Azul Card Review: A Virtual Mastercard You Sign Up For Inside Telegram
Azul is a virtual card that lives in Telegram. There is no app to download, no paperwork, and — according to the company’s own help centre — no identity check: “no mobile apps, no KYC”, and “We never ask for your email, phone number, or ID”. You create the card in the bot, load it with crypto, and it behaves like an ordinary Mastercard online and in stores that accept contactless payments through Apple Pay or Google Pay. I scored it 5.3 out of 10. That number sits mid-table for a reason, and it is worth being honest about which half of the card is strong and which half is thin.
The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Here is my reasoning in brief: the eligibility rule is unusually broad, the sign-up is genuinely frictionless, and Apple Pay and Google Pay support makes a virtual card feel far less virtual than it sounds. Against that, the cost side is where the score is won or lost — a $20 creation fee, $5 a month, 4% on every crypto top-up, and $0.25 per transaction add up quickly for anyone spending real money. And the transparency gaps are real: no named banking partner, no issuer, no licence numbers, no listed coins or networks, no cashback, no dispute process, no published country blacklist beyond one list of exclusions, and no physical card or ATM access at all.
Verdict: 5.3 out of 10
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Creation $20 (refunded after $2,000 of spending), $5 a month maintenance, 4% to top up with crypto, $0.25 per transaction |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto sent to the card in Telegram, first top-up up to 10 minutes, later ones 1–5 minutes; minimum $20; coins and networks not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | “Azul Cards”, legal entity and country unnamed, “licensed banking partners” with no names; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Mastercard only; Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no physical card and no ATM |
| Total | 5.3 / 10 | A narrow, cheap-to-enter product with sharp edges on price and disclosure |
Who it suits. If you spend in Telegram daily, you already hold crypto, you want a virtual card in about a minute without sending anyone a passport, and your spending is mostly online subscriptions and Apple Pay or Google Pay taps, this card does exactly that job and nothing more. The audience the product is clearly built for is Telegram users who want a virtual card without KYC.
Who it does not suit. If you need a physical card, if you need cash from an ATM, if you are a business, if you travel and need a card that never gets declined at a foreign checkout, or if you want a rewards programme, this is the wrong card. So is anyone who plans to move five figures through it every month — the fees are priced for small, occasional use. And if your priority is knowing exactly which institution holds your money, the answers here are thin; see the risk section below for why that worries me more than the price does.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, in almost everywhere. Azul states the card is available worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions. That is the single most permissive eligibility statement of any card in this comparison group, which is why this criterion scores 9 rather than 10.
One detail deserves more attention than it first appears. The card says: “The restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality.” In practice that means the exclusions are about *where you are*, not what your passport says. A citizen of one of the listed countries living in, say, Spain is still outside the card’s stated reach, and a citizen of a country not on the list is still excluded while physically in one of them. So if you travel or move, the list applies to your location at the moment of use, not to your identity.
The site also says limits depend on your region and card tier. That is worth flagging immediately because it introduces variables the public pages do not define. The help documentation describes a single card, and while the marketing site speaks of features varying by “card tier”, no tiers are actually listed. So the *eligibility* answer is clear and the *limit* answer is not, and those are two different questions people often confuse.
There is also no KYC at all, which means no KYC *levels*. There is no bronze or silver tier of verification because there is no verification. That is the appeal; it is also the reason no tier list exists.
How to get it
The sign-up is the shortest part of this whole review, which is unusual and slightly disorienting if you are used to onboarding flows. The help centre states plainly: “no mobile apps, no KYC”. The site says “No paperwork.” And the company emphasises: “We never ask for your email, phone number, or ID”. The card is created inside Telegram — there is no separate application, no PDF to sign, no waiting period.
So the sequence is: find the bot, create the card, receive card details, load it, use it. Because there is no app, everything lives in Telegram, and the docs even carry a page explaining why there is no app and why it is Telegram-only. Practically, this means Telegram becomes your entire front end — card creation, top-ups, and support all happen there, and support is reachable at t.me/AzulCardsSupport.
Here is what you get: a virtual Mastercard that works anywhere Mastercard is accepted, with the balance held in USD — “converted to USD”. There is no physical card, and the card’s own position is that one “may come later”. Delivery, in the sense other cards mean it, is simply not applicable here.
That no-app, no-paperwork design has a second effect worth naming: because nothing links the card to your legal identity, there is also no identity on record to help you when something goes wrong. Both facts come from the same design choice.
What it really costs: Fees and limits
This is where the 5.3 comes from. The cost criterion scores 2 out of 10, and no amount of goodwill about the free sign-up changes that. Here is everything the card publishes as a price or a cap.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card creation | $20 one-time, refunded after $2,000 in spending |
| Monthly fee | $5 per month |
| Crypto top-up fee | 4% |
| Per transaction | $0.25 |
| FX fee | not stated |
| ATM | Not available — a virtual card cannot withdraw cash at ATMs; “Cash withdrawals at banks and ATMs” is listed as restricted |
| Minimum top-up | $20 |
| Maximum top-up | $20,000 |
| Per-transaction cap | $20,000 |
| Monthly spending cap | $150,000 |
| Higher limits | Available via support |
| Card balance currency | USD (crypto converted to USD) |
Now let me walk through three ordinary payments, because a fee table on its own hides how these numbers behave in practice.
A $30 subscription. You have $30 in crypto in your wallet. You send it to the card; the 4% top-up fee takes $1.20, so the card holds $28.80. Then the purchase itself takes $0.25, leaving $28.55 spent against $30 of crypto moved. On a single small transaction, the fixed $0.25 is already eating more than the payment would if you ran it through most ordinary bank cards — but that is the price of the entry.
A $120 grocery shop paid by Apple Pay. The same 4% has already been charged at top-up time, not at the shop; the shop just sees a Mastercard purchase. The $0.25 applies again. And here the FX line matters: the fee is not stated. The card says only that the balance is “converted to USD”, and it does not publish what happens when you spend in a currency other than the dollar. If your account is funded in euros or reais and you pay in dollars, you cannot work out your effective rate from the public pages. That is not a small gap — it is the single number most users would want and the one the card does not give.
A $2,400 laptop, to use up the $2,000 spending threshold. Top up $2,400 (4% = $96), spend $2,400 ($0.25 per transaction fee), and only then does the $20 creation fee get refunded. Until you cross $2,000 in cumulative spending, that $20 is simply sunk. Note also that the refund is stated as a refund of the creation fee, not as a credit toward anything else — worth confirming with support before you assume the mechanics.
Add it up honestly: to get the card you pay $20 and then $5 a month whether you use it or not. Every time you move crypto in, 4% leaves. Every time you spend, 25 cents leaves. For a card you might use once or twice a month on small subscriptions, that is tolerable. For a card you lean on for daily spending, the arithmetic turns unkind fast, and no cashback or rewards offset appears anywhere to soften it.
How to Top up the card
Topping up is the one process the card describes in detail, and the detail is all timing. You send crypto to the card inside Telegram, and the card is funded from that. Timing: up to 10 minutes for the first top-up, and 1 to 5 minutes for later ones. That first one being slower suggests some setup happens on the first transfer.

The fee is 4%, the minimum is $20, and the maximum is $20,000 per top-up. Two things people ask about are not stated: who pays the network fee, and whether there is any fiat top-up route at all. Both matter, so neither can be resolved by inference — check with support before your first transfer.
The bigger omission is the one you cannot work around: which coins and which networks are supported are not named in the pages published. Not “a limited list”, not “the popular ones” — nothing. This is where I would slow down and read very carefully, because the category rule is unforgiving. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely or need manual recovery with no guarantee. There is no chargeback for a misrouted crypto transfer.
Compare that with the alternatives: Telecard names USDT on Tron (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20), USDC on Ethereum, and says Polygon is not supported. OnCards names USDT BEP20. Balance Pay lists USDT on TRON (TRC-20), Polygon and Base. Azul names none. Whatever support answers you in Telegram, write it down before you transfer anything.
There is also a hard limit on what you can do with the balance afterwards. You cannot yet transfer funds to other users or between your own cards. And whether you can withdraw the balance back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated — which is a genuinely strange omission, because it determines whether this card is a spending tool or a two-way bridge. Ask before you load anything you would want back.
Paying with it every day
In practice, the everyday version of this card is Apple Pay and Google Pay, and those are supported. That is the trick that makes a virtual card workable: you add the card number to your phone’s wallet and tap at a terminal as if it were metal in your pocket. For online payments, Mastercard is accepted wherever Mastercard is accepted, which is most of what you would want.
What you cannot do is at least as important. The card restricts money transfers, pay-at-pump fuel, ATM and bank cash withdrawals, currency exchange and quasi-cash transactions, dating and escort, gambling and betting, and bail and bond. So no petrol station forecourt pump, no currency booth, no casino, and — the one people miss immediately — no cash machine. A virtual card cannot withdraw at ATMs anyway, and “Cash withdrawals at banks and ATMs” is listed among the restrictions regardless.
Some merchants are also currently unavailable: Canva, Adobe, Steam, eBay, Uber, petrol stations and others. That list is a live one and it will change. It is also the kind of thing that makes a card feel unreliable at the exact moment you needed it — you are standing at a petrol station or trying to buy a gift card and the merchant is simply not on the list.
No cashback is stated. There is a referral programme, and it pays “up to 40% of our fees from every transaction made by your referrals” — note the “up to”, and note that it pays out of *their* fees, which are small to begin with, so this is not a rewards programme in any meaningful sense.
On disputes, nothing is stated. If a charge goes wrong, there is no published process on the card’s pages for how you contest it. In the wider category that matters more than usual: chargebacks are refunds ordered by the issuer, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should never be assumed. Given that this card’s balances are a stored, pre-loaded amount rather than a bank account, “who do I ask” is a question worth settling before you need it.
What can go wrong
Start with the thing I find hardest to sit with, which is not a fee and not a limit: the company behind the card is not identified. The brand is “Azul Cards”. The legal entity is not stated. The country is not stated. The site says the service is “powered by licensed banking partners” and does not name a single one of them. No issuer, no licence numbers, no regulator.
This is not a technicality, and I would treat it as the main risk rather than a footnote. When a card is issued, the card network routes the payments, but the entity that holds your balance and answers when something goes wrong is the issuer — the crypto brand is frequently only a programme manager or front end. If you do not know which institution that is here, you do not know who is obliged to hold your funds, who you complain to, or which deposit or safeguarding regime, if any, applies to you. Whether customer funds are safeguarded at all is not stated. Nor are two-factor authentication, card freeze, or how the balance is actually held.
Next, complaints. I found none — no Trustpilot page exists for this brand, and no complaint pattern surfaced. Read that carefully, because it cuts both ways: a young or small service often has no reviews simply because nobody has written any yet. Absence of complaints is not evidence of reliability.
Then custody. This is a Telegram-managed card with one card per Telegram account, and 3-D Secure is supported for online payments. How the crypto itself is held between top-up and spend is not stated. That distinction is the whole ballgame in this category: a custodial platform means you must trust the provider completely, because whoever holds the credentials controls the funds, and crypto transfers have no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return them. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure, including Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). A card where you hold the key yourself pushes that risk onto you instead, in the form of key loss, phishing, and malware that silently swaps a copied address. I cannot tell you which model Azul uses.
Card programmes also close. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed, and I mention it only as the shape of the risk. With Azul I cannot find any news either way.
One more practical hazard, which is a category fact rather than an Azul fact but will bite you here: a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another. Merchants can look up the issuing institution from the card number and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address, and some simply decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for that reason. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. On a card where your balance is already converted to USD and capped at $150,000 a month, a hold is a real interruption.
Support, at least, exists: live support via Telegram at t.me/AzulCardsSupport, a Help Center, and a Contact Us page. Given that no app, no identity, no named issuer and no published coins-and-networks list exist, that Telegram channel is effectively the entire safety net. I would open it and ask the hard questions before loading funds rather than after — which networks, who the issuer is, where funds are held, how a dispute works, and whether withdrawal out is possible.
What to take instead
None of these are endorsements. They are the closest options, and comparing them on the same criteria shows how much of Azul’s blank spots are unusual.
| Azul | Telecard | OnCards | Balance Pay | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.3 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 4.6 / 10 | 5.7 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual Mastercard | Virtual Mastercard, instant | Virtual Mastercard / Visa, network not fixed | Virtual Visa now; metal or plastic planned |
| Countries | Almost worldwide, with a named exclusion list | Usable in over 150 countries where Mastercard is accepted; no country list published | not stated | No list or restrictions published |
| Cost to start | $20, refunded after $2,000 spent | $5 standard; VIP $49 then $19/month | not stated | Free registration, no monthly fee |
| Running cost | $5/month, 4% top-up, $0.25 per transaction | 1.5% conversion on non-USD, 0.5 USDT gas per successful transaction, FX and cross-border “up to 3% each” | not stated | not stated |
| Networks named | none | USDT on TRC-20 or ERC-20, USDC on ERC-20; no Polygon | USDT BEP20 | USDT on TRC-20, Polygon, Base |
| Rewards | none stated; referral pays up to 40% of fees | Referral points plus cashback when friends spend | not stated | Bonus points or stablecoin cashback per referred friend |
Telecard scores highest at 6.1. It is the only one of the four that publishes both a fee schedule and its networks, and the only one that publishes a threshold — $99 minimum deposit to activate, explicitly stated as “NOT a fee” because it stays in the wallet. It also names the one thing Azul never mentions: identity verification “available in most major regions”. That is a trade-off, not a bonus — if no KYC is your reason for being here, Telecard is the wrong card. It also charges more: 1.5% conversion on non-USD payments plus a 0.5 USDT gas fee per successful card transaction, on top of FX and cross-border fees “up to 3% each”. Its restrictions are narrower but real: users “blocked or sanctioned by the United States Government, including OFAC”.
OnCards scores lowest at 4.6, below Azul. Its pages say “Simple and clear fees — no hidden charges” and then give no amounts, which is worse than a high number. It says nothing about countries, and there is no mention anywhere of Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents. Its one genuine advantage is specificity where Azul is vague: “Fund your card using USDT BEP20”.
Balance Pay sits between the two at 5.7. “No monthly fee” and free registration are attractive on paper, but the site also says “full tariffs and legal documents will appear later”, and no conversion or FX fee is published. It is the only alternative with a physical card on the roadmap — metal or plastic, with Visa Signature perks “once physical cards launch” — and it names USDT on TRON (TRC-20), Polygon and Base, with more networks “coming soon”. Its interface is in English and Russian.
The pattern across all four is the one I would underline: Azul is the only card here whose pages name no networks at all, and one of only two that publish no fees beyond the headline. If your deciding factor is “what does this cost me and where does my money go”, the alternatives with published numbers are easier to evaluate — even when those numbers are worse.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Azul to a narrow person with a clear use: someone who lives and pays in Telegram, holds crypto they were going to spend anyway, needs a virtual card today rather than after a document review, and pays for things through Apple Pay or Google Pay and online subscriptions. For that person it works, the entry is quick, and the $20 that comes back after $2,000 of spending is not a bad deal against the convenience.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs cash, a physical card, a business card, travel insurance of behaviour, a rewards programme, or — most of all — a clearly named institution behind the balance. My reservation is not the 4% fee, which is high but visible. It is that I cannot tell you who holds your money, in which country, under which licence, whether the balance is safeguarded, or which networks to send crypto on. A card where the answer to “who is my issuer?” is “licensed banking partners” leaves you dependent on a Telegram support channel in a way that no fee schedule can offset. And a $5 monthly fee on a card you cannot use at an ATM is a strange thing to pay indefinitely.
If that is you anyway, do one thing before your first transfer: ask support, in writing, the four questions this card does not answer — who the issuer is, which coins and networks are supported, how a disputed payment is handled, and whether the balance can be withdrawn out. Keep the answers. Then start with the $20 minimum.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Azul card?
Azul is a virtual Mastercard that you create and use entirely inside Telegram. There is no separate app, no sign-up form, and the company says it never asks for your email, phone number or ID. The balance is denominated in USD, crypto is converted to load it, and it works anywhere Mastercard is accepted, including through Apple Pay and Google Pay. There is no physical card, and the balance cannot be withdrawn at ATMs.
How does the Azul card work?
You create the card in the Telegram bot, send crypto to it, and the card is funded from that in USD. The first top-up can take up to 10 minutes, later ones 1 to 5 minutes. After that you spend the stored balance like an ordinary card number, in stores, online, or by tapping through your phone wallet. Because it is a stored balance rather than a linked bank account, the card cannot overdraw.
Is Azul a bank?
No — the card describes itself as “powered by licensed banking partners” and gives no further detail. The brand is “Azul Cards”, but the legal entity, the country of registration, the issuing bank and the licence numbers are all not stated on the public pages. So I can tell you what the card does, but not who stands behind it, which is exactly the question to ask support before you load money.
Does Azul require KYC?
No. The help centre states “no mobile apps, no KYC” and adds “We never ask for your email, phone number, or ID”, while the site says “No paperwork.” That is the card’s main appeal and, at the same time, the reason there is no dispute trail to follow you if something goes wrong. It also means there are no KYC tiers — the site mentions a “card tier” but lists none.
Where can I use the Azul card?
Anywhere Mastercard is accepted, but not everywhere in practice. The card restricts money transfers, pay-at-pump fuel, ATM and bank cash, currency exchange and quasi-cash, dating and escort, gambling and betting, and bail and bond. Canva, Adobe, Steam, eBay, Uber and petrol stations are currently listed as unavailable merchants. Some sellers also decline foreign or prepaid-issued card numbers.
How do I top up the Azul card?
You send crypto to the card within Telegram, paying 4% on the amount, with a $20 minimum and a $20,000 maximum per top-up. First deposits can take up to 10 minutes and later ones 1 to 5. The catch is that the card’s pages do not name which coins or networks it accepts, and a transfer on the wrong network can be lost because blockchain sends are irreversible.
What are the fees on the Azul card?
Card creation is $20, refunded once you have spent $2,000. Monthly maintenance is $5. Each crypto top-up costs 4% and each transaction costs $0.25. There is no ATM access at all. The FX fee is not stated, which is the number I would want before spending a dollar balance in another currency, and no cashback or rewards are offered beyond a referral programme.
Is the Azul card safe?
I would not call it safe, because the essentials are unpublished. Whether funds are safeguarded, whether the balance is custodial, two-factor authentication and card freeze support are all not stated. It is Telegram-managed with one card per account and 3-D Secure for online payments. The category carries real counterparty risk, as the Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin losses show, and card programmes do close.
Can I withdraw money from an Azul card?
No, not as things stand. You cannot transfer funds to other users or between your own cards, and a virtual card cannot withdraw cash at ATMs. Whether the balance can be withdrawn back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated on the card’s pages. If getting money back out matters to your plan, ask support in writing first.
Is the Azul card free?
No. Signing up involves a $20 card creation charge, which is refunded after $2,000 of cumulative spending, and then a $5 monthly maintenance fee continues. On top of that, 4% on each crypto top-up and $0.25 per transaction. What is genuinely free is the sign-up itself: no application, no documents, no waiting period.
Virtual cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
