Fuse card review: spending USDC on a virtual Visa, with a narrow country list and no ATM access
Fuse is a virtual Visa debit card that lets you pay merchants from a USDC balance held inside the Fuse app. The product is built around Solana infrastructure and positions itself as a “smart wallet” first, with a card on top. That framing matters, because everything about Fuse, from the country list to the absence of a physical card, follows from it: this is a card for someone who already keeps funds in USDC and wants to spend them at point-of-sale or online, not a general-purpose bank replacement.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
I came away from the Fuse documentation with a mixed picture. The cost side is genuinely attractive: there is no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no inactivity fee, and no foreign transaction fee on the USD amount. The card is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank, under a Visa U.S.A. licence, which gives the rails some legitimacy. The everyday-use side, though, is thin: a virtual-only card, no ATM access, no Google Pay mention, and a country list that excludes large parts of the world. Add a USDC-only funding model, a single tier, and an arbitration clause in the cardholder agreement, and the picture settles into a niche product for a specific kind of user.
My overall score is 6.3 out of 10, and I would recommend Fuse mainly to people in the supported Americas jurisdictions who already hold USDC, want a virtual card to attach to Apple Pay, and are comfortable with the limits of a custodial stablecoin balance.
| Criterion | Score | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Eighteen jurisdictions, US-only outside the Americas, and no mention of citizenship rules. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | No issuance, monthly, inactivity, or FX fees; crypto conversion fee is not disclosed. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | USDC only, transferred from a Main Account inside the app; networks not stated. |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Real bank issuer (Lead Bank) and a licensed Visa programme; one user report of a closed account with funds stuck. |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual only, no ATM, no Google Pay mention, no cashback. |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Strong on cost and rails, weak on reach and everyday flexibility. |
If you live in a supported country and want a cheap way to spend a USDC balance you already hold, Fuse does the job. If you are outside the supported list, want a physical card, or expect any kind of rewards programme, the answer is elsewhere.
Will they give you the card
Fuse is gated primarily by residence, and the published list is short. According to the official pages, the card is available to residents of 18 jurisdictions: the United States (excluding New York and Alaska), Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay. Outside that list I could not find any sign-up route, and the pages I read do not describe a waitlist or a country-by-country expansion plan.
A few things are worth flagging up front:
- Citizenship is not stated. The pages only describe residence, so a US citizen living in London or a Brazilian citizen in Lisbon is not given a clear answer by the documentation. In practice crypto card issuers tend to apply sanctions and risk screens to citizenship and country of birth, not just to where you sleep, but that is me inferring from how the industry works, not from the Fuse site.
- New York and Alaska are excluded even though the rest of the US is on the list. State-level money transmitter rules in the US push issuers into a patchwork like this, and Fuse has chosen to stay out of those two.
- Inside the supported list, KYC is mandatory. You must be at least 18 and pass verification through Bridge, the programme manager, before any card is issued.
If your situation does not match the residence list above, the rest of this review will be of limited use to you, and you may want to skip to the alternatives section instead.
How to get it
The sign-up flow is built around the Fuse app rather than a web form. From what the support pages describe, the steps are: install the Fuse app, complete identity verification through Bridge, create a virtual card, and move USDC from your Main Account to the Card Account inside the app. There is no physical card to order and no delivery to wait for, which removes a class of friction that comes with most other crypto cards.
KYC is not optional. The cardholder agreement gives Bridge the right to ask for further documents, including a driver’s licence, at any time, and to take decisions on the basis of that documentation. Processing times and the specific reasons a verification can be rejected are not stated, which is a small frustration if you are weighing Fuse against another card where that information is published. What is stated is the minimum data the platform collects: name, address, date of birth and a government ID number. There are no tiers: you either pass KYC and get a card, or you do not.
A second small but useful detail: the app is iPhone-only, with an iOS 16.4 floor. I could not see a listing for Android in the pages I read, so if you do not have an iPhone, you may not be able to complete the sign-up at all. The App Store listing I checked, under “Fuse – Solana Smart Wallet” in the Paraguay storefront, did not show a star rating because there were not enough ratings yet. Unofficial aggregators put the rating somewhere around 4.5 to 4.6 stars from roughly 35 reviews, but I would treat that as a rough indicator rather than a confirmed signal.
What it really costs: Fees
This is where Fuse looks strongest. The headline numbers from the cardholder agreement and the support pages are: $0 to issue, $0 monthly, $0 inactivity, and a 0% international transaction fee on the USD amount. The support page also states there are no top-up fees and no card transaction fees, although the agreement’s small print adds the usual “fees may apply” caveat that the Platform Provider or Program Manager can charge separate fees for stablecoin sales.

There are some fees I could not pin down, and that absence is itself worth noting. The crypto conversion fee is not stated on the pages I read. Funding works by selling USDC into a USD balance at the moment of purchase, and the spread or fee on that sale is described only as “may apply” rather than a number. If you are the kind of person who calculates effective cost carefully, you should treat the unstated conversion margin as an unknown until you have seen it on a real transaction.
ATM access is not available at all. The support page says “Fuse Cards cannot be used at ATMs currently” and the agreement lists ATM withdrawal and balance inquiry as not applicable. If you need cash from a crypto card, Fuse is simply not a route.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | $0 |
| Monthly fee | $0.00 |
| Annual fee | not listed |
| Inactivity fee | $0 |
| FX / international transaction | 0% of USD amount |
| Per-purchase fee | none stated |
| Crypto conversion fee | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | not available |
| Default daily spending limit | $2,000 |
| Per-transaction limit | $2,000 |
| Monthly limit | not stated |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | Apple Pay supported; Google Pay not mentioned |
The spending limit structure is also worth understanding. The default daily limit is $2,000, and the FAQ says you can adjust that up to $2,000 in settings, which is a slightly odd way of phrasing it, and that the limit “may increase after usage”. The per-transaction ceiling is also $2,000. The monthly limit is not stated. In practice this means Fuse is a useful card for daily spending, online subscriptions and the occasional larger purchase, but it is not designed for high-ticket or high-volume spending.
A few everyday scenarios make the cost picture concrete:
- Coffee at a local café, around $5, paid by tapping Apple Pay. No fee on the card side, but the unknown crypto conversion spread will be a few cents at most on such a small amount.
- A $200 online subscription to a SaaS tool. No per-purchase fee, no FX fee if the merchant settles in USD. The conversion spread is the only number that matters.
- A $1,800 in-store purchase, close to the per-transaction ceiling. No fee, but if you try to spend more than $2,000 in a single transaction you will be declined. The default daily limit also caps you at the same $2,000 figure.
How to top it up: Top up
Fuse funding is unusually simple on the surface and unusually limited underneath. The only asset you can hold in the Card Account is USDC. You first put USDC into your Main Account inside the app, and then move it across to the Card Account; the funds are described as available immediately. There is no minimum listed, and the support page states there is no top-up fee.

What the documentation does not tell you is which network that USDC arrives on. The product is positioned around Solana, and USDC is natively issued on Solana as well as on many other networks, so a reasonable guess is Solana, but “reasonable guess” is not the same as a published policy. If you are coming from an exchange or another wallet, picking the wrong network could mean a transfer that needs manual recovery or, in the worst case, is lost, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. This is the single biggest practical risk in the funding flow, and it is the kind of detail Fuse really should publish.
Two related details round out the funding picture:
- You can move USDC back from the Card Account to the Main Account, but the support page describes a 5-minute security time lock on that direction. This is normal for fraud control, but worth knowing if you want to recycle funds quickly.
- On card closure, any remaining balance is returned to the Platform Provider wallet as stablecoin, and the cardholder agreement says the bank may refuse to return balances of less than $1.00. Closure can be blocked by a pending transaction, an open dispute, an amount owed or a hold. None of these are unusual for a prepaid-style product, but the “$1.00 or under” line is the kind of clause that surprises people, so it is worth reading.
Fiat top-up options, such as a bank transfer or a card-to-card load, are not stated on the pages I read. If you want to put dollars in, the path appears to be: buy USDC somewhere, send it to your Main Account, then move it to the Card Account. There is no in-app on-ramp described in the support content I saw.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is loaded, day-to-day use is straightforward if your habits line up with what Fuse offers. The card is a USD Visa, so any merchant that takes Visa and settles in USD takes Fuse. There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, which is a small positive: many crypto cards block gambling, and the absence of an MCC blocklist on the Fuse pages is unusual.
For in-person payments the supported mobile wallet is Apple Pay, and you can tokenise the card onto an iPhone or Apple Watch. Google Pay is not mentioned. If you are on Android, that gap matters. If you are on iPhone, Apple Pay with Fuse is the main contactless path, and tokens in a device wallet are device-specific, so a stolen phone does not expose the card number itself.
Online, the card behaves like any other Visa. Some merchants do extra checks on the BIN to identify the issuer country, and a card issued in the US by a relatively small programme can be flagged as “foreign” or “prepaid” by risk-averse merchants. Address Verification Service is mainly a US/Canada/UK tool, so for cross-border online use, declines on AVS mismatches are a real possibility. 3-D Secure applies as normal, and the issuer can decide to challenge you for a code or biometric, or to let the payment through frictionlessly.
The dispute process is the part I would read carefully before relying on the card for anything expensive. Key facts from the cardholder agreement:
- Report unauthorised use within 2 business days and your liability is capped at $50; report it later and the cap rises to $500.
- Report errors within 60 days.
- The bank aims to decide an investigation in 10 business days, extendable to 45, with provisional credit within 10 business days if the investigation is extended, and up to 90 days for point-of-sale, foreign and new-card errors.
- Outcome is communicated within 3 business days of the investigation ending.
- Stop-payments are not allowed on card purchases.
- Merchant disputes go to the merchant first, and refunds are credited back to the wallet as stablecoin.
- There is no provisional credit for goods or services disputes, only for unauthorised use under the extension rules.
- Pending amounts “become available in 24 hours” after clearing.
In plain English: if a merchant takes your money and does not deliver, your first step is the merchant, not the bank. If a card is stolen and used, the faster you report it, the smaller your maximum liability. And if a refund eventually comes through, it comes back as a stablecoin in the app, not as a dollar credit on a statement.
There is no cashback programme and no rewards structure published. If a meaningful chunk of your card spend is on a card that gives you 1% to 3% back, switching to Fuse is a real cost in foregone rewards, and you should weigh that against the $0 in fees.
What can go wrong
Crypto cards carry a category of risk that ordinary debit cards do not, and Fuse is no exception. The single specific issue I found is a user report of an account being closed with about $600 of funds still inside, and an X user report of unanswered support emails. The aggregator that surfaced these also flags the binding arbitration clause and the class-action waiver in the cardholder agreement, which means you agree to resolve disputes through arbitration rather than in court.
A few general risks that apply to Fuse in particular:
- Crypto conversion risk. The conversion fee is not disclosed. If the spread is, say, 0.5% to 1%, that is a real cost on every transaction, and you only find out what it is once you make a purchase.
- Stablecoin risk. The card spends from a USDC balance. USDC is one of the better-backed stablecoins on the market, with monthly attestations and a redemption promise, but it is still a token issued by a private company, and a USDC depeg or freeze is not impossible.
- Counterparty risk. The platform provider, Squads Labs Inc., is not a bank, and the funds you hold in the app are not FDIC insured. That is normal for crypto wallets, but it is worth saying out loud: if Squads or Bridge fails, your balance is at risk in the same way that any custodial crypto balance is at risk.
- Sanctions and AML. The bank can block or cancel a card for suspected fraud, and a sanctions hit on a name, address or counterparty can lock the account while documents are reviewed. The pages do not publish processing times for that review, so you do not know how long a freeze might last.
- Programme change. Card programmes do get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreement with FTX in November 2022, for example, and other crypto card programmes have been wound down by their issuers. If that happens to Fuse, the standard pattern is a notice period, then a stop on loading and spending, then a request to withdraw remaining balances.
- Arbitration. The cardholder agreement contains a binding arbitration clause and a class-action waiver, which limits the formal avenues you have if something goes seriously wrong.
I would not describe Fuse as unsafe, but I would describe it as a card for people who have already accepted the trade-offs of holding funds with a crypto platform. If that is not you, the everyday protections of a regulated bank account are not present here.
What to take instead
Fuse has a narrow footprint, and several alternatives cover more ground, depending on what you actually need.
| Card | Score | Best for | Issuance and main fees | Top-up | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fuse | 6.3 / 10 | USDC holders in supported Americas jurisdictions | $0 issuance, $0 monthly, 0% FX, no ATM | USDC only, network not stated | none |
| TokenPocket | 5.8 / 10 | Crypto-native users who want a card on Arbitrum | NFT fee partially covered by TP, “no additional fees” beyond that | Crypto deposits from the TP wallet, 1% fee on deposits | no cashback; the 1% fee is later refunded via rewards |
| MetaMask Card | 7.1 / 10 | Multi-chain self-custody users in 45+ countries | Virtual free, Metal $199/year, “minimal” per-transaction fee | Spends directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana | Virtual 1% in mUSD, Metal 3% (1% after $10,000) |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Users who want a tiered programme with multiple cards | Standard $0/year, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year | USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on multiple networks | Standard 1.5%, Premium 2%, Private 3% USD cashback |
A few notes on the comparison:
- TokenPocket fits a similar niche to Fuse, with a Visa debit in Europe and a Mastercard debit in parts of Asia-Pacific, and balances in EUR24 and USD24 on Arbitrum. Its fees are partly opaque, and the deposit fee is the kind of thing that needs careful reading.
- MetaMask Card is the obvious alternative if you want self-custody. The card spends directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, and the rewards structure is the strongest of the four. The catch is geography: sign-ups are open in roughly 45 countries, but US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed, and you need proof of residency to start.
- KAST is the most feature-rich of the four, with virtual and physical cards, a tiered membership and a real cashback programme. It is also the most expensive if you want anything beyond the Standard tier, and its pricing varies a lot by region.
Who I would recommend it to
Pulling the threads together, I would recommend Fuse in a fairly specific set of circumstances:
- You live in one of the 18 supported jurisdictions, you are at least 18, and you are happy to complete KYC through Bridge.
- You already hold USDC, or you are comfortable buying it elsewhere and transferring it in.
- You mainly want a virtual card to attach to Apple Pay for in-person and online spending, and you do not need a physical card or ATM access.
- You are happy with a $2,000 per-transaction and per-day ceiling, and a single tier with no rewards.
- You are comfortable with an unstated conversion spread, a binding arbitration clause, and a custodial stablecoin balance that is not FDIC insured.
I would not recommend Fuse if:
- You live outside the supported list, or you hold citizenship in a country whose sanctions profile is likely to cause friction.
- You want a physical card, ATM access, Google Pay, or a rewards programme.
- You plan to make large, one-off purchases above $2,000, or to spend heavily in any given day.
- You need fast, well-documented support, or a published dispute timeline that matches what you would get from a major bank.
If the above does not describe you, MetaMask Card, KAST or one of the more established crypto cards will probably be a better fit. Fuse is a useful tool for a particular kind of USDC holder, and a poor fit for almost everyone else.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Fuse card?
Fuse is a virtual Visa debit card that lets you pay merchants from a USDC balance held inside the Fuse app. The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. licence, and the programme is managed by Bridge Ventures LLC, with Squads Labs Inc. as the platform provider.
How does the Fuse card work?
You complete KYC through Bridge, create a virtual card, and move USDC from your Main Account to your Card Account inside the app. At purchase, USDC is converted to USD and the merchant is paid through the Visa network in dollars.
Is Fuse a bank?
No. Fuse is a card programme run by a programme manager and a platform provider, and the card itself is issued by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank. Funds you hold in the Fuse app are not bank deposits and are not FDIC insured.
Who owns Fuse?
The card is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. licence. The programme is managed by Bridge Ventures LLC, and the platform provider is Squads Labs Inc. None of the pages I read describe the wider ownership of the Fuse brand itself.
Is the Fuse card available in my country?
According to the published list, the card is available to residents of the United States (excluding New York and Alaska), Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Nigeria, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay. Citizenship rules are not stated, and there is no waitlist described for other countries.
Does the Fuse card require KYC?
Yes. KYC is mandatory and is handled by Bridge. You must be at least 18, and the platform collects your name, address, date of birth and a government ID number. Further documents, including a driver’s licence, can be requested at any time.
How do I top up the Fuse card?
You transfer USDC from your Main Account to your Card Account inside the Fuse app. The funds are described as available immediately. The support pages do not state which network the USDC arrives on, and the platform does not describe fiat top-up options such as a bank transfer.
How do I add the Fuse card to Apple Wallet?
Once the virtual card is created in the Fuse app, you tokenise it into Apple Pay through the standard Apple Wallet flow on an iPhone running iOS 16.4 or later. The app is iPhone-only, and Google Pay is not mentioned in the pages I read.
Is the Fuse card safe?
The card is issued by a real bank under a Visa licence, and the app supports standard controls such as freeze and unfreeze, PIN reset and a daily spending limit. The trade-offs are typical of a crypto platform: funds are not FDIC insured, the cardholder agreement contains a binding arbitration clause, and the conversion fee on USDC sales is not disclosed.
Is the Fuse card worth it?
It depends on what you need. If you live in a supported country, hold USDC, want a virtual card with no monthly or FX fees, and do not need cashback or ATM access, Fuse is a clean, low-cost tool. If you want a physical card, a rewards programme, ATM access or a wider country list, another card will fit you better.
Wallet cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
