A virtual USDT-funded Mastercard with a two-tier fee schedule, one KYC check and a fair amount the card's own pages do not explain
The EMCD Payment card is a virtual Mastercard that you feed from a USDT balance inside the EMCD app. You top up in crypto, the crypto is converted to dollars, the dollars sit on the card, and the card spends them online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the whole mechanism. There is no physical card, no cash machine, no card number you can type into a top-up form, and no 3-D Secure — which is the single fact that will decide whether this card is useful to you or unusable.
I scored it 5.3 out of 10. The number is not a shrug. It is a card with one genuinely excellent trait and several genuinely poor ones, and the excellent trait — where it works — is excellent in a specific and narrow way. It works nearly everywhere Mastercard is accepted. Everything around that fact is thin.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who the EMCD Payment card suits, and who it does not
The card suits a narrow, specific person: someone who already holds USDT, already trusts the EMCD platform with that USDT, and wants to spend it online at merchants that take Mastercard without touching a bank. If that is you, the geography is not the obstacle. The card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, apart from thirteen named countries: Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. Whether that exclusion list is applied to your citizenship, your residence, or your current location is not stated, and the distinction matters a great deal if you are one of the people it touches.
Alongside that, the February 2026 press release describes the card as “available to eligible users in Latin America”, and publishes no country list at all. So the card’s own materials point in two directions: a broad exclusion list in the help centre, a regional framing in the announcement. If you are outside Latin America, nobody has told you plainly whether you qualify.
Who it does not suit is easier to enumerate.
- You need cash. There is no ATM, and cash withdrawals are not supported at all.
- You shop at merchants that demand 3-D Secure. The card does not support it, so those payments are declined.
- You want to hold a balance and take it back. The balance cannot be withdrawn to your EMCD account.
- You want a physical card. Only virtual cards exist.
- You want to know who issued it. The card’s own pages do not name the issuing bank or its country.
The score breakdown below is the honest version, criterion by criterion. Read the reasons, not just the numbers.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Plus $19 issuance, Premium $25, $5 monthly maintenance, 1.5% top-up, 1.5% + $0.50 purchase; the press release says “Issuance is free”, the help centre says otherwise |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Top-up from the internal USDT wallet, USDT converts to USD; networks not named, top-up by card number not possible |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The card is operated by KazeFi, EMCD “does not issue cards”; issuer country and licences not named; Light closed to issuance; Trustpilot emcd.io shows blocks after KYC, and no card reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard only, Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no ATM, no 3D Secure |
| Total | 5.3 / 10 | A wide map and a narrow, expensive wallet |
Will they give you the card?
Probably yes, if your country is not on the exclusion list. That is the most generous thing about this card and the reason its availability score is a 9 rather than something sadder.
The help centre states that the card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, with those thirteen countries excluded. It does not say whether the test is citizenship or residence, and I could not find that clarified anywhere the card publishes. If you hold a passport from an excluded country but live legally elsewhere, you have a genuine question that only support can answer.
Then there is the regional line. The press release of February 2026 announced the Mastercard-linked USDT card as available to eligible users in Latin America, with no country list attached. Two documents, two different shapes of promise. The safest reading is that the help-centre list is the operative one, and that “eligible” is doing quiet work in the release.
The minimum age is not stated either. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over across the industry, and some issuers set higher limits for their own products, but EMCD does not publish an age rule that I could find.
How to get it
The sequence is short and slightly unusual: you top up from the USDT wallet first, then the card is issued, and then you verify your identity. That is the reverse of the usual order, and it is worth sitting with — you are asked to move money before you have been verified as a person.
Identity verification is mandatory. A valid government-issued ID is required, and the check happens after the first top-up. If your documents are rejected, you can retry with a different document. If verification is still running after 30 minutes, the instruction is to contact support. Proof of address and age are not stated as requirements, and the number of KYC levels is not stated either — there is a single ID verification, processed normally in minutes, with escalation after 30.
The card itself is virtual only. In the card’s own words: “Currently, we only offer virtual cards — Plus and Premium”. It is a Mastercard, denominated in USD, valid for 2 years, with up to 2 active cards per user. Since there is no physical card, delivery is simply not part of the picture.
There are two tiers. Plus costs $19 to issue; Premium costs $25. A third tier, Light, is closed to new issuance — cards issued before July 2025 only.
One practical note that belongs here rather than later: the EMCD app is an iPhone and iPad app from developer Emcd Tech Limited, and in the Nepal storefront on the App Store it shows no rating — “not enough ratings” — when read on 21 October 2026. A Google Play build was not found. And the card is not available through the App Store build. That last detail is vague in the card’s materials and I could not resolve what it means for a real user, which is itself informative.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card is weakest, and where you need to read two documents rather than one.

The press release of 13 February 2026 says: “Issuance is free, with no monthly maintenance fee”, with additional fees under the Terms. The help centre says Plus costs $19 to issue and Premium $25, with $5 monthly maintenance. Those two cannot both be describing the product you would actually buy. The help-centre figures are the ones the table below uses, because they are the ones attached to specific numbers rather than to a summary.
Add the rest of the schedule and the picture settles: 1.5% to top up, 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase, $1.50 for a declined payment, $0.50 for a refund, $2.00 for a reversal, $35 for a chargeback, $15 to close the card, and a 3% conversion fee that may apply on purchases not in USD. A $19 or $25 issuance fee, then $5 a month, then 1.5% and $0.50 on every single purchase — that is a heavy stack for a payment card, and it is heavy before you have spent anything.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance, Plus | $19 |
| Issuance, Premium | $25 |
| Monthly fee | $5 |
| Top-up fee | 1.5% |
| Purchase fee | 1.5% + $0.50 |
| Declined payment | $1.50 |
| Refund | $0.50 |
| Reversal | $2.00 |
| Chargeback | $35 |
| Card closure | $15 |
| Currency conversion (non-USD purchases) | 3% may apply |
| ATM / cash withdrawal | Not available |
| Plus limits | $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 daily, $10,000 monthly |
| Premium limits | $10,000 per transaction, $50,000 daily, $400,000 monthly |
The legacy Light card, closed to new issuance, was cheaper in some ways and worth knowing only as a benchmark: 2.5% per top-up, $0.25 per purchase, no annual or monthly fee, a $2,000 monthly top-up limit and no spending limit.
Three everyday payments, priced out:
*A subscription at $9.99.* The purchase fee alone is $0.50 plus 1.5% — roughly $0.65 on $9.99. Paid monthly, that is about $7.80 a year before the $5 monthly fee, so a monthly fee plus a purchase fee stacking on a small purchase is where the model hurts most. If you are subscribing to anything cheap, this card is the wrong instrument.
*Groceries for $120.* Purchase fee: 1.80 plus 0.50, so $2.30. Plus any conversion fee if the merchant prices in another currency — the 3% may apply, which on $120 would be $3.60 more.
*Anything declined.* $1.50 for the decline. Since the card has no 3-D Secure, a merchant that requires it will decline, and you pay $1.50 for finding out.
How to top up
There is one route, and it is the internal one. You top up manually from the USDT wallet inside EMCD, through the card menu. USDT converts to USD on the way in. The help centre does not name the networks, so you cannot check from the card’s own pages which chain your transfer should travel on — and blockchain transfers are irreversible, which makes an unnamed network a genuinely expensive omission rather than a small one. Top-up by card number is not possible, so you cannot move funds in from an exchange or another card using the card’s details.

The first top-up has a floor and a hitch: a minimum of $20, of which $15 is held as a security reserve until your total spending exceeds $2,500. So the $20 you send does not all become spendable money on day one. Top-up fee is 1.5% on Plus and Premium. Top-ups and issuance typically complete in 3–5 minutes. Who pays the network fee is not stated, and fiat top-up is not available at all — funding is USDT only.
You cannot get the money back. There is no withdrawal of the card balance to your EMCD account. Whatever remains is refunded only when you close the card, converted to USDT, and closing costs $15. So the exit from this card costs you $15, and until you exit, the money is only useful for spending.
One more closing condition to know about, taken from the Light article: the bank may close cards holding $20 or less, or after 30 days of inactivity. Whether that threshold applies to Plus and Premium is not stated, but the logic of it — a small balance and a dormant card — is worth assuming.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a virtual card in a phone wallet. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported. You add the card through the wallet app and choose email verification; if the app asks you for a phone call, support is the stated route. The mobile wallets are the point: they replace the card number with a device-specific number and use a one-time code per payment, which is a genuine security improvement over typing numbers into sites.
But the constraint dominates everything else. 3-D Secure is not supported. Visa’s version is called Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is called Identity Check, and the whole mechanism is an identity step added to online payments where the issuer assesses risk and either approves it or challenges you with a code or a biometric check. Without it, any merchant configured to require it will decline your payment. Merchants can also decline prepaid and foreign BINs on their own judgement, because the issuer lookup reveals the card type and issuing country — and the card’s pages do not tell you what country that is.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated. That is a real gap: gambling is the classic one, coded MCC 7995, which many issuers block by policy rather than law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Here you have no list to consult at all.
Rewards: no cashback is mentioned in the card help articles or in the press release. Spending-limit controls are not yet available, which on a card with a 3% possible conversion fee is the control you would most want.
Spending limits are the one place the tiers differ meaningfully. Plus: $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 daily, $10,000 monthly. Premium: $10,000 per transaction, $50,000 daily, $400,000 monthly. The card balance is in USD and you can pay in any currency, with conversion automatic and the 3% fee potentially applying.
If a charge goes wrong, the fees are published even though the timelines are not: refund $0.50, reversal $2.00, chargeback $35, with no time frames stated. If USDT was deducted but the card was never credited, support asks for the last four digits, the date and the amount.
What can go wrong
Let us start with the structural risk, because it is unusual and it is the thing to understand first.
The card is not issued by the company whose app you use. The card is operated by KazeFi under its regulatory authorisations, while EMCD states that it “does not issue cards, process payments, or convert crypto to fiat”. The press release is datelined Hong Kong. EMCD and Emcd Tech Limited are the app-developer name on the App Store. The registration country, the issuing bank, the issuing country and the licences are all not stated.
This matters because a card sits on a chain of parties: the network (Mastercard) routes the messages and sets the rules; the issuer — a bank or an e-money institution licensed under the network’s licence — holds the card programme; the crypto brand is often just a programme manager or front end. Here, two of those three are named in general terms and one is not named at all. If something goes wrong with your card, you do not know from the published pages which institution is legally answerable for it.
The balance is not a bank account. The card balance is separate from your Main account, and it is not a bank account. The custody model and how funds are safeguarded are not stated, and neither are 2FA or an in-app freeze. There are no spending-limit controls yet. In Europe, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, but such funds are not bank deposits and are generally outside deposit guarantee schemes. Whether anything comparable applies here, and who holds your USDT while you hold the card, is exactly the sort of thing you would want written down.
Programmes close. This is not hypothetical for this company: the Light card is closed to new issuance, with cards issued before July 2025 only. Closures in this category follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then a request to withdraw remaining balances. When you pick a crypto card you are picking a programme that a network or a regulator can switch off.
Trustpilot tells you about the platform, not the card. Read on 21 October 2026, the emcd.io Trustpilot page shows 190 reviews, 83% five-star and 11% one-star, with the overall rating unavailable “due to a breach of our guidelines”. The themes users report are account blocks and bans after KYC (November 2025, March 2026), slow verification (November 2025) and missing bonuses (November 2025). Not one of the card complaints on that page is about the card. Press search found no independent complaints about the card itself. So: the platform has a documented pattern of accounts being frozen after verification, and the card has no public complaint record either way.
Irreversible transfers and a security gap. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit on a network the provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to another network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. And the networks are not named. On the other side of the coin, stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Dating the announcement is messier than it looks. The press release is dated 13 February 2026 and announces the Mastercard-linked USDT card for Latin America while noting that Light cards are no longer issued. A separate announcement is dated November 2025. Sources differ on the date.
What to take instead
If the EMCD card’s appeal is “spend USDT online from a virtual card, without a bank’s permission”, then these are the same bet taken elsewhere. Here is how they compare, and where each one is worse.
| EMCD Payment | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.3 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Who it targets | Mastercard-wide except 13 named countries; release says Latin America | Nigeria — “Nigerians and global users”; no exclusions stated | No country list; app says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) | Ships to “200+ countries”; terms bar sanctioned-country residents and orders |
| Card type | Virtual Mastercard, USD, 2 years, up to 2 active | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated on the app page; USD or EUR | Virtual and physical Classic, Premium and metal; virtual included with every physical order |
| Issuance | $19 Plus / $25 Premium | “Creating a virtual card is completely free” | Not stated | $49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium; physical and metal not listed |
| Monthly fee | $5 | Not stated | Not stated | None — no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee |
| Top-up fee | 1.5% | Not stated | Not stated | Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1% |
| FX / conversion | 3% may apply on non-USD purchases | Not stated | Not stated | Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%, shown before each top-up |
| Funding | USDT from internal wallet only; networks not stated; no top-up by card number | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Crypto deposit such as USDT, BTC, ETH; converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated | 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch); deposit address per card; wrong chain risks permanent loss |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback on spending: Classic 0.8% (cap 10 USDT/month), Premium 1%, Metal 1.2%–2% (caps 100–250 USDT/month); up to 18% variable on balances |
| Cashback cap clarity | — | — | — | Published |
Read that table honestly, because each row has a way of being misleading.
CardFlow is the cheapest to open and the thinnest on disclosure. “Creating a virtual card is completely free” is a good line; the monthly fee, the fees and the country rules are simply not stated. Its audience is explicitly Nigeria, with no exclusion list published.
HyperCard is the vaguest. No country list on the official pages, no network named on the app store page, no fees at all. “More than 176 countries” is where the card is accepted, which is not the same question as who can open one.
Card.fi is the one with the most published detail and the best score. It publishes issuance prices, states there is no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee, quotes top-up and FX fees per tier, shows the conversion fee before each top-up, names five networks and 32 coins, and publishes actual cashback rates with caps. It is also the only one of the four that says cards are issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes” without naming Visa or Mastercard, and the only one that will lose your money outright if you pick the wrong chain — deposit addresses are per card, and a wrong-chain transfer risks permanent loss.
EMCD’s genuine advantages over these three: the widest published acceptance map with a named exclusion list, and the cheapest top-up percentage among the options with published figures, at a flat 1.5%. Its genuine disadvantages: a monthly fee the alternatives do not charge, an issuance fee that its own press release says does not exist, USDT-only funding from an internal wallet with no network named, and no cashback at all.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to one person in particular: someone already inside the EMCD platform who holds USDT there, spends it online at ordinary merchants, wants Apple Pay and Google Pay, and has accepted that the money is going in and not coming out until they close the card and pay $15 to do it. For that person, paying a flat 1.5% to load a card that works across almost the whole Mastercard map is defensible.
I would steer everyone else elsewhere. To a Card.fi user who wants fees and cashback published rather than inferred, and who will read the network list before transferring. To someone who needs cash or who shops where 3-D Secure is mandatory — EMCD simply cannot serve them. To anyone planning to keep money on the card rather than spend it, because there is no withdrawal, no named issuer, no stated safeguarding model and no 2FA or in-app freeze mentioned anywhere.
The thing I would want a reader to take away is not a verdict but a habit: on every page of this card’s site, the answer to “who issues this and under what licence” is silence, and the answer to “this is free” is contradicted three pages later. Check the current fee page yourself before you transfer anything. The press release and the help centre do not agree, and only one of them will charge you.
Frequently asked questions
What is the EMCD Payment card?
It is a virtual Mastercard that spends from a USD balance you load from USDT inside the EMCD app. There is no physical version: the card’s help centre says “Currently, we only offer virtual cards — Plus and Premium”. The balance is in USD, the card is valid for 2 years, and you can hold up to 2 active cards. It works wherever Mastercard is accepted, apart from thirteen named countries.
How does the EMCD Payment card work?
You top up from your internal USDT wallet, the USDT converts to USD, and the card spends that dollar balance. You can pay in any currency and conversion is automatic, though a 3% conversion fee may apply on non-USD purchases. Top-ups and card issuance typically take 3–5 minutes. First top-up minimum is $20, of which $15 is held as a security reserve until your total spending exceeds $2,500.
Who owns EMCD Payment, and who issues the card?
Not the same answer, and this is the detail to sit with. The card is operated by KazeFi under its regulatory authorisations, while EMCD states that it “does not issue cards, process payments, or convert crypto to fiat”. The press release is datelined Hong Kong. The issuing bank, the issuing country and the licences are not stated, so you cannot check the issuer in any register.
Does the EMCD Payment card require KYC, and how do I verify?
Yes. Identity verification with a valid government-issued ID is mandatory, and it happens after your first top-up rather than before. If your document is rejected, retry with a different one; if verification has not completed after 30 minutes, contact support. Proof of address and age are not stated as requirements, and the number of verification levels is not stated.
How do I top up the EMCD Payment card?
Manually, from the USDT wallet inside the EMCD app, through the card menu. USDT converts to USD on the way in and the fee is 1.5%. Networks are not named in the card’s materials, so check which chain is supported before transferring — blockchain transfers are irreversible. Top-up by card number is not possible, and there is no fiat top-up.
Can I withdraw money from the EMCD Payment card?
No. There is no withdrawal of the card balance back to your EMCD account. A remaining balance is refunded only when you close the card, converted to USDT, and the closure fee is $15. The bank may also close cards holding $20 or less, or after 30 days of inactivity — a rule published in the Light article, with its application to Plus and Premium not stated.
Is the EMCD Payment card free?
Not according to the help centre. It lists $19 issuance for Plus and $25 for Premium, plus $5 monthly maintenance. The press release of 13 February 2026 says “Issuance is free, with no monthly maintenance fee”. Both statements are published; they cannot both apply, and the help-centre figures are the ones attached to specific amounts. Check the live fee page before transferring anything.
Is the EMCD Payment card safe?
It has real protections and real gaps. Apple Pay and Google Pay tokenise the card number on-device, which is better than typing numbers into sites. But the card does not support 3-D Secure, the balance is separate from your Main account and is not a bank account, the custody and safeguarding model is not stated, and 2FA, in-app freeze and spending-limit controls are not stated. Treat the balance as spend-early.
Can I use the EMCD Payment card in my country?
Probably, unless you are in Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen or China — the help centre’s exclusion list. It does not say whether the test is citizenship or residence. Note also that the February 2026 press release frames the card as available to eligible users in Latin America with no country list, so the two official sources do not agree on shape.
Is the EMCD Payment card worth it?
Worth it for one narrow case: you already hold USDT on EMCD, you spend it online, you use the phone wallets, and you treat the balance as spent money rather than savings. Not worth it if you need cash, if you shop where 3-D Secure is required, if you want to withdraw, or if you want to know which institution issued the card and under which licence. The fees stack: 1.5% top-up, 1.5% plus $0.50 per purchase, and $5 a month.
Virtual cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
