A cheap crypto card built around one country's banking system

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been looking for a way to spend crypto through an ordinary-looking card, CryptoCourse will come up early in your search, and for a specific reason: it is one of the few cards in this category that markets itself to Belarusian citizens rather than to a global audience. That is both its clearest advantage and the reason it will be useless to most of the people reading this page. My job here is to walk you through what the card actually does, what it costs, how you fund it, and where I think the risk sits — so you can decide whether it is for you, or whether you should be looking at something else entirely.

CryptoCourse works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.6 out of 10, and the reason is the audience

CryptoCourse scores 4.6 / 10. That number is not a mystery and it is not a judgement about the app’s polish or the company’s intentions. It is what happens when you compare a card built for one country’s citizens, one country’s bank and one country’s exchange against cards built for many countries at once.

The audience note, plainly: CryptoCourse is aimed at Belarusian citizens who want to turn crypto into a spendable BYN, USD or EUR card. If that is you, the card is genuinely cheaper than almost anything else in this category — no annual fee, free top-ups through most channels, and free card service in the bank’s own tariff. If that is not you, everything else in this review is academic, because you will not get past the identification step.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 1 / 10 Issued by BSB Bank to citizens of Belarus through interbank identification; the app itself works worldwide, but the card does not follow
Cost 7 / 10 “No Annual Fee” on Google Play; service in the BSB tariff shows “Not applied”; card top-up free; other banks’ ATMs 2% (min 2 BYN) for BYN and 2.50% for USD and EUR; exchange commissions only inside the app
Top-up options 4 / 10 Crypto is sold on the Whitebird exchange and the money goes to a BSB account; Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tether and other ERC-20, Tron; no direct spending from a wallet
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Bank BSB Bank and exchange Whitebird are named, licence numbers are not; a guarantor holds the keys; App Store 2.8 out of 32 ratings
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa in BYN, USD, EUR and ATMs; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated; unofficially, plastic can be ordered
Total 4.6 / 10 Narrow eligibility, strong price where it does apply

Let me take you through what each of those means in practice, because the two lowest scores are not equal in how they affect you. The “who can get it” mark of 1 is a wall, not a weakness — it cannot be worked around, and I would not try to work around it. The “top-up options” mark of 4 is a genuine limitation you will feel every month if you do qualify: you cannot swipe crypto directly. You sell it, then you spend the money. That extra step is where friction, and cost, enter.

Will they give you the card?

They will give you the card only if you are a citizen of Belarus. That is the short answer, and it comes from the Terms of Use themselves, which describe bank identification only for citizens of Belarus — through the Interbank Identification System (MSI). The same document says the app may be used worldwide. So there is a real split here that trips people up: the app travels, the card does not.

Third-party product pages add a detail the official ones do not — unofficially, the card is only for citizens of Belarus holding a Belarusian passport (myfin.by, undated). Since I could not confirm that from the card’s own pages, treat it as a pointer rather than a rule.

Two further points worth separating. Your citizenship, not your address, is what the terms key on; a Belarusian citizen living abroad is the case the wording appears to contemplate. And the identification step is the gate for everything else — without it you get a limited app, not a card.

How to get it

The signup sequence runs through the app and the bank, and it has three layers.

The account itself is the easy part. An email address, a mobile number, a verification code, a password of 10 Latin characters with upper and lower case plus digits, and a session key.

Full functions require identification. That means a crypto knowledge test, bank identification through MSI using your passport ID number, phone and email plus the MSI password, and a code word for bank-account operations. Both BSB Bank and the exchange may ask you for extra data, and either may refuse to serve you.

Two access levels exist. Without identification you can create wallets, receive and send crypto, and read news. After identification you get the full set: quotes, opening a BSB account and card, buying, selling and exchanging on Whitebird, payment history and limits. The processing time for identification and the reasons a refusal might happen are not stated by the card’s public pages. Neither is a minimum age or a proof-of-address requirement — which is unusual, and means you should ask rather than assume.

The card itself is virtual. It is a “Visa CryptoCourse Digital” in the bank’s tariff. Google Play lists the available currencies as BYN, EUR and USD, and mentions withdrawing at ATMs worldwide. Whether a physical plastic card exists is not described in the official pages I could read; unofficially, per myfin.by (undated), the virtual Visa is valid for 3 years in BYN, USD or EUR and plastic can be ordered with free delivery. Delivery times for the CryptoCourse card are not stated either — though the BSB tariff rows on reissue after expiry or compromise do show “Free”.

One thing to check before you commit any effort: myfin.by pieces disagree on the exchange partner. One names Whitebird, another names Currency.com (undated, unofficial). The official material I read consistently names Whitebird.

What it really costs: Fees, and where the money quietly goes

This is the strongest part of the card, and it is worth understanding precisely why, because the headline number is misleading in both directions.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CryptoCourse payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Google Play states “No Annual Fee”. The BSB tariff row 7.1, which covers card service for non-residents who ordered after 19.06.2023 at 100 BYN / 50 USD / 50 EUR for other cards, shows “Not applied” in the CryptoCourse column. Card top-up is free. So: no annual fee, no card service fee. The issuance fee does not appear in the official tariff row I read; unofficially, myfin.by (undated) lists issue and servicing as free.

Fee or limit Value Source
Annual fee “No Annual Fee” Google Play
Card service, BSB tariff row 7.1 “Not applied”; free for residents BSB tariff
Issuance fee Not shown in the official tariff row BSB tariff
Crypto buy / sell / exchange Partner fees per their tariffs, shown only in the app’s “Commissions” section; percentages not published on the site Terms, tariff
FX fee Not stated —
Own-bank and partner ATM (BSB, Alfa-Bank) “Free” and “0,5% of the issued amount” (column assignment unclear in the PDF text) BSB tariff row 7.6
Other banks’ ATMs, BYN card 2% of the amount, min 2 BYN BSB tariff row 7.6
Other banks’ ATMs, USD and EUR cards 2.50% of the amount BSB tariff row 7.6
Cash at BSB cashier 999.99 BYN equivalent and below: 5 BYN fixed; 1,000–9,999.99 BYN: 50 BYN; from 10,000 BYN: 100 BYN BSB tariff
Transfer via third-party P2P service 0.5% plus that service’s fee BSB tariff row 7.17
Unfounded dispute 37 BYN at retrieval request stage; 47 BYN at chargeback; 47 BYN plus 10% of the disputed amount at later stages BSB tariff row 7.14
Daily / monthly limits Not stated officially; the user sets own limits in the app —

Now let me run three ordinary payments through that table, because that is where the picture changes.

A coffee in Belarus, paying in BYN. No conversion happens at all, because the card is already in BYN. If the cash machine belongs to BSB or the partner Alfa-Bank, the tariff row shows “Free” in one column and 0.5% of the amount withdrawn in the other — and I want to be honest that I cannot tell you which applies to which column from the tariff’s PDF text. If it is an ATM of any other Belarusian bank, you pay 2% with a 2 BYN minimum. On a 10 BYN withdrawal that minimum is the entire fee.

An online subscription billed in USD while you hold the USD card. This is the case the tariff note addresses directly: fees on foreign-currency cards are taken at the National Bank of Belarus rate. So the rate you get is a published central-bank rate, not a card-network rate — a real difference if you compare it with a card that advertises the live Visa rate.

Anything that converts your crypto. Here the card’s real cost hides. Buying, selling or exchanging runs through the Whitebird exchange, and the partner fees follow their own tariffs. The Terms say information about the reward/commission will be displayed in the app’s “Commissions” section — meaning the number that matters most for a crypto card user is only visible after you install the thing. Percentages are not published on the site. The FX fee is not stated at all. If you are cost-sensitive, this is the number to go and look up in the app before you commit, and I cannot give it to you.

Two limits worth knowing about. Official daily and monthly limits are not stated; you can set your own (single transaction, total, count per day), which is a good safety feature and also an admission. Unofficially, myfin.by (undated) reports daily operations up to $3,000 equivalent, with another report saying it can be raised to $10,000 per day.

How to Top up the card: sell, then spend

This is the section where the card’s design shows itself most clearly, and where I would want you to be honest with yourself about whether it suits you.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CryptoCourse starts with a transfer to the right network

There is no direct spending from a wallet. You sell crypto on the Whitebird exchange through the app, and the proceeds land on the BSB account linked to your card — Google Play puts it plainly: “Receive money from the sale of the crypto on your bank card”. The coins named in the Terms are Bitcoin (2 confirmations), Ethereum, Tether and other ERC-20 tokens (12 confirmations), and Tron; Google Play additionally lists BTC, ETH, BCH and LTC.

Once the money is on the bank account, adding it to the card is the cheap part. BSB tariff row 7.8: top-up in the BSB mobile bank, internet bank, the CryptoCourse app and third-party P2P services is “Free” — free. Via ERIP, free up to 5,000 rubles per calendar month, then 0.5% of the amount. At a bank cashier, free. The minimum top-up is not stated, and neither are network fees for crypto deposits.

Getting cash back out has its own schedule. Crypto is sold to the linked bank account; cash from the card at a BSB cashier on an expense order costs a fixed 5 BYN up to 999.99 BYN equivalent, 50 BYN for 1,000 to 9,999.99 BYN, and 100 BYN from 10,000 BYN. Transferring from the card via a third-party P2P service costs 0.5% plus that service’s fee. What happens to a leftover balance when the account is closed is not stated.

A word on the mechanics, because they are the same across this whole category. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be gone or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Also, if you hold Tether on the Ethereum network, you need some ETH in the wallet to pay the gas — a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send. Tether itself states that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

Paying with it every day

The everyday picture is thinner than the fee picture, which is why this section scores 5 and not 7.

What you have is a virtual Visa in BYN, USD or EUR, spendable at ATMs. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated, and that is a bigger practical gap than it sounds: adding the card to a phone wallet is how most people pay now, and a card you have to present physically has a different feel. If a tokenised mobile wallet is what you are after, ask the support address directly before you commit.

There is one product, not tiers — a single “Visa CryptoCourse Digital” column with BYN, USD and EUR currencies. No higher tier to upgrade into, no metal card, no premium tier with better limits.

Two smaller things I could not find. Wallets offered inside the app: not stated. Rewards: not stated. So I would plan on no cashback at all.

Then there are the familiar friction points that hit any prepaid or foreign-BIN card. A card number starts with an issuer identification number of 6 or 8 digits that any merchant can look up to see which institution and country issued it, and a shop may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address — that is why a Belarusian-issued card can look “foreign” in another country. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for that reason. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Merchants may block certain categories by policy rather than law — MCC 7995 covers gambling — and the blocked list varies by issuer. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

The app itself: iOS on the Belarus storefront scores 2.8 out of 5 from 32 ratings (read 2026-10-21). Google Play shows 5K+ downloads, updated Aug 17 2026; I did not read its rating value. A rating from 32 people is a small sample, and I want to be careful not to build a story on it — but it is the only user signal I could find at all, and I will come back to it below.

One practical item to know before your first payment: how disputes work is only half-described. The BSB tariff row 7.14 charges the cardholder for an unfounded dispute — 37 BYN if it ends in a retrieval request, 47 BYN at chargeback or representment, 47 BYN plus 10% of the disputed amount at later stages. How to file a dispute and within what time frame is not stated.

What can go wrong

The money is custodial. This is the big one, and it deserves plain words. Your wallet’s private keys are held by a guarantor — which in practice means custodial. Anyone holding your keys can move your funds, and a seed phrase is the unencrypted form of the private key: whoever has those 12 to 24 words can restore the wallet and spend it. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible; a stolen key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return anything. This is not a hypothetical category risk — custodial platforms have a documented history of it, including Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). The account is protected by a password, a session key, a QR backup code, e-mail and SMS confirmation codes for over-limit operations, device biometrics, and limits you set yourself; but card freeze and safeguarding of funds are not stated.

Nobody publishes the numbers that matter. Licence numbers for BSB Bank and Whitebird are not stated. The FX fee is not stated. Official daily and monthly limits are not stated. Card delivery times are not stated. Processing time for identification and grounds for refusal are not stated. Support hours are not stated. Each of these is individually minor; together they mean that a meaningful part of what you are agreeing to is only discoverable after you have signed up.

Two hands, one name, and a third party in the middle. The app’s rights holder is Swiss Investment Century SA (Switzerland). The bank is BSB Bank in Belarus. The exchange is Whitebird, also Belarus. Transaction scoring and AML, and the key-custody guarantor, are named as third-party services. So your crypto passes through an exchange and your card balance sits with a bank, and the brand you downloaded sits in Switzerland. That is not automatically a problem — it is a structure you should be able to picture clearly before you put money through it.

The card can be switched off. This is generic to the category and worth knowing because it happened repeatedly. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its programmes closed. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.

Nobody is watching the reviews. I found no Trustpilot page and no Reddit discussion for CryptoCourse, in two web searches on 21 October 2026, and no official incident notices. That silence cuts both ways — it may mean few problems, or that few people are looking. The 2.8 App Store rating is the only user report available, and no themes in it were shown to me.

Regulatory direction. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised providers. A card is regulated separately as a payment service, so a crypto card often rests on two licences at once. This card sits in Belarus, outside that framework — which is why I would not expect EU-level protections to reach it.

Where to complain. [email protected], a Telegram news channel at t.me/cryptocoursenews, Instagram at cryptocourse.app. The site is in English and Russian. Support hours are not stated, which is worth asking about if your money is stuck.

What to take instead

The most important comparison here is not between crypto cards. It is between this card and an ordinary bank account, because if you can open a normal card, the case for a custodial crypto card collapses. For people who cannot, the comparison below is the real one.

The three alternatives below are all global products; none of them is available to Belarusian citizens through this route, and each carries restrictions of its own.

Card Score Where it works What it costs
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Not available to residents or registered entities of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries case by case. The rule is residence or registration, not citizenship $5 one-time virtual issuance, no maintenance; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Eligibility not stated “No annual fee”; no foreign transaction fee; conversion at live OTC rates
Morse 7.5 / 10 By residence, not citizenship: 18+ and resident in a supported country; app in over 140 countries; closed-beta invite needed in American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, UK, Western Sahara Issuance and monthly fee not stated — “Fees may apply”; card use online and contactless free; zero FX fees or markups at the real Visa rate

A few things stand out when you set them side by side.

Morse scores highest at 7.5 and is the only one of the three that states its core promise clearly: zero foreign exchange fees or markups at the real-time Visa rate, and free online and contactless payments. It is fully virtual for now, a Visa prepaid debit spending from the balance in any currency. Its structure is also the most different from CryptoCourse’s: deposits by debit card, stablecoin transfer or account details (USD, EUR, MXN, COP; BRL needs a Brazilian CPF), with USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free and other tokens carrying a fee. Bitcoin, USDT and Ethereum can be deposited. Crucially, the Morse Wallet is self-custodial — which means the risk in the previous section largely does not apply to it. It cannot serve customers subject to US, UK, EU or UN sanctions. Its fees page is a reference rather than a number, which is a real drawback.

The International Visa Card is a US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card “coming soon”. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency costs the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. Deposits of any kind are free, and you can fund with USDC or USDT 1:1, or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow rails. No cashback is stated. The country list is the price of admission, and Belarus is on it.

UNi Card is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from the UNi.Global balance, with no annual fee, no FX fee, conversion at live OTC rates and “no hidden exchange fees”, plus “Spend-to-Earn” rewards up to 3%. But eligibility and funding routes are not stated at all, which for me is the difference between a product I can evaluate and one I cannot.

Where the alternatives clearly beat CryptoCourse: eligibility by residence rather than citizenship, published or at least structured foreign-exchange handling, and — in Morse’s case — self-custody. Where CryptoCourse clearly beats them: it is the cheapest of the four, with no annual fee, free card service and free top-up.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend CryptoCourse to a Belarusian citizen who already holds crypto, already has a BSB account or can get one, and wants a simple BYN, USD or EUR card without an annual fee or a monthly service charge. For that person it is a good deal: free top-ups through the app and the bank’s channels, cheap cash-outs at the bank’s own machines, and a card in the currency they actually spend in.

I would not recommend it if your crypto sits in a self-custody wallet and you want it to back a card directly — the sell-then-spend step means you are exposed to the market every time you want to pay for something, and you pay the exchange’s fee on top. I would not recommend it if you are outside Belarus, if you care about Apple Pay or Google Pay, if you want cashback, or if you need clear published limits, a published FX fee, named licence numbers and a support line with stated hours. And I would be genuinely cautious if the crypto on the account represents a large share of your savings, because a third-party guarantor holds the keys, an exchange sits in the middle, and the fees that decide whether this is cheap or expensive are only visible inside the app.

Before you sign up, do three things. Look up the commission in the app’s “Commissions” section against a realistic monthly volume. Ask [email protected] whether the card works with Apple Pay or Google Pay and how a dispute is filed. And check ESMA’s interim register if you have any European connection at all — it will tell you nothing about this card, which is itself the answer.

Frequently asked questions

What is the CryptoCourse card?

CryptoCourse is an app that turns crypto into money on a bank account you can spend with a Visa card. You sell crypto through the in-app exchange, the proceeds go to a linked BSB Bank account, and the card draws on that balance in BYN, USD or EUR. It is a card brand sitting on top of a Belarusian bank’s rails, not a bank of its own.

How does the CryptoCourse card work in practice?

There are three steps, in order. You sell crypto on the Whitebird exchange inside the app. The money lands on your linked BSB Bank account. You top up the card — free through the BSB mobile bank, internet bank, the app itself, or third-party P2P services. Then you spend it. You cannot swipe crypto straight from a wallet; every payment means a sale first.

Who can get the CryptoCourse card?

Citizens of Belarus, according to the Terms of Use, which describe bank identification only for Belarusian citizens through the Interbank Identification System. Third-party pages add that you need a Belarusian passport, but that is unofficial and I could not confirm it from the card’s own material. The app itself works worldwide, which is why you may read otherwise — but the card does not.

Does CryptoCourse require KYC?

Yes, for anything useful. Registering an account takes an email, mobile number, code, password and session key. Full functions require a crypto knowledge test, bank identification through the interbank system, and a code word. Both the bank and the exchange may request more data and may refuse to serve you. Age and proof of address are not stated on the public pages.

Is the CryptoCourse card free?

Mostly, yes — which is the card’s real strength. Google Play states “No Annual Fee” and the bank’s tariff shows card service as “Not applied”. Top-ups are free through the app, the bank’s channels and P2P services; ERIP is free up to 5,000 rubles a month then 0.5%. The costs you must watch are other banks’ ATMs — 2% (min 2 BYN) on the BYN card, 2.50% on USD and EUR — and the exchange fees, which exist only inside the app.

How do I top up the card?

Free through the BSB mobile bank, internet bank, the CryptoCourse app, or third-party P2P services; free at a bank cashier; and via ERIP free up to 5,000 rubles per calendar month, then 0.5% of the amount. The minimum top-up is not stated, and network fees for crypto deposits are not stated either. Take cash out at a BSB cashier for 5 BYN up to 999.99 BYN equivalent, 50 BYN to 9,999.99, and 100 BYN above that.

Can I add the CryptoCourse card to Apple Wallet?

The card’s public pages do not say. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated anywhere in the official material I could read, so I cannot tell you it works. That is worth asking [email protected] before you sign up, because tokenised mobile wallets are how most people pay day to day and a card you have to present physically is a different experience.

Is the CryptoCourse card safe?

It is custodial, and that is the honest answer. Your wallet’s private keys are held by a named guarantor — a guarantor — rather than by you, so you are trusting a third party with the ability to move your funds. The app adds sensible protections: password, session key, QR backup code, e-mail and SMS codes for over-limit operations, device biometrics, and limits you set yourself. But card freeze and fund safeguarding are not stated, and crypto transfers cannot be reversed.

Is CryptoCourse a bank, and who owns it?

No, it is not a bank. The bank is BSB Bank in Belarus, and the exchange is Whitebird, also Belarusian. The app’s rights holder is Swiss Investment Century SA. Licence numbers for the bank and the exchange are not stated on the pages I read, so you cannot verify them from the card’s own material.

Why is the CryptoCourse App Store rating so low?

The iOS app on the Belarus storefront shows 2.8 out of 5 from 32 ratings, read on 21 October 2026. I want to be careful here: that is a very small sample, and no themes in the reviews were shown to me, so I cannot tell you why people rated it that way. What I can say is what is missing around it — no Trustpilot page, no Reddit discussion, no official incident notices, and support hours that are not stated.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team