A crypto-backed payment card from a familiar fintech, with a few rough edges worth knowing about
Revolut’s card is one of the most widely available ways to spend a crypto balance in a normal shop, on a website or at an ATM, and for a lot of people in Europe and the UK that is exactly the appeal. The card sits inside the Revolut app you may already have on your phone, and the brand is well known enough that the question for most readers is not “what is it” but “is it any good for me, and what will it actually cost.” This review walks through the answers in the order you are likely to need them: who can apply, what it costs in real money, how to put funds on it, what everyday use looks like, and where things can go wrong. I will say plainly where the official Revolut pages do not give a clear answer and where I am relying on third-party reporting.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The card scores 6.5 out of 10 in my scoring, with a few clear highs and a few clear lows. The strongest point is breadth: very few crypto cards are usable across as many countries, and very few come with the convenience of an app a lot of people already trust for travel money. The weakest point is uncertainty: several things that should be clearly stated on Revolut’s own pages are not, and a lot of what people repeat online comes from third-party aggregators rather than from the issuer. For an EU or UK customer who already uses Revolut for everyday banking, the card is a sensible, low-friction way to round-trip a crypto balance into everyday spending. For anyone else, the value depends on how much weight you put on the convenience versus the cost of conversion, the weekend markup, and the chance of your account being reviewed.

Here is the score in detail, with a short reason for each mark out of 10.
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Available officially in 37 countries according to third-party reporting, with twelve jurisdictions closed to it; the rules are based on residence and plan rather than citizenship. |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Virtual cards are free on Standard, Plus and Ultra, but crypto conversion carries a 1% exchange fee above a monthly allowance on the base plan, and there is a separate weekend markup. |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | The card draws from a chosen crypto or fiat balance inside the same app, with 250-plus tokens listed for spending and 30-plus fiat currencies. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | High public rating overall, but recurrent user complaints about unexplained account closures and slow, hard-to-win chargeback cases. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual by default, works with Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM allowance is plan-dependent and modest. |
I would not recommend the Revolut card to someone who treats crypto as a long-term cold-storage investment and only wants to spend the bare minimum. For that, the cost of conversion eats into the upside. I also would not push it on a US-based reader, since the United States is among the closed jurisdictions. Where I would happily recommend it is for an EU or UK Revolut user who wants a single app for travel money, banking, and crypto spending, and who is comfortable with the conversion fee model.
Who will they give you the card
Revolut does not publish a single, plain list on the card page saying exactly which countries the crypto card is open to. The official answer is that availability depends on where you live and which Revolut plan you are on. Beyond that, the clearest public answer is from third-party trackers: a card comparison site reporting in August 2026 says the card is available in 37 countries, including the EU, the United Kingdom, Australia, Japan, Singapore and New Zealand, with twelve jurisdictions closed. The 37 listed are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The 12 closed jurisdictions are Belarus, Canada, Cuba, India, Iran, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Sudan, Syria and the United States. A second aggregator cited in the same reporting gives a higher figure of 48-plus countries, so the exact count is not settled, and you should check the app or Revolut’s own page for the most up-to-date list before you sign up.

The card is a virtual product, which means there is no plastic to ship to a country where Revolut cannot deliver a card anyway. The eligibility check is based on residence, not citizenship, and Revolut asks for standard identity documents as part of opening the account. If you already have a verified Revolut account, you can usually add the crypto card from inside the app in a few taps, subject to the same residency rules.
What this means in practice: if you are a citizen of a closed country but live in Germany, the card is open to you through the German account. If you live in a closed country, the card is not available regardless of which passport you hold.
How to get it
The headline here is that the card is virtual, not a piece of plastic in the post. That changes how you sign up and what you receive at the end. Revolut’s published fee schedules list virtual cards as free on the Standard, Plus and Ultra plans, so the card itself does not add a monthly cost. Older comparison reporting from August 2026 puts issuance of a physical card at around £4.99 or €5.50 on Standard, free express delivery on Premium, and free priority delivery on Metal and Ultra, with a replacement fee of around £5 or €6 on Standard, Plus and Premium, higher on Metal and Ultra. These are unofficial figures from a third-party tracker; Revolut’s current fee schedule for physical card delivery and replacement was not read in full for this review.
The application flow for the crypto card follows the same path as any Revolut product. You open the app, complete or sign in to your Revolut account, complete identity verification and, once the account is in good standing, switch on the crypto feature and add a virtual card. The same third-party reporting describes the KYC step as standard: a government ID and a selfie, with a possible source-of-funds declaration if you are moving larger sums. If you have already done full verification on Revolut, the card is added in minutes. If you have not, the KYC step is the slowest part.
What this means in practice: the card is closer to a switch in the app than to a credit-card application. The barrier is the Revolut account itself. If Revolut has previously declined or closed your account, that decision is the one that matters, and adding the crypto card is not a way around it.
What it really costs
The price of using the Revolut card is built from several moving parts, and the trick is that the card itself is the cheapest of them. Issuance of the virtual card is free on Standard, Plus and Ultra. The recurring plan fee is where the cost starts. Unofficial figures from an August 2026 tracker put the monthly plan cost at £0 on Standard, £3.99 / €2.99 on Plus, £7.99 / €7.99 on Premium, £14.99 / €13.99 on Metal, and £55 / €60 on Ultra in the UK and EEA. Plan fees can change, and these are third-party numbers rather than values copied from Revolut’s own current page, so treat them as a guide rather than a quote.
Where the real cost sits, though, is in conversion and foreign exchange. Revolut’s help page in its German version says there is no exchange fee for crypto transactions paid with the Revolut card, but warns that fair-usage fees may apply depending on plan. Older schedule excerpts describe an exchange limit of £1,000 per month on Standard, with a 1% fee above that, £3,000 per month on Plus with a 0.5% fee above that, and no limit on Premium, Metal or Ultra. The same tracker also describes a weekend markup of 1% on Standard, 0.5% on Plus, and 0% on Premium, Metal and Ultra—these figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card. Earlier 2023 terms record a crypto fee of 1.99% or £0.99, whichever is greater, on Standard and Plus; that schedule is older than the current one, so check the app for the live number.
ATM withdrawals are plan-dependent. The same unofficial source gives a free allowance of £200 per month on Standard and Plus, £400 on Premium, £800 on Metal and £2,000 on Ultra, with a 2% fee above the allowance and a daily limit of £3,000. The crypto-card-specific ATM fee was not stated on the official pages read for this review.
For card limits, the help page excerpt says there is a limit of 100 crypto exchanges per 24 hours, with minimum and maximum amounts that depend on the coin. The third-party tracker gives a per-transaction figure of around £100,000 and an exchange count of 200 per 24 hours, which contradicts the official 100 figure; treat the official number as the binding one until the page says otherwise.
Here is the same set of cost items in one place for quick comparison. The plan fees and the ATM allowances below are from unofficial third-party sources, and the rest is from Revolut’s own pages.
| Fee or limit | Amount or value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free on Standard, Plus, Ultra | Official, older schedule PDFs |
| Monthly plan, UK / EEA | Standard £0; Plus £3.99 / €2.99; Premium £7.99 / €7.99; Metal £14.99 / €13.99; Ultra £55 / €60 | UNOFFICIAL (Aug 2026) |
| Crypto exchange fee | 1% above £1,000/mo on Standard; 0.5% above £3,000/mo on Plus; no limit on Premium / Metal / Ultra | UNOFFICIAL |
| Weekend FX markup | 1% Standard, 0.5% Plus, 0% on Premium / Metal / Ultra | UNOFFICIAL |
| ATM allowance, monthly | £200 Standard / Plus; £400 Premium; £800 Metal; £2,000 Ultra, then 2% | UNOFFICIAL |
| Daily ATM limit | £3,000 | UNOFFICIAL |
| Exchange count | 100 crypto exchanges per 24 hours (official); 200 per 24 hours (unofficial) | Mixed |
| Single transaction | Around £100,000 (unofficial) | UNOFFICIAL |
What this means in everyday use: a coffee paid in crypto on a Standard plan may look free, but the moment you cross £1,000 of crypto exchanges in a month, a 1% fee starts, and a Saturday or Sunday payment adds the weekend markup on top. On Premium, Metal and Ultra the markup goes away, but the plan fee is a fixed monthly cost you pay whether you use the card or not.
A few small worked examples make the model easier to see. Paying £40 in crypto at a UK café on a Tuesday on a Standard plan: no exchange fee, no weekend markup, no ATM fee, so the cost is the spread inside the conversion from your crypto balance to pounds. Paying £900 of crypto in a single month on a Standard plan: still inside the £1,000 allowance, so the only cost is the spread. Crossing the line, say £1,200 of exchanges in a month: a 1% fair-usage fee applies to the £200 (an unofficial figure, not confirmed by the card) above the allowance, plus the spread on every exchange. Withdrawing £250 from an ATM on a Standard plan: the first £200 is free, the remaining £50 carries a 2% fee. None of these scenarios include any bank-side fee for the merchant, since the merchant is paid in pounds.
How to top it up
The card does not have a balance of its own in the way a prepaid travel card does. It pulls from a chosen crypto or fiat account inside the same Revolut app, and falls back to other accounts if the chosen one is empty. The third-party reporting from August 2026 says the card supports 250-plus tokens for spending and 30-plus fiat currencies, which is a wider menu than most crypto cards offer. The official Revolut pages do not list the specific coins or networks the card accepts, and that is a real gap; if a particular token matters to you, the only reliable way to check is to open the app and see whether the token appears in the spendable list for the card.
A practical note that matters: Pro and Business accounts cannot link to the crypto card. If you are on a Pro or Business plan, the card is not available to you, and you would have to downgrade to a personal plan to use it. This is not stated on the card page, so it is easy to miss.
What this means in practice: there is no separate top-up step the way there is on a Binance Card or a Crypto.com Card, where you transfer from an external wallet. You just hold a balance inside Revolut, choose which balance to spend from, and the app does the conversion at the moment of payment. The upside is that you do not have to manage blockchain transfers, gas fees, or wrong-network mistakes. The downside is that the conversion happens inside Revolut at a rate you do not see until the transaction settles, so you have to trust the in-app rate.
Paying with it every day
The card is virtual by default, and Revolut’s published fee schedules describe virtual cards as free. The third-party reporting from August 2026 describes the underlying product as a Visa or Mastercard prepaid debit, with the network depending on the region. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, according to the same source, so you can load the virtual card into a phone wallet and tap to pay at any contactless terminal.
Cashback is plan-dependent. The same unofficial source describes Metal and Ultra as earning 0.1% cashback in eligible European countries and 1% elsewhere, capped at roughly one month’s fee; Standard, Plus and Premium earn no cashback. None of this is stated on the card page itself, so it is worth confirming in the app before you choose a plan for the rewards.
The app is well reviewed in public. The third-party tracker reports App Store 4.8 out of 5 from about 140,600 ratings, Google Play 4.5 out of 5, and Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5. The Trustpilot figure differs from the one cited in the complaint and reliability sections below, which is closer to 4.5 out of 5 from around 425,000 reviews. Both come from third-party trackers rather than from Revolut, so the exact number depends on when you look. The user experience is a known strength of the wider Revolut product, and the crypto card inherits most of it.
ATM behaviour is a quieter story. The free allowance is plan-dependent and not large; on Standard and Plus you get £200 a month (an unofficial figure, not confirmed by the card), and going above that carries a 2% fee. The crypto-card-specific ATM fee was not stated on the official pages read for this review. If you are the kind of person who takes cash out frequently, this is not the card to rely on for that.
What this means in everyday use: for online payments, contactless in shops, and Apple Pay or Google Pay, the card works the same way any Revolut card does. The two places it shows strain are cash machines and any spending that crosses the monthly fair-usage limit, where the percentage fees start to bite.
What can go wrong
This is the section most reviews skip, and the one I would not want to skip. The most consistent complaints about Revolut in general, on Trustpilot and on community forums, are not about the card working badly but about the account being closed or funds being held, and about chargeback cases that drag on without a clear resolution. A Trustpilot score of around 4.5 out of 5 from roughly 425,000 reviews is high in absolute terms, but a recurring theme in the lower-rated reviews is account closure without a clear explanation. A Reddit post describes a crypto deposit held for more than two and a half months, and a denied fraud chargeback. A UK Financial Ombudsman decision in 2023-2024 (DRN-5705456) found no chargeback grounds for card payments to a crypto platform made under scam pressure, which is a useful reminder that the same chargeback rights that protect you in a shop may not apply to a crypto purchase.
On the company side, Revolut Ltd is the UK issuer and Revolut Bank UAB is the EU issuer, with regional partner banks elsewhere; EU crypto services run through Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd, a Cyprus-based MiCA CASP according to the third-party reporting. In July 2024 the UK Prudential Regulation Authority granted Revolut a UK banking licence with restrictions, reported by third-party news in September 2024. None of this was read in full, so the headline is that Revolut is regulated in the relevant jurisdictions, not that any specific feature of the card is government-guaranteed. E-money balances held with an electronic money institution are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Customer support is available through the in-app chat 24/7 in 100-plus languages, according to the same third-party tracker, but the same source notes that some users report limited help with crypto issues specifically. The asymmetry is the kind of thing that only matters when something goes wrong, and then it matters a lot.
What this means in practice: the operational risks of the Revolut card are the operational risks of Revolut itself. The product is a thin layer on top of the Revolut account, and the weak spots (account closure, slow reviews of unusual activity, chargeback friction on crypto purchases) are inherited, not invented by the card. If you keep a large crypto balance on the card or in the connected account, you are also keeping that balance with Revolut, and the rules that govern Revolut as a custodian apply.
What to take instead
Three alternatives are worth knowing about, and each makes a different trade. The table below summarises the headline points so you can scan them quickly.
| Card | Score | Country rules | Card and network | Costs and fees | Top-up and rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | Closed to residents or legal registrants of 17 named jurisdictions including Russia, Iran, Cuba, Belarus and North Korea | U.S.-issued virtual Platinum Visa, pays in USD; physical “coming soon” | Virtual $5 one-time; Classic free, Pro $9/mo, Max $19/mo; 2% FX fee; USD spending free | USDC / USDT into the USD account at 1:1; no cashback stated |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Country rules not stated | Mastercard multicurrency, spends from UNi.Global balance | “No annual fee” or FX fee; assets converted at live OTC rates | Up to 3% Spend-to-Earn rewards with UNi Card |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Eligibility by residence, not citizenship; closed-beta in 16 countries with invite codes; app in 140+ countries | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends from Morse Balance in any currency | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”; real-time Visa rate; no stated issuance or monthly fee | Free USDC, USDG, EURC on Solana; Bitcoin, USDT and other tokens on supported networks; self-custodial wallet |
A few thoughts on how to read that. If the priority is having a card that spends directly in dollars with no FX markup on USD purchases and you live outside the closed list, the International Visa Card is the cleaner dollar product, with the trade-off that it charges 2% on anything not in USD. If you want a multicurrency Mastercard that bills itself as fee-free and offers Spend-to-Earn rewards, the UNi Card is the closer match to that promise, though country availability is not stated on the page. If you want a self-custody model where your crypto stays in your own wallet until the moment of payment, Morse is the strongest of the three on that dimension, and the score reflects that. None of these is a direct replacement for Revolut, because Revolut’s appeal is the wider banking app, not just the card.
Who I would recommend it to
After working through the sections above, my honest view is that the Revolut crypto card is best suited to three kinds of reader, and not great for a fourth. The first is an EU or UK customer who already uses Revolut as their main banking app and wants the convenience of converting and spending a small crypto balance in the same place they manage their travel money. The second is a relatively light spender who will not cross the £1,000-a-month fair-usage limit on a Standard plan, or who is happy to upgrade to Premium, Metal or Ultra to remove the conversion fee. The third is a reader who values the breadth of tokens and currencies Revolut supports and is not going to lose sleep over a 1% or 2% markup on a Saturday.
The reader I would steer away from the card is the one who wants to keep a meaningful crypto balance on a payment card for everyday use and cares about low fees. The exchange fees, the weekend markup, and the conversion spread together will eat into the upside of any crypto you convert for spending, and a self-custody card like Morse is closer to what that reader wants. The other reader I would steer away is anyone in a closed jurisdiction; the card is not available there, and a US-based reader in particular has a stronger range of domestic options.
A final note on what to check first before you sign up. The current list of countries is on the Revolut app, not on a static public page, and the live list is the one that matters. The current plan prices, the current fair-usage limits, and the current cashback rules are inside the app too. The number of crypto exchanges per day, the ATM allowance, and the per-transaction limit are all plan-dependent, and the live figures in the app override anything in older third-party reporting. If you cannot find a number on the Revolut side, the rule of thumb is to assume it is worse than the unofficial figure, not better, and to plan around that.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Revolut card?
It is a virtual payment card offered by Revolut that draws from a crypto or fiat balance inside the Revolut app, so you can spend cryptocurrency at any merchant that takes Visa or Mastercard, depending on the network your region uses.
How does the Revolut card work?
The card is linked to your Revolut account. You choose which balance to spend from, the app converts the chosen crypto to fiat at the moment of payment, and the merchant is paid in normal money. There is no separate top-up step in the way an external crypto card requires.
Is Revolut a bank?
In the UK the Prudential Regulation Authority granted Revolut a banking licence with restrictions in July 2024, and in the EEA the issuer is Revolut Bank UAB. Outside the UK and EEA, the card is typically issued by a regional partner bank. E-money balances are not the same as bank deposits.
Who owns Revolut?
Revolut was founded by Nikolay Storonsky and Vlad Yatsenko, and remains a private company. The card-issuing entities are Revolut Ltd in the UK, Revolut Bank UAB in the EU, and partner banks elsewhere, with EU crypto services run through Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd in Cyprus.
Is the Revolut card available in my country?
Availability depends on your country of residence and your Revolut plan. Third-party reporting from August 2026 lists 37 supported countries, including the EU, the UK, Australia, Japan, Singapore and New Zealand, with 12 closed jurisdictions including the United States, Canada, Russia, India and Iran. The list is updated inside the app.
How do I get the Revolut card?
You open the Revolut app, complete identity verification, switch on the crypto feature if it is not already on, and add a virtual card. The card itself is free on Standard, Plus and Ultra; a physical card is paid on most plans and free on Premium express or Metal / Ultra priority, according to third-party reporting.
Does the Revolut card require KYC?
Yes. Revolut asks for a government ID and a selfie to open an account, and may ask for a source-of-funds declaration for larger crypto transactions, according to third-party reporting. Pro and Business accounts cannot link the crypto card.
Is the Revolut card free?
The virtual card is free on Standard, Plus and Ultra, but the conversion of crypto carries an exchange fee on Standard and Plus after a monthly allowance, and a weekend markup on Standard and Plus. The wider plan fee on Premium, Metal and Ultra is the other cost to consider.
How do I add the Revolut card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Once the virtual card is active in the app, you choose the card, select “Add to wallet” and follow the on-screen steps. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is reported by third-party trackers and is the usual way to pay in shops with a virtual card.
Is the Revolut card safe?
The card is issued by regulated entities in the UK and EU, and Revolut holds a MiCA CASP authorisation in Cyprus for EU crypto services. The operational risks are the risks of Revolut itself, including account closures without clear reasons, slow reviews of unusual activity, and limited chargeback protection on crypto purchases.
App and neobank cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
