The card is cheap and open to Latin America. The gaps are where you spend.
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card, the OSMO card is worth an afternoon of reading — but only if you are somewhere it actually operates. It is a free virtual Visa that spends a dollar balance you load with Bitcoin, USDT, a bank transfer, a card transfer or cash, and it converts to local currency as you pay. For residents of Latin America who already hold dollars and Bitcoin in one app, that is genuinely useful. For everyone else, the list of supported countries does not include your address, and there is nothing to compare.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.4 out of 10
The score is 6.4 out of 10. That is a middling result for a card that is genuinely cheap and genuinely narrow. The card earns its best marks on cost and reliability of the app, and its worst on everyday use, because the things you would want to know — whether there is a Google Pay version, what the FX fee is, what the limits are — are not published.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Latin America: Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina and several more |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | “$0 de cuota mensual”; virtual card free; cash withdrawal 1%, bank withdrawal 1%; card FX not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin or USDT (Bitcoin, Lightning, Polygon networks), card, bank transfer, cash |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Rain and SOINSA cards, Bridge Ventures accounts, Bitcoin custody in Osmo El Salvador under CNAD, BCR, SSF supervision; App Store 4.8 of 5 from about 1.8 thousand ratings; Trustpilot 3.2 on 1 review |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa, Apple Pay immediately; Google Pay and ATM not disclosed, cash through “agencias afiliadas” |
Two numbers deserve to be read carefully, because they are small and they are the whole of the public complaint history. The App Store rating of 4.8 is from roughly 1.8 thousand ratings, which for a financial app is a thin base. Trustpilot at 3.2 rests on a single review. Neither is a scandal; both are also too small to be treated as evidence.
Who it suits: residents of the supported Latin American countries who want a dollar balance they can top up with crypto and a card that works in Apple Pay today. Who it does not suit: anyone outside those countries, anyone who wants a physical card, and anyone who needs to know the FX fee before they shop.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, but only in a specific region, and “region” is doing the work here. The starting data lists Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, México, Uruguay, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Perú, Bolivia. The App Store states: “Product availability depends on where you live.” That is the whole eligibility rule as published — residence, not citizenship, and not a list of documents.
Read that list as a filter, not an invitation. If your address is not on it, the card is not for you, and the rest of this page is background rather than a plan. If your address is on it, you are inside the supported region and the next question is whether the card you receive is one you can actually hold.
How to get it
Identity verification happens in the app — the help centre calls it “verificación de identidad”, and sign-up starts with an email address or a phone number and takes about 30 seconds. Beyond that the public pages do not say what documents are required or whether proof of address is asked for; the help centre has a KYC section with six articles, and that is as far as the card’s own site goes. The KYC *level* — how far you get, what unlocks — is not stated either.
The card itself: a virtual Visa International debit card, free. Visa cards are issued by Rain (Signify Holdings); the Mastercard equivalent comes from SOINSA. The card spends your USD balance and auto-converts to the local currency.
There is no physical card. The card details say a physical card is not applicable, because this is a virtual product, and no physical version is mentioned. That is a real difference from most cards in this category, and it decides whether the card works for you before any fee does.
The structure is worth pausing on. What you sign up for is an app with a Bitcoin side and a card side; the card is issued by Rain or SOINSA, and the USD accounts sit with Bridge Ventures LLC. Whoever you deal with when a payment fails is not obviously the company whose app you downloaded.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline is genuinely good: “$0 de cuota mensual”, and the virtual card is free to issue. The cost marks are high because of that, not because everything downstream is free. Cash withdrawal is 1%, bank withdrawal is 1%, sending Bitcoin is 3%, and receiving USD costs nothing. The card’s FX fee is not stated. The full schedule lives on the site’s Tarifas page; that is where the number lives if you need it before you pay.

| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Virtual card free |
| Monthly fee | “$0 de cuota mensual” |
| Conversion | Automatic conversion to local currency when you hold no such currency |
| FX on the card | Not stated |
| Cash withdrawal | 1% |
| Bank withdrawal | 1% |
| Sending Bitcoin | 3% |
| Receiving USD | No cost |
| ATM | Not stated; cash through “agencias afiliadas” |
| Card limits | Not stated; you can set your own spending limits, and limits vary by country |
Two everyday payments, so the percentages land on something:
A coffee bought in a local currency. You pay; the balance is USD; the app auto-converts to the local currency you do not hold. The published card FX fee is not stated, so the cost of that conversion is the one number you cannot read off this page. The balance is what you see, but what leaves it is not spelled out.
Taking money out at an affiliated agency. This costs 1% and is immediate. This is a clear, stated percentage, unlike ATM withdrawals, which are not mentioned as an option on the public pages.
There are no tiers to choose between. One virtual card, no monthly charge, and a separate “OSMO Private” product that is not part of this review. Whether card limits exist, and what they are, is not stated — you can set your own spending limits, and the help centre has a “Límites de transacciones” section, which suggests limits vary by country. Read that as: the ceiling on your card is something you discover after sign-up, not something you compare beforehand.
How to top it up
Top-up is where the card is strongest, and the 7 out of 10 reflects breadth rather than any weakness. You can fund it with Bitcoin or USDT — the networks given are Bitcoin, Lightning and Polygon — or by card or bank transfer, or with cash. What it spends from is the USD balance.
The numbers that are stated are reassuring: receiving USD costs nothing, and the minimum Bitcoin purchase starts at $1. What is not stated is the fee for a card top-up. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain itself, not by the card company, so a USDT transfer can cost you something on top of nothing.
Withdrawals, since getting money out is the mirror of getting money in:
- Cash at affiliated agencies, 1%, immediate.
- Bank withdrawal, 1%, in 1 to 2 business days, via SINPE.
- Crypto to any wallet.
The word to notice is *any wallet*. That is the card’s most distinct feature and its most distinct responsibility. A transfer to a wallet on a network the card does not support can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers do not reverse. Pick the network deliberately.
Paying with it every day
The virtual card “can be added to Apple Pay right away”. That sentence does a lot of work, because it means the card is usable on your phone within minutes of sign-up. Google Pay is not stated. Blocked categories are not stated.
That last one is worth understanding rather than worrying about. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business — casinos and betting sit under MCC 7995 — and issuers block particular categories by policy rather than by law, with the list differing per issuer. Since OSMO does not publish a blocked list, you cannot know in advance which shops will refuse the card. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the issuer’s country is visible in the card number.
Rewards are not stated. In a category where “spend-to-arn” and cashback are standard competitive moves, no rewards section on the OSMO card pages is itself information: this card competes on price and access, not on payback.
The app is the other half of daily use: 4.8 out of 5 on the App Store from about 1.8 thousand ratings, read on 2026-10-21. The Google Play listing exists but its rating was not read. And the daily-use machinery has holes — how to dispute a charge is not stated, which matters because a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received, and prepaid-card coverage varies by issuer and should not be assumed.
What can go wrong
The published failure record is thin in a way that should reassure you and warn you at once. No official incidents were found. The one Trustpilot report (July 2026, a user report) concerns a USDC deposit via Polygon that was not credited, with support repeating “investigating” for three days. Trustpilot stands at 3.2 out of 5 from one review. One review is not a pattern — but it is exactly the failure mode a crypto card has, and the shape of it is worth holding on to: the deposit is the step where things can go quiet.
The company structure behind the card: Osmo (HODL Group), described as “no un banco” — not a bank. Bridge Ventures LLC holds the USD accounts; Rain and SOINSA issue the cards; Osmo El Salvador S.A. holds the Bitcoin, regulated by CNAD, BCR and SSF. That supervised custody is a real point in the card’s favour, and it is also a reminder that this is a regulated-custody arrangement layered under a card programme, not a bank account you are the account holder of.
Security features are the standard useful set: freeze and unfreeze the card, refresh digital details in the app, encryption, fiat backed 1:1 by bank accounts, and Bitcoin held 1:1 with 80% cold and 20% hot. Support is a contact page and a Spanish help centre; hours are not stated.
Broader context worth knowing, since it applies to every card in this category: crypto transfers are irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery. Custodial platforms have a real history — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Programme closures typically stop loading, stop spending, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. And Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves; they license issuers, and Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022. A card programme can end.
What to take instead
If OSMO’s geography excludes you, or the missing FX figure decides it, these are the comparisons I would make. Scores are out of 10.
International Visa Card — 6.7 out of 10. A US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD; a physical card is “Coming soon”. Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela — the rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. Virtual issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee; plans are Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency is “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind are free.
Morse — 7.5 out of 10. The strongest of the three on paper. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship: at least 18 and a resident in a supported country, the app available in “over 140 countries”. Morse “cannot serve customers subject to sanctions issued by the United States” (also UK, EU, UN). Closed-beta countries needing an invite code include the United Kingdom, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, Australia and Türkiye; the card is “available only in certain countries” and the list is not published on the card page, so you check the app. The card “is fully virtual for now” — a Visa prepaid debit spending from Morse Balance “in any currency”. Issuance and monthly fee are not stated; the card page says “Fees may apply. See Cardholder Agreement”. What is stated is good: “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups” on the real-time Visa rate, and “Paying with the Morse Card, online and contactless, is free”. Deposits include USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free, other tokens and blockchains carry a fee; the Morse Wallet “is self-custodial”. No rewards are stated on the card pages.
UNi Card — 6.1 out of 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global balance; physical or virtual is not stated, and eligibility is not stated. “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated. “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”, assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates”, “No hidden exchange fees”. “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3%. Funding is not stated — which is, for a card review, the question you most want answered.
| OSMO | International Visa | Morse | UNi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.4 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Visa International debit | US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual | Visa prepaid debit, fully virtual | Mastercard, physical/virtual not stated |
| Monthly fee | “$0 de cuota mensual” | None; Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | Not stated | “No annual fee” |
| FX fee | Not stated | Visa rate + 2% | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups” | No foreign transaction fee |
| Eligibility | Latin American country list | Not available in 18 named countries | Residence in a supported country | Not stated |
| Custody | Custodial, supervised in El Salvador | Not stated | “Self-custodial” wallet | Not stated |
The honest comparison: Morse scores higher and tells you more, but its fee figures are simply absent and its country list is a closed beta. The International Visa Card publishes a 2% FX fee and a long exclusion list. OSMO publishes the cheapest headline in this table and the fewest details. What you are choosing between is a card that is honest about its cost and unavailable to you, and a card that is available to you and quiet about its cost.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend OSMO to someone living in one of the listed Latin American countries who already holds dollars and Bitcoin in the same app, spends in Apple Pay, and is content with a virtual card and a 1% fee to get cash. That person is getting a real product at a real price: no monthly fee, five ways to fund it, 4.8 on the App Store.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card, someone who wants to know the FX rate before committing, someone who shops in Google Pay, or anyone whose country is not on the list. I would also hold back slightly from anyone whose income or savings is in crypto rather than dollars, because that is the case where the unstated FX fee matters most and the custodial structure matters most.
Before you sign up, check three things in this order: whether your country is on the list, what the Tarifas page says about conversion in your own currency, and what the app shows you for limits after verification. Those three answers will tell you more than the score does.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OSMO card?
OSMO is a crypto app that also issues a payment card: a virtual Visa International debit card, free to issue. Inside the app you hold Bitcoin and a dollar balance, and the card spends that dollar balance, converting to local currency as you pay. Osmo is HODL Group’s product, and the company describes itself as “no un banco” — not a bank.
How does the OSMO card work?
You sign up, verify your identity in the app, and get a virtual Visa you can add to Apple Pay right away. You load the account by Bitcoin, USDT, card transfer, bank transfer or cash, and then pay normally in stores or online. When you do not hold the currency a shop wants, the app converts from your USD balance automatically at its own rate.
Is OSMO a bank?
No. The company’s own description is “no un banco”. The USD accounts sit with Bridge Ventures LLC, Visa cards are issued by Rain (Signify Holdings) and Mastercard by SOINSA, and Bitcoin custody is with Osmo El Salvador S.A., regulated by CNAD, BCR and SSF. That supervision of the crypto side is real; it is still not the same as a bank deposit.
Who owns OSMO, and who runs the card?
Osmo belongs to HODL Group. Running the pieces around it are separate companies: Bridge Ventures LLC for USD accounts, Rain (Signify Holdings) for Visa cards, SOINSA for Mastercard, and Osmo El Salvador S.A. for Bitcoin custody under CNAD, BCR and SSF supervision. That is normal for this category — the crypto brand is often only the programme manager in front.
Which countries is the OSMO card available in?
The published list is Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, México, Uruguay, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Perú and Bolivia. The App Store says “Product availability depends on where you live”. If your country is not on that list, there is nothing to sign up for.
Does the OSMO card require KYC?
Yes — identity verification in the app, described by the help centre as “verificación de identidad”. What documents are required and whether proof of address is needed is not stated on the public pages; there is a KYC section in the help centre with six articles. Registration itself starts with an email or phone and takes about 30 seconds.
How much does the OSMO card cost?
The virtual card is free and the monthly fee is “$0 de cuota mensual”. Cash withdrawal at affiliated agencies is 1%, bank withdrawal is 1% and arrives in 1 to 2 business days, sending Bitcoin is 3%, and receiving USD costs nothing. The card’s FX fee is not stated; the full schedule is on the site’s Tarifas page.
How do I top up the OSMO card?
Five ways: Bitcoin, USDT on the Bitcoin, Lightning or Polygon networks, a card transfer, a bank transfer, or cash. The smallest Bitcoin purchase starts at $1 and receiving USD is free. The fee for a card top-up is not stated, and any on-chain network fee is charged by the blockchain, not by OSMO.
Can I use the OSMO card in Apple Pay and Google Pay?
The virtual card “can be added to Apple Pay right away”, so Apple Pay works from the start. Google Pay is not stated either way. Because the card is virtual, Apple Pay is effectively how most people would use it daily — there is no physical card to take out, and no physical version is mentioned.
Is OSMO card safe, and what should I watch out for?
No official incidents were found, and the Bitcoin side is held under CNAD, BCR and SSF supervision with 80% cold and 20% hot storage. The one public complaint is a user report from July 2026: a USDC deposit via Polygon that was not credited, with support saying “investigating” for three days. Trustpilot sits at 3.2 out of 5 on a single review — too small to be a pattern, but it is the failure mode worth knowing.
App and neobank cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
