available, but you should expect more friction and the possibility of refusal. If you are a resident of any of the seventeen closed countries, or you hold a Chinese or Hong Kong passport, the international programme is closed to you and you should look at alternatives rather than wait for the list to change.

If you are a US citizen, the international programme is not the right product for you, and the US programme in 30 states is a different offering that I have not reviewed here. If Apple Pay or Google Pay is essential to how you pay, treat the absence of any published support as a no until the company confirms otherwise.

If you are looking for a rewards card, this is not it: no cashback, no points, no sign-up bonus. If you want a published, detailed KYC flow with a document checklist, you will not find it here, and that is a meaningful gap if you prefer a bank-style onboarding. If you want strong consumer-protection language in the cardholder agreement, the broad “sole discretion” clauses around limits, suspensions and cancellations are not reassuring, and the surviving placeholder suggests the document is not yet in its final form.

The final word is this: Anodos is a competent, narrow tool. It does one thing, funding a Visa against self-custodied collateral, and it does it without taking custody of your funds. The price for that design is a thinner published agreement, a country list that excludes more places than the headline “150+” suggests, and a fee schedule that is reasonable without being cheap. If those trade-offs fit your situation, the card is worth trying on the Free tier; if they do not, one of the alternatives above will probably suit you better.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Anodos card?

The Anodos card is a Visa issued by Third National under licence from Visa, with Anodos Labs Inc. providing the technology layer. It is funded by crypto locked as collateral in a self-custody wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum, rather than by a fiat top-up.

How does the Anodos card work?

You link a wallet, lock collateral on a supported blockchain, and that collateral value sets your spending limit. Foreign-currency transactions are converted to USD by the card network before Anodos adds its own fee, and the card can be used wherever Visa is accepted.

Is Anodos a bank?

No. Anodos Labs Inc. describes itself as a technology provider, and the card terms state that the company is “not a bank, credit union, or money services business.” The card itself is issued by Third National.

Who owns Anodos?

The card’s public pages identify Anodos Labs Inc. as the technology provider, with the card issued by Third National under a Visa licence. Ownership of the company itself is not detailed in the materials I reviewed.

Is the Anodos card available in my country?

The international programme is open in 150+ countries, but closed to residents of seventeen named countries, including Russia, Belarus, China, India, Turkey, Ukraine and others. Chinese and Hong Kong passports are not eligible, and Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa are available only with enhanced review and explicit approval. US citizens are routed to a separate US programme.

Can I use the Anodos card in Russia or Belarus?

The card cannot be issued to residents of Russia or Belarus, and spending is blocked in Russia. Spending in Belarus is not separately listed as blocked in the public terms, but the issuance restriction will still apply if you are a resident.

How do I get the Anodos card?

The published steps are to sign up, link a self-custody wallet, and lock collateral on a supported blockchain. The first virtual card is included free on every tier; the card is also available as a physical card, with delivery terms not stated.

Does the Anodos card require KYC?

The terms require users to provide “true, correct, and complete” information and to attest that they are not US citizens, but a step-by-step KYC process, document checklist and turnaround time are not published. If you need that level of detail before applying, ask support directly.

How do I top up the Anodos card?

The card does not have a top-up flow. You add or remove collateral in your linked wallet on a supported blockchain, and your spending limit moves with the collateral value. Network gas fees apply to those transactions and are paid to the blockchain, not to Anodos.

How do I add the Anodos card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not mentioned in the card’s public terms. Treat that as unconfirmed rather than a flat no, and check with support before relying on tokenised mobile-wallet payments.

Is the Anodos card safe?

The collateral stays in your wallet, and Anodos and the issuer state that they do not hold custody of it. The published terms reserve broad discretion to change limits, suspend or cancel accounts, and liquidate collateral if a payment is not made within one calendar day or if collateral value falls below charges. Two-factor authentication and an in-app freeze are not stated in the terms.

How do I delete my Anodos account?

The card terms do not describe a deletion flow in detail. On termination the card must be surrendered or destroyed, and any repayment obligations survive. The collateral itself is held in your wallet rather than on the Anodos platform, so the closing step is largely about the card relationship rather than about fund recovery.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team