A Solana-centred Visa card that spends your stablecoin balance, with tiered fees and a physical card still coming for some levels

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Xplace is a Visa card built around crypto held on Solana: you deposit stablecoins such as USDC or USDT, and the card spends that balance directly. It runs on two modes — Cash, which simply draws down what you have loaded, and Credit, which borrows against your holdings. That combination, plus four paid tiers and native Apple Pay and Google Pay, is genuinely useful for people who live on stablecoins and cannot get an ordinary bank card to work for them. It is not a good fit if you need cash machines, a wide country list on the public pages, or a card you can hold in your hand on the lower tiers.

Xplace works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.7 out of 10

I scored Xplace 7.7 / 10 overall. The strengths are real: the cost structure is unusually clean on paper, the top-up list covers the coins most people actually hold, and the card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay straight away. The weaknesses are equally real: cash is unavailable, the country list is not published, the physical card is only live for one tier, and user reports keep pointing at hidden fees and slow support.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 No official country list published; Visa is accepted in 160+ countries. Unofficially, 162 countries are listed as available and 34 as closed
Cost 8 / 10 Basic is free, Silver $99/year, Gold $249/year, Platinum $999/year. Card terms state 0% Foreign Exchange Fee, 0% Cross Border Fee, 0% Foreign Transaction Fee; no cash available. Unofficially, Silver FX 0.5%
Top-up options 8 / 10 Deposits in BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks on the Solana network
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ (Dubai); the card is issued by Third National under a Signify Holdings programme. Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5 across 56 reviews, Google Play 3.5, with complaints about hidden fees and support
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card instantly, physical card for Silver with Gold and Platinum “soon”; Apple Pay and Google Pay built in; no cash withdrawal

Who this suits: Solana users who want to spend stablecoin balances, and people who have run into trouble getting an ordinary card. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs an ATM, anyone who wants a metal card in hand this month, and anyone who wants to read a clear country list before applying.

Who will they give you the card?

The public pages do not publish a country list — that is simply not stated — and the site itself says “services are not available in all jurisdictions”. What is stated is Visa acceptance in 160+ countries. There is also an unofficial picture from a third-party site (CryptoCardHub, 24 August 2026): 162 countries listed as available, 34 as explicitly unavailable, with Russia and India among the closed ones. That source itself warns that the negative list does not prove every unlisted country is onboardable. Treat the third-party list as a starting point, not as an answer, and check the card’s own eligibility flow if you are in an unusual jurisdiction.

The card is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings, Inc., and the operator is Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, Meydan Free Zone, Dubai, UAE, licence no. 2527237.01. The site is emphatic that it is not a bank, not a licensed lender and not an investment firm.

Visa acceptance being broad matters because it is about the network, not the signup rules. As the background explains, the card number’s first six or eight digits identify the issuer, and a shop can look that up. A card issued in one country can therefore look “foreign” to a merchant in another, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards on that basis alone. Broad acceptance tells you the card will work in many places; it does not promise it will be welcomed everywhere.

How to get it

Registration is “register and verify”, which the card says takes minutes. The documents required, whether proof of address is needed and the minimum age are not stated on the pages I checked. The virtual card activates instantly after sign-up, so you can have something usable before any plastic arrives.

The card is Visa, in two forms: a virtual card that appears immediately, and a physical one. The physical Silver card is live; Gold and Platinum are marked “coming soon”, with delivery quoted as 7–14 business days depending on the region. Which countries it ships to and what delivery costs are not stated. A replacement fee is not stated either — the terms refer to “fees for Card issuance or replacement” without amounts.

Whether there are verification tiers, how long processing takes and why an application might be rejected are all not stated; the public description is only that you register and verify in minutes. For more on the general framework this sits in, see how KYC works further down.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline numbers look generous, but the picture depends on the tier and on reading the card terms rather than the marketing page.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Xplace payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says
Issuance Free for the virtual card; physical card included with Silver, Gold and Platinum — Silver physical live, Gold and Platinum “coming soon”
Monthly fee Not stated; tiers are priced annually
Annual fee Basic free, Silver $99/year, Gold $249/year, Platinum $999/year
Borrowing No origination fee; interest and liquidation mechanics not stated on the pages checked
FX and cross-border Card terms table: 0% Foreign Exchange Fee (non-USD), 0% Cross Border Fee, 0% Foreign Transaction Fee. The page itself says only “0% FX on Platinum”
Conversion Not stated as a separate fee; the page says stablecoin spending carries “no hidden spread”
ATM / cash advances Not available — “Cash advances and balance transfers are not available under these Card Terms”; any ATM fee itself not stated
Monthly spending limit Basic $2,000, Silver $20,000, Gold $200,000, Platinum $750,000
Spending limit basis “Your spending limit is generally set by Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ”; the issuer may set additional limits that can change at any time
Disputed charges Must be reported no more than 60 days after the charge is posted

Two practical payments to picture. A €40 subscription billed to a card issued in the Dubai programme: the card terms say the card association converts foreign-currency transactions into US dollars and list 0% Foreign Exchange Fee, 0% Cross Border Fee and 0% Foreign Transaction Fee — but note the page only promises “0% FX on Platinum”, and an unofficial tier-by-tier breakdown (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) contradicts the terms by listing Basic as unconfirmed, Silver 0.5%, Gold 0.25% and Platinum 0%. Where the terms and the page disagree, believe the terms, and test with a small amount before committing.

A night out with cash in mind: not possible. Cash advances and balance transfers are not available under these card terms, so if your plan involves an ATM, this is not the card. Also unofficial: CryptoCardHub (24 August 2026) says Xplace does not publish confirmed ATM fees, ATM limits, replacement-card fees or general daily limits, and gives per-transaction limits of $3,000 for Silver, $10,000 for Gold and $25,000 for Platinum.

On the tier ladder itself: Basic is free with a $2,000 monthly limit and 0.5% Credit-mode cashback, with no lounge or Fast Track. Silver at $99/year raises the limit to $20,000 and cashback to 1%, adds a standard concierge and one free lounge visit a year. Gold at $249/year gives $200,000 and 1.5%, a personal concierge, four lounge visits and two Fast Track visits a year. Platinum at $999/year gives $750,000 and 2%, a VIP Priority concierge, unlimited lounges and five Fast Track visits a year.

Top up: how the money gets in

You deposit crypto on the Solana network. The accepted list is BTC (as cbBTC), ETH (as wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks. That is a Solana-first design, and it is the reason I would call this a Solana card rather than a general one — if your assets sit on Ethereum, for instance, you are bridging them first and paying the network’s fee for it.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Xplace starts with a transfer to the right network

What is not stated: the deposit or top-up fee, the minimum top-up, and whether fiat top-up options exist. Borrowing carries no origination fee. On the way out, the card says “withdraw the moment you decide” and “no lock-ups” — but it also says withdrawals depend on protocol liquidity and may be temporarily limited during market stress. Withdrawal fees are not stated, and what happens to a balance still on the card when you close the account is not stated; the terms only mention surrendering or destroying the card.

One warning about networks, because it is the classic way to lose money here: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Solana is the network that works here.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the mechanics are simple: you top up, you tap, you spend. The virtual card is instant, and Apple Pay and Google Pay are native, which is the practical route most people will use. The app is on the Apple App Store and Google Play; ratings are not shown on the card’s own page, but third-party figures land around 3.5–3.6 out of 5.

Two things shape what you can actually buy. First, a blocked-merchants document lists merchant category codes that are automatically declined: explosives, small arms, wire transfers, pawn shops, gambling and lotteries, money transfer services, escort and massage services, and political, labour and religious organisations. Named merchants blocked include eToro, Skrill, Neteller, Wish.com, MoonPay and Wise, plus a “dynamic list”. That means some crypto-native services — a broker, an exchange, a wallet top-up page — are closed to you.

Second, Cash mode spends your stablecoin balance while Credit mode borrows against your holdings. In Credit mode you earn cashback by tier: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%, paid in USDC to your wallet at settlement. Cash-mode cashback is not stated. On disputes, you must report any disputed charge or error no more than 60 days after it is posted, and chargebacks resolved in your favour are credited to your Xplace account.

A last practical note: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for up to 7 days, which matters when your balance is the thing you are spending.

What can go wrong

The category risks are real, and Xplace adds a few of its own. The operator says “XPlace does not hold your funds” and “XPlace cannot freeze, seize, or move your funds”, which is a non-custodial claim; whether that holds in practice, and what happens if the operator itself fails, is a separate question. Two-factor authentication, in-app card freeze, spending controls and insurance are all not stated on the pages I checked. The trade-off of a self-custody-linked card is that the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard malware that swaps copied addresses.

Credit mode is the part to understand before you touch it. An unverified secondary guide (penchan.co, reviewed 2 October 2026) describes it as a collateral-backed loan with interest and liquidation risk, notes the Drift lending protocol was hacked affecting users, and says Xplace moved to Kamino in May. An aggregator also mentions withdrawal lock-ups and slow support. Treat these as signals, not established facts — but understand that borrowing against volatile collateral means the collateral can be liquidated if the market moves.

On user experience, the picture is mixed and worth taking seriously. Trustpilot readings differ by date and page: roughly 4.4 out of 5 from 10 reviews on x.place and 4.3 out of 5 from 9 on xplace.finance, one reader saying credit limits and yield rates are hard to understand; a later reading of the same page gives 4.1 out of 5 from 56 reviews. Recurring themes across 2026: a September report of being offered a plastic card instead of the advertised metal one plus an extra card payment (the company’s answer: metal launches in October), a September “hidden fees” complaint, slow support through August and September, October SEPA transfers rejected without a stated reason, and one report of not being able to add the card to Apple Wallet. Google Play sits at 3.5–3.6, with at least one scam claim in the reviews. Official incidents are not stated.

Finally, the regulatory picture is mixed and partly transitional. Under MiCA — the EU’s crypto-asset regulation, in legal effect since June 2023, with its stablecoin rules applying from 30 June 2024 and CASP rules from 30 December 2024 — the grandfathering period runs until 1 July 2026 or until a provider gets or is refused authorisation, whichever comes first. A crypto card depends on two licences in practice: the payment side and the crypto side. The card here is not EU-licensed on the pages I reviewed, which is worth weighing if you are in the EU. Support is advertised as 24/7 across every tier, with [email protected] and +971 554 570 290 in the terms.

What to take instead

If Xplace is not the fit, these are the alternatives I looked at, on the same ten-point scale. Sponge scored 4.9, ether.fi 6.7, Anodos Card 7.2 — all below Xplace’s 7.7.

Card Score Who it suits Watch-outs
Xplace 7.7 / 10 Solana users spending stablecoins; Credit-mode borrowers No cash; country list not published; physical card live for Silver only
ether.fi 6.7 / 10 Anyone in a listed jurisdiction who wants an explicit tiered FX ladder and generous cashback Issued only in listed jurisdictions — “if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply”; core members normally get one free virtual card, first one costs $10 in regional-pricing countries; cashback locked 7 days
Anodos Card 7.2 / 10 Residents of 150+ countries who want a clear country exception list and a cheaper paid tier Free tier FX 1.50%, Pro 1.25%, Elite 1.00%; residents of Russia, Belarus, China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam cannot be issued cards
Sponge 4.9 / 10 Minimal, virtual-card-only spending from USDC collateral No country list, cost, fees or rewards stated on the pages checked; described as a Rain-issued Visa credit card; score reflects how little is published

The honest comparison: ether.fi’s jurisdiction list is the most transparent of the three, and Anodos publishes the clearest FX tiers, but both sit slightly below Xplace overall. Nobody in this group gives you cash machines.

Who I would recommend it to

I would point Xplace at three kinds of person. First, if you live on USDC or USDT on Solana and want to spend it with a tap, the native Apple Pay and Google Pay support and the deposit list are the reason to choose it. Second, if ordinary bank cards have been unreliable for you, a non-custodial card with a stated credit limit and no origination fee on borrowing is a legitimate alternative worth a look. Third, if you want a tiered product where the top tier lifts your monthly limit to $750,000 and pays 2% cashback in Credit mode, the ladder is well built.

I would not point it at someone who needs an ATM, who wants a physical card on a lower tier right now, who is in a jurisdiction the card does not publish, or who wants to read a single unambiguous FX figure — because right now the terms table and the unofficial tier breakdown do not agree. Before you commit, the three checks I would run are small: top up a modest amount, make one small foreign-currency purchase to see the real conversion, and test Apple Pay before you rely on it.

Frequently asked questions

What is Xplace card?

Xplace is a Visa card that spends crypto rather than a bank balance. You deposit coins on the Solana network — BTC as cbBTC, ETH as wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT or xStocks — and the card spends that balance. It works in two modes: Cash, which draws down your loaded balance, and Credit, which borrows against your holdings. Apple Pay and Google Pay are built in natively.

How does Xplace card work?

You register and verify, the site says in minutes, and a virtual card activates instantly after sign-up. You then deposit supported crypto on Solana, and the card spends it. There are no cash advances or balance transfers under the card terms, and a blocked-merchants list rules out gambling, wire transfers, money transfer services and several named crypto services.

Is Xplace a bank?

No. The operator is Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, registered in the Meydan Free Zone, Dubai, UAE, licence no. 2527237.01, and the site says plainly that it is not a bank, not a licensed lender and not an investment firm. The card is issued by Third National under a programme managed by Signify Holdings, Inc.

Who owns Xplace?

Ownership sits with Pontech Group L.L.C-FZ, the Dubai-registered company that operates the Xplace brand. The card programme itself is run through Third National as issuer and Signify Holdings, Inc. as programme manager, so three separate names appear in the legal chain rather than one.

Is Xplace card available in my country?

The card’s own pages do not publish a country list — they only say services are not available in all jurisdictions — though Visa is accepted in 160+ countries. Unofficially, a third-party site lists 162 countries as available and 34 as unavailable, Russia and India among them. Check the signup flow for your own country rather than trusting the list.

How do I get an Xplace card?

Register and verify — the card says this takes minutes — and the virtual card activates instantly after sign-up. For a physical card, Silver is live with delivery quoted at 7–14 business days depending on the region, while Gold and Platinum are marked “coming soon”. Which countries it ships to and the delivery cost are not stated.

Does Xplace card require KYC?

Verification is required — you must “register and verify” before the card activates. What documents are needed, whether proof of address is required and the minimum age are not stated on the pages checked, and no verification tiers or rejection reasons are published. In general, regulated providers must check identity, sanctions status and source of funds.

How do I top up the Xplace card?

You send crypto to the card on the Solana network. The accepted assets are BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks. The deposit fee, minimum top-up and any fiat top-up options are not stated. Crucially, transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong network can lose the money.

How much does an Xplace card cost?

The annual fee is free for Basic, $99 for Silver, $249 for Gold and $999 for Platinum. Borrowing carries no origination fee. The card terms list 0% Foreign Exchange Fee, 0% Cross Border Fee and 0% Foreign Transaction Fee, though the page itself only promises 0% FX on Platinum, and an unofficial breakdown lists Silver at 0.5% and Gold at 0.25%.

Is Xplace card safe?

The operator claims it does not hold your funds and cannot freeze, seize or move them, which is the non-custodial model — you keep the risk of key loss and phishing. Against that, user reviews raise complaints about hidden fees, slow support, rejected SEPA transfers and being unable to add the card to Apple Wallet. Two-factor authentication and an in-app freeze are not stated.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team