A stablecoin-funded Visa card that charges $50 a year and hides the deposit details

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The FV Bank card is a Visa debit card that spends a US-dollar balance you fund with stablecoins — USDC, USDT or PYUSD — converted to dollars at the moment of deposit. On paper it does its job: a physical Visa, Apple Wallet, a claimed footprint of over 100 countries, an account you can reportedly open in as little as 24 hours. What stops me recommending it outright is the price of that convenience and how little the bank publishes about the mechanics.

FV Bank works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

I scored it 5.5 out of 10. That is not a dismissal. It is a card with a genuinely attractive shape and a genuinely unpleasant cost structure, wrapped in a disclosure thin enough that you will have to ask support questions before committing money.

Verdict: 5.5 out of 10, and the score is mostly about cost

FV Bank suits people who already hold stablecoins, want a real US-dollar bank account with a Visa attached, and spend most of their money where dollars work. It does not suit anyone who needs the card to be free, who travels often and pays in local currency, or who plans to keep a meaningful balance sitting in the account — the money is not FDIC-insured.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Account opening “available from over 100 countries”, the card works wherever Visa is accepted, and no country list is published
Cost 1 / 10 $50 plastic issuance, $50 annual card maintenance ($100 on international accounts), 2.99% foreign currency transaction, $3.50 ATM inside the USA and $5.00 outside it
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC, USDT and PYUSD deposits converted to USD, but networks and the deposit fee are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 FV Bank International Inc., OCIF licence IFE-063, Visa principal member, not FDIC-insured; Trustpilot 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical Visa debit, roughly 1.9 million ATMs across 200+ countries, Apple Wallet; Google Pay not named, virtual card not disclosed

Two things drive the 5.5. The card is easy to get hold of, which is genuinely unusual and genuinely useful for people who cannot get an ordinary bank card. And it costs enough per year that the arithmetic rarely works out for light spenders. Keep both in mind as you read on, because the sections below simply fill in the detail.

Will they give you the card?

Probably — but you cannot check the list yourself. The bank describes account opening as “available from over 100 countries”, and the card is usable worldwide wherever Visa is accepted. That is as far as the public page goes. There is no country list to check against your own address, and no statement about which countries are excluded.

That absence matters more than it sounds. If you live somewhere with a strict foreign-exchange regime, or somewhere the bank has decided it does not want the relationship, the rejection comes at application time rather than from a list you could consult beforehand. If your country is on any restriction list, you will find out the hard way. That is not so much a criticism of FV Bank as a practical fact: an open door with no published boundaries is harder to plan around than a door with a sign on it.

The issuer is FV Bank International Inc., licensed by OCIF in Puerto Rico as an International Financial Entity under licence IFE-063. It is a Visa principal member, a status announced in October 2021. It is not FDIC-insured, and that sentence deserves more weight than it usually gets — see the risk section below.

How to get it

The application runs through apply.fvbank.us, and the bank quotes a USD account in “as little as 24 hours”. You can open a USD account and order a Visa debit card. Physical cards are ordered in the portal or app and, according to the bank’s blog, delivered “anywhere in the world” — though neither the delivery time nor the delivery cost is stated. A replacement card costs $50.

Here is the honest part: the cards page does not say what identity verification is required. It does not state which documents you need, it does not describe the KYC tiers, and it does not say what happens to an application that fails a check. Every regulated bank verifies customers as part of anti-money-laundering law. In the EU that means name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person determination; in the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. FV Bank is not exempt from any of it. The page simply does not tell you the shape of the process.

Expect to upload documents, and expect the account to be frozen or closed if they do not arrive promptly — that is the standard consequence of incomplete due diligence rather than a quirk of this bank. Cards for employees are also mentioned. Whether a virtual card exists is not stated either way.

Fees: what it really costs

This is where the card falls apart. A $50 plastic card plus $50 a year — or $100 a year on an international account — is the price of admission, and the per-transaction costs stack on top.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a FV Bank payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Plastic card issuance $50 per card
Replacement card $50
Annual card maintenance, domestic US accounts $50 per card
Annual card maintenance, international accounts $100 per card
Purchase transactions Free
Foreign currency transaction 2.99%
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM inside the USA $3.50
ATM outside the USA $5.00
ATM balance inquiry $1.00
PIN change Free
ATM network About 1.9 million ATMs in 200+ countries
Daily purchase limit, US and international individual $7,500 per day, 15 transactions per day, 60 per week
Daily purchase limit, international business $12,000 per day, 15 transactions per day, 60 per week
ATM withdrawal limit Not stated

Let me run three ordinary days through that table, because an abstract fee schedule does not tell you whether a card is expensive.

A coffee and a sandwich abroad. You are in a country that does not use dollars. The purchase itself is free, but paying in a foreign currency costs you 2.99% on top of whatever rate Visa applies. On a $12 lunch that is roughly 36 cents — about 3% of the meal, for the privilege of not converting first.

Withdrawing cash at a foreign ATM. $5.00, charged before any currency conversion is considered, plus 2.99% if the machine dispenses local currency. On a $100 withdrawal the fixed fee alone is 5%. If you take out cash regularly, this card is expensive, and no arrangement makes it otherwise.

A year of ordinary spending on a domestic US account. $50 to get the card, $50 to keep it. These fixed costs are a significant part of the total, especially for light spenders.

Two further gaps: the crypto conversion fee is not stated, and there are no named tiers. What varies is domestic versus international versus business, and that variation lives entirely in the maintenance fee and the daily limit.

Top up: how the money gets in

The funding model is short and, on its face, clean. You deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD and it is automatically converted to USD at the moment of deposit. There is also a Convert feature that sells digital assets held in custody for dollars, and withdrawals convert custody assets to USD and transfer them to the bank balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up FV Bank starts with a transfer to the right network

What is missing is the part that decides whether you can actually do it. Neither the deposit network nor the deposit fee is disclosed, and neither is the minimum. This is not a technicality. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and Tether issues USDT on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — so the “correct” answer depends entirely on what FV Bank supports, and that is not on the page.

One more thing to know before you send anything: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof, and a transfer can be frozen mid-flight.

Paying with it every day

Daily use is where this card is at its most conventional and least surprising. It is a physical Visa debit, it works in Apple Wallet, and the earlier cards page says digital wallet use is possible. Google Pay is not named. Card controls live in online banking and the app: set limits, change your PIN, disable transactions. Spending limits and an instant freeze are the two features you will actually reach for when something goes wrong.

Two things are simply absent from the public page. There is no cashback or rewards scheme — not weak rewards, none. And the dispute process is not stated: there is no published description of how to challenge a charge, how long it takes, or what happens to the disputed amount meanwhile. On a card whose main selling point is being spent across borders, the absence of a documented complaints route is a real gap.

One practical note that applies to any foreign-issued card: merchants can look up the issuing country from the card number and apply extra scrutiny when it differs from the billing address. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at online checkout. Payments also run through 3-D Secure, Visa’s version being Visa Secure, which either approves silently or challenges you with a one-time code.

What can go wrong

No official incident against the bank has surfaced. What exists is user reporting, and it is thin in volume but consistent in theme. On Trustpilot the card scores 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, seven of them one-star. The themes: funds blocked after proof of funds was supplied (August 2026), an unexpected $200 deduction after a transfer was rejected (October 2025), poor communication (January and October 2025), and doubts about whether this is “a real bank” (June 2025).

I would not treat eight reviews as a verdict. I would treat the themes as questions to ask. A blocked-funds complaint and a complaint about a $200 deduction are the two things you most want explained before parking money in the account, because both point at the operator’s discretion rather than a published rule.

The structural risk is larger than the reputational one. This is custodial: FV Bank is a licensed bank and digital-asset custodian, and your balance is not FDIC-insured. Custody has a documented history of failure — Mt. Gox, roughly $350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about $400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, $625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian means carrying counterparty and hack risk that a self-custody wallet does not, and in exchange you get a Visa card. That is precisely the trade this product is built around.

Third, there is the closure risk every card in this category carries. Programmes end: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw. FV Bank is young and licensed, so this is not a prediction, but it is the reason to hold a small working balance rather than a large one. Support lives at the /contact page.

What to take instead

If you are choosing between cards, compare them on the dimensions that actually differ: who can open one, what the fixed and per-use costs are, and what the card physically is.

Alternative Score Card Cost shape
FV Bank 5.5 / 10 Visa debit, physical, USD account $50 issuance, $50–$100 a year, 2.99% FX, $3.50–$5.00 ATM
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, pays in USD $5 one-time, plans from free to $19.00 a month, 2% FX fee
Morse 7.5 / 10 Visa prepaid debit, fully virtual for now, spends from Morse Balance Issuance and monthly fee not stated; zero FX fees or markups; online and contactless payment free
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Mastercard network, multicurrency, spends from UNi.Global balance No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live OTC rates

International Visa Card publishes the most restrictive eligibility list of the four: not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case with compliance approval. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The card is virtual — physical is “coming soon” — issued for $5 one-time with no maintenance fee, and charges the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. Deposits of any kind are free, in stablecoins or in USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback is stated.

Morse scores highest here, and its strongest feature is the fee line: “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, conversions at the real exchange rate with no markup, and paying with the card online and contactless free. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship — you must be at least 18 and resident in a supported country, with the app available in over 140 countries and local add/withdraw in over 70 — and it cannot serve customers subject to US, UK, EU or UN sanctions. Several countries are closed-beta and need an invite code, including the United Kingdom, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, New Zealand, Serbia and Turkey. The card is fully virtual for now, and the list of supported countries is not published on the card page. Its wallet is self-custodial, which flips the risk profile: funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, at the cost of sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and malware that swaps copied addresses. USDC, USDG and EURC transfers over Solana are free; other tokens and blockchains carry a fee.

UNi Card has the cleanest fee statement of the three: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, and “No hidden exchange fees”, with assets converted at live over-the-counter rates. It sits on Mastercard, spends from the UNi.Global balance across multiple currencies, and offers “Spend-to-Earn” rewards up to 3%. Its eligibility and funding routes are not stated on the pages I checked.

What the comparison shows: FV Bank’s distinguishing feature is physical plastic and a published “over 100 countries” reach. If you need a card in the hand, none of the alternatives currently offer that. If you do not, FV Bank’s $50–$100 a year makes it the most expensive of the four on fixed cost while sitting mid-table on score.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the FV Bank card to someone who already holds stablecoins, wants a US-dollar bank account they can open without a traditional banking relationship, and needs a physical Visa to spend from. For that person it does what it says, and the account can be opened quickly.

I would not recommend it as a first card, and I would be cautious about using it as a place to keep money. The fixed $50 issuance plus $50–$100 annual maintenance makes it a poor fit for light or occasional spend, the 2.99% foreign currency charge punishes exactly the cross-border lifestyle the product seems aimed at, and $3.50–$5.00 cash withdrawals are steep. Add no FDIC insurance, no published deposit network, no stated KYC level and no rewards, and you have a functional tool rather than a good deal.

Before you apply, three questions are worth putting to support directly: which networks do you accept for USDC and USDT deposits, what does converting cost, and what happens to a balance if the account is closed. Then send a small amount first.

Frequently asked questions

What is the FV Bank card?

FV Bank is a US-dollar bank account paired with a Visa debit card that you fund with stablecoins. You deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD, they are converted to dollars at the moment of deposit, and the card then spends that balance like an ordinary Visa. The issuer is FV Bank International Inc., licensed by OCIF in Puerto Rico as an International Financial Entity, licence IFE-063, and a Visa principal member since October 2021.

Is FV Bank a real bank?

It is a licensed bank, but not a US one insured by the FDIC. FV Bank International Inc. holds an International Financial Entity licence from OCIF in Puerto Rico and acts as a digital-asset custodian. Your balance is therefore not covered by deposit insurance, so it is not the same safety net as an ordinary retail bank balance. If that distinction matters to you, size your balance accordingly.

How do I apply for the card?

You apply through apply.fvbank.us, and the bank says a USD account can be opened in as little as 24 hours. You order a physical Visa debit card in the portal or app, delivered “anywhere in the world” per the bank’s blog, though delivery time and cost are not stated. The public page does not describe the identity checks or documents required, so expect to supply them during the application.

How much does the FV Bank card cost?

The plastic card costs $50 to issue and $50 a year to maintain on a domestic US account, or $100 a year on an international account. A replacement card is another $50. Purchases themselves are free, but a foreign currency transaction costs 2.99%, an ATM withdrawal costs $3.50 inside the USA or $5.00 outside it, and a balance inquiry is $1.00. The crypto conversion fee is not stated.

Can I use the card in my country?

Account opening is described as “available from over 100 countries” and the card works wherever Visa is accepted, but no country list is published, and there is no stated rule on which countries are refused. If your address sits in a restricted jurisdiction you may only learn at application. The card is also foreign-issued, which some online merchants decline or subject to extra scrutiny.

Does the FV Bank card require KYC?

The cards page does not say, so treat it as yes. As a licensed financial entity it is bound by anti-money-laundering rules requiring identity verification, sanctions screening and ongoing monitoring, and an incomplete file can mean the account is frozen or closed pending documents. Do not send money hoping to stay under the radar — that is not how these rules work.

How do I top up the FV Bank card?

You deposit USDC, USDT or PYUSD, and the amount is converted to USD automatically at deposit. A Convert feature also sells digital assets held in custody for dollars. The supported deposit networks, the deposit fee and the minimum are all not stated, and that matters: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending on an unsupported network can lose the funds outright.

Is the FV Bank card safe and insured?

Not insured. It is custodial — FV Bank holds the credentials — and the balance is not FDIC-insured, so you carry counterparty risk on top of the usual card risk. On Trustpilot the card scores 2.2 out of 5 from 8 reviews, with recurring themes of blocked funds after proof of funds and an unexpected $200 deduction after a rejected transfer. No official incident has surfaced. Start small.

How do I add the card to Apple Wallet?

The bank announced a debit card in Apple Wallet in a blog post around October 2026, and the earlier cards page already said digital wallet use was possible. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number and generates a fresh security code for each payment, so the card number itself is not exposed. Google Pay is not named, and a virtual card is not stated.

Is the FV Bank card worth it?

For someone already holding stablecoins who wants a dollar account and a physical Visa, yes. For light spenders or frequent travellers, no: $50–$100 a year plus 2.99% on foreign currency and $3.50–$5.00 cash withdrawals will exceed what most people actually spend. There is also no cashback and no published rewards. Compare the alternatives before deciding.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team