A prepaid virtual card that converts your gold and crypto at the till

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Kinesis card is a virtual prepaid card tied to a Kinesis account. You top the card up by converting holdings of gold (KAU), silver (KAG), other crypto, or the C1USD stablecoin from your account into spendable fiat at the moment of payment. In return, you earn 2% cashback paid in gold, and for the first six months from launch the cashback plan is free.

Kinesis works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That is the short version. The longer version is more uneven, because much of the everyday detail an applicant would want to check is not stated on the public card page, and the product sits inside a wider company story that has drawn its share of complaints.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.8 out of 10

Kinesis scores 4.8 out of 10 in this review, and the table below explains how that mark is reached. The card does one thing well, which is letting you spend allocated precious-metals and crypto balances through a familiar card rail, with a 2% cashback paid in gold. It does less well on the basics that a cardholder is going to ask about in the first five minutes: which countries it serves, what the fees are, what the spending limits are, and who actually issues it. Several of those answers are simply not stated on the card page, and the unofficial numbers that float around third-party coverage do not line up with each other.

The card suits a narrow reader: someone who already holds KAU, KAG or crypto inside a Kinesis account, is comfortable with the wider Kinesis ecosystem, and wants a way to spend those balances at point of sale without first selling into a bank account. It is much less suitable for someone looking for a general-purpose debit or prepaid card, because so much of the practical information is missing or unconfirmed.

The rest of this review walks through who the card is for, what it costs in practice, how to fund and use it day to day, what can go wrong, and what to use instead if it does not fit.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 5 / 10 Countries not stated on the card page; starting data names the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean, and availability more broadly is unclear. The site currently shows pre-registration rather than a full public sign-up.
Cost 6 / 10 Official fee disclosure is absent. Unofficial coverage says no monthly or sign-up fees, but quotes a transaction fee of 1.95% on one promotional page, and 0.22% conversion plus 0.45% transaction fees elsewhere, so the real number is hard to pin down.
Top-up options 5 / 10 Spending is described as instant conversion of KAU, KAG, other crypto and C1USD from the Kinesis account balance at point of sale. The page does not name the networks or the wallets you transfer from.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Card issuer and licences are not named on the page. Kinesis Money has 2.4 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 750 reviews, with complaints about withdrawal delays of around 40 days, fee disclosure and liquidity.
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual card only. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned, and there is no ATM access.
Total 4.8 / 10 A real product with one clear selling point (2% gold cashback) buried under a lot of missing detail.

If your interest in Kinesis is the 2% gold cashback alone, that figure is the headline: every purchase returns 2% in gold to your Kinesis account, with the first six months from launch on a free plan and a paid plan to follow. For a cardholder who is going to spend heavily in fiat anyway and is happy to be paid in a volatile asset, that return is the reason to even consider it. If you do not want your cashback paid in gold, or you do not already have a Kinesis account, the same offer is much less interesting.

Who will they give you the card

Kinesis has not published a country list for the card on the page I read. The starting data for the product names the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean as the initial regions, and the wider availability is unclear. In practice the card’s site currently shows pre-registration, which suggests the issuer is rolling access out gradually rather than running a single global launch.

That leaves three practical questions for an applicant:

The card sits inside Kinesis Money, which the starting data describes as Kinesis Cayman. KMS Labs is named as the issuer of the ERC-20 gold (KAU) and silver (KAG) tokens the card spends from, but the card issuer and its licences are not stated on the card page. That is unusual: a cardholder normally has a named regulated issuer on the back of the card and in the terms, and the absence of one here is a piece of information in itself.

How to get it

The card is described as virtual, with no physical version offered. The card network is not stated officially; third-party coverage says it runs on Mastercard and is operated by BAANX, and that a separate physical Visa card in the United States from 2021 is a different product. Treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by the card itself.

The signup path runs through pre-registration on the Kinesis card site, with a six-month free cashback plan promised “from launch”. Outside of that, the page does not describe the KYC steps required for the card. It links a general KYC verification guide whose content I did not read in detail, and does not say what level of due diligence the card programme applies, so the usual KYC items (name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity document, sometimes proof of address and a sanctions check) are the things to expect.

Because the card is virtual, there is no shipping step. Once your account is approved, the card is provisioned in the app and is ready to add to a wallet or use for online purchases. The page does not describe the activation flow, but virtual cards typically switch on after a one-time identity confirmation inside the app or by a small test transaction.

What the page does not say, in one place:

These are worth asking support before you sign up, because they shape how the card will behave at a foreign merchant.

What it really costs (Fees)

This is the section that, frankly, requires the most work from the reader. The card page itself does not state the fees, and the unofficial numbers in third-party coverage disagree with each other.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Kinesis payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The best I can do is lay out what is publicly available, mark what is confirmed and what is not, and let you decide how much weight to put on each row. I have not added any fee, mark or estimate of my own.

Fee or limit Value Source
Card issuance Not stated Card page
Sign-up fee Not stated Card page
Monthly fee Not stated officially; one unofficial source says none Promo coverage, 2026
Transaction fee Not stated officially; 1.95% on one unofficial page; 0.45% on another Promo coverage, 2026
Currency conversion Not stated officially; 0.22% in one unofficial source Promo coverage, 2026
ATM withdrawal Not stated; ATM access is not mentioned Card page
Daily spending limit Unofficial and not confirmed by card; up to USD 15,000 in one source, €15,000 in another Promo coverage, 2026
Monthly spending limit Unofficial and not confirmed by card; over USD 400,000 in one source Promo coverage, 2026
Card currency Not stated Card page

The “promo coverage” rows are unofficial and not confirmed by the card. I would treat the 1.95% transaction fee, the 0.22% conversion fee and the daily and monthly limits as plausible until the card publishes its own numbers, but not as facts.

If the actual fees end up closer to the 1.95% transaction fee plus 0.22% conversion, then everyday spending looks like this:

These figures are illustrative, not a quote. The card’s own fees page, when published, will replace them.

For a cardholder who cannot find a fees page, the safe move is to assume the higher unofficial number (1.95% per transaction) until proven otherwise, because that is the worst case the third-party sources have published.

How to top it up (Top up)

Funding the Kinesis card is unusual in two ways. First, the card does not hold a stored balance that you top up from a bank account; instead, it draws on the Kinesis account at the moment of payment, and the conversion happens in real time. Second, the “top up” is really a decision about what you want the card to spend from.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Kinesis starts with a transfer to the right network

The starting data describes the model as instant conversion of gold (KAU), silver (KAG), other crypto and C1USD from the Kinesis account at point of sale, and the card page itself says spending converts from the account balance. The networks used for those on-chain transfers are not named on the page. If you are sending crypto in, you would need to confirm the supported network before sending anything, because sending on the wrong network is one of the most common ways to lose funds in this category.

The page also says you can buy gold and crypto with “your card or bank transfer”, which means a separate on-ramp into the Kinesis account from a bank card or a bank transfer. The card-specific top-up fee and minimum are not stated.

There is no separate “withdraw” step for the card itself, because the card is a view onto the Kinesis account; you would withdraw the underlying value by selling KAU, KAG or crypto from the Kinesis account into a bank account or a different wallet. The card page does not describe that process, and customer reports to the wider Kinesis Money business include withdrawal delays (more on that in the risks section).

In practice, the funding flow is:

This is closer to a “spending from your portfolio” model than to a “top up and spend” prepaid model. The difference matters if you are budgeting: the cash in your Kinesis account is the cash the card can spend, with no separate pre-loaded balance to manage.

Paying with it every day

The card is virtual only, which is the main fact about everyday use. You cannot order a plastic card, and the page does not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, so there is no obvious way to tap-to-pay with a phone. Online checkout works through the card number, expiry and CVV.

A few practical points:

The everyday-use mark in the score table (3 out of 10) is low precisely because the card is virtual only, has no wallet support mentioned, and has no cash access. A cardholder who wants a single card to tap in shops, withdraw cash and pay online will not find that here.

What can go wrong

The card itself has not surfaced any public incident. The risks are mostly inherited from the wider Kinesis business and from the category.

The company. Kinesis Money (Kinesis Cayman per the starting data) is the entity behind the card. KMS Labs is named as the issuer of the KAU and KAG tokens. The card issuer and its licences are not named on the card page. When a card programme is not transparent about its issuer, the cardholder has fewer places to go if a programme closes, a partner bank withdraws, or a regulator acts. In the wider category, programme closures have happened: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. In 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing every Visa programme it had supplied. Card programmes are not permanent.

Customer reports. Trustpilot for Kinesis Money (not the card specifically) shows 2.4 out of 5 from 750 reviews, with 115 in the last twelve months, read 2026-10-21. The recurring themes in user reports from July to October 2026 are delayed or frozen withdrawals (some around 40 days), templated support replies, complaints about fee disclosure, and liquidity concerns. CIMA complaints were mentioned in October 2026. None of the reviews I sampled mention the card itself; the complaints are about the wider Kinesis business. The card programme may be clean, but it is a programme run by an entity that draws this kind of feedback.

Security. The card page says “your assets are in safe hands” and links to independent audits and monthly attestations. The custody model, two-factor authentication settings, freeze options and on-device controls are not stated on the card page, so a security-conscious cardholder would need to confirm them through the app and the support centre.

Network and asset risk. The card spends from KAU, KAG, other crypto and C1USD, and the underlying networks are not named on the page. Sending funds on the wrong network is irreversible: blockchain transfers cannot be undone by the network, and stablecoin issuers can freeze addresses (Tether, for example, has frozen funds tied to illicit activity). The cardholder carries the cost of getting the network and address right.

Compliance. The wider category is regulated in the European Union under MiCA, with stablecoin rules from 30 June 2024 and the broader CASP rules from 30 December 2024, and a transitional period that runs until 1 July 2026. In the United States, FinCEN treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters. A card programme that crosses borders is sitting on top of two licences (the payment-services side and the crypto side), and the cardholder is exposed to both regimes.

A simple way to put it: the risks of this card are less about the card as a piece of plastic and more about the institution behind it, the assets it spends from, and the country rules the programme will eventually have to follow.

What to take instead

The card that suits you is the card that fits your situation, so three alternatives are worth a look, each with a different shape.

GoMining Card (score 6.6 / 10). Virtual now, with a physical card “coming soon”. The card network and card currency are not stated. Opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner. The cashback is paid in mining power, with a rate that rises with VIP level and a headline of “up to 5%”. Top-up coins include BTC, USDT, GOMINING and others. The trade-off compared to Kinesis is that the reward is mining power, not gold.

Greencart (score 6.9 / 10). A Visa card powered by Gnosis Pay, available in EEA countries plus Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico. Virtual cards are free, physical cards may have a one-off admin fee. There are no hidden, monthly or annual fees, and the site says no fees on withdrawals, transfers, deposits or FX. The optional Greencart+ subscription is USD 7.99 monthly or USD 79.99 yearly, and an App Store listing describes a Greencart Max at USD 350. The reward is a floor of 0.5% in B3TR per purchase, rising with staked B3TR and GreenCart+ up to a 4% ceiling, capped at USD 40 per transaction and USD 40 per month, with 48 excluded categories. The trade-off compared to Kinesis is the geography and the capped reward.

Young Card (score 5.7 / 10). A card whose reward is paid in YNG tokens, with the rate set by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated). Eligibility, fees, top-up coins and card details are not stated officially, so this is a thinner profile than the other two. The trade-off compared to Kinesis is the reward token and the lack of stated detail.

For a cardholder who is choosing on the basis of the 2% gold cashback alone, none of these alternatives is a direct substitute: Greencart pays in B3TR, Young Card pays in YNG, and GoMining pays in mining power. If you want precious-metals exposure in your cashback, Kinesis is closer than the alternatives; if you want a more transparent card programme with published fees, the alternatives look stronger.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Kinesis card to a cardholder who already has a Kinesis account, holds KAU, KAG or other crypto there, and wants to spend those balances directly at merchants without first selling into a bank account. The 2% gold cashback is the headline, and it is real: the cashback is paid in gold, and for the first six months from launch the cashback plan is free. A user who is happy to be paid in gold and to live inside the Kinesis ecosystem for custody and rewards will get the most from it.

I would not recommend the Kinesis card to a reader who is looking for a general-purpose prepaid or debit card. The country list is not stated, the card is virtual only, there is no ATM access, no mobile wallet support is described, and the fees and limits are not stated on the card page. The unofficial third-party numbers are inconsistent with each other. A reader who needs a card that publishes its fees, supports Apple Pay or Google Pay, and works at an ATM will not find that here.

In the middle are readers who can stomach the missing detail because they value the gold cashback or the integration with KAU and KAG. For them, the practical checks are:

If the answers are clear, the card becomes a more honest proposition. If they are not, the 4.8 out of 10 mark in this review is the right place to leave it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Kinesis card?

The Kinesis card is a virtual prepaid card linked to a Kinesis account. It lets you spend gold (KAU), silver (KAG), other crypto or the C1USD stablecoin from your account at the point of sale, with the conversion happening at the moment of authorisation. The page describes a 2% cashback paid in gold.

How does the Kinesis card work?

When you pay at a merchant, the card converts the chosen holding in your Kinesis account into fiat and authorises the payment. There is no separate stored balance on the card itself, and the cashback is credited in gold to the same account after the purchase.

Is Kinesis a bank?

Kinesis is not a bank. The starting data describes Kinesis Money as Kinesis Cayman, and KMS Labs is named as the issuer of the KAU and KAG tokens. The card issuer and its licences are not stated on the card page I read, so it is not a bank programme in the way a Visa or Mastercard debit card from a regulated bank would be.

Is the Kinesis card available in my country?

The card page does not publish a country list. The starting data names the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean as the launch regions, and the wider availability is unclear. The site currently shows pre-registration, which suggests access is being rolled out gradually.

How do I get the Kinesis card?

The public path is pre-registration on the Kinesis card site. The card is virtual, so once an account is approved and KYC is completed, the card is provisioned in the app and can be used for online purchases. The page does not state the KYC level required for the card.

Does the Kinesis card require KYC?

The page links a general KYC verification guide whose content I did not read in detail. As a regulated payment product, the card is expected to apply KYC, sanctions and PEP checks, and the cardholder should be ready to provide the usual identity documents and proof of address.

How do I top up the Kinesis card?

You do not top up the card in the usual sense. The card spends from your Kinesis account balance, and the conversion of KAU, KAG, other crypto or C1USD into fiat happens at the moment of payment. You fund the Kinesis account itself with bank transfer or card, then pay with the card. The networks used for on-chain transfers are not named on the page.

Is the Kinesis card free?

The card page does not state the fees. Unofficial coverage says there are no monthly or sign-up fees, but quotes a 1.95% transaction fee on one page and 0.22% conversion plus 0.45% transaction fees on another. Treat those as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

How do I add the Kinesis card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

The card page does not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay, so wallet support is not confirmed. If mobile wallet support matters, ask support before signing up, because virtual-only cards without wallet support are awkward for in-person payments.

Is the Kinesis card safe?

The page says “your assets are in safe hands” and links to independent audits and monthly attestations. The card issuer, custody model, two-factor authentication and freeze options are not stated on the card page, so a security-conscious cardholder would need to confirm them through the app and the support centre. Customer reports to the wider Kinesis Money business include delayed withdrawals and fee disclosure complaints, and the card sits on top of crypto assets whose transfers are irreversible.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team