Solid French Visa, narrow corridor: the Bitstack card works well inside France and barely outside it
The Bitstack card is a physical Visa Classic debit card that spends euros out of a cash balance inside your Bitstack account. If you live in France, save in bitcoin, and want the option of spending it without selling a fixed amount every month, that is exactly what it does. If you live anywhere else, or you spend mostly in dollars, pounds or roubles, this is the wrong card — the account is open only to residents of France, including the overseas territories, and the fees are written entirely in euros.
I gave it 5.5 out of 10. The number is not a snobbery score about a weak product. Bitstack is a well-regulated, properly capitalised French operation with an AMF registration, an e-money partner supervised by ACPR, and a card issued by a real bank. On company and reliability grounds it scores 9 out of 10. It scores 2 out of 10 on access, because a card many people cannot order is not much use, and 3 out of 10 on top-up options because the pages name almost nothing beyond selling bitcoin and paying with Apple Pay. The middle ground is where the card lives.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Score: 5.5 out of 10, and why the halves split so wide
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Residents of France only, overseas territories included; rollout is gradual and other EU countries are on a waitlist |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | EUR 9.99 plus delivery, no monthly subscription, no FX fee on the first EUR 1,000 a month, free ATM withdrawals up to EUR 200 or five a month |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | The card spends euros from the Bitstack cash account; bitcoin is sold in the app, and other coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Bitstack Digital Assets SAS, AMF registration A2025-003, Xpollens as e-money agent, card issued by BPCE; Trustpilot 4.3 out of 5 from 1,417 reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | A physical Visa Classic with Apple Pay since 30 June 2026 and ATM access; Google Pay in development, a virtual card still planned |
Let me take the reader through those numbers, because the total hides more than it shows. Nine marks out of ten for reliability means that if you already have a Bitstack account and you already live in France, the card is built on solid ground and you are unlikely to lose your money to a collapsed business. Two marks out of ten for access means that if you do not live in France, none of that matters to you: the ordering option simply does not appear. The average of those two is a card that is genuinely good in one country and unusable outside it.
The reader this review is for, then, is a French resident who saves in bitcoin and spends euros. If that is you, read on and the details below will tell you whether it fits. If you are reading this from Lisbon, Warsaw or Lagos, stop here and look at the alternatives section instead — there is nothing in the Bitstack terms that will change for you.
Who will they give the card to
Only residents of France, and the card page says so in as many words: “available exclusively to residents of France”. Overseas territories count. Eligibility is based on residence, not citizenship — a French citizen living in Spain is not eligible, and a Spanish citizen living in Paris is. That distinction matters more than it sounds, because residence is what a regulated firm can actually verify against a utility bill or a lease.
The rollout is gradual. The order option appears in the Cash tab once the account qualifies, so even inside France the button may not be there on day one. Other EU countries are on a waitlist according to starting data, which is not the same as a published launch schedule. If you are in Belgium or Portugal, treat Bitstack as something to watch rather than something to plan around.
One thing the official pages do not say is what documentation is required. No list of identity documents, no proof-of-address rule, no minimum age appears on the pages I could reach. That silence matters, and I will come back to it in the section on what can go wrong, because a July 2026 user report describes an identity-verification rejection without explanation.
How to get it
The order itself is short. In the app, open the Cash tab, choose to order the card, pick a PIN, enter a delivery address, check the total, and pay. The total is EUR 9.99 plus delivery, and the card pages list four payment methods: cash account, bank card, Apple Pay or Google Pay. There is no branch to visit and no interview.
What arrives is a physical Visa Classic debit card. It spends the euro balance in your Bitstack cash account, in the way a prepaid card spends a stored balance rather than a debit card drawing on a bank account. A virtual card is planned but not yet available, and whether a metal version exists is not stated on the pages.
Delivery is to France, overseas territories included. Production usually starts the day after you confirm, and then metropolitan France is up to 10 business days once production starts, while the overseas territories are up to 3 weeks. The delivery fee varies by address and the amount is not stated, so the check-out total is the only number you will get. The cost of a replacement card is not stated either.
On the identity question, the honest answer is that the public pages do not lay out a KYC checklist. If you are wondering whether you can get this without proving who you are, stop: EU anti-money-laundering rules require customer due diligence covering name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, plus a sanctions check. That is the law that applies to Bitstack as much as to anyone else, and no card changes it. What the card does not publish is its own list of documents. A user report from July 2026 on Trustpilot describes a slow identity verification that ended in rejection; Bitstack replied that decisions follow regulatory requirements and that specifics are not shared publicly. In the EU, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from proceeding and, where necessary, end the relationship. That is why accounts close. Assume documents, and ask support before you order if you have any doubt.
Fees: what it really costs to use the card day to day
The headline is good and slightly untidy. The help article says EUR 9.99 for the card plus a variable delivery fee, and states plainly that “The Bitstack card has no monthly subscription”. The pricing page, meanwhile, shows a Standard card at EUR 14.97 or 14.98 with delivery included, a Plus monthly plan at EUR 9.99 with free shipping, and a Plus annual plan that includes card and delivery at no extra cost. Those two pages do not agree with each other. My guess is that the help article describes the card on its own and the pricing page bundles it with a plan, but the card does not say that anywhere I could find, so treat EUR 9.99 plus delivery as the reliable floor and check the live total at checkout.

Beyond that, here is where the money actually goes.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | EUR 9.99 plus a variable delivery fee (help article); pricing page shows Standard at EUR 14.97 or 14.98 with delivery included |
| Monthly subscription | None — “The Bitstack card has no monthly subscription” |
| Plus plan | EUR 9.99 monthly; Plus annual includes card and delivery at no extra cost |
| Foreign-currency spending | Up to EUR 1,000 a month with no extra FX fee; above that, about 1% on the excess, at the Visa rate at the time of the transaction |
| Card deposit via Apple Pay or Google Pay | 0.70% on all plans |
| Buying bitcoin | Standard: 1.5% under EUR 250, 1.25% from EUR 250 to 1,000, 1% over EUR 1,000. Plus: 0.75% flat |
| Buying without the cash account | An extra 0.70%; the page is inconsistent about the Plus treatment |
| ATM withdrawal | Free up to EUR 200 a month or 5 withdrawals, whichever comes first; beyond that, the higher of EUR 1 or 1% per withdrawal, in France and abroad |
| Third-party ATMs | The operator may charge its own fee, shown before you confirm |
| Card payments | Capped at EUR 5,000 a month |
| ATM | EUR 200 per week, EUR 1,000 a month in total |
| International payments | Up to EUR 1,000 a month on Standard, EUR 3,000 a month on Plus |
| Limits | No daily or per-KYC-level limits listed; limits “cannot be changed” |
Now three everyday payments, so you can see which of those lines actually touches you.
Buying a EUR 4 lunch in Paris. Nothing applies beyond the plan you are on. The card is a Visa, the merchant is French, the balance is in euros. If you paid the plan fee, you already paid it.
A EUR 300 hotel in Rome. Your EUR 1,000 monthly FX allowance covers it, so no extra currency fee. Converted at the Visa rate, and the 3% or so gap between the Visa rate and the mid-market rate is the cost you actually bear. Convert the same EUR 1,300 stay and the portion above EUR 1,000 picks up roughly 1% on EUR 300.
Withdrawing EUR 150 from a cash machine in Berlin. Free. The same withdrawal on your third cash machine of the month is also free if the month total is still under EUR 200. The fourth EUR 150 withdrawal crosses the EUR 200 line, and costs the higher of EUR 1 or 1% — EUR 1 in that case. A EUR 250 withdrawal on its own crosses both thresholds at once and costs the higher of EUR 1 or 1% of 250, so EUR 2.50.
Two things to hold on to. The limits are fixed and the card says they cannot be changed, so a EUR 5,000 monthly card ceiling is a ceiling, not a warning line. And if your money arrives through Apple Pay or Google Pay, that 0.70% deposit fee applies every single time, on every plan.
How to Top up the card
The card spends euros from the Bitstack cash account, with no overdraft. In practice, the top-up is the opposite direction of what people expect: you do not push crypto onto the card, you sell crypto in the app and the euro proceeds become your spendable balance. So the funding question is really a question about selling bitcoin.

What the card pages do not name is the deposit side. Which coins can be deposited, on which networks, what the minimum top-up is, and who pays the network fee — none of that is stated on the card pages. That is a real gap, and it is the low score in the table above. If you hold anything other than bitcoin, or bitcoin on a network other than the one Bitstack supports, you are working from the app’s own interface rather than from published terms.
Two fees ride on top of funding. Depositing a card through Apple Pay or Google Pay costs 0.70% on all plans. Buying bitcoin that is not paid for from the cash account costs an extra 0.70%, and the page is inconsistent about how that applies to the Plus plan. Bitcoin purchase fees themselves are the tiered numbers in the table above.
Withdrawal is the one piece of the funding picture the card pages simply do not cover. Trustpilot users mention bank-transfer withdrawals handled through support, but no fee and no rule about what balance you need to leave behind was found. If you are planning to keep money on this balance and move it out, ask first, in writing, before you rely on it.
And a word about the wider category, because it applies to anyone tempted to send a transfer before checking the network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card company.
Paying with it every day
Apple Pay has worked since 30 June 2026, from app version 3.10.0. Google Pay is in development and not yet available. That is the practical shape of daily use in France in 2026: a physical Visa in your wallet, your phone for contactless and online payments, and a cash machine when you need notes. A virtual card is planned, not yet available, which means that today there is no way to create a single-use card number for an online shop you are not sure about.
The app itself rates well where it could be measured. On the French iOS App Store listing, 4.79 from 11,152 ratings, read on 2026-10-21. The Google Play listing was not read, so treat that figure as one platform’s view.
The feature that makes this card interesting rather than merely ordinary is Stackback: cashback paid in bitcoin, once the purchase has fully settled. Without activation the base rate is 0.1% on Standard and 0.15% on Plus, with a minimum of 1 satoshi. With automatic savings switched on — recurring buys or round-ups — the rate goes up, to as much as 1% on Standard and 1.5% on Plus, capped by what you saved the previous month, after which it falls back to the base rate. Since 10 August 2026, round-ups count toward that Stackback tier. Excluded from the reward are peer-to-peer transfers and top-ups, ATM withdrawals, gambling and cash equivalents, loan repayments, government payments, and some securities purchases. That exclusion list matters: several of those categories are precisely where someone keeping bitcoin would most like to earn bitcoin back.
Whether merchants accept your card is a separate matter from whether the card works. A card number begins with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that says which institution and country issued it, and merchants can look that up and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some shops decline prepaid or foreign BINs on the basis of that lookup alone. Blocked merchant categories for spending on this card are not stated by Bitstack, so you cannot pre-check them.
What can go wrong
The honest headline here is that I found no official incidents. The complaints I read are the ordinary ones, and they cluster around timing rather than fraud.
From user reports on Trustpilot in 2026: withdrawal to bank and support delays in July, an identity-verification rejection without explanation in July, and card delivery delays in June, plus one report of low limits and no Apple Pay working at some merchants. Trustpilot stands at 4.3 out of 5 from 1,417 reviews, read on 2026-10-21. The pattern is not theft or insolvency; it is slowness and a card that arrives later than the estimate suggested.
The structural risks sit underneath those. Bitstack is custodial: your funds sit in a Bitstack account, not in a wallet you hold the keys to. That means you trust the provider completely, and you carry the counterparty and hack risk that goes with it — a real record of failure in this category includes Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network. Within that arrangement, the safeguards are sensible: strong authentication on every payment, instant card freeze in the app, fixed limits, and funds held through regulated payment infrastructure via the e-money partner Xpollens. There is no built-in insurance, which is worth saying plainly. If a provider fails or freezes your account, there is no product on this card that covers you.
The entity structure is the reassurance. Bitstack Digital Assets SAS is registered in the Aix-en-Provence trade register under number 899 125 090, with an office in Meyreuil, France. It acts as an agent of Xpollens, an electronic money institution authorised by ACPR, and it is registered as a crypto-asset service provider with the AMF under number A2025-003. The card itself was issued by BPCE — Banque Populaire Caisse d’Epargne. So the money sits with a supervised e-money institution and the plastic comes from a bank. That is a materially different position from a brand that prints its own card numbers.
Support is a FAQ and help centre, a Telegram community and a contact page. Hours are not stated. That is worth weighing against the July reports of support delays: if your card is the thing you depend on to reach your bitcoin, knowing when someone is actually on the other end of the line matters.
If a payment goes wrong, here is the procedure, because it is specific and it involves two phone numbers. You can freeze the card in the app first, which is optional but sensible. Then you make a mandatory opposition call to +33 9 69 32 00 61, saying the card was issued by BPCE, and then call +33 9 69 39 03 49 to open a contestation case, which BPCE handles. The window is 13 months from the date the payment settled.
One last thing that is easy to miss. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. When money is tight, a card that works perfectly can still leave you short for a week.
What to take instead
If the Bitstack restriction is the problem — that is, if you are not a resident of France — the comparison below is with cards that are open more widely. These are not the same product, and I am not claiming one is better; they are answers to a different question.
| Bitstack | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Morse | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score here | 5.5 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 |
| Who can get it | Residents of France, overseas territories included | Not residents or registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list reviewed case by case | Not stated | Residents of supported countries, 18+, app in over 140 countries; closed beta with an invite code in American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, United Kingdom, Western Sahara |
| Card | Physical Visa Classic debit card, euros | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, physical “coming soon”, pays in USD | Multicurrency, Mastercard network, physical/virtual not stated | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit for now |
| Cost | EUR 9.99 plus delivery, no monthly subscription | $5 one-time virtual issuance, no maintenance fee; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | No annual fee; issuance not stated | Not stated — “Fees may apply. See Cardholder Agreement” |
| FX and use | Free on the first EUR 1,000 a month, then about 1% on the excess at the Visa rate | Free in USD; otherwise Visa rate plus 2% | No foreign transaction fee, “live OTC rates”, “no hidden exchange fees” | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, real-time Visa rate |
| Funding | Euro balance; sell bitcoin in the app; deposit coins and networks not stated | USDC or USDT 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow; networks not stated | Not stated | Debit card, stablecoin transfer, account details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP (BRL needs a Brazilian CPF); USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana free, other tokens and chains cost a fee; self-custodial wallet |
| Rewards | Stackback in bitcoin, base 0.1% Standard / 0.15% Plus, boosted up to 1% / 1.5% | No cashback stated | “Spend-to-Earn” up to 3% | Not stated on the card pages |
| Currency you spend | Euros, from a French cash account | US dollars | Multicurrency | Any currency, from Morse Balance |
Three observations. First, the score gap between Bitstack and Morse is almost entirely the access rule: Morse is a virtual card open to residents of over 140 countries, while Bitstack is a physical card open to residents of one. Second, none of these is a bank in the sense you can deposit into, and the category has a history worth keeping in view — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Third, if you are outside France and outside the excluded-country list, the International Visa Card is the closest in shape to Bitstack’s promise, though it spends dollars rather than euros and charges 2% on foreign currency rather than 1% above a threshold.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to exactly one person: a resident of France who already holds bitcoin, wants to hold some of it long-term rather than selling on a schedule, and would like a euro Visa to spend from while the position stays put. For that person it is a good card at a fair price, with a real bank behind the plastic and an AMF-registered operator behind the account.
I would not recommend it to anyone outside France, including EU citizens — residence is the test, and waiting on a waitlist is a bad plan. I would not recommend it to a frequent traveller: EUR 1,000 a month of free foreign currency and a EUR 5,000 monthly card ceiling are not travel numbers. I would not recommend it as your only card, given the fixed limits that cannot be changed and the fact that support hours are not published. And I would not recommend it to anyone who wants their own keys, because this is a custodial balance and there is no insurance behind it.
If you are in that first group, the thing to do before you order is small: check that the order button is actually visible in your Cash tab, and if you plan to move money off the balance, get the withdrawal rules in writing from support first, since the card pages do not publish them.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitstack card?
It is a physical Visa Classic debit card that spends euros from the cash balance inside your Bitstack account. It behaves more like a prepaid card than a bank debit card, because it draws on a stored balance rather than a bank account. You can also add it to Apple Pay, which has worked since 30 June 2026, and withdraw cash from ATMs. Payments funded through Apple Pay or Google Pay cost 0.70% to deposit.
Is Bitstack a bank?
No. Bitstack Digital Assets SAS is a French company registered in the Aix-en-Provence trade register under number 899 125 090, acting as an agent of Xpollens, an electronic money institution authorised by ACPR, and registered as a crypto-asset service provider with the AMF under number A2025-003. The plastic itself was issued by BPCE. So there is a bank on the card, but the account is e-money, not a bank deposit.
Who owns Bitstack?
Bitstack Digital Assets SAS, with an office in Meyreuil in France. The card page also names Xpollens as the e-money institution whose licence Bitstack operates under, and BPCE as the card issuer. Those three names separate the crypto brand, the regulated e-money side, and the bank that produces the card.
Which countries can get the Bitstack card?
France only, and the pages say “available exclusively to residents of France”, overseas territories included. The test is residence rather than citizenship. Rollout is gradual, so the order option may not be visible in the Cash tab immediately, and other EU countries are on a waitlist according to starting data.
Does the Bitstack card require KYC?
The card’s own pages do not publish a document checklist, so the specific answer is not stated there. What is clear is the legal frame: EU rules require due diligence covering name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation and a sanctions check. A user report from July 2026 describes a verification ending in rejection, with Bitstack replying that decisions follow regulatory requirements.
How much does the Bitstack card cost?
The help article lists EUR 9.99 for the card plus a variable delivery fee, and says there is no monthly subscription. The pricing page is less tidy, showing Standard at EUR 14.97 or 14.98 with delivery included and a Plus plan at EUR 9.99 monthly that includes free shipping. Check the live total at checkout rather than relying on either figure.
What are the Bitstack card fees and limits?
Up to EUR 1,000 of foreign-currency spending a month carries no extra fee, and above that about 1% applies to the excess at the Visa rate. Card deposits through Apple Pay or Google Pay cost 0.70% on all plans. ATM withdrawals are free up to EUR 200 a month or five withdrawals, then the higher of EUR 1 or 1%. Card payments cap at EUR 5,000 a month and cannot be changed.
How do I top up the Bitstack card?
The card spends euros from the cash account, so you fund it by selling bitcoin in the app rather than by sending coins to the card. Which coins and networks can be deposited, the minimum top-up, and who pays network fees are not stated on the card pages. Withdrawals are also not covered there — user reports mention bank transfers arranged through support, with no published fee.
Is the Bitstack card safe?
The company behind it is properly registered and supervised, the funds run through a regulated e-money partner, and there are sensible safeguards: strong authentication on every payment, instant card freeze in the app, and fixed limits. Against that, the balance is custodial rather than self-custody, there is no built-in insurance, and support hours are not published. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,417 reviews.
Does the Bitstack card work abroad?
Within limits, yes — this is a Visa, so it works anywhere Visa is accepted. But it is priced for France: free foreign currency only up to EUR 1,000 a month, international payments capped at EUR 1,000 a month on Standard and EUR 3,000 on Plus, and ATM withdrawals limited to EUR 200 a week and EUR 1,000 a month. Expect declines and fees outside a French shopping pattern.
App and neobank cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
