A USDT-funded Visa built inside Telegram, with a lot of the fee sheet still unwritten

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Balance Pay is a virtual Visa you set up and fund inside a Telegram bot rather than an app you download. You pass identity checks in the bot, send USDT to the wallet it gives you, and the balance shows up as card funds. The pitch is straightforward: a crypto-native Visa for people who already live in Telegram and already hold stablecoins.

Balance Pay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The idea is sound and the top-up routes are broad for a product this new. But the card is not finished. It is a virtual card only, Apple Pay and Google Pay are described as coming soon, physical cards are planned rather than shipped, and the company’s own pages say full tariffs and legal documents will appear later. There is no published country list, no published conversion or foreign-exchange fee, no ATM terms, no daily or monthly limit values, and no named issuing bank. On top of that, my checks found no user reviews and no Trustpilot page, so there is no track record yet from either side.

That combination — a promising mechanism with an empty information sheet — is what drives the score below. It is not a warning about the product being a scam; it is a description of how much you have to take on trust when you use it today.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score: 5.7 out of 10

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 No country list or restrictions published, nothing disclosed; interface in English and Russian
Cost 6 / 10 No monthly fee, registration free; the Russian FAQ hints at a possible one-off fee for issuing a virtual card, amount not named; conversion and FX not disclosed
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDT on TRON (TRC-20), Polygon and Base; other networks “soon”
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 A fintech company, not a bank; legal entity, country of registration and issuer not named, tariffs and legal documents “will appear later”; no reviews found
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual Visa only right now; Apple Pay and Google Pay “soon”, metal and plastic cards planned, ATM terms not disclosed
Total 5.7 / 10

Read that third column as a set of small disappointments rather than one big problem. The product is not dangerous; it is incomplete, and incompleteness has a cost: every unknown becomes something you either ask support about or absorb.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Balance Pay starts with a transfer to the right network

Who this suits. If you spend your days in Telegram, you already hold USDT, and you need a Visa number for subscriptions, online services or shops that will not take a crypto exchange card, the mechanism fits you well. Topping up from three networks is more choice than many comparable products offer, and there is no monthly fee to pay while you hold it.

Who this does not suit. If you need a physical card in your wallet this week, you cannot have one. If you want to add the card to a phone for contactless payments, you cannot do that yet. If you are trying to work out what a payment will cost you, the card has not published the numbers. If you live somewhere with a complicated relationship with crypto cards and need to know whether your country is on the list, you will have to write and ask. And if you need a card with an established complaints record, an established chargeback process, or a deposit-protection scheme behind it, this is not it yet.

The overall mark sits where it does because the three parts that are actually built — top-up, the bot flow, the no-monthly-fee promise — are the easiest parts to build, and the parts that make a payment card dependable — limits, tariffs, disputes, physical hardware, wallet integration — are the parts still on the roadmap.

Will they give you the card?

The card’s own pages do not publish a country list or a set of restrictions, and nothing is disclosed about which countries are served or excluded. The interface is available in English and Russian, which tells you something about who it is built for, but it tells you nothing about whether your address qualifies.

That absence matters more here than it might elsewhere, and not only for regulatory reasons. In the United States the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number; in the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address.

The practical reading: the card will not tell you up front whether you are eligible. If you are in a jurisdiction that restricts crypto cards, or hold a citizenship that a future issuer policy might exclude, the answer will arrive as a refusal at KYC rather than as a published rule you could have checked. There is no way to pre-screen this from the public pages.

Two more things the card does not state: how many KYC levels there are, and what the requirements escalate to. There is no published tier structure — no limits table that grows as you verify more.

So the honest answer to “will they give me the card?” is: probably if you are an adult in a country where crypto cards are permitted, but the card has not committed to that in writing anywhere public.

How to get it

The whole application happens in a Telegram bot. The steps the card describes are short:

  1. Open the bot at @balance_bot.
  2. Complete KYC inside the bot, which it says takes “a few minutes”.
  3. Top up the card.
  4. Receive the virtual card.

There is no separate application form, no web onboarding flow and no app to install. That is the appeal: the whole thing is one chat thread.

What the card does not say is nearly as important as what it does. The documents required are not listed, and the KYC provider is not named. Proof of address is not stated. Age requirements are not stated. In this category most providers will ask for some combination of these, and the EU rules described above imply the question of politically exposed person status will come up — but Balance Pay publishes no detail, so you cannot prepare your documents in advance.

The card itself is a virtual Visa, issued instantly in the bot. Metal and plastic physical cards are described as planned, with Visa Signature perks “once physical cards launch” — a wording worth reading carefully, because it places the benefits after the launch rather than at it. Delivery times for a physical card, should one arrive, are not stated. The currency the card is denominated in is not stated either, though “multi-currency spend” is listed as a feature without further detail.

The pattern across all of this is the same: the flow is built and works, but the details that let you predict outcomes are absent.

Fees and what a payment actually costs you

The headline numbers are friendly. There is no monthly fee. Registration is free. Beyond that, the card’s public pages are largely silent, and they say so themselves: “full tariffs and legal documents will appear later”.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Balance Pay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The Russian-language FAQ apparently mentions a possible one-off fee for issuing a virtual card, but no amount is given. There is no published conversion fee, no foreign-exchange fee, no ATM fee, and no daily or monthly limit values — daily caps are referred to but not quantified. No tiers are mentioned.

Fee or limit What the card publishes
Issuance Not stated (Russian FAQ hints at a possible one-off for a virtual card, amount not named)
Monthly fee “No monthly fee”
Registration Free
Conversion fee Not stated
Foreign-exchange fee Not stated
ATM fee Not stated
Daily limits Mentioned, no values given
Monthly limits Not stated
Tiers Not mentioned
Card currency Not stated (“multi-currency spend” listed as a feature)
Full tariffs “Will appear later”

Let me walk you through what that means at a till, because “no monthly fee” is the one number most people will remember and it is not the one that decides what a payment costs.

Paying for a subscription in dollars. You convert or hold a balance and the card spends it. If you are topping up with USDT, you are already accepting one conversion — stablecoin to whatever the card holds — and then possibly a second when the charge is settled in a currency other than the card’s. Neither step has a published rate or markup. The USDT side may involve a spread between the market price and the price you receive, which is a property of the exchange you use, not of this card.

Paying a subscription priced in euros. This is where the missing foreign-exchange fee would bite, if there is one. A card that converts at the network rate plus a markup costs meaningfully more per year than one that does not, and there is no way to estimate your own exposure here because the number has not been published.

Withdrawing at an ATM. The card does not disclose ATM terms at all — not whether ATM withdrawals are possible, not what they cost. Given it is a virtual card in Telegram, I would not assume cash access exists.

Crossing the daily cap. Daily limits exist in some form but their values are not published, so you cannot plan a large purchase around them.

Two category facts help frame all of this. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so the cost of getting USDT from your own wallet to the card is outside the card’s tariff. And no top-up fees are listed for Balance Pay, though the minimum and who pays the network fee are not stated.

The honest summary: this card is free to hold and free to open, and the amount you pay per payment is currently unknowable in advance. For light use that may be fine. For heavy use, you are paying with information you do not have.

How to top it up

Topping up is the strongest part of the product. The card accepts USDT on three networks: TRON (TRC-20), Polygon and Base. Other networks are described as “coming soon”.

That list covers the overwhelming majority of where USDT actually lives in practice. Most people holding USDT hold it on Tron; Ethereum-based USDT exists but the ERC-20 standard has its own trap, since gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet with USDT but no ETH cannot send. Base and Polygon cover the cheaper, faster options. So in practice, for most users, the supported list is not a limitation.

What is missing on the funding side:

Two network facts are worth carrying in your head before you send anything. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. That is why the network list above is worth checking twice before you confirm a transfer. Separately, Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — so stablecoins are not censorship-proof, and a top-up is not an anonymous act.

Getting money out. You can send USDT to external wallets, or use partner routes to bank accounts. Fees on withdrawal are not stated, and neither is what happens to any balance left when you close the account — which is the question to ask support before you close one, not after.

Paying with it every day

The daily experience right now is narrow. You have a virtual Visa number in a Telegram bot. That is it.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are “coming soon”, so no contactless payments from your phone and no adding the card to a wallet. When they arrive, the card number is replaced on-device with a device-specific account number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, never on the vendor’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code — that is how tokenised wallet payments normally work, and it is worth expecting rather than assuming.

Allowed merchant categories. The card mentions merchant category code rules without publishing the list. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business by goods or services, assigned when a business starts accepting cards. The one people most often hit is MCC 7995, gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries — which many issuers block by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Since Balance Pay’s rules are unpublished, you cannot know whether gambling, adult content, fuel, or travel are restricted.

No native app. There is a Telegram bot and a web dashboard described as a preview. No app store presence, no store ratings, nothing to leave a public review against. For a card, that removes a whole channel of social proof.

Rewards. Bonus points or stablecoin cashback for each activated referred friend — amounts not stated. Referral bonuses in this category are common, and they are a cost in disguise: the issuer recovers the payout from fees or volume somewhere.

Disputes and chargebacks. Not stated. This is a genuine gap rather than a technicality. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If something goes wrong with a payment from this virtual Visa, you currently have no published route to contest it.

One category behaviour to expect generally: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that remains for several days, typically up to 7. So a failed attempt at a till can quietly reduce your available balance for a week.

What can go wrong

Here I want to separate two different risks, because they are often confused.

The first is specific to this card. No official incidents were found, and no user reports were found for balance.money or BalancePay in a search for reviews. There is also no Trustpilot page. Read that carefully: it is not evidence of good behaviour, it is an absence of history in both directions. You cannot build a judgement from zero reviews.

The company describes itself as a fintech company, not a bank. Its legal entity, its country of registration and its issuing bank are not named. This is the single most important thing on this page. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. So the entity that stands between you and your money is an unnamed issuer behind an unnamed fintech brand. When a card programme does close, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A closure reported by a secondary source in 2026 ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and stopped spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, but it shows the shape such an event takes.

Custody is also unpublished. The card offers freeze and unfreeze, security toggles and real-time payment alerts, which are the right features. But whether funds are held in a safeguarding account, whether they are segregated, and what happens if the provider fails — none of that is stated. In the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. If Balance Pay’s issuer is not an EU e-money institution — and the country is not disclosed — you cannot assume even that protection applies.

There is a broader category history here, and it is worth reading once. Custodial platforms have failed before: Mt. Gox with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck with about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network with US$625 million in 2022. Card programmes specifically have been wound down: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Nobody predicted those. They are the base rate.

If you use a card of this kind at all, keep your balance small. In the “pre-loaded balance” model the card spends only what you have loaded, so it cannot overdraw — which also means the damage from a failure is capped at what you loaded. That is the one genuinely protective feature of the design, and the reason to use it as a payment tool rather than as a place to hold money.

The second risk is generic to crypto cards, and it applies whether or not Balance Pay is involved. Merchants can look up the BIN — the 6 or 8 digit issuer identification number at the start of a card number — to see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright for that reason. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of a billing address against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. On the flip side, you are protected in some online fraud cases: 3-D Secure lets the issuer assess risk and either approve a payment frictionlessly or challenge you with a one-time code or biometric, and under 3-D Secure liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift from the merchant to your bank.

One more thing to hold in mind, and it is a planning point rather than a warning. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. I am not able to tell you what that means for you — speak to a professional about your own situation.

Support, such as it is, is a “Contact support” shortcut in the bot and the email [email protected]. Since a wrong-network deposit may need manual recovery, this is the address worth having to hand before you need it.

What to take instead

If Balance Pay’s gaps bother you, these are the alternatives in the same category, with the same disclosures in different places. They are not endorsements — I have not used any of them — but they show what a more complete picture looks like, and they show where the category’s pricing norm actually sits.

Balance Pay Azul Card Telecard OnCards
Score 5.7 / 10 5.3 / 10 6.1 / 10 4.6 / 10
Card Virtual Visa; physical planned Virtual only; works anywhere Mastercard is accepted; balance in USD Virtual Mastercard, instant; no physical or metal Virtual only, “directly in your Telegram”
Card creation Not stated (hint of a one-off) $20 one-time, refunded after $2,000 in spending $5 one-time standard; VIP $49 setup then $19/month Not stated
Monthly fee “No monthly fee” $5 None on basic plan (main page says signing up is free) Not stated
Conversion / FX Not stated Crypto top-up 4%; per transaction $0.25; FX not stated 1.5% on non-USD; gas 0.5 USDT per successful transaction; FX and cross-border “up to 3% each” Not stated
Top-up USDT on TRON (TRC-20), Polygon, Base Crypto sent to the card in Telegram; coins and networks not named USDT on Tron (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20); USDC on Ethereum (ERC-20); Polygon not supported USDT BEP20 only; bank transfers not accepted
Fiat on-ramp Mercuryo for EU, local providers for LatAm/APAC Not stated Bank transfers “coming soon” Not stated
Minimum / activation Not stated Not stated $99 minimum deposit to activate, stated as “NOT a fee” (stays in wallet) Not stated
Rewards Bonus points or stablecoin cashback per activated friend, amounts not stated No cashback stated; referral pays “up to 40% of our fees” Fiorini per activated friend plus cashback when friends spend; rate not specified Not stated
Countries No list published Worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions Usable in over 150 countries; terms bar users “blocked or sanctioned by the United States Government, including OFAC” Not stated

A few observations from that table, since the differences matter more than the marks.

On country rules, transparency is the whole ballgame. Azul publishes an explicit exclusion list and adds that “the restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality” — a statement most card pages never make. Telecard publishes a count (over 150 countries) and a clear, single sanctions rule. Balance Pay publishes nothing. If where you live is a real question for you, that alone may decide between them.

On pricing, a published tariff beats a zero monthly fee. Telecard shows what a fully priced card looks like: a setup fee, a 1.5% conversion fee on non-USD payments, a 0.5 USDT gas fee per successful transaction, and FX and cross-border fees “up to 3% each”. Some of those numbers are worse than you would want. But you can model them. Azul’s 4% crypto top-up and $0.25 per transaction is similarly concrete. A card with no monthly fee and no published conversion fee is cheaper only if the conversion fee turns out to be zero, which nobody has stated.

On networks, more is better but compatibility still bites. Telecard’s main page lists ETH and TRX while its help page does not, and Polygon is not supported — an example of how a provider’s own pages can disagree. OnCards takes USDT on BEP20 only and does not accept bank transfers, which is a narrow corridor. Balance Pay’s three networks are the broadest supported set in this group.

On eligibility, the general rule. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. Azul’s $20 creation fee being refunded after $2,000 in spending is a structure worth noting: you are effectively borrowing the first $2,000 at no cost.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Balance Pay to a specific person: someone already living in Telegram, already holding USDT on Tron, Polygon or Base, who needs a Visa number for online payments they cannot make another way, and who is comfortable topping up small amounts rather than parking a balance. To that person the product does what it says, there is nothing to pay to hold it, and the three supported networks cover where their USDT already is.

I would not recommend it as your only card, and I would not recommend it to you yet if any of these are true: you need a physical card or phone payments; you need to know what a payment costs before you make it; you are in a country where crypto cards are restricted and need certainty; or you depend on chargebacks and formal dispute resolution. Those are not nitpicks — they are the difference between a payment tool and a financial service.

Two specific pieces of advice. First, ask support the two questions this review cannot answer: what is the conversion and foreign-exchange fee, and what is the daily cap. Both will change how you use the card. Second, if you do load it, load it in small amounts. Because the card spends only a pre-loaded balance, the maximum you can lose to a provider failure or a programme shutdown is whatever you put in — that design turns out to be the best safety feature here.

Frequently asked questions

What is Balance Pay card?

Balance Pay is a virtual Visa card that you set up and fund inside a Telegram bot, not a separate app. You open @balance_bot, complete identity checks there, send USDT to the wallet the bot gives you, and that balance becomes card funds you spend online. It is aimed at people who already hold stablecoins. No physical card is available yet, and the company describes itself as a fintech company rather than a bank.

How does the Balance Pay card work?

You load a balance first and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot go into the red. USDT arrives on one of three supported networks — TRON (TRC-20), Polygon or Base — and is converted to card funds. The card itself is a virtual Visa issued instantly in the bot. Metal and plastic physical cards, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay, are described as coming later rather than available now.

Is Balance Pay a bank?

No, and it does not present itself as one. It describes itself as a fintech company. Its legal entity, its country of registration and its issuing bank are all unnamed on the public pages, and the card says full tariffs and legal documents will appear later. Under EU rules an e-money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating or insuring them, but those funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

Who owns Balance Pay?

The public pages name the brand, Balance Pay, at balance.money, but they do not disclose the owning legal entity or where it is registered. Support is reachable through a shortcut in the Telegram bot or by email at [email protected]. Until the legal entity is named, you cannot verify the company against any regulator’s register, and that is worth asking about directly.

Which countries can use the Balance Pay card?

The card does not publish a country list or any restrictions, so there is no way to check eligibility in advance. The interface is in English and Russian. Compare that with Azul, which publishes an explicit exclusion list, or Telecard, which states it is usable in over 150 countries and names a single sanctions rule. If your country matters to your decision, ask support in writing before you begin KYC.

How do I top up the Balance Pay card?

You send USDT to the wallet address the bot gives you, on TRON (TRC-20), Polygon or Base — other networks are described as coming soon. There are also fiat routes through on-ramp partners, Mercuryo for EU cards and local providers for LatAm and APAC. No top-up fees are listed, but the minimum amount and who pays the network fee are not stated. Transfers are irreversible, so double-check the network before you confirm.

What does the Balance Pay card cost?

Registration is free and there is no monthly fee, and that is genuinely all the published pricing. No conversion fee, no foreign-exchange fee, no ATM fee, no daily or monthly limit values and no tiers are disclosed. A Russian-language FAQ apparently refers to a possible one-off fee for issuing a virtual card but names no amount. The card itself says full tariffs and legal documents will appear later, so per-payment costs are currently unknowable.

Can I add the Balance Pay card to Apple Wallet?

Not yet. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both described as coming soon, which means no contactless payments from your phone at the moment. There is also no native app — the bot plus a web dashboard described as a preview is the whole interface, and no app store ratings exist. Physical metal and plastic cards are planned, with Visa Signature perks described as applying “once physical cards launch”.

Is the Balance Pay card safe to use?

Treat it as a small-balance payment tool rather than a place to hold money. There are no published user reviews and no Trustpilot page, so there is no track record either way, and the company does not say how funds are safeguarded. Because the card spends only what you have loaded, your exposure is capped at whatever you top up — which is why small, deliberate loads are the sensible approach.

Is the Balance Pay card worth it?

For someone who lives in Telegram, holds USDT on a supported network, and needs a Visa number for online payments, the free-to-hold pricing and three supported networks make it worth a try. If you need a physical card, phone payments, a published fee schedule, daily limit figures or a dispute process, it is not ready yet — and alternatives like Azul Card and Telecard publish more of those details, if not always better ones.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team