The Gnosis Pay consumer card is closing, and the dates matter more than the fee list

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Gnosis Pay card is no longer something you can sign up for. The company behind it put a formal closure notice on the site on 21 September 2026: the consumer card stops authorising payments and the web app shuts down at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026, general cardholder support ends on 18 June 2027, and support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends on 12 June 2028. The card is being replaced by cards from partner apps on the same infrastructure. If you are reading this to decide whether to apply, the decision was made for you. If you are reading it because money is still sitting in your account, the useful part is the withdrawal route and the dates.

The Gnosis Pay card programme no longer issues new cards

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

I scored this card 4.5 out of 10 — not as a punishment for a company closing a line of business, but because the things you actually rely on from a payment card are precisely the ones disappearing. The scoring below breaks that total down criterion by criterion, and the reasoning behind each mark is the honest part of the review.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Issuance is closed: the card and web app stop working on 20 Dec 2026, and the consumer card is replaced by partner cards
Cost 8 / 10 Card issue and delivery are free (the old price of EUR 30.23 is outdated); no Gnosis Pay transaction fees or FX markup, Visa’s rate applies; ATM 2% after the free allowance
Top-up options 7 / 10 Self-custody Safe, EURe/GBPe/USDCe, USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon, Gnosis Chain; unofficial: from another network you need a swap or a bridge
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer Monavate (FCA) is named, but the programme is closing: support to 18 Jun 2027, disputes to 12 Jun 2028; Trustpilot 2.3; unofficial: an exploit in June 2026
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATMs; unofficial: gambling categories are blocked
Total 4.5 / 10

The number that decides most cases is the zero, not the average. Availability scored zero because you cannot get the card at all, and no amount of good fees compensates for that. The four other criteria describe a product that worked well on the mundane stuff and then got switched off underneath its users, which is what drags the total down to a middling mark rather than a floor.

Who it suited: people who already held the right currency stablecoins, wanted a self-custodial Safe rather than an account held by a provider, wanted no foreign-exchange markup from the card side, and were comfortable with a European economic area plus selected Latin American country list that did not include everywhere. For them, day-to-day spending was cheap and unremarkable, which is what a payment card should be.

Who it never suited: anyone travelling widely, anyone who wants merchant categories that a crypto-linked card tends to block, anyone who needs a banking relationship rather than a prepaid balance, and anyone who wanted card services to still exist in three years.

What happened to the programme

The story is not a failure so much as a pivot, and understanding it tells you whether the money side is safe. Gnosis Pay is the trading name of Gnosis Pay Co Ltd, a UK-registered company (No. 14919639). It was never the issuer. The card was issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence, and Monavate is an FCA-authorised electronic money institution (FRN 901097). Gnosis Pay acted as the technical services provider and programme manager — the front end, the marketing, the crypto plumbing. That distinction matters now: the licence and the obligations sit with Monavate, so your contractual rights as a cardholder are Monavate’s, not Gnosis’s.

Two issuers are involved depending on where you live. UK and non-EEA cardholders fall under Monavate Ltd, authorised by the FCA; EEA cardholders fall under UAB Monavate, supervised by the Bank of Lithuania. The card itself is a Visa, in virtual (instant) and physical form, with T+1 settlement.

The sequence reads like a company choosing its next market rather than a company in trouble. On 7 September 2026 the site was already pitching business-to-business card issuing, with Startup (a two-year agreement) and Enterprise (a three-year agreement with a dedicated BIN) tiers at custom pricing. Those are not consumer tiers and not for cardholders. On 21 September 2026 the formal closure notice for the consumer card and web app appeared. News reports from 24 September 2026, and I want to be clear this is not official confirmation, say MiniPay will handle migration and issue replacement cards on Gnosis Pay’s enterprise rails, and that GNO cashback eligibility was reported to end on 30 September with a final distribution on 7 October.

The closure notice does not describe cashback on the current card at all; it points to the help centre and to [email protected], and it notes that partner programmes may carry different rewards. Unofficially, GNO cashback eligibility was reported to end 30 September 2026 with the last distribution on 7 October — that is from news coverage, not from the card’s own pages.

Before closure, eligibility was residence-based: legal residents of selected European and Latin American countries, including Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia and Cyprus, plus more EEA countries, with a waitlist for new countries. It was residence that counted, not citizenship. The site now lists corridors for USD, EUR, GBP, BRL and ARS alongside the partner apps. One unofficial point worth carrying: Russia was on the restricted list, with card use prohibited and not an eligible application country, per a third-party site in August 2026. I could not confirm that on Gnosis Pay’s own pages, so treat it as unverified — and if you are in a restricted jurisdiction, the honest answer is that the card cannot help you there and I am not going to describe how to work around that.

KYC ran through Sumsub in a single unified flow. The official pages do not state which documents were required, what proof of address was accepted, or an age threshold, so I will not guess. Unofficially, per a third-party site in August 2026, it was 18+, a government ID or passport, proof of address issued within the last three months, and approval not guaranteed.

On cost, the current picture is good news. The help centre says the card purchase and physical shipping are free; an older page, possibly outdated, still lists a card purchase fee of EUR 30.23, which is history. There are no transaction fees and no added FX fee from Gnosis Pay, and fiat converts to stablecoin 1:1 — a EUR 10 purchase becomes 10 EURe. Apple Pay and Google Pay were described as “ready”. Some categories are restricted: rental-car agencies and automated fuel dispensers are limited, and use is prohibited in certain countries. Betting, casinos, lotteries and other gambling were blocked as a card category and excluded from cashback.

Currencies are EURe, GBPe and USDCe, spent 1:1. Gnosis Pay adds nothing to conversion, Visa’s exchange rate applies automatically, and the page advises choosing the local currency at terminals so you are not the one paying the conversion. There was a single consumer tier — no tiers on the fees or limits page, no cashback tiers and no metal card.

If you already have the card

This is the section I would read twice if the money is yours. The good news first: your balance is not stranded with a company that is disappearing. The account behind the card is a self-custodial Safe — a smart contract account on Gnosis Chain. The assets remain yours. Neither Gnosis Pay nor Monavate can take them or block transfers. You can also reach the same Safe through third-party Safe interfaces using the signer key you already have, which is a useful fact to hold on to: your route out does not depend on this company’s website staying up.

Withdrawals stay open on the web app after 20 December 2026, at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw, with no deadline stated, though blockchain network fees may apply. Gnosis Pay recommends withdrawing before 20 December 2026 anyway. Unofficially, the web app stays in limited capacity after that date for withdrawals only, and funds in Safe accounts have no withdrawal deadline — from Crypto Briefing in September 2026, with Odaily and The Defiant agreeing. The official help-centre page “Is Gnosis Pay shutting down?” is vaguer: the web app is deprecated “by end of 2026” and migration paths stay open “for as long as possible”. Between the two, plan on the earlier date and treat the later one as a courtesy.

Spending limits and cash machine access, from the help centre (possibly outdated): EUR 5,000 per regular transaction, up to EUR 8,000 per day. Cash machines are free up to five times a month or 200 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, then 2% with a minimum of 1 EUR or GBP; the per-transaction ATM limit is EUR 250 and EUR 500 per day.

Funding worked through the Safe with EURe, GBPe and USDCe, and the site also mentioned USDC and EURC on Ethereum, Polygon and Gnosis Chain. Unofficially, there is no top-up percentage fee from Gnosis Pay, but funding from another chain may need a swap or bridge with network or decentralized-exchange costs, and on-chain transfers pay gas. The official fees page states neither top-up fees nor a minimum top-up — not stated. Card transactions themselves incur no gas fee; gas applies only to on-chain transfers, for example from your Safe to another wallet.

Support is the part that has a hard end date. Channels are the help centre at help.gnosispay.com and [email protected]. Complaints go to [email protected], which is forwarded to Monavate, or to [email protected]; complaints to Monavate can be made in English or Lithuanian, and hours are not stated. General cardholder support ends 18 June 2027. Questions about a partner app go to the partner, not to Gnosis Pay.

Your rights do not evaporate with the support window. Rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions, and card-scheme chargeback rights, are unaffected by the closure — but scheme time limits apply, so raise disputes promptly through [email protected] or the help centre. Support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends 12 June 2028; your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date. Two practical warnings: a refund arriving after deactivation cannot be used on the card, and a recurring payment set to hit after the cutoff will simply fail and cannot be moved to another card for you. Before 20 December 2026, export your transaction history and write down the last four digits and the expiry date, and keep your receipts.

If you move to a partner app, understand what you are agreeing to: it is a new card programme, with a new Safe, new terms and, possibly, a fresh identity or compliance check. Do it on your own terms, with your own records, not under time pressure from a countdown banner.

What can go wrong

Let me separate the things that are facts from the things that are reports.

The official facts are the dates. The card stops authorising and the web app closes except for withdrawals at 23:59 UTC on 20 December 2026. General cardholder support ends 23:59 on 18 June 2027. Refund, dispute and chargeback support ends 23:59 on 12 June 2028. Recurring payments fail after the cutoff and cannot be moved to another card. Transactions already authorised but not yet settled still complete. Refunds arriving after deactivation cannot be used on the card. The Safe is self-custodial, assets stay with you, withdrawals stay open on the web app with no deadline stated, and withdrawing or confirming independent access before 20 December is recommended. Complaints go to [email protected], forwarded to Monavate, with escalation to the Financial Ombudsman Service in the UK or the Bank of Lithuania in the EEA.

Trustpilot tells the other half of the story. The score was 2.3 out of 5, labelled “Poor”, across 38 reviews, 21 of them in the last 12 months, with 58% one-star and 21% five-star; other regional pages showed 2.5. I read this on 20 October 2026. The complaint themes were consistent: unresponsive support with chats, tickets and emails unanswered for weeks between March and July 2026; missing or blocked funds, balances dropping after a failed payment or top-up, failing withdrawals and transactions pending two weeks or more between May and July 2026; and KYC rejections without reasons, including “country not supported” for listed countries such as Italy and Mexico between April and August 2025 and in May 2026, alongside account deactivation and login problems in June and July 2026. No official user report was available for the closure itself.

Then there is the June 2026 exploit, and I want to be honest about its status. Unofficial reports, from The Block and from LCX and Cointelegraph in 2026, say an exploit hit the Gnosis Pay delay module, that co-founder Koppelmann said Gnosis would cover user losses, and that early-withdrawal advice was itself reported as conflicting. I did not check the status of that compensation. If you were affected, that is a question to put to the company in writing now, while you still have an address to write to — not something to assume is settled.

Freeze and unfreeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance of funds: not stated by the card’s pages. Self-custody is the security story here, and self-custody cuts both ways. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of that key, so anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery path. On the other hand, nobody can freeze your balance for you, which is the flip side of the frozen-funds complaints above.

What does not get said enough in these reviews: a closed card programme is a category risk, not a one-off. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically run in a fixed order — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. That sequence is exactly what is happening here, and it is the sequence you should rehearse for with any card that holds money for you.

What to take instead

None of these is a like-for-like replacement, and I would rather say that than imply one exists. Gnosis Pay’s particular combination — self-custody, no FX markup from the card side, European issuer, no tiers — was not widely shared. But the use cases have successors, and the honest comparison is on cost, access and custody.

TokenPocket scores 5.8 out of 10. It offers a Visa debit for a list of European countries and territories such as Germany, France, Spain and Switzerland, and a Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK among others, with the Americas planned. The card runs on Arbitrum; Fiat24 cards are virtual, with no physical card mentioned, and balances in EUR24 and USD24. The NFT creation fee is partly covered by TokenPocket and the user pays a small portion, the amount not stated; apart from that, no additional fees are charged. A 1% fee is charged when depositing cryptocurrency into the card, to be refunded later via rewards or reduced transaction fees. No cashback is stated. Funding comes from the TokenPocket wallet, and specific coins and networks are not listed in its FAQ.

MetaMask scores 7.1 out of 10, the highest of the three, and the closest in spirit to what Gnosis Pay holders liked. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories — Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay among them — with other regions on a waitlist and proof of residency required. Ineligible regions limit sign-ups, not spending; the citizenship rule is not stated, and US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed per its FAQ. The card is Mastercard: a virtual card issued instantly first, with a metal card pre-orderable in the app after virtual approval, one card per user, issued by Monavate with Crypto Life as card provider. The virtual card is free with no annual or maintenance fee; metal is $199 a year. Fees are described as minimal per transaction with no additional MetaMask fees and no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard’s rate used — the amount is on a linked fee table rather than the pages I read. It spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, with mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT named, and Solana-only wallets cannot withdraw credit. Cashback is paid in mUSD into the Money Account: 1% on Virtual, and a 3% headline on Metal limited by footnote to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after that, plus a $FLY bonus of 5X on Virtual and 7X on Metal through the Blackbird dining app.

KAST scores 6.1 out of 10, and it is the one with the most elaborate structure. It offers virtual and physical cards, up to 10 per user: Visa Platinum (Standard), Visa Infinite metal (Premium), Visa Infinite gold plated (Private), plus Pengu, Solana and Bitcoin designs, with the balance in USD and stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. Annual membership is 0 USD for Standard, 1,000 USD a year for Premium and 10,000 USD a year for Private, billed annually upfront with no monthly option; an extra virtual card is 2 USD, a Standard physical card has a 0 USD card fee plus 40 USD delivery while Premium and Private physical cards are included, and there is a 1 USD a month inactivity fee after 12 months with renewal and reactivation fees of unstated amounts. Fees: 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% card spend in USD, 0% transaction fee, 0% Apple and Google Pay, a non-USD FX fee of 0.5%–1.75% depending on your country of residence, the transaction country and the card programme, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, 0.50 USD on a declined transaction for insufficient balance, and non-stablecoin tokens may be auto-converted at a fee shown in the app. Funding is USDT, USDC, PYUSD and RLUSD, with USDT and USDC on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum and Tron, no bank account needed — though the Terms say acceptable tokens are currently USDT and USDC, which conflicts with the PYUSD and RLUSD listing. Spending comes from your own balance and each purchase is deducted immediately, so it is not credit. Cashback is in USD: 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD a month for Standard, 2% on the first 10,000 for Premium, 3% on the first 40,000 for Private, plus KAST Points of none, +1% and +2% of eligible spend, paid when the transaction is authorised.

Here is the comparison in one place:

TokenPocket MetaMask KAST
Score 5.8 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10
Card Mastercard/Visa debit, virtual Mastercard, virtual then metal Visa Platinum / Infinite metal / gold plated
Where European list; Mastercard for Australia, Canada, HK, Japan, Taiwan, NZ, Singapore, South Korea, UK and others 45 listed countries and territories, waitlist elsewhere Residence list shown at KYC, not published
Cost NFT fee partly covered, small portion to user Virtual free; metal $199/year 0 / 1,000 / 10,000 USD a year
Main fee 1% on crypto deposit, refunded later via rewards “Minimal” per transaction, amount on fee table Non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%; 0.50 USD decline fee
Custody TokenPocket wallet Connected wallet, spent directly Own balance, deducted per purchase
Cashback None stated 1% virtual; 3% headline metal to the first $10,000 1.5% / 2% / 3% to monthly caps

The pattern worth noticing: all three are cheaper to hold than the headline membership figures suggest, all three lean on stablecoins rather than on a bank account, and none of them removes the two structural risks you cannot diversify away — the issuer can suspend the programme, and a merchant can decline the card. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. A crypto brand is often only a programme manager or a front end on top of someone else’s licence, which is exactly the position Gnosis Pay was in.

One more check before you apply anywhere: who is the issuer. KAST’s page does not name an issuer; MetaMask names Monavate, the same issuer as Gnosis Pay. That is not a disqualification — it is a fact about concentration, and concentration is something to price in.

Who I would recommend it to

Nobody, as a place to start. The card is closed to new applicants, so recommending it would be recommending a decision you cannot make.

To current holders I would say three things. First, withdraw before 20 December 2026 even though the official page leaves the withdrawal window open and third-party reports say funds in Safe accounts have no deadline — the earlier date costs you nothing and removes a dependency. Second, before that date, export your transaction history and note the last four digits and expiry, because after deactivation you will want both and support for disputes ends 12 June 2028. Third, confirm you can reach your Safe through a third-party interface with your signer key, so your money does not depend on one company’s web app being alive.

If you were waiting on this and are now choosing again: look at MetaMask if you want a self-custodial wallet you spend directly from and can live without the metal card, at the cost of a Mastercard rather than a Visa and 45 listed countries. Look at KAST if you want cashback caps and a choice of card tiers, and read the terms page against the app page first, because they disagree on which tokens are acceptable. Look at TokenPocket if you are in one of its listed countries and want the simplest deposit flow, accepting a 1% deposit fee and no stated cashback.

And to anyone reading this because an ordinary bank card is hard to get where you are: I am not going to pretend a crypto card is a substitute for a bank. Gnosis Pay never was one — it was a prepaid balance on a Visa licence from an e-money institution, and e-money funds are safeguarded rather than bank deposits. It was useful for people the banking system turned away, and the fact that it existed at all was worth something. What it was not, and what no successor will be, is a bank account, and any review that implies otherwise is selling something.

Frequently asked questions

What was the Gnosis Pay card?

It was a Visa debit card that spent a stablecoin balance you controlled yourself. Gnosis Pay ran the programme and front end; the card itself was issued by Monavate Limited under a Visa Europe licence. You held the crypto in a self-custodial Safe, spent EURe, GBPe or USDCe at 1:1, and paid no Gnosis Pay transaction or FX fee. It is now closed to new applicants.

Why is the Gnosis Pay card closing?

The company has not given a public explanation beyond a formal notice on 21 September 2026. Around the same time the site was promoting business-to-business card issuing with Startup and Enterprise tiers, and news reports say MiniPay will migrate users onto Gnosis Pay’s enterprise rails. It reads as a deliberate shift of focus rather than a collapse, but no official statement of reasons has been published.

What happens to my money after 20 December 2026?

Your assets sit in your own self-custodial Safe, so Gnosis Pay and Monavate cannot take them. Withdrawals stay open on the web app at app.gnosispay.com/withdraw with no deadline stated, though network fees may apply, and the official page recommends withdrawing before 20 December anyway. Unofficially the app stays in limited withdrawal-only capacity afterwards. Export your history first.

Can I still use Gnosis Pay for disputes and chargebacks?

Yes, but on a clock. Your rights for unauthorised or incorrectly executed transactions and your card-scheme chargeback rights are unaffected by the closure, though scheme time limits apply, so raise anything promptly by email. Support for refunds, disputes and chargebacks ends 12 June 2028. Your statutory rights against Monavate are not limited by that date, and in the UK you can escalate to the Financial Ombudsman Service.

Is Gnosis Pay a bank or a bank account?

No. Gnosis Pay Co Ltd is a UK-registered company (No. 14919639) providing technical services and programme management; the issuer is Monavate Limited, an FCA-authorised electronic money institution, with UAB Monavate under the Bank of Lithuania for EEA holders. An e-money institution cannot lend. Funds are safeguarded, not bank deposits, so deposit guarantee schemes may not cover them.

Which countries could use the Gnosis Pay card?

Before closure it was open to legal residents of selected European and Latin American countries, including Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia and Cyprus plus more EEA states, with a waitlist for new countries. Residence was the rule, not citizenship. Russia was reportedly on the restricted list and not an eligible application country, though that comes from a third-party site and not from Gnosis Pay’s pages.

Was the Gnosis Pay card free?

As things stood at closure, yes. Card issue and physical delivery were free, and there were no transaction fees or FX markup from Gnosis Pay, with Visa’s rate applied. An older help-centre page, possibly outdated, still showed a EUR 30.23 card purchase fee. Cash machines were free five times a month or up to 200 EURe/GBPe/USDCe, then 2% with a minimum of 1 EUR or GBP.

Was Gnosis Pay safe?

Your funds were in your own Safe, which no one else could move — but that also means key loss and phishing were entirely your problem. Separately, support complaints were severe: Trustpilot showed 2.3 out of 5 with 58% one-star across 38 reviews, with reports of unanswered tickets and blocked funds in mid-2026. Unofficially, a June 2026 exploit hit the delay module and compensation status was unverified.

What is the best Gnosis Pay alternative now?

It depends on what you valued. MetaMask scores 7.1 out of 10 with a free virtual Mastercard spent directly from a connected wallet across 45 listed countries. KAST scores 6.1 with tiered cashback and membership from 0 to 10,000 USD a year. TokenPocket scores 5.8 with a simpler deposit flow and a 1% crypto deposit fee refunded later. All three still carry issuer and merchant-decline risk.

What happened to the GNO cashback?

The closure notice itself does not describe cashback on the current card and redirects questions to the help centre and email, noting that partner programmes may differ. News reports from late September 2026 say GNO cashback eligibility ended on 30 September with a final distribution on 7 October. That is unofficial coverage, not confirmation from the card’s own pages.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team