A prepaid Visa from a licensed Gulf fintech, open only to residents of three countries and hard to judge on cost
If you have been reading about crypto payment cards and cannot get an ordinary bank card, the Pyypl name comes up often — a prepaid Visa you load with crypto and spend like an ordinary card, with no monthly fee. That is the pitch, and it is not nothing. But the details underneath it are thin in the places that matter to you: who exactly can open an account, what a payment really costs, and what happens when support goes quiet. I went through Pyypl’s own pages and the public record around them, and this is what I found. The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for this card is 5.0 out of 10. In plain terms: the product is a clean idea executed competently, but it is offered to a narrow set of residents, its pricing is largely hidden inside the app, and the people who use it most report serious trouble with frozen money.
The verdict: 5.0 out of 10, and who it suits
Let me put the marks up front so you can decide whether to keep reading. This is how I scored each area, and the reasons are mine — the numbers are the card’s.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Open only to residents of the countries where Pyypl is licensed: the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | “No monthly fees”; issuance not disclosed, an FX or conversion fee “may apply” by country, amounts only in the app; unofficial: ATMs worldwide |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | “Supported methods in your country” are not listed; Binance Pay not confirmed on the pages I read |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Pyypl Ltd, FSRA licence No. 170031 (ADGM), also the Central Bank of Bahrain and the AFSA in Kazakhstan; complaints about frozen funds and blocks, Trustpilot 2.8 out of 5 across 828 reviews |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Prepaid Visa, digital card in the app, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; plastic is not mentioned |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A usable prepaid Visa with a narrow door and a hidden price sheet |
So who is this for? Residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan who want a prepaid Visa they can load from crypto, and who do not mind doing their own arithmetic inside the app because the published price list stops short of the numbers. It suits someone who mostly pays online and in their own currency, because those are the payments where the missing fee disclosures hurt least.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside those three countries, anyone who needs a physical card in the post, and anyone who cannot afford to discover a surprise fee at the till — because the card’s own pages say amounts are visible only inside the app. It is also a poor fit for someone who treats a bank balance as a safe deposit; Pyypl says in plain words that it is not a bank and that balances are not deposits.
Will they give you the card?
Only in three countries, and this is the first thing to check, because it decides everything else.
The legal page states that Pyypl services are currently available to residents of the countries in which it is licensed — the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. That is the rule as the card states it. Notably, one of Pyypl’s own descriptions says the card covers the Middle East, Africa and Central Asia, which contradicts the narrower licensed-territory line; I would trust the licence line. The support centre adds that services “vary” by location, and the country help article lists no names at all.
The test, then, is where you live, not what passport you hold. Citizenship is not the criterion here. If you are a resident of one of those three countries, you are in scope. If you are not, there is nothing to apply for. Keep in mind that some of these cards also check your nationality separately against sanctions lists, so a resident with a particular citizenship can still be refused — but on the public pages, the gate Pyypl itself names is residence.
A practical warning: a card that only exists for residents of three countries tends to attract people who are not. Several reviews I read describe users finding the app unavailable in their region, or the app disappearing after an update. That is not me warning you off the rules — it is what users reported, and it is a good sign of what happens when a market is not officially open.
How to get it
The signup is designed to be quick. Pyypl says you can open your account in minutes using just your phone and ID.
What you need, as stated:
- A smartphone
- A valid mobile number
- A valid identity document
- A selfie
There is a minimum age, but the figure is not published on the pages I read; prepaid cards generally go to adults aged 18 and over. Proof of address is not mentioned anywhere in the signup material, which is unusual but is what the card states.
What happens after you submit:
- Features unlock after verification is complete.
- Your “verification level” affects your limits — the tiers are not named on the public pages.
- Verification “may take sometime if additional checks are required”, so a delay is not automatically a refusal.
- The reasons for rejection are not stated.
The card itself is a prepaid Visa. The digital card is issued in the app; the pages I read do not mention a physical card, so do not plan on plastic arriving. The card currency is US dollars. Delivery timing for a physical card is not stated, because a physical card is not stated at all.
Two things I would do before you sign anything. First, read the fees page in the app after you are in, because that is where the amounts live. Second, note that verification levels and limits are set per country, so the account you get may not resemble the account your neighbour in another country gets.
Fees: what it really costs in everyday use
The headline number is friendly: no monthly fees. That is genuinely stated. Everything below that number is where it gets quiet.

Let me show you what the card publishes, and what it does not.
| Fee or limit | What Pyypl states |
|---|---|
| Monthly fee | “No monthly fees” |
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Card, replacement-card and inactivity fees | may apply by country and product; amounts only in the app (Profile > Fees) |
| Foreign-currency / FX fee | an international or FX fee or markup “may apply” by country; amounts not published |
| Crypto conversion fee | not stated |
| ATM withdrawals | not stated on official pages; unofficial listings say ATM withdrawals worldwide (per an AlternativeTo listing, undated, which says “Mastercard” — a conflict with the Visa in the official pages) |
| Top-up, per-transaction, daily, monthly, yearly limits, send/withdraw | exist; depend on country, verification level and regulation; figures only in the app (Profile/Settings) |
| Tiers | a single tier is stated — one prepaid card; features vary by market |
| Card currency | US dollars, “and cannot be changed”; other currencies converted at transaction time |
So what does a Tuesday cost you? Take three ordinary situations, and I will show you which line of the table each one touches.
Paying for something priced in dollars, from a dollar balance. This is the clean case. The balance is already USD, so nothing is converted and no FX fee should arise. You are paying from the pre-loaded balance. This is where a prepaid card is at its most predictable, and it is why the card scores well on everyday use.
Paying in your home currency, or in anything but dollars. The amount is converted to the USD card base at the time of the transaction, and an international or FX fee or markup “may apply” by country. The card does not publish the amount. So the honest answer is: I cannot tell you what this costs you, and neither can you before you open the app. This is the single biggest gap in the pricing.
Paying with crypto sitting in your wallet. You load the card first; the loading step converts or receives funds as a balance, and the crypto conversion fee is not stated. Again, the number lives in the app, not on the page.
Two structural points about how crypto cards charge in general, so you know what you are looking at. Network fees for a deposit — gas, or bandwidth on networks that price it that way — are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. And because the card spends a pre-loaded balance rather than your bank account, you cannot overdraw it; the failure mode is “the payment is declined”, not “you owe money”.
The honest summary on cost: no monthly fee, and no published price for the things that vary. Before you commit, open the app, read Profile > Fees and Profile/Settings, and write down your top-up limit, your daily limit and the FX treatment. If your life involves paying in a currency other than dollars, that one unknown is the whole decision.
Top up: how the money gets in
Topping up is done in the app, through a Top-up function that offers “supported methods in your country”.

What that means in practice: the methods are not listed. Not bank transfer, not card, not cash, not which stablecoins — none of it is set out on the pages I read. Binance Pay is not mentioned in the current top-up material; an earlier check said Binance Pay with USDT, converted to USD, but I would treat that as history rather than as a live promise. The honest way to describe the Pyypl top-up is: a menu in the app that differs by country, which you cannot inspect from outside.
Timing is the one thing that is stated. Some methods are instant; others “may take 1-3 business days”. Fees and minimums for top-ups are not stated.
Sending and withdrawing: fees and limits depend on country and product. Whether you can withdraw crypto, and what happens to any balance left in the account if you close it, is not stated.
The background behind this, worth knowing before you hit send. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send funds on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the money can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. So the first top-up you make should be a small one, on a network you have confirmed the app accepts. Note also that stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. And not every token can move: on Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all; on Tron, fees burn TRX; and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
Paying with it every day
This is the card’s strongest side, and where it scores 7 out of 10.
- It is a prepaid Visa, so it works wherever Visa is accepted.
- The digital card is issued in the app and can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay — Pyypl’s own words: “Add your card to Apple Pay or Google Pay”.
- Apps exist for both Android and iPhone. (Store ratings I could not read on 2026-10-21, so I am not quoting them.)
- It is a US-dollar card and cannot be changed to another currency.
What is not stated: blocked merchant categories, whether any merchants refuse it, and any rewards. There is no cashback mentioned anywhere on the pages I read.
A few everyday realities of crypto cards, so the first month is not a surprise:
- Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because a lookup of the card’s first six or eight digits reveals the issuing institution and country. A card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and the shop may apply extra scrutiny.
- Some merchants apply address verification, which compares parts of the billing address you type against the issuer’s records. It is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines.
- Address verification and 3-D Secure are separate. 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments; Visa’s brand of it is Visa Secure. Under 3-D Secure, liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift.
- When Apple Pay holds your card, the card number itself is replaced by a device-specific number in the phone’s Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time code — but the issuer can still restrict the tokenised number, for example blocking it on websites.
- A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. If a shop appears to have taken your money and then declined, check your balance before spending it again.
Apple Pay and Google Pay being there is the practical reason this card works day to day: a card that lives in your phone is one you will actually use, and one that behaves like a normal contactless payment at the till.
What can go wrong
This is the part I would want a friend to read before signing up.
Frozen funds and blocked accounts. The recurring theme in user reports from 2024 to 2026 is money that was frozen or never returned. One report describes funds frozen in January 2026; others describe refunds unprocessed for three months or more, and an account blocked after verification was removed. This is the reason the reliability score is 5 out of 10 rather than higher.
Support that does not answer. Slow or unresponsive support is a theme across 2024–2026. Pyypl does have a Help Center in the app, with a bot first and then a human agent, plus a web form on its contact page — but a help center is not the same as a resolved dispute.
The score on the record. Trustpilot, as read on 2026-10-21: TrustScore 2.5 out of 5 (I saw 2.8 elsewhere in the run of figures), 828 reviews, of which 11 in the last 12 months; 46% five-star and 39% one-star. Counts moved slightly between snippets, in the 821–828 range. Treat this as one noisy but very loud signal.
Not a bank, and not a deposit. Pyypl says so itself: “We are not a bank, and balances … are not deposits.” In the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. The same logic applies here: your balance is not a deposit, and you should hold only what you can afford to have delayed.
The company and its licences. Pyypl Ltd is incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market (registration number 000001116) and holds an FSRA licence, No. 170031, “for providing money services”. It is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan. The card is issued by Pyypl under its principal Visa membership. On the structure of these cards generally: the network (Visa) sets the rules, the licensed issuer holds the programme, and the brand you see is often just the front end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018. Programmes do close.
Custody. This is a custodial prepaid e-money wallet. The company holds the keys, so you must trust it completely; a self-custody card would keep the funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment. The industry record is why: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Pyypl lists its own safeguards — PCI DSS, encryption, 24/7 fraud monitoring, spend notifications, and freeze/unfreeze in the app — but it does not state that funds are safeguarded.
Disputes. No dispute or chargeback process is stated for the card. A gift-card refund article exists on the support site, and the Terms refer to product-specific terms. On chargebacks generally: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, and coverage for prepaid cards varies and should not be assumed.
Taxes. I am not giving tax advice here, only the mechanics you should check with your own accountant. Digital assets are generally treated as property, so converting them to goods, services or dollars produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can therefore be a separate disposal, and short-term if held a year or less.
Clubs and casinos. Many issuers block gambling merchant categories (MCC 7995) as policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Pyypl does not publish its blocked categories — so check with the app before you assume it will work.
What to take instead
If Pyypl is not available to you, or you want a card whose fees are published, these are the closest alternatives I looked at, with their own trade-offs.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost stated | Fees stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon” | $5 one-time issuance, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | USD use free on all plans; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind free |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spends from the UNi.Global account balance | “No annual fee”; issuance not stated | “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; assets converted at “live OTC rates”; “No hidden exchange fees” |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends from Morse Balance in any currency | Issuance and monthly fee not stated; “Fees may apply. See Cardholder Agreement” | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”; real-time Visa exchange rate; paying online and contactless is free |
Points worth carrying across:
- International Visa Card is the only one of the three with its fee numbers fully on the page — 2% on foreign currency is published, which is exactly what Pyypl withholds. But it is strict about where you live: no account or card for residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case; and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. It deposits USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1, and also takes USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow.
- UNi Card is the one with a rewards line: “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with UNi Card. Its eligibility is not stated, and so are its top-up methods.
- Morse scores highest of the three at 7.5 / 10, and its eligibility is by residence: users must be “at least 18 years old” and “a resident in a supported country”, with the app available in “over 140 countries” (P2P) and local add/withdraw in over 70. It cannot serve customers subject to US, UK, EU or UN sanctions, and a set of countries is in closed beta needing an invite code — American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, United Kingdom and Western Sahara. Deposits by debit card, stablecoin transfer and account details (USD, EUR, MXN, COP; BRL needs a Brazilian CPF); USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free while other tokens and blockchains carry a fee; and the Morse Wallet is self-custodial.
If your problem is “I cannot open an ordinary bank card”, the deciding question is which country you live in. Pyypl and Morse both gate on residence, and their gates are published. The card with the clearest arithmetic is the International Visa Card. The card with real rewards is UNi. None of them fixes every complaint the Pyypl reviews raise.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Pyypl to a resident of the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan who: pays mostly online or in dollars; is comfortable checking the fee screen in the app rather than trusting a published price list; wants a card in Apple Pay or Google Pay today; and can hold a balance they would not be upset to have delayed for a week.
I would not recommend it to: anyone outside those three countries; anyone who needs a physical card; anyone who needs the exact FX cost before they spend; and anyone whose financial plan depends on their balance being safe and instantly available. The frozen-funds and blocked-account reports are the reason, and they are not one angry review — they are a theme across two years.
My honest one-line verdict: a competent prepaid Visa with a real licence and a real product, priced too quietly for a country where most people can simply open a bank account. Check the app’s fee screen first; if the numbers there are not acceptable, the alternatives publish more.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Pyypl card?
The Pyypl card is a prepaid Visa you load with money and spend like an ordinary payment card, in the app or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is issued by Pyypl under its principal Visa membership, is denominated in US dollars and cannot be changed to another currency, and is offered only to residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan.
Is Pyypl a bank?
No, and it says so itself: “We are not a bank, and balances … are not deposits.” Pyypl Ltd is an Abu Dhabi Global Market company (registration number 000001116) with an FSRA licence, No. 170031, for providing money services, and it is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan.
Who owns Pyypl?
The card belongs to Pyypl Ltd, incorporated in the Abu Dhabi Global Market. Visa and Mastercard do not own cards like this and do not issue them to consumers — they license issuers and can suspend a programme, as Visa did with FTX’s agreements in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in Europe in 2018.
In which countries is the Pyypl card available?
Only where Pyypl is licensed: residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan, as the legal page states. The test is residence, not citizenship. Some Pyypl marketing describes the Middle East, Africa and Central Asia, which contradicts the licensed-territory line, and the support centre says services simply “vary” by location without naming countries.
Does Pyypl card require KYC?
Yes. You sign up with a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid identity document and a selfie. A minimum age exists but the figure is not published, prepaid cards generally go to those 18 and over, proof of address is not mentioned, and your verification level affects your limits — with the tiers themselves not named.
How do I activate and use the Pyypl virtual card?
The digital card is issued in the app once your account is open, and Pyypl says you can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay to pay in stores or online. Verification may take extra time if additional checks are required, and features unlock as verification completes; no physical card is mentioned on the pages I read.
Is the Pyypl card free?
There are “no monthly fees”. Beyond that, card, replacement-card and inactivity fees may apply by country and product, an FX fee or markup “may apply” by country, and issuance is not stated — every amount is visible only in the app under Profile > Fees. So “free” describes the monthly line, not your total cost.
How do I top up the Pyypl card?
Through the Top-up function in the app, which offers “supported methods in your country” — the methods themselves are not listed. Some are instant, others take 1–3 business days, and fees and minimums are not stated. Make your first deposit small and confirm the network, since blockchain transfers are irreversible if sent on an unsupported network.
Is the Pyypl card safe?
It carries the usual safeguards — PCI DSS, encryption, 24/7 fraud monitoring, spend notifications, and freeze and unfreeze in the app — but it is a custodial wallet, so the company holds the keys and your balance is not a deposit. The main practical risk in user reports is not theft but frozen or delayed money, and Trustpilot reads 2.5–2.8 out of 5 across roughly 828 reviews.
Where can I use the Pyypl card, and can I withdraw cash?
Anywhere Visa is accepted, subject to the usual quirks of prepaid and foreign-issued cards: some merchants decline them, and address verification often does not work on foreign cards. ATM withdrawals are not stated on Pyypl’s own pages — an undated third-party listing says ATMs worldwide but also calls it a Mastercard, which conflicts with the official Visa — so treat cash access as unconfirmed.
App and neobank cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
