CoinUp card: a crypto-funded Mastercard and Visa with real gaps in the fine print
CoinUp markets itself as a crypto-to-payment card. Spend your balance in shops, online and at ATMs, earn cashback, and link the virtual version to Apple Pay or Google Pay. It sounds simple. The trouble is that almost every important fee, coin, network and limit is left unstated, the issuing bank is unnamed, and the parent exchange has a thin, unhappy track record on a public review site. This review walks through what is actually in the public material and where the gaps sit, so you can judge whether it is the right tool for your situation.
The information below reflects the card’s public pages and the CoinUp app listing as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
CoinUp scores 6.1 out of 10. The everyday mechanics look right: a virtual Mastercard for online and mobile-wallet spending, a physical Visa for shops and ATMs, crypto cashback on every purchase, and access in 170+ countries. Cost scores well only on the surface, because no annual or inactivity fees are listed — but the moment you try to find the issuance fee, the conversion spread, the ATM charge or the FX margin, the card’s pages go quiet. The reliability and complaints score drags the total down: the company behind it, CoinUp Global Limited, has no named card issuer and no licence cited, and the parent exchange carries a 2.7-out-of-5 rating on Trustpilot across only 12 reviews, with two-thirds of them one star, dominated by stories of frozen funds and blocked accounts.
The card suits exchange users who already keep a balance on CoinUp and want a simple way to spend it, ideally through a mobile wallet. It does not suit anyone who needs predictable fees, a clear issuer behind the programme, or confidence that the funds behind the card are safeguarded by a regulated payment institution.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | 170+ countries, available in select regions per the app |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | No annual or inactivity fees; issuance, conversion and FX not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto from a CoinUp account only; coins and networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | CoinUp Global Limited; no named issuer; Trustpilot 2.7 of 5 with frozen-funds themes |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Up to 5 virtual Mastercards, one physical Visa, ATM on the physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay on the virtual |
| Total | 6.1 / 10 |
Who will they give you the card
CoinUp states that the card is available in “170+ countries and regions”. That sounds wide, but the company’s own wording then narrows it: the card is “available in select regions. Check the app”. In other words, the country list is decided inside the onboarding flow rather than on a public page, so the only reliable way to know whether you qualify is to create an account, pass identity verification, and see whether the card option appears.
This two-step pattern is common in the crypto card market. The headline number tells you the issuer’s reach, and the in-app check tells you whether the issuer’s licence, banking partner and risk policy actually cover your country of residence and your citizenship. For the reader, that has two practical consequences. First, do not plan a move or a trip around the 170+ figure. Second, because sanctions screening is applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address, the result inside the app can surprise people whose papers originate from a different jurisdiction than where they live now.
A separate point worth noting: no minimum age, residency or account tier is mentioned in the public material. The standard practice across the category is that prepaid and debit cards are issued to adults (18+), sometimes with a higher threshold; you should treat that as the working assumption until the app shows otherwise.
How to get it
The flow CoinUp describes has four steps. First, create a CoinUp account and complete KYC identity verification, which the company says takes “just a few minutes” in the app. Second, apply for the card inside the app. Third, transfer crypto from your CoinUp account onto the card. Fourth, spend.
KYC is required. The card’s pages do not spell out the documents the app will ask for, but the standard set in the category covers name, date of birth, address, nationality and an identity document, with a sanctions check and a politically exposed person (PEP) screen on top. In the United States the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. In the EU, customer due diligence is similar but goes further, including a check on the purpose of the relationship. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refuse the relationship or end it, which is why some applications stall. None of this is unique to CoinUp, but it is the reason an account can be created in minutes and then sit in review for days.
One account can hold both cards. The virtual card runs on Mastercard, and a single account can have up to five of them, each activated in the app. The physical card is on Visa, marked “New” on the card page, and is limited to one per account. The physical card is applied for in the app and “delivered to you”; countries, delivery time and shipping cost are not stated. CoinUp’s pages do not list the KYC tiers (basic, intermediate, enhanced) that you would expect from a European or UK regulated issuer, and they do not name the card issuer, the BIN sponsor or any licence under which the programme operates.
Fees: what it really costs
Cost is the part of the review that requires the most honesty about what is missing. The pages clearly state “No annual or inactivity fees” for the virtual card and “No VIP requirement, annual or inactivity fees” for the physical. That is a real plus. It is also the end of what the pages are willing to tell you in public.

The issuance fee for either card is not stated. The conversion fee when you spend crypto is not stated. The FX fee when a transaction is in a currency other than the card’s base currency is not stated. The ATM fee is not stated. The on-chain network fee for the deposit is, as in the rest of the category, paid to the blockchain, not to CoinUp; the card provider does not control it.
The monthly spend limit on the physical card is stated as “Up to USD 1M”. The virtual card’s limits are not stated. The card’s base currency is not stated either, which is unusual for a card that advertises a USD-denominated limit and matters because cross-currency spending is where most cards earn their margin.
| Fee or limit | Virtual Mastercard | Physical Visa |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated | not stated |
| Monthly fee | none | none |
| Inactivity fee | none | none |
| VIP requirement | none | none |
| Conversion fee | not stated | not stated |
| FX fee | not stated | not stated |
| ATM fee | not stated (online only) | not stated |
| Monthly spend limit | not stated | up to USD 1M |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | yes | not stated |
Three everyday payments show why the gaps matter. First, buying a coffee in a foreign currency: there is no disclosed FX margin, so you cannot tell in advance what the bank-to-merchant rate will cost you. Second, withdrawing cash abroad from an ATM: the ATM fee is not stated, and most cards in this market levy either a flat fee per withdrawal or a percentage. Third, paying for a subscription priced in a currency different from the card’s base currency: the conversion spread is not stated, and small recurring charges are exactly where undisclosed margins compound.
How to top up CoinUp card
CoinUp describes a single funding path: top up with crypto from a CoinUp account. The flow inside the app is “Transfer crypto from the CoinUp account to the CoinUp Card”, and the funds are “ready to use instantly”.

Two important details are not on the page. The supported coins are not stated, and the supported networks are not stated. In the broader market, USDT and USDC dominate card funding, and they each live on multiple networks. Tether’s USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. CoinUp does not say which of these it accepts. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so the phrase “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option on a Circle-issued token, and the same kind of mismatch is what typically produces lost deposits on cards that do not publish their network list.
Two practical rules follow. First, blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to the address of a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Second, on Ethereum, gas is paid in ETH, so a wallet that holds only USDT and no ETH cannot send; the same kind of internal-resource logic applies to Tron, where fees are often paid in TRX. The page does not say how CoinUp handles these cases, which is another reason to assume the answer is “ask support after the fact”.
The card and the exchange balance are separate: the two card types are “topped up separately”, which is useful to know if you keep one card for daily spending and another for subscriptions.
Paying with CoinUp card every day
In day-to-day use, the card behaves like a prepaid crypto card. You transfer crypto to the card, the app converts it to a spendable balance, and the card draws on that balance. The model is the same one most cards in the category use: the card cannot overdraw because there is no credit line behind it.
The virtual card is the more flexible of the two. It works online, and it tokenises into Apple Pay and Google Pay, which means you can use it at any contactless terminal that accepts those wallets. You can have up to five virtual cards on one account, which is convenient if you want to separate subscriptions, travel and personal spending, or simply rotate card numbers after a small data exposure. The virtual card is online only: there is no ATM access on it.
The physical card runs on Visa, supports PIN verification, and adds ATM withdrawals, which makes it the card for cash and for terminals that do not accept mobile wallets. Real-time alerts are listed as a feature on the physical card, and card settings (freeze, limits, online toggle) are managed inside the CoinUp app.
The cashback story is the everyday-use headline. CoinUp says there is “crypto cashback on every purchase”. The rate is not stated. The payout coin is not stated. There is no mention of a maximum reward or a tiered structure. For a reader, “cashback on every purchase” without a rate is closer to a marketing line than a feature, because the only way to know the real return is to make a purchase and read the receipt. Where the rate is tiered, the higher tiers usually come with conditions; here, the only stated condition is that no VIP tier is required to get the physical card.
There is no separate card app in the public app stores: the listing shown is the exchange app, “CoinUp.io-Buy Crypto,Eth,DOGE”, rated 4.57 from 28 ratings, version 100037 dated 2026-07-04, read 2026-10-22. A thin rating base on the parent app is one more reason to treat card-specific reliability as a separate question.
What can go wrong
This is the section that decides whether the card is a reasonable choice or a bad one, and the answer comes from what the company is willing to put its name to, and what it is not.
The company behind the card is CoinUp Global Limited. The footer on the support pages lists COINUP LIMITED with the registration number 20211565064. The card’s issuing bank is not named. The licence under which the card programme is operated is not named. The Binance and Coinbase cards in this market are issued by clearly named regulated banks; the Bybit and Crypto.com cards name the issuer in the cardholder agreement. A crypto card without a named issuer is, in practice, a card whose customer-funds regime you cannot verify in advance.
The exchange’s public review footprint is small and unhappy. On Trustpilot, the coinup.io exchange (not the card specifically) sits at 2.7 out of 5 across 12 reviews, with 66% one-star. The themes are not abstract. A user report from September 2026 describes an unpaid refund after a listing deal and removal from Telegram. A second, from August 2026, describes a broken signed agreement and missed launch dates. A third, from July 2026, describes USDT frozen for eight days with scripted support answers. Earlier reports from July to August 2025 describe accounts blocked after profitable trades. The positive reviews, from February to March 2026, mention fast KYC and an easy interface. None of this is a verdict on the card itself, because Trustpilot does not split card and exchange feedback cleanly, but it is the only public signal of how the company behaves when money and timing are in dispute.
Card-level risk has its own list. Crypto cards live and die with their issuer. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. Earlier, in 2018, WaveCrest — a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands — was suspended by Visa in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically follow a familiar arc: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw their remaining balance. A crypto card is therefore a product whose continued existence is a decision made by the network and the issuer, not by the brand on the front of the card.
There is also the everyday-decline risk. A merchant can decline a card because the BIN lookup reveals a foreign-issued prepaid product. The Address Verification Service is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at checkout. Authorisation holds can stay on a balance for up to seven days. None of these are specific to CoinUp, but they bear more weight when the card’s issuer and jurisdiction are not stated, because dispute paths are harder to predict.
What the pages do list, in CoinUp’s favour, is the security set on the physical card: real-time alerts, PIN verification, and card settings managed inside the app. Support channels are listed: a Help Center, a Contact Us page, a Feedback form, official Telegram channels in Chinese and International, and an X account. Whether those channels are responsive in a real dispute is the question the Trustpilot record answers negatively for several users.
What to take instead
The honest answer is that the two main alternatives — Coinbase Card and OKX — are more transparent about most of what CoinUp leaves blank, and the third, Young Card, sits lower on the scoreboard.
Coinbase Card scores 6.4 out of 10 and is the cleanest of the three. The card is a Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical, available in all US states except Hawaii, and the account opening follows the standard US PATRIOT Act identity rules. The published cost line is “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”, with all other fees disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement. There is no Coinbase transaction fee; the spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades crypto at the moment of payment, which is the closest analogue to CoinUp’s unstated conversion fee. Funding can come from a linked bank account, from a paycheck deposit (zero fees), or from a crypto balance that is converted to USD at payment. Optional crypto rewards on every purchase are US-card only, the rate is variable, and the user picks from a rotating list of reward coins. For a US reader, the trade is narrow: a known issuer, known fees, US-only availability, and a rewards rate that varies with the market.
OKX scores 6.2 out of 10 and is the European answer. The card is a Mastercard, euro-denominated, virtual, linked to OKX Pay, and issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider. Availability is the EU plus Norway, launched on 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded (the explainer’s conclusion refers to the “entire EEA”, which is inconsistent with that list). The card fee is none, there is no transaction fee and no OKX FX fee; the conversion spread is 0.1% per the explainer as of May 2026, against 0.4% in the launch press release — explainer is the newer figure. Funding is from USDC or USDG held inside OKX Pay, with other coins convertible first, no auto top-up, and the payment declined if the balance is short. Cashback is paid only on USDG purchases (USDC earns none), with monthly caps in euro by VIP tier: Regular 2% cap 10, VIP1 4% cap 300, VIP2 4.5% cap 450, VIP3 5% cap 1,000, VIP4+ 10% cap 1,000. The launch release also describes a 30-day promo of up to 20% (VIP) and 15% (regular). The trade is the lack of a physical card and the fact that cashback is concentrated on a single stablecoin.
Young Card scores 5.7 / 10. Its rewards are paid in YNG tokens, with rates by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, while Bronze and Silver are not stated. Card eligibility, fees and funding path are not stated officially. It is the card to look at if you want token-based rewards and accept that the rest of the picture is even less public than CoinUp’s.
| Card | Score | Card form | Stated cost | Stated rewards | Main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CoinUp | 6.1 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard, physical Visa | No annual or inactivity fees; conversion, FX and ATM not stated | Crypto cashback, rate not stated | No named issuer; thin exchange reputation |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | Virtual or physical Visa | Zero spending and no annual fees; spread at conversion | Optional crypto rewards, rotating coins, US only | US-only availability |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard, euro | No card, transaction or FX fee; 0.1% spread (May 2026) | USDG cashback up to 10% by VIP | Virtual only; cashback on USDG only |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | not stated officially | not stated officially | YNG token, 0.1% to 3.6% by Club tier | Most gaps in the public material |
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend CoinUp to a reader who already keeps a working balance on the CoinUp exchange, who is comfortable with the exchange’s reputation, and who wants a simple way to convert that balance into a payment card. The virtual Mastercard with Apple Pay and Google Pay is the part of the offer that is genuinely useful day to day, and the no-annual / no-inactivity stance is real. The card is also reasonable as a small, secondary card for subscriptions or for travel spending in a supported region, where the loss of a fixed limit on the virtual card is less of a concern.
I would not recommend it to a reader who needs a primary spending card, who needs an issuer they can name and look up on a regulator’s register, or who needs to know the conversion spread, the FX margin and the ATM fee before they spend. I would also not recommend it to a reader who plans to load a large balance and leave it on the card: with no disclosed safeguarding regime, no named issuer and a thin public complaint record on the parent company, the counterparty risk is real and is the kind of risk that only matters when it does. A reader who wants stablecoin cashback with a known spread and an EU licence should look at OKX; a US reader who wants a card with disclosed fees and a known issuer should look at Coinbase Card.
Frequently asked questions
What is the CoinUp card?
The CoinUp card is a payment card linked to a CoinUp exchange account. You transfer crypto from the account to the card, and the card spends the resulting balance. The virtual version runs on Mastercard and tokenises into Apple Pay and Google Pay; the physical version runs on Visa, supports PIN verification, and adds ATM withdrawals. There is no credit line, so the card cannot overdraw.
How does the CoinUp card work?
You create and verify a CoinUp account, apply for the card in the app, transfer crypto from the account to the card, and the balance is “ready to use instantly”. The card is prepaid: the network and the merchant see a card payment, and the funding sits behind the scenes at CoinUp. Spending triggers a conversion from crypto to the card’s base currency at the moment of payment; the rate applied is not stated in the public material.
Is CoinUp a bank?
No. CoinUp Global Limited is a crypto exchange operator, not a bank. The card programme is run with an issuer that is not named on the public pages, and CoinUp does not describe itself as a bank. As a result, any balance held on the card is not the same as a bank deposit and is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who owns CoinUp?
The card pages and the support footer list CoinUp Global Limited and COINUP LIMITED with registration number 20211565064. The pages do not name individual owners, parent companies, or a banking partner. The exchange’s public footprint is thin: 12 Trustpilot reviews, 2.7 of 5, with frozen-funds themes dominating the negative ones.
Is the CoinUp card available in my country?
The card’s pages say it is available in “170+ countries and regions” but also “available in select regions. Check the app”. The in-app check is the only reliable answer, because eligibility is decided by the issuer’s licence, the banking partner and the company’s risk policy, none of which are listed in public. If the card option does not appear in the app after KYC, the card is not available to you.
How do I apply for the CoinUp card?
You apply inside the CoinUp app after creating an account and passing identity verification. The application is in-app; there is no separate web form described. The physical card is requested through the same flow and is delivered to you, although the countries, time and cost of delivery are not stated.
Does the CoinUp card require KYC?
Yes. CoinUp describes KYC as a step in the card flow and says it takes “just a few minutes” in the app. The actual document set is not stated on the public pages, but the standard for the category covers name, date of birth, address, nationality and an identity document, with a sanctions check and a politically exposed person screen.
How do I top up the CoinUp card?
You top up by transferring crypto from your CoinUp account to the card in the app. The supported coins and networks are not stated. As with any crypto card, you should test with a small amount first, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a wrong network can mean a lost deposit.
How do I add the CoinUp card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The virtual Mastercard supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. The flow is the standard tokenisation one: open the wallet app on your phone, choose to add a card, and follow the prompts; CoinUp says the card settings are managed in its own app, including the activation of each virtual card. The physical card does not list wallet support on the public pages.
Is the CoinUp card safe?
The card lists real-time alerts, PIN verification on the physical card, and in-app card controls. The safety of the balance behind the card depends on the issuer and the safeguarding regime, both of which are not named. For context, the category has a record of programme closures — FTX’s card was wound down after Visa terminated its global agreements in November 2022, and WaveCrest was suspended in 2018 — so the card’s continued availability is a decision made by the network and the issuer, not by CoinUp.
Exchange cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
