A Nigeria-based crypto wallet that issues cards, and publishes almost nothing about the cost of using them
PPAY is a crypto wallet with a card attached, and that is the short version of the product. It offers a virtual card in US dollars for online shopping and a physical Mastercard, alongside a wallet that holds crypto and lets you swap it — partly through a WhatsApp bot. If you read the marketing and stop there, it sounds like an ordinary spending account that happens to be filled with digital currency.
Read the actual pages and a different picture forms. This is a card whose own public pages leave the price of almost everything unnamed: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion rate, no foreign-exchange charge, no ATM fee, no spending limits, no list of countries beyond the words “10+”. It tells you which crypto rules apply to you, which identity documents it will demand and which laws will judge it in a Lagos court — and then goes quiet on the numbers that decide whether a card is worth keeping.
That gap is the whole review, so I will name it early rather than at the end. I scored PPAY 4.5 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether the app works or whether you are welcome in Nigeria; it is a verdict on how much a stranger can find out before signing up, and how much of the money side exists in writing at all.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The reader I have in mind is someone who has struggled to get an ordinary bank card — a person in a country where a bank account, a card number or a usable address is not a given. That reader should read the verdict below, then the costs section, and be honest with themselves about what an unstated fee means when the alternative is not having a card at all.
PPAY card review: the score, the reader it suits, the reader it does not
The score is 4.5 out of 10, and I want to show you how that number is built rather than ask you to take it on faith. Each line below is one of the criteria I judged the card against, with the mark it earned and the reason.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Residence of Nigeria or an “eligible country”; the site says “10+” countries and names none of them |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | No issuance fee or monthly fee published, no sum for any fee; peer-to-peer transfers carry zero fees |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The wallet holds crypto and swapping runs through a WhatsApp bot; coins and networks for funding the card are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Owner is PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, described as “not a bank”; issuer and licences unnamed; no complaints or reviews found |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | A virtual card in USD and a physical Mastercard; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM support not disclosed |
| Total | 4.5 / 10 |
Read those rows as a pattern rather than five separate complaints. They all say the same thing: PPAY tells you clearly what it wants *from you* — your full legal name, your residential address, your date of birth, your ID, your selfie, your proof of address — and tells you very little about what you get *back* in return and what it costs.
Who is this card for? Nigerian residents who want a wallet with both a virtual card and a Mastercard and who are comfortable running their money through channels whose terms they cannot fully see. If that is you, the product shape fits your situation well: a card that works online, a wallet that holds crypto, and a support line that answers within one business day.
Who is it not for? Anyone who intends to spend it heavily and needs to know the cost of a euro coffee before they buy it. Anyone whose country is not Nigeria and who cannot confirm from the card’s own pages whether they are in the “eligible country” set. Anyone who needs to know that a US dollar virtual card comes from a regulated issuer with a named licence, because the pages name no issuer and no licence. Anyone who plans to move money out regularly and needs to know the withdrawal method and its cost, because that, too, is unstated.
One more thing worth saying plainly at the top: there are no complaints and no reviews to read either way. I looked for them and did not find a Trustpilot page for this company or user reports about it. Searches for reviews turned up a different firm with a similar name. That silence is not a clean record. It means you have no external track record to lean on, only the company’s own account of itself.
Who gets the PPAY card
The answer to “will they give you the card” is short and has a catch in it.
PPAY’s terms say: “You must be a resident of Nigeria or an eligible country where PPAY operates.” Two things are notable here. First, the test is *residence*, not citizenship — the card’s rules do not ask what passport you hold. Second, “an eligible country” is not a category you can check, because the home page says “10+” countries are supported and does not name a single one of them. The card’s anti-money-laundering policy mentions “high-risk jurisdictions” without listing them either.
So the honest answer is: residents of Nigeria, almost certainly yes. Residents of a country you have never heard of alongside it, possibly — and the only way to find out is to try, which means signing up first and discovering the answer afterwards, at the point where you have already handed over your identity documents.
What I can tell you about the identity side, because here the card is unusually specific and you can read it before you commit:
- Age 18 and over.
- Full legal name, residential address, date of birth, phone number, email.
- Government-issued ID and a selfie or biometric verification.
- Proof of address.
- “BVN, NIN, or equivalent verification data where applicable” — Nigerian identifiers, or their local equivalents elsewhere.
- “Identity verification is mandatory before account activation.”
Read that last line as the real gate. The card is not usable until you clear identity checks, and the card says for certain features it does this “in compliance with CBN regulations” — the Central Bank of Nigeria, which fits the company’s registration and court jurisdiction.
One warning about the checks themselves. PPAY says it “operates tiered verification limits”, which means different accounts get different ceilings on what they can do. The card does not say what the tiers are, how you move between them, how long each takes, or why an application is rejected. It does say one relevant thing: failing to respond to verification or enhanced due-diligence requests “may lead to suspension or termination”. Ignore an email from the company and you can lose the account, not just delay it.
The order of operations is ordinary and easy to follow: create the account in the app, verify your identity, then start using features. There is nothing hidden in the sequence itself. The hidden part is what comes after — which brings us to money.
How to get the PPAY card
You get it the way you would expect, and the fact that this section is short is itself informative.
The process is: make an account in the mobile app, complete identity verification, and then use the features — which include the cards. The card pages list two things: a virtual card denominated in US dollars, described as being for online shopping, and a physical Mastercard, described as accepted “everywhere Mastercard is”.
Two gaps sit next to that description. The network the virtual card runs on is not stated. If your whole reason for wanting a card is to pay somewhere that accepts one network and not another — a merchant that takes Visa but refuses Mastercard, or the reverse — you cannot answer that question from anything PPAY publishes. You would be buying a card without knowing which rail it sits on.
The second gap is delivery. How long the physical card takes to arrive, where it is shipped, and what it costs to send it are all not stated. If you are in Nigeria, this may matter less than if you are in one of the unnamed “10+” countries, where international postage and delivery time are real questions with no published answer.
There is also no public pricing tier structure to aim at. The card pages list virtual and physical cards without tier pricing, which means there is no free-versus-paid ladder to climb and no obvious “upgrade” to buy. What you get is what the wallet gives you.
My honest advice on this section: the signup itself is unremarkable, which is a compliment. The remarkable thing is how much you will be asked for before you learn anything about price. Have your documents ready, read the terms in full — they are Nigerian-law terms with Lagos courts named — and go in understanding that you are entering an arrangement whose fee schedule is not written down anywhere you can check before you start.
Fees and what the card really costs
Here is the section I would read twice, and I would read it with a pencil.

The costs table below lists every cost the card’s public pages mention or fail to mention. I have kept the unstated rows in deliberately — an empty cell here is a fact about the product, not a gap in my research.
| Fee or limit | What the card publishes |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Crypto-to-fiat or crypto conversion | not stated (a “built-in converter” and “Live Rates” are described) |
| Foreign exchange / non-USD spending | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated |
| Daily spending limit | not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | not stated |
| Card funding | not stated (terms say fees “may apply to bank transfers, card funding, and certain third-party services”, with no amounts) |
| Peer-to-peer transfers | “zero peer-to-peer fees” — for P2P sends only |
Two rows in that table are worth pausing on.
The first is the terms sentence. PPAY’s terms say fees “may apply to bank transfers, card funding, and certain third-party services” and then stop. No amounts, no formulas, no link to a schedule. So the card tells you that charges may exist in three places and describes none of them.
The second is the “zero peer-to-peer fees” line, which is the only free thing on the list — and it is free only in one narrow sense: P2P sends. If that is how you plan to move money, good. If you plan to convert crypto to spend it, that line does not apply to you.
The USD virtual card is denominated in US dollars, and there is no multi-currency information anywhere on the card. No second currency, no local-currency option. When you spend a USD card in a non-dollar country, the conversion happens along some path — a network rate, a provider spread, or both — and the card does not tell you which. The home page advertises “Live Rates: crypto and fiat rates with a built-in converter”. That is a useful feature and it is not a fee disclosure. A rate you can look at is not the same thing as a rate that is guaranteed to be the rate you get.
And the limits: the card says only that “PPay operates tiered verification limits”, with no amounts. So the closest thing to a spending cap in the public material is a sentence promising that caps exist.
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply. I want to make the abstract concrete, because that is where unstated fees bite. Take a USD virtual card, a balance loaded from a crypto swap, and three purchases:
- An online subscription in US dollars, billed to a merchant that accepts Mastercard. This is the case the card is actually built for. The dollar amount matches the card currency, so there is no currency conversion to pay. The card’s pages tell you nothing about whether this purchase carries a fee of any kind — no percentage of the purchase, no flat charge is stated. Your exposure is unknown, not zero.
- A meal in a non-dollar country, paid from the same card. Now two unstated rows apply at once: the foreign-exchange or non-USD spending row, which the card leaves blank, and the conversion row, also blank. The merchant sees a card issued in one country with a billing address perhaps in another — the arrangement that makes some merchants decline a foreign card, or hold the payment for several days before releasing it. Whether you pay a percentage on top of the network rate is the first thing to ask support before you rely on this.
- A cash withdrawal at an ATM. The card says nothing about ATM support and nothing about ATM fees. This is one of the clearest examples of why an unstated fee is not the same as no fee: in this category, ATM withdrawals are commonly the most expensive thing on a card, and PPAY publishes no rate, no limit and no statement that its cards work in machines at all.
I will not tell you what these cost. I do not know, and neither does anything the card publishes. Anyone who gives you a figure for PPAY’s conversion or ATM fee is guessing.
What I can tell you is what to do about it. Before you load real money, send support one message — the contact is [email protected] — and ask, in writing: what is the conversion rate when I spend from a crypto balance; what fee applies on top; what is the FX fee on a non-USD purchase; what are the ATM and non-USD ATM fees; what are the daily and monthly caps. Then keep the reply. A written answer you can check is worth more than a promising terms page, and if they decline to give you the numbers, that silence is your answer too.
One more thing about the savings feature, because the marketing invites the confusion. PPAY advertises savings at “up to 8.5% APY”. That is a savings product, not a card benefit. There is no cashback on card spending stated anywhere. If you were reading the 8.5% as a reward for spending, drop that idea.
Top up: how the money gets into the card
Here is the honest answer, and it will sound like a non-answer because it is one: the card does not tell you how to top it up.

It is not that the information is scattered across a difficult page. It is that it is absent. The pages for the wallet say it holds crypto and offers swaps — “OTC trades, crypto swaps” — with the swaps running through a WhatsApp bot. Beyond that, no coins are listed, no networks are listed, no deposit addresses or instructions are described, and the card-funding method and its costs are not stated.
This matters more than a similar gap on a wallet with no card, because in a crypto card the top-up path *is* the product. The sequence normally runs: you send crypto to the provider, or convert within the wallet, the balance becomes spendable fiat, and the card draws on that balance. Every step after “you send crypto” depends on which network you used and which token you sent — and a transfer to a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and there is no network-level way to undo them. Support may be able to chase a recovery manually; there is no guarantee of one.
So the practical danger of the missing top-up details is not an inconvenience. It is the classic one: an irreversible transfer into an undocumented destination. If the card’s own pages will not tell you the network, and you are inferring it from a Telegram-adjacent support chat or a blog post, you are the experiment.
On the way back out, the terms say: “You may close your account at any time through the app settings. Any outstanding balance will be settled before closure.” That is a genuinely decent thing for the card to say, and I want to credit it. But the method of settlement and the fee for it are not stated. When you close an account, you learn how the exit works at the worst possible moment — when the money is already yours and you have no leverage. Ask about it while the account is open.
What I would want before funding anything: which tokens are accepted, on which networks, who pays the network fee for a deposit, and what the charge is for moving a balance into the card. If you cannot get straight answers to those four questions, the right amount to load first is whatever you are willing to treat as a test amount.
Paying with the card day to day
The everyday-use case is the card’s strongest suit, and it deserves an honest hearing rather than a hedge.
You get two instruments. A virtual card in US dollars for online shopping, and a physical Mastercard accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted. Between them they cover the two things most people want from a card: something to type into a checkout form, and something in your pocket. The wallet around them converts crypto, and the card spends the balance.
What you do not get, in writing, is the layer of convenience people usually assume is standard:
- Apple Pay. No confirmation that the card can be added to Apple Wallet. There is no statement about tokenised mobile wallets at all.
- Google Pay. Same silence.
- ATM. Not mentioned — neither as supported nor as unsupported.
- Contactless. Not mentioned.
- Wallet apps. Whether the virtual card sits in a mobile wallet or only in the PPAY app is not described.
- Cash withdrawal. No fee, no limit, no statement of availability.
iOS and Android apps do exist. Both store buttons on the home page link to “#” placeholders, so no app listing was found and no store ratings were read. That means there is no independent user-rating signal for either app available in this review — a gap worth naming because app reviews are one of the few places a real user base speaks.
Now the part that will decide whether the card works for you: dispute handling. The terms say that transactions are final once confirmed, that refunds are decided case by case, and that disputes should first go through support. Chargebacks are not mentioned at all. In plain terms: if you pay for something that does not arrive, the card’s terms tell you to ask the company, and what it will do about it is discretionary, case by case. There is no described path to a formal chargeback from the issuer. If you buy high-value items on this card, that is the clause to read twice.
Two further everyday realities belong here rather than in the risk section, because they are normal and will not surprise you if you know them:
- Holds on declined payments. When an authorisation is declined, the amount can stay on hold for several days — typically up to seven — before it disappears. A held balance is unavailable to you and looks like missing money.
- Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards. Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first digits, and a card issued in one country, used from an address in another, can attract extra scrutiny or a flat refusal. This is not a defect in your card; it is how card acceptance works. But if it happens to you, the card’s pages will not explain it, and support will.
Overall: day-to-day use looks workable for someone whose spending is online, in dollars, from a supported country, and who is content to raise a problem through support when something goes wrong. It looks thin for someone who relies on contactless, mobile wallets, cash, or formal dispute rights.
What can go wrong
Nothing has gone publicly wrong with this card, as far as anyone can see — and that sentence needs unpacking, because “nothing” here means “no one has written about it”, not “nothing happened”.
The counterparty you cannot name. The owner is PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, from the site footer. The card says plainly: “PPAY is a technology company, not a bank.” Registration country, issuing bank and licences are not stated. The terms are governed by the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, with disputes to Lagos State courts.
Follow that structure and you can see how a payment card gets made without any named bank appearing. A card number begins with digits identifying the issuing institution; that issuer — a bank or a licensed e-money institution — holds the programme under the network’s licence, and the brand you see is often only a front-end and programme manager on top. So a card can exist, function, and be entirely legitimate while the entity holding your money is never named to you. That is common in this category. It is also exactly the information you would want, and it is the information you do not get. If your money ends up with a company that calls itself a technology company rather than a regulated deposit-taker, then the protections that come with bank deposits — deposit guarantee schemes, insolvency treatment, the ability to make a claim against a regulated institution — are not part of what you are holding. Funds of an e-money institution are expected to be safeguarded in segregated accounts or insured, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and should not be assumed to be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Where your crypto actually sits. The custody model is not stated. This is the single most consequential unstated fact in the entire review, so let me be blunt about why. If the provider holds the keys, you have trusted it with your money in the strong sense: it controls the credentials and could move the funds. If you hold the keys, nobody can move them but you, and the risk shifts to you — key loss, phishing, malware that silently replaces a copied deposit address. This category has a documented history of custodians failing: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen, Coincheck about US$400 million, Ronin Network US$625 million. Most of that history belongs to exchanges and early wallets, not to any particular issuer here. But it tells you the shape of the risk you are accepting when you cannot ask which side of the custody line you are on.
What happens to a stablecoin, briefly. Most balances of this kind move as dollar-pegged stablecoins — USDT and USDC, which together account for roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation. “Pegged” is a target, not a guarantee. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC wobbled in March 2023. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof either: an issuer states it disables tokens in wallets on sanctions lists and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. So the balance behind your card can lose value, and it can be frozen by an issuer you never chose.
Sanctions screening. Transactions are screened for fraud and sanctions. That is the correct behaviour for a regulated provider, and it is also a source of friction you should expect: a payment to a name matching a screening list can be delayed, and a balance can be held while it is checked. The card’s own policy refers to “high-risk jurisdictions” without listing them.
Security features — one real strength. “Every account, and every sensitive action within it, is protected by biometric and two-factor verification.” That is a real, specific claim in the company’s own words, and it is above-average as a written assurance. I want to note it, because most of what I have been describing is silence.
And then the freeze, which is silence. The help page lists the question “Can I freeze my card?” — and does not answer it. So the feature that would matter most in the bad scenario, the one where your card is lost or your account is compromised, is the one the card raises and then leaves hanging. I have read that as a documentation gap rather than a missing feature, but you should not rely on a feature the company has not confirmed.
No track record, in either direction. No official incidents were found. No user reports were found: a search for reviews returned only a differently-named company, and nothing for the company’s site. There is no Trustpilot page for PPAY. Safeguarding of funds is not stated. And there is nothing to evaluate on the question people actually ask — “is it safe?” — because safety here is not a claim you can check against anyone else’s experience. It is a claim you can only check against the company’s silence.
One structural caution about this category, not about this card. Card programmes do get shut down. The networks license issuers and can suspend a programme: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all of its programmes. When that happens, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw what is left. That is why an unstated withdrawal method is worth chasing in advance — you do not want to be learning about it at the end.
Support itself is reasonably reachable: [email protected], in-app chat, X and Instagram, and a WhatsApp bot. Replies are promised “within one business day”. Languages and hours are not stated, which for a card that serves residents of more than one country is a practical question — if support is English-only and you are not comfortable in it, every unstated fee above becomes harder to resolve.
What to take instead
I am not going to tell you to switch. You may be in exactly the situation where PPAY’s card is the only one on offer to you, and in that case this section is not for you. I am going to put the alternatives beside it and let the comparison do the arguing — because when a card’s own pages publish no fees, the only honest way to judge it is to look at cards that publish theirs.
| PPAY | International Visa Card | Morse | UNi Card | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score here | 4.5 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual USD card and physical Mastercard | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon” | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit | Multicurrency card on the Mastercard network |
| Card currency | USD | USD | Spends from balance “in any currency” | Multicurrency |
| Issuance fee | not stated | $5 one-time | not stated | not stated |
| Monthly / annual fee | not stated | No maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | not stated | “No annual fee” |
| FX | not stated | “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”; real-time Visa rate | No foreign transaction fee; converted at “live OTC rates” |
| Spending cost in USD | not stated | Free on all plans | Free online and contactless | not stated |
| Funding | Coins and networks not listed; swaps via WhatsApp bot | USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1; USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Debit card, stablecoin transfer, account details (USD, EUR, MXN, COP; BRL needs Brazilian CPF); USDC, USDG, EURC via Solana free | not stated |
| Deposits | not stated | No fee, any kind | Free on listed stablecoins via Solana; fee on other tokens and chains | not stated |
| Custody | not stated | not stated | Self-custodial wallet | not stated |
| Rewards | No cashback stated; savings “up to 8.5% APY” is a savings rate | No cashback stated | not stated on card pages | “Spend-to-Earn” up to 3% |
Look at that table and the difference is stark and structural, not marginal.
International Visa Card publishes a price: $5 to get the virtual card, no maintenance fee, and a plan ladder from free to $9.00/month to $19.00/month. It states its FX cost in plain words — the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. That is not cheap, but it is knowable, and knowable is most of what you need. Its limits are in its restricted list: no account or card for residents or registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries case by case; purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela. Its physical card is “Coming soon”, so if you want plastic, this is not your answer. Its score in my comparison is 6.7.
Morse scores highest at 7.5, and it is the one whose fee language is the clearest of the lot: “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, conversions at the real exchange rate “with no markup”, and “Paying with the Morse Card, online and contactless, is free”. Its card is fully virtual for now. It is self-custodial, which in plain terms means the wallet holds your own keys rather than a company’s — you bear the responsibility for key safety, and you do not hand custody to a counterparty. Its costs are less transparent than the Visa card’s: issuance and monthly fees are not stated, deferred to a cardholder agreement. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship, with the app in “over 140 countries” and local add/withdraw in over 70; a set of closed-beta countries needs an invite code, including Australia, Hong Kong SAR China, Japan, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye and the United Kingdom; and it cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions (also UK, EU, UN). Its own card page says it is “available only in certain countries” and does not publish the list — check the app. That is a smaller version of PPAY’s problem, but a smaller one.
UNi Card scores 6.1. It states “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee” and converts at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” with “No hidden exchange fees” — a multicurrency Mastercard network card spending from the account balance. Its rewards are stated: “Spend-to-Earn” up to 3%. Against that, eligibility is not stated and the funding route is not stated, so the gap moves rather than closes.
The pattern across all three is the lesson: each of these cards is imperfect, and none of them will suit everyone. But each publishes something PPAY does not — a fee, a rate, a limit, a custody model, a country list, a percentage. PPAY’s pages, read carefully, contain none of those. That is not an argument that PPAY charges more. It is an argument that you cannot find out, and for a card aimed at people who have already found the ordinary route closed, that is the finding that matters most.
Who I would recommend PPAY to
Let me be direct, because a hedge helps nobody choosing a card.
I would recommend PPAY to a resident of Nigeria who wants a wallet with a virtual dollar card and a physical Mastercard, who is comfortable doing financial business through in-app chat and a WhatsApp bot, and who treats the card as a convenience rather than as a cost-controlled financial product. For that person the product shape is genuinely good: two cards, a crypto wallet underneath, identity checks that are clearly described in advance, biometric and two-factor verification stated as standard, support answering within one business day, and a terms page that at least tells you honestly that this is a technology company and that Lagos courts govern it.
I would not recommend it to someone spending significant sums. With no published conversion rate, no FX fee, no ATM terms and no spending caps, you cannot budget. I would not recommend it to anyone outside Nigeria who cannot get a straight answer about whether their country is one of the “10+”. And I would not recommend it to anyone for whom the custody question is decisive — whether a company or you holds the keys — because the card does not say.
If you are in that first group, here is what I would do, in order. Before signing up, send one message to [email protected] and ask the five questions that decide everything: what rate and what fee apply when I convert crypto to spend; what is the FX fee on a non-USD purchase; what are the ATM terms; what are the daily and monthly caps; and which tokens on which networks can fund the card. If the answers are clear, PPAY is a reasonable wallet-with-a-card for dollars and online spending. If they are vague, walk away — because a card you are paying an unknown rate on is not a deal, it is an experiment with your money.
And if you have the ordinary option open to you — a bank card, a mainstream prepaid card, a well-published virtual card — my advice is not to choose the one that publishes least. In this category the absence of a published fee is not a discount. It is the absence of an answer, and you are the one filling the gap.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PPAY card?
PPAY is a crypto wallet that issues two payment cards: a virtual card denominated in US dollars for online shopping, and a physical Mastercard said to be accepted wherever Mastercard is. Underneath the cards sits a wallet that holds crypto and offers swaps, partly through a WhatsApp bot. PPAY describes itself as a technology company, not a bank, owned by PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD and governed by Nigerian law.
Does PPAY require KYC, and what does it ask for?
Yes, and it is unusually specific about it. PPAY’s AML policy lists full legal name, residential address, date of birth, phone, email, government-issued ID, a selfie or biometric check, proof of address, and “BVN, NIN, or equivalent verification data where applicable”. It says identity verification is mandatory before account activation, and that verification follows the usual anti-money-laundering pattern of ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting.
Who can actually get the PPAY card?
The terms say you must be “a resident of Nigeria or an eligible country where PPAY operates” — so the test is residence, not citizenship. The home page says “10+” countries are supported but names none of them, which means residents outside Nigeria cannot confirm their eligibility before signing up. The minimum age is 18. Verification is tiered, though the tiers and their limits are not published.
Is PPAY a bank, and who holds my money?
No — PPAY states plainly that it “is a technology company, not a bank”. The owner named in the footer is PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, and the terms are governed by the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria with disputes to Lagos State courts. The issuing bank, the licences and the custody model are all not stated, so you cannot tell from the public pages whether an external regulated institution stands behind the balance.
Is the PPAY card free, and what does it cost to use?
The card’s own pages publish no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion rate, no FX fee and no ATM fee. The terms say fees “may apply to bank transfers, card funding, and certain third-party services” without amounts. The only free item named is peer-to-peer transfers, where the home page says “zero peer-to-peer fees”. A savings feature advertised at “up to 8.5% APY” is a savings rate, not a card reward.
How do I top up the PPAY card?
The public pages do not say. The wallet holds crypto and offers swaps via a WhatsApp bot, but the coins and networks accepted for funding the card are not listed, nor is the card-funding fee. This is the risky gap, because blockchain transfers are irreversible — a deposit sent on an unsupported network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Ask which tokens and networks are supported, and load a test amount first.
Can I use the PPAY card in my country, and where does it work?
The card is aimed at residents of Nigeria or an “eligible country” among the unnamed “10+”, so check with support before relying on it elsewhere. For spending: the physical Mastercard is described as accepted wherever Mastercard is, and the virtual card is USD for online shopping. Its network is not stated, and there is no published information on ATM use, contactless, Apple Pay or Google Pay.
Is the PPAY card safe?
There is no track record to judge it against: no user reports and no Trustpilot page were found, so silence is not a clean record. PPAY states that every account and sensitive action is protected by biometric and two-factor verification, and that transactions are screened for fraud and sanctions — real safeguards. But the custody model and safeguarding of funds are not stated, and the help page raises the question “Can I freeze my card?” without answering it. Treat the safety question as open.
What happens if a payment goes wrong or I want to close the account?
The terms say transactions are final once confirmed, refunds are decided case by case, and disputes should go through support first; chargebacks are not mentioned. For closure, the terms say you can close the account at any time in app settings and any outstanding balance will be settled beforehand — but the settlement method and its fees are not stated. Raise any dispute through support at [email protected], which the card says replies within one business day.
Is the PPAY card worth it?
For a Nigerian resident who wants a wallet with a virtual dollar card and a physical Mastercard, and who is content with support by chat and bot, it may be worth it — the product shape fits. For anyone spending heavily, budgeting tightly, or outside Nigeria without confirmed eligibility, no. You cannot budget against an unpublished rate, and you cannot check a company with no independent reviews. Judge it on the answers support gives you in writing before you load money.
App and neobank cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
