Ethena Pay card, a self-custody Visa spending USDe in 48 countries
Ethena Pay is a Visa card issued for holders of USDe, the dollar-denominated token that sits at the centre of the Ethena protocol. The card spends a USDe balance held in a self-custody wallet, which is the part that makes it different from most crypto cards on the market: the funds do not move to a custodian when you load them, because the wallet you spend from stays in your control. The trade-off is that the service is young, gated by invitation, and the company behind it does not hold a financial-services licence of its own.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Ethena Pay earns 6.7 / 10 in this review. The strongest parts are the everyday-use and cost design: a virtual card is generated in about a minute, added to Apple Pay, and the account has no monthly fee, no minimum balance and no inactivity fee. The weaker parts are the funding side, where the supported coins and networks are not listed publicly, and the company transparency, where the issuer is not named in the official Terms and the operator openly says it is not licensed.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Invitation-only beta across 48 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia and the Middle East, Africa and Oceania; the United States is not eligible |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Virtual issuance, account opening and monthly maintenance are free; FX on non-USD spending is “typically around 1.0%” at network rate; ATM cash withdrawal is $1.00 plus 0.65% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Self-custody wallet with USDe and other supported digital assets as collateral; spending debits the USDe balance; funding partners MoonPay and Iron are mentioned but the coins and networks are not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The operator is Ethena Pay Ltd. in Malta (company number C114576) and says it is not licensed; the official Terms do not name a card issuer; the beta opened with 400 users and no public complaints have surfaced |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual card live in about a minute with Apple Pay; physical cards in Standard, Pro and VIP tiers; ATM withdrawals available; Google Pay is described as “available soon” |
The card suits holders of USDe and other crypto collateral who already self-custody and want to spend a stable balance through a Visa rail. It suits people in the 48 covered countries who can get an invite. It does not suit US residents, does not suit anyone who needs a clearly named licensed issuer on day one, and does not suit a reader who wants published coin and network lists before signing up.
Who can get the Ethena Pay card
The card is in a private beta. Ethena Pay accepts users from 48 countries and excludes the United States. The full list runs across five regions:
- Latin America (17): Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay.
- Caribbean (12).
- Asia and Middle East (8): Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, the United Arab Emirates.
- Africa (9): Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Senegal, South Africa, Uganda, Zambia.
- Oceania (2): Australia, New Zealand.
The list is described as countries where the service is offered, not necessarily where it is licensed. The Terms also define a set of “Restricted Jurisdictions” (clause 4.6), which include Belarus and Russia. If you are “located in, ordinarily resident in, established in, or accessing the Services from” one of those jurisdictions, access is restricted. That is a residence and access test rather than a citizenship test, so the rule follows where you actually are when you sign in.
The card is not offered to U.S. persons, regardless of where they live. If you are a US citizen abroad, the rule reads as applying to the “U.S. persons” definition rather than to your physical location, so plan for it to be a hard stop.
Age is 18+ (Terms 4.8). One account per person. KYC is run by Ethena Pay or by Sumsub as a third-party verification provider, and may include a government-issued photo ID, proof of address, source-of-funds information, tax details and biometric or liveness data. The Terms add that “passing checks does not guarantee approval” — verification passing the technical step does not bind the company to actually open the account. Third-party editorial coverage also notes this uncertainty explicitly, so it is worth treating the verification step as a checkpoint, not a guarantee.
How to get the Ethena Pay card
The signup flow is short. You register, pass verification, and the app generates a virtual card in about a minute, ready to add to Apple Pay. The card runs on the Visa network, settles in USD, and the company describes the iOS app as currently in beta.
Physical cards are offered in three tiers: Standard, Pro and VIP. The official pages do not give a delivery time, a shipping cost, or a country-by-country rollout for the physical card, so if a plastic card matters to you, treat the timing as a question to ask the support team rather than something to read off the website.
A note that matters: a third-party source (CryptoCardHub, September 2026) says the card is currently virtual-only and no physical card is being issued yet, which disagrees with the official pages that list physical Standard, Pro and VIP tiers. Treat the official position as the more reliable one, but be ready for the physical card to roll out gradually within the beta.
What the Ethena Pay card really costs (Fees)
The headline cost numbers are friendly. Virtual card issuance, replacement and activation are free. Account opening and monthly maintenance are free. There is no minimum balance and no inactivity fee. The card’s published economics live mostly in the FX line, the ATM line and the late-payment line.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance, replacement, activation | Free |
| Account opening and monthly maintenance | Free |
| Minimum balance | None |
| Inactivity fee | None |
| FX on non-USD spending | “Typically around 1.0%” at network rate |
| Cross-border fee | None |
| Domestic USD purchase fee | None |
| Interest on purchases | 0.00% |
| Late payment fee | Up to $40 |
| Returned payment fee | Up to $29 |
| Cash withdrawal at ATM | $1.00 plus 0.65% of the amount |
| Third-party fees (gas, funding partners) | Charged separately, not set by Ethena Pay |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
A few things deserve attention. The 1.0% FX number is described as “typically around” the network rate; it is what the network charges passed through, not a cap, so a particularly expensive settlement day for the card network will show up on your statement rather than being absorbed. The “no cross-border fee” is a Visa-side convention, but it does not mean a free ride — the FX spread on the underlying conversion is the cost. ATM cash withdrawals cost $1.00 plus 0.65% on top of any surcharge the ATM operator itself adds, and availability depends on where your tier and balance allow it. Third-party editorial coverage also flags a Philippines-based user report that the app quoted a $10 charge for a first card; the official fee schedule shows the virtual card as free, and the company has treated that as an isolated incident, so take it as a data point rather than a published fee.
The cashback scheme works on top of all this. Cashback is paid in AVAX after settlement, daily, and the bands differ by tier:
- Standard: 4% on the first $2,500 of monthly spend, 1% on $2,500–$4,000, 0% above that.
- Pro: 4.5% up to $8,000, then 2%, 1%, 0.5%.
- VIP: 5% up to $20,000, then 2%, 1%, 0.5%.
Transactions under $1.00 earn no cashback. Refunds reverse the cashback and drop out of the monthly spend calculation. Cash advances, ATM withdrawals, crypto, stablecoin, NFT and securities purchases, gambling, gift cards, peer-to-peer transfers and account funding are excluded from cashback. The Daily Boost balance cap (the extra yield on your collateral) is $5,000 for Standard, $100,000 for Pro and $1,000,000 for VIP, and earning it needs at least one card transaction a month.
What does this look like in practice? Three everyday examples:
- Buying coffee with USD. No FX, no domestic fee, no interest. If you are on Standard and you are still inside your $2,500 monthly band, you earn 4% in AVAX. The AVAX is paid after settlement, not at the till, and it is held for a moment before you can claim it, so the cashback is real but not instant.
- Buying a train ticket in euros in Europe. A non-USD transaction. The Visa network converts at its rate, and Ethena Pay passes through “around 1.0%” on top. Cashback still applies on the dollar value, but the AVAX is paid against the converted dollar amount.
- Withdrawing local cash from an ATM. $1.00 flat plus 0.65% of the amount, plus whatever the ATM operator charges on its own. Cashback is excluded, so the cost is paid in cash, not earned back.
How to top up the Ethena Pay card
The funding model is the most unusual part of Ethena Pay and the part where the public information is thinnest.

You hold your crypto in a self-custody wallet under your own keys. The wallet can hold USDe and “other supported digital assets as collateral”. When you spend, the card debits your USDe balance, and the other assets on the wallet act as collateral that backs the spending power. The app is described as having launched on Avalanche (per a The Defiant headline), and funding partners MoonPay and Iron are mentioned as on-ramps if you do not already hold the right tokens. Coins and networks are not listed on the public pages, so the practical answer to “how do I fund this?” depends on what the app shows you once you are in.
Three rules to keep in mind for the top-up side:
- P2P transfers between Ethena Pay users are free. Moving USDe to another user on the platform does not attract a published fee.
- Third-party costs are separate. Network gas fees, MoonPay’s fees and Iron’s fees are charged by those providers, not by Ethena Pay, so the total cost of funding depends on the chain, the asset and the partner you use.
- Minimums are not stated. There is no published minimum top-up, but the spending power on the card is shaped by the collateral value, and editorial coverage describes a dynamic spending limit that can shrink — even to zero — if the value of your collateral moves against you. Treat the published limits as the starting position, not a fixed ceiling.
Sending crypto to the wrong network is the most common way to lose funds on a card like this. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and tokens sent on a network the app does not support, or to an address belonging to a different chain, can be lost or only recoverable through manual support work that the platform is not obliged to do. Check the network inside the app before you send.
Paying with the Ethena Pay card every day
In day-to-day use, the card is built for mobile wallets. Apple Pay is supported, and Google Pay is described as “available soon” on the official pages. The virtual card can be added to Apple Pay within about a minute of generation, and from there it behaves like a normal Visa token: a device-specific number is stored in the Secure Element of the phone, each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code, and the actual card number never leaves the device. The downside is that until Google Pay is available, the card’s contactless story on Android is incomplete.
Apple Pay tokenisation has a useful side effect for security: the issuer can block the tokenised number in specific channels, for example blocking magnetic-stripe fallback on a phone-stored card, and the merchant only ever sees the token. If you lose the phone, the freeze happens on the token rather than on the card itself.
Where the card will and will not work in practice is shaped by two policies:
- Blocked categories are not stated in the public Terms. That is unusual for a card aimed at crypto users, and it is worth reading the in-app blocked list when you first set the card up rather than assuming an MCC will go through.
- Excluded from cashback: cash advances, ATM withdrawals, crypto, stablecoin, NFT and securities purchases, gambling, gift cards, peer-to-peer transfers and account funding.
The cashback math is a real feature, but it is a feature that rewards grocery, transport, dining and other everyday spend and not funding activity. The 4% on the first $2,500 in Standard is competitive against a lot of bank cards; the cliff at $4,000 (0% above) is the constraint, and the difference between Standard and Pro is what makes the subscription tier attractive if you spend more than a few thousand a month on the card.
The iPhone app is the only client in the beta. The official app store ratings are not part of the public facts, and a third-party report (Penchan) says the app is English-only and requires iOS 17 or later, with Android planned. Two third-party App Store ratings in Australia, both 5.0 as of 2 September 2026 (per CryptoCardHub), are the only signal we have outside the official channels. If you need an Android client on day one, this is not the card for that.
Disputes follow a familiar pattern. Refunded, charged-back or ineligible purchases reverse the cashback and drop out of the monthly spend calculation. Chargebacks can be deducted from your balance, and a negative balance remains your liability. Complaints by email to [email protected] are acknowledged in five business days, with a target final response in fifteen. The Terms do not publish a chargeback time frame, so if you need a specific window for a dispute, ask before you rely on it.
What can go wrong with the Ethena Pay card
Reading the small print and the company setup reveals a list of practical risks to weigh before you sign up.
1. The operator says it is not licensed. Ethena Pay Ltd. is a Maltese limited company, registration number C114576, based in Ta’ Xbiex. The official page states that the company is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators and that it works through “Third-Party Providers”. The official Terms do not name a card issuer. Two third-party sources (CryptoCardHub, September 2026, and The Defiant) name a Puerto Rico-chartered bank called Third National as the Visa issuer, with the programme managed by Signify Holdings (Rain). Those are unofficial sources, and the official Terms do not repeat them, so treat the issuer’s identity as not confirmed in the card’s own documents. What is confirmed is that the public-facing company is not itself a regulated financial institution.
2. Self-custody is the load-bearing assumption. Ethena Pay says it “doesn’t hold your funds, keys, or seed phrases” and provides no custodial or safeguarding services (Terms 4.4). The flip side is that if you lose your keys, no one can recover them for you, and a stolen seed phrase is an empty wallet. Phishing, clipboard-hijacking malware that rewrites addresses you copy, and fake apps are the everyday risks, and Ethena Pay’s role is to process payments, not to insure against them.
3. The spending limit is dynamic, not a printed number. The Terms say transaction limits “may be imposed and changed without notice”. Editorial coverage describes the limit as tied to the value of your collateral, with the ability to be reduced, even to zero, if the value moves. This is normal for a self-custody collateralised product and is the price of not having a custodian take the credit risk, but it is also the thing that will most often surprise a new user.
4. The supported coins and networks are not listed. The public pages name USDe and “supported digital assets” but not which ones, and not which networks they sit on. The app is reported to have launched on Avalanche, but that does not tell you which assets the funding partners MoonPay and Iron will route. Until that list is published, you are signing up on faith that the asset you already hold is one of the supported ones.
5. The blocked-merchant list is not stated publicly. Most crypto cards publish a list of MCCs the card will not work on, because gambling and cash-advance MCCs in particular tend to be excluded. Ethena Pay has not published one. The in-app list is the source of truth, and a “no published list” answer today is not the same as a “no blocks” answer.
6. Stablecoins can depeg. USDe is the spending asset, and the “stable” in stablecoin is a design goal rather than a guarantee. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. If USDe were to depeg, the spending power of the card would change with it, and the cashback denominated in AVAX would be paid against a different dollar value than the one you saw at the till.
7. Network fee risk on top-ups. Gas, bandwidth and third-party partner fees are charged by the underlying networks and on-ramps, not by Ethena Pay. A poorly chosen network or a busy chain can eat a meaningful slice of a small top-up, and once a transfer is sent on the wrong network it is essentially irrecoverable.
8. The track record is short. The card opened as a private beta with 400 early users, and no Trustpilot or Reddit presence was found in a single search. A single user report describes a quoted $10 first-card charge (CryptoCardHub, September 2026); the company has treated it as isolated, and the published fee schedule shows the virtual card as free. A short track record is not a complaint, but it is a reason to size your balance to what you can afford to test, not to what you need to live on.
9. Programme-closure risk is real for the category. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and every programme it had issued was closed. Programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop loading, then stop spending, and then ask users to withdraw. A card in a 400-user beta is a smaller programme than FTX, but the structure of the risk is the same.
10. Tax is on you, not the card. In the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending crypto through a card is generally a taxable disposal measured in fiat at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Other countries apply their own rules. The card will not withhold, report or compute this for you.
What to take instead of the Ethena Pay card
If the issuer not being named in the Terms, the lack of a published coin and network list, or the 48-country rollout is a blocker, three other cards in the same self-custody neighbourhood are worth comparing. Scores are out of 10 in their own reviews.
Sponge — 4.9 / 10
Sponge is a virtual card created by a createSpongeCard call, described on the homepage as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and accepted wherever Visa is accepted. Funding works by moving USDC collateral out of the Sponge wallet with a card fund command (example chain: Base; the SDK also lists Solana as an option). The card is virtual only. The cost, FX and reward sides are not stated on the public pages, and the country list is not stated beyond a general minimum age of 13 on the platform terms. As a comparison point, Sponge is the smallest, least documented of the three.
Xplace — 7.7 / 10
Xplace offers both a virtual card, instant on issue, and a physical card in Silver (live), with Gold and Platinum “coming soon” and 7–14 business days for delivery once issued. The card runs on Visa and is accepted in 160+ countries. Two modes are available: Cash mode, which spends the stablecoin balance directly, and Credit mode, which borrows against holdings. Annual fees by tier are Basic free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249 a year, Platinum $999 a year. Borrowing has no origination fee. FX is 0% on Platinum, with the other tiers not stated. Funding accepts BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks, and runs on the Solana network. Cashback in Credit mode is paid in USDC: Basic 0.5%, Silver 1%, Gold 1.5%, Platinum 2%. Cash-mode cashback is not stated. The country list is not published, and the public page says only that “services are not available in all jurisdictions”.
ether.fi — 6.7 / 10
ether.fi issues virtual and physical Visa cards to residents of an explicit jurisdiction list: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, the UAE, the UK, plus 31 US states. Belgium and Ireland are eligible without physical delivery. “If your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply”. ATM withdrawals are blocked in North Korea, Iran and Myanmar. The card has named tiers: Core, Luxe, Pinnacle, VIP, plus a Business tier. Core members normally get one free virtual card; in a list of regional-pricing countries the first virtual card costs $10. FX on top of the base rate is Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none; EUR purchases have a 0% FX line. Cashback is paid in ETHFI, locked for 7 days and then claimable: Core 3% up to $2,000 a month then 1% to $3,000 then 0.5%; Luxe 3% up to $10,000; Pinnacle 3% up to $50,000; Business 1%. ATM, cash advances, peer-to-peer and gambling MCCs are excluded from cashback. Funding accepts “any supported token” into the user’s Safe (Credit mode) or Direct Pay from the balance; the coin and network list is not stated.
How the four compare
| Card | Score | Where it works | Funding model | Cashback | Issuer transparency |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ethena Pay | 6.7 | 48 countries, US excluded | Self-custody USDe + collateral; coins and networks not listed | AVAX, daily, tiered (4–5% headroom) | Operator not licensed; issuer not named in Terms |
| Sponge | 4.9 | Country list not stated | USDC from Sponge wallet, Base or Solana | Not stated | Rain named as issuer on the homepage |
| Xplace | 7.7 | 160+ Visa countries, jurisdiction list not stated | BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana | USDC, 0.5–2% by tier | Issuer not named in the public facts |
| ether.fi | 6.7 | Named country list + 31 US states | “Any supported token” in user’s Safe | ETHFI, 3% headroom with monthly cap | Issuer not named in the public facts |
The headline is that Xplace is the strongest of the three alternatives on transparency around rewards and on the breadth of the Visa acceptance, with a published annual fee by tier and a 0% FX line on Platinum. ether.fi is the strongest on the named jurisdiction list and on tier disclosure, with a 0% FX line for EUR purchases and a clear cashback ladder. Sponge is the leanest: a virtual card, a USDC funding path on a couple of named chains, and a published issuer (Rain), but with very little public detail on the cost, FX or reward side. Ethena Pay’s distinctive feature, the self-custody USDe spending model, has no exact equivalent in the comparison set.
Who I would recommend the Ethena Pay card to
Three reader profiles fit the card well, and three do not.
It fits if:
- You already hold USDe or plan to hold it as part of a yield strategy and want a way to spend the balance without going through a centralised exchange. The self-custody angle is the main reason to choose Ethena Pay over a custodial competitor.
- You live in one of the 48 covered countries and you can get an invite. The 48-country list is wide across Latin America, the Caribbean, Asia and the Middle East, Africa and Oceania, and the card has no published monthly fee, no minimum balance and no inactivity fee, so a small balance is a workable balance.
- You want a card you can have on Apple Pay within a minute. The virtual card flow is the strongest everyday-use feature in the product, and the 4% on the first $2,500 a month on Standard is competitive for everyday spend if you stay inside the band.
It does not fit if:
- You are a US person. The exclusion is hard, and there is no workaround in the Terms.
- You need a named, regulated card issuer in the public Terms before you sign up. Ethena Pay’s own page says it is not licensed, and the Terms do not name the issuer. The third-party sources that name Third National and Signify Holdings (Rain) are unofficial and disagree with the silence in the official documents.
- You need published coin and network lists, an Android client on day one, a Google Pay integration, or a clear blocked-merchant list. The public facts do not cover any of these, and “not stated” today is not the same as “supported” tomorrow.
If those three things do not block you, the card is a credible first product. If any of them does, the alternatives section above is the next place to look.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Ethena Pay card?
The Ethena Pay card is a Visa card that spends a USDe stablecoin balance held in a self-custody wallet. The card itself is issued in USD, and non-USD spending is converted at the Visa network rate. It is offered by Ethena Pay Ltd., a Maltese company, and is currently in a private beta.
How does the Ethena Pay card work?
You keep your crypto in a self-custody wallet under your own keys, with USDe as the spending balance and other supported digital assets as collateral. When you pay, the card debits USDe and the merchant is settled in fiat through the Visa network. Cashback, if any, is paid in AVAX after settlement.
Is Ethena Pay a bank?
No. The company’s own page says Ethena Pay Ltd. is “not licensed, registered, authorized, or otherwise approved” by financial regulators and that it works through Third-Party Providers. The official Terms do not name the card issuer; third-party sources name Third National and Signify Holdings (Rain), but those are not confirmed in the card’s own documents.
Who owns Ethena Pay?
The operating company is Ethena Pay Ltd., a Maltese limited company with registration number C114576, registered in Ta’ Xbiex, Malta. The card runs on the Ethena protocol’s USDe token; ownership of the underlying protocol is a separate question and not covered in the card’s public documents.
Is the Ethena Pay card available in my country?
The card is offered in 48 countries across Latin America (17), the Caribbean (12), Asia and the Middle East (8), Africa (9) and Oceania (2), listed in full in the section above. The United States is excluded, and Belarus and Russia are listed as Restricted Jurisdictions under Terms clause 4.6.
How do I get the Ethena Pay card?
You register, pass verification (run by Ethena Pay or by Sumsub, with government ID, proof of address and possibly source-of-funds or biometric data), and the app generates a virtual card in about a minute, ready to add to Apple Pay. The card is currently in a private beta, so an invite is part of the process.
Does the Ethena Pay card require KYC?
Yes. Verification may include a government-issued photo ID, proof of address, source-of-funds information, tax details and biometric or liveness data. The Terms note that “passing checks does not guarantee approval”, and the minimum age is 18.
How do I top up the Ethena Pay card?
You hold USDe and other supported digital assets in a self-custody wallet and spend from the USDe balance. Funding partners MoonPay and Iron are mentioned as on-ramps if you do not already hold the right tokens. The app is reported to have launched on Avalanche; specific coins and networks are not listed publicly.
Is the Ethena Pay card free?
The virtual card is free to issue, replace and activate, and the account has no monthly fee, no minimum balance and no inactivity fee. Non-USD spending carries an FX cost “typically around 1.0%” passed through from the network, ATM withdrawals cost $1.00 plus 0.65%, and late or returned payments can cost up to $40 and $29 respectively.
Is the Ethena Pay card safe?
The card is built on a self-custody model: the company does not hold your funds, keys or seed phrases, which means you carry the key-loss and phishing risk yourself. The operator is not licensed, the issuer is not named in the official Terms, the public track record is short (a private beta opened to around 400 users), and the spending limit is dynamic and can be reduced if the value of your collateral moves.
Credit and cashback cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
