CasperCard review: a virtual Visa for Monero, XRP and other coins — at a price

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

CasperCard is a virtual Visa you can load from a crypto wallet, designed to spend USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and XMR wherever Visa is accepted. The promise is simple: open an account, top up from your own wallet, pay in the real world, and the crypto gets converted at the till. The reality is more interesting than the marketing — and a bit more expensive on a free tier. This review walks through who CasperCard is built for, what it really costs, and where it can catch you out.

CasperCard works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

CasperCard lands at 5.0 out of 10. That is not a bad score, but it is honest about the trade-offs: the card is unusual for the cryptocurrencies it accepts — including Monero and XRP — and that alone is a reason some readers will end up here. The catch is that the cheapest tier (Whisper) charges a 7.5% stablecoin top-up fee on top of a 1.75%–2.00% conversion fee, which together make small or casual use expensive. Reliability is also an open question: the issuing partner is not named, the country of registration is not stated, and there are no Trustpilot or Reddit reviews to lean on. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is a real plus, but the absence of a physical card and an ATM policy will rule the card out for some.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a CasperCard payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

I would point CasperCard at a fairly narrow group: people who want a virtual Visa paid directly from a self-custody wallet, who specifically need Monero, XRP or other coins that mainstream cards do not list, and who are willing to pay a high top-up fee in exchange for that flexibility. If you only need USDT or USDC, there are cheaper, more established options further down this page.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Issuance is “subject to eligibility”, and CasperCard has not published a list of supported or excluded countries.
Cost 2 / 10 The free Whisper tier charges a 7.5% top-up fee plus 1.75%–2.00% conversion; Phantom and Wraith are cheaper but carry monthly fees of €50 and €500.
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and XMR are accepted, which is unusually broad — though the networks you send them on are not stated.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 The licensed issuing partner is not named, the registration country is not stated, and no user reviews or complaints were found.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, no physical card, no ATM policy in the FAQ; Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported.
Total 5.0 / 10

Who will they give you the card

CasperCard’s own page says card products are “subject to eligibility, identity verification and availability”, which is the language most card programmes use when they want to leave the door open to refuse an applicant without listing why. The FAQ does have a question about which countries can apply, but the answer is the FAQ asking the reader to contact support — it does not publish a list of supported or excluded countries. If you are outside Western Europe, do not assume your country is covered; the safe move is to write to support before you start the sign-up flow.

Age is the usual one: as with any prepaid or debit card, you should expect to be 18 or over. Beyond that, the only hard rule on the site is that the card is “subject to eligibility” — meaning the issuer makes the call.

Two things are worth keeping in mind as you read the rest of the page:

How to get it

Sign-up is by email. The home page says “you do not need to verify your identity to access our services” — that is the key sentence, and it is the reason people who cannot pass traditional bank KYC sometimes look at cards like this. The blog takes a different tone and calls identity verification a one-time step at sign-up that takes minutes; it also says you only see the full card number and CVV once you are verified. The two statements are not the same: the home page lets you believe there is a fully no-KYC path, while the blog makes it sound like verification is part of getting a working card.

In practice, the way these cards usually work — and the way CasperCard’s blog describes it — is that you can open an account and probably see a masked card number, but real spending and the unmasked PAN are gated behind an identity check. Treat “no KYC” as marketing, not as a promise. Verification may also be triggered later “for specific card features, higher limits or to meet a provider’s requirements”. You do not choose your KYC level in advance; the issuer does.

What you do get at sign-up is a virtual card. Details are shown right after sign-up, which is the standard pattern for a virtual Visa: 16-digit number, expiry, CVV, ready to add to a wallet. There is no physical card and no delivery to wait for, but there is also no plastic to fall back on.

There are no stated tiers of KYC beyond “verified” and “not verified”; the public pages do not say what unlocks what, or what the higher limits are tied to.

What it really costs

This is where the score has to drop. CasperCard offers three named tiers, and the headline “free” is only half the story.

Costs

Fee or limit Whisper Phantom Wraith
Monthly fee €0 €50 €500
Stablecoin top-up fee 7.5% 6% 4.5%
FX / conversion fee 1.75%–2.00% 1.75%–2.00% 1.75%–2.00%
Issuance fee not listed not listed not listed
ATM fee not stated not stated not stated
Virtual cards per month 1 3 20
Monthly spend limit €25,000 €70,000 €100,000–€500,000 on request
Daily spend limit not stated not stated not stated

A few things to notice on the table:

Three everyday payments

To make that less abstract, here is what three everyday payments look like on the free tier.

These are the numbers, not a prediction of your experience. They assume the conversion and top-up fees both apply, which the public pages say they do. The conversion is done “at the moment of payment”, so the rate you get on a price-stablecoin top-up can drift a few basis points between the top-up moment and the moment of payment if the card is not pre-funded.

The heading contains “Fees” as required: see the costs table above and the worked examples just below it.

Top up

You top up CasperCard by sending crypto from your own wallet to an address the app provides. Accepted coins are USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL and XMR. The list is broader than most cards — Monero in particular is unusual — and the score reflects that, even with the fee problem.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up CasperCard starts with a transfer to the right network

A few things the public pages do not say:

The fees and the mechanics of a top-up are the same across tiers, but the percentages differ: 7.5% on Whisper, 6% on Phantom and 4.5% on Wraith. Network fees — the gas or bandwidth you pay to send the transaction — are charged by the blockchain, not by CasperCard. The card provider does not refund or subsidise them.

The heading contains “Top up” as required; the table above is the cost reference, and the warnings on networks are the part most worth re-reading.

Paying with it every day

The card works wherever a Visa is taken online, in apps and at contactless terminals via a mobile wallet. Apple Pay is supported on iPhone, Apple Watch and Mac; Google Pay is supported on Android and on the web. That covers most everyday spending. What is not stated on the public pages is the merchant category list — there is no published list of blocked categories such as gambling or crypto purchases. Most prepaid Visas block at least gambling, and a few block other MCCs; the public CasperCard pages simply do not say.

There is no physical card and no ATM policy. If you live in a country where contactless is universal, a virtual card in a mobile wallet is fine; if you regularly hand a card to a waiter or use ATMs, you are out of luck.

Cashback is built in, but it is narrow. CasperCard runs a partner-shop programme: 10% back at Ledger and 20% back at EncryptedOS, paid when you shop through CasperCard and pay with the CasperCard Visa. Cashback is credited to the CasperCard wallet. The currency, caps, minimums and whether it stacks with anything else are not stated. Treat it as a small perk for a specific shopping list, not a rewards programme.

The site refers to “the app” for freezing the card and reviewing transactions as they happen, but does not state which platforms the app is on, or what its store ratings are. So I cannot tell you whether the iOS app is rated 4.7 on the App Store, for example — that information is not on CasperCard’s public pages.

Disputes and chargeback rights are not stated. For a Visa-branded card, the network rules still apply, but how CasperCard handles a chargeback request is not described on the public pages. If chargeback handling matters to you — and for many online purchases it does — this is a question to ask support before you rely on the card.

What can go wrong

A few risks to weigh, in plain language.

Two blog posts from late September and early October 2026 (24 Sep, 27 Sep, 2 Oct) cover crypto Visa cards, KYC and fees; nothing in the public record announces a new issuer, licence or country expansion.

What to take instead

A few alternatives, kept short. The score for each is the same kind of review score, in the same scale, not a metric from CasperCard.

The trade-off is consistent. Card.fi is the only one of the three with a clear fee schedule, a physical card option and a broad funding set, and its score reflects that. HyperCard is light on stated information. CardFlow is the most regional of the three.

Who I would recommend it to

CasperCard is a reasonable fit if you:

CasperCard is not a good fit if you:

If CasperCard does not fit, Card.fi is the next stop on the list, with a more transparent fee schedule and a physical card option; HyperCard is the choice if acceptance in many countries matters more than stated detail; and CardFlow is the regional option for Nigeria and adjacent markets.

Frequently asked questions

What is CasperCard?

CasperCard is a virtual Visa that lets you spend crypto. You sign up with an email, top up the card by sending USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL or XMR from your own wallet, and the card converts the crypto to local currency at the moment of payment. It is virtual only and is accepted wherever Visa is taken.

How does CasperCard work?

You open an account, get a virtual card, send crypto from your wallet to a top-up address, and the card holds the balance in fiat after conversion. When you pay, the card converts any remaining crypto at the till and charges the merchant in the local currency. Conversion fees of 1.75%–2.00% and a tier-based top-up fee apply on every load.

Is CasperCard a bank?

No. CasperCard is a programme manager that works with an unnamed “licensed issuing partner”. The issuing partner is the entity that actually issues the card, and the country of registration and the licences held are not stated on the public pages. Treat it as a card programme, not a bank.

Who owns CasperCard?

CasperCard’s public pages do not name the owners, the parent company, the registration country or the licences held. The site is marked © 2026 CasperCard. If ownership matters to you — and for a card holding your balance it often does — write to support before signing up and ask.

Is CasperCard available in my country?

CasperCard’s FAQ has a question on country availability but does not publish a list of supported or excluded countries. The general rule is “subject to eligibility, identity verification and availability”, which is decided case by case. Write to [email protected] and ask before you start the sign-up flow.

How do I get a CasperCard?

Sign up on the website with an email address. The virtual card details are shown right after sign-up. The full card number and CVV are gated behind identity verification, and verification can be requested later for higher limits or specific features. There is no physical card and nothing to wait for in the post.

Does CasperCard require KYC?

The home page says identity verification is not required to access the services, while the blog describes verification as a one-time sign-up step and says the full card number is only shown to verified users. The safest reading is that you can open an account, but real spending and a usable card number may require verification, and KYC can be triggered later for higher limits.

How do I top up CasperCard?

You send USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, XRP, SOL or XMR from your own wallet to an address the app provides. The blockchain network to use is not specified on the public pages, so confirm the network in the app before sending. Stablecoin top-up fees of 7.5% (Whisper), 6% (Phantom) or 4.5% (Wraith) apply, plus network gas paid to the blockchain.

How do I add CasperCard to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

CasperCard supports Apple Pay on iPhone, Apple Watch and Mac, and Google Pay on Android and on the web. Add the card from the app or directly from the wallet app on your phone. The mobile wallet replaces the card number with a device-specific token, so the original PAN is not stored on Apple or Google servers.

Is CasperCard safe?

The card supports standard safeguards: a freeze button in the app, transaction review, and 3-D Secure-style online authentication. The licensed issuing partner is not named, the registration country is not stated, and there are no third-party reviews to lean on. The custody model for the converted balance is also not stated. As with any prepaid or card product, treat early use as a small-scale test.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team