A crypto card you load small, run from Lithuania, and cannot cash out
If you have been trying to get an ordinary bank card and the usual applications keep ending in a refusal, a freeze or a question you cannot answer, then the Bit.Store card will appeal to you for a simple reason: it offers a route to spending crypto that does not depend on your bank saying yes. That appeal is real. It is also narrower than the marketing suggests, and the service has been through a bad stretch that you should weigh carefully before you move any money.
Here is my honest summary. Bit.Store today is a virtual card only. You load it from crypto, it converts into a card balance, and you spend that balance through Apple Pay, Google Pay or online checkout. The physical card is gone. The company behind it is registered in Lithuania but is not a bank and not an electronic money institution, which means the protections you would expect from a bank deposit simply are not there. Users have reported cards suspended, balances frozen, and monthly charges continuing after cards stopped working. I scored it 5.0 out of 10, and I would only recommend it to someone whose whole plan is a small virtual card funded with a modest crypto balance — anyone planning to hold a large balance, or who needs cash from an ATM, or who needs a card that will still work next month, should look elsewhere.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.0 out of 10
Bit.Store scores 5.0 out of 10. That is a middling score, and in the middle of a category where every option has a catch, middling can still be the right answer for a narrow purpose. Let me be specific about who that is.
Who it suits. Someone who already holds crypto, wants a virtual card rather than a physical one, spends in modest amounts, and wants Apple Pay or Google Pay. If your crypto is in USDT or USDC, you load it, it converts to a card balance, and you spend. That narrow job it does. The audience the card is really built for is people wanting a small virtual card topped up with crypto, and for them it does function.
Who it does not suit. Anyone who needs a bank account. Anyone who needs cash from an ATM — there is no ATM function on a virtual card. Anyone who intends to park serious money on the balance. Anyone who needs the card to work reliably for months at a time, because the complaint record describes the opposite. And anyone in one of the countries on the restricted list.
Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | 54 countries listed as available (unofficial); Belarus, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria and the United States are restricted, and no complete list of eligible countries is published |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance free, $1 monthly under a previously published schedule, annual $0; top-up raised to 2.5% from 1.5%, and FX depends on card type with no full public tariff (all unofficial) |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | 10+ cryptocurrencies including BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC, converted to card balance on loading — but networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 2 / 10 | Bitstore Europe UAB, Lithuania, is not a bank or an e-money institution, the virtual issuer is unnamed, the physical card was closed in March 2026 after a regulatory event at the issuer, and Trustpilot shows 1.8 out of 5 across 23 reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual card only; Apple Pay and Google Pay advertised since launch, no ATM, physical card discontinued |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A workable small-balance virtual card inside a service with genuine structural risks |
Two of those marks deserve to be read twice. The top-up mark of 7 is the best on the card, and it is still only unofficial information. The reliability mark of 2 is not a judgement about how the app looks or how the product is designed; it is a judgement about a regulated-adjacent company with an unnamed issuer behind a product that users say stopped working and took their balances with it.
Will they give you the card?
The short answer is: probably, if you are not in one of the excluded countries — but you will be relying on unofficial information, because the card’s own public pages do not say who qualifies.
I looked for an eligibility list and did not find one. The public material does not state which countries applicants may apply from. What exists is third-party information: a listing of 54 countries described as available, with Belarus, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria and the United States named as restricted. That list comes from a third-party comparison site as of August 2026, and I have not been able to confirm it against the card’s own pages, so treat it as unofficial. It also does not resolve the question a lot of readers actually have, which is whether your country of residence, your citizenship, or both are being checked. Both Russia and Belarus appear on the restricted list, which is the part of that unofficial list with real consequences for readers there.
What the card has not published, as far as I can tell, is a complete list of countries whose applicants are accepted. So if your country is not on the restricted list, the honest position is that you are probably fine but not confirmed. If your country is on it, assume the answer is no and do not build a plan around it.
Age is another loose end. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 or over, and some issuers set higher limits for their own reasons. Bit.Store’s own minimum age is, as best I can tell, contradictory: a FAQ says 18+, while the User Agreement says 16+. Both readings appear in third-party reporting from August 2026. If you are under 18, this is a question to put to support in writing rather than to guess at.
How to get it
The card is virtual, so there is no delivery step and no waiting for a plastic card in the post. That is the whole of the good news about the physical side, because the physical card has been discontinued.
The card’s public pages do not state what the identity check involves. Third-party sources describe the virtual card page as saying “Simple KYC verification”, and the 2023 launch described it as “KYC free”. Those two descriptions do not sit together comfortably, and neither is confirmed on the card’s own pages today. What I would tell you is this: any service holding your crypto and converting it to spendable balance will be subject to identity checks under anti-money-laundering law, and a service registered in the European Union is inside that framework. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems also checking proof-of-address documents against records.
Your nationality is recorded and screened separately from where you live. That matters here, and I want to be clear about it because it is a common misunderstanding: sanctions screening is frequently applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. A residence in a permitted country does not by itself resolve a citizenship-based restriction.
If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold back from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, close an existing one. That is the mechanism behind a lot of the freezes users report. It is a legal requirement on the company’s side, not a quirk of its app.
The card itself is virtual Visa or Mastercard depending on which card type you choose — unofficial, from August 2026. The former physical card was a Mastercard issued through Paytend. The issuer of the current virtual card is not publicly named, which is unusual and worth pausing on; more on that below.
Nothing in the public material says which KYC tiers exist, what documents are accepted, how long review takes, or how you would activate a freshly issued virtual card. If you need those answers, support is the only route.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline numbers look cheap. The full picture is less tidy, because the card does not publish a complete tariff. Let me give you the numbers that exist, then show what they mean at the till.

| Item | Value | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Free | Unofficial |
| Monthly fee | $1 | Under a previously published schedule; unofficial |
| Annual fee | $0 | Under a previously published schedule; unofficial |
| Top-up fee | 2.5% | Raised from 1.5%; unofficial |
| FX and purchase fees | Depends on card type | No complete public schedule; unofficial |
| ATM | Not applicable | Virtual card has no ATM function |
| Monthly limit | $10,000 headline figure | Unclear whether this means top-up, spend or balance; unofficial |
| Former physical-card limits | €100,000 max balance, €50,000 monthly load, €5,000 daily load and payments | Discontinued March 2026; unofficial figures shown for context only |
Everything in that table outside the two “not applicable” and “discontinued” rows is unofficial, taken from a third-party site in August 2026, because the card’s own pages do not publish these figures. In 2023 the launch coverage was more flattering: “no issuing, inactivity, or annual fees”, and no purchase fees on transactions up to USD 10,000. That was three years ago and the top-up fee has since gone from 1.5% to 2.5%, so I would not plan on the 2023 terms holding.
Now three everyday payments, so the percentages land somewhere.
Coffee at 4 dollars. You top up 4 dollars. The top-up fee of 2.5% takes 10 cents, so 4.10 dollars comes out of your crypto. Nothing else is described for small domestic purchases, and purchase fees at this size are the sort of thing that used to be waived — up to USD 10,000 per the 2023 coverage (an unofficial figure, not confirmed by the card) — but that waiver is no longer something anyone has confirmed. This is the payment the card is actually good at.
A 60-dollar online subscription in a currency other than dollars. Here the FX figure bites, and I cannot tell you how much. The card’s FX and purchase fees are said to depend on card type, with no complete public schedule published. Anyone whose spending is not in dollars is buying an unknown spread, and an unknown spread is how a cheap card becomes an expensive one. This is the first thing to check before you rely on it.
A 200-dollar purchase at a shop that declines foreign-issued cards. A merchant can look up the BIN — the first six or eight digits of the card number — and see which institution and in which country the card was issued, and apply extra scrutiny if that differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” in another, and it is not something the card’s marketing fixes. If a shop declines, you have spent nothing, though a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
One more charge that is not the card’s: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the provider. Sending USDT on Ethereum requires ETH in the wallet for gas, since fees are paid only in ETH. Tron prices its transactions in bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. So a “free” top-up is only free if you already hold the native token of the network you send on.
Top up: how the money gets in
This is the part of the card that works best, and it is worth understanding exactly how it works rather than assuming.

You send crypto to the card, and at the moment of loading it is converted into the card’s fiat balance. The card is described as accepting 10+ cryptocurrencies, with BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC named — unofficial, from August 2026. The top-up fee is 2.5%. A minimum top-up of $15 appeared in a previously published flow, but you should confirm it at checkout rather than trust it. What is not stated anywhere I can find: which networks are supported. That is not a small gap, and I will come back to it in the risks section, because it is the single most expensive mistake available to someone new to this.
Fiat top-up routes are not stated either. So the honest description of this card’s funding is narrow: crypto in, card balance out. If you do not already hold crypto, or if you wanted to load dollars from your bank, this is not a card that will help you.
Because the balance is pre-loaded rather than drawn on a linked bank account, the card cannot overdraw. That is a genuine structural comfort: whatever is in the balance is what you can spend, and there is no debt line and no interest. In the “pre-loaded balance” model you convert first and spend second, and the card simply has nothing to draw on beyond that.
Withdrawals: the card’s public pages say nothing about withdrawing money from Bit.Store, and I found no unofficial detail either. That is a genuine hole. If you are thinking of this as a way to move value rather than spend it, you have no information, and you should ask before you load.
Paying with it every day
The day-to-day picture is a virtual card plus your phone’s wallet. Apple Pay and Google Pay have been advertised since launch, though whether they work for you can depend on the BIN, your device region and the wallet itself — unofficial detail, and worth assuming nothing until you have added it once.
When you add a card to Apple Pay, Apple replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic security code. That is a reasonable security design. It is also not the same thing as the card being reliable.
Two things you will not have. There is no ATM — a virtual card has no ATM function, so if you need cash, this card cannot help you at all. And the former physical card’s €2,000 daily ATM limit (an unofficial figure, not confirmed by the card) is a historical number with no current counterpart.
Online, the card runs through the normal authorisation machinery. 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments, where the issuer assesses the risk and either approves it without friction or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric step; Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which is a plausible reason for a decline at a foreign merchant.
Some merchant categories are blocked on these cards by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer. Gambling is the classic example: the merchant category code 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, and many issuers block it. Which categories Bit.Store blocks is not stated.
Not stated anywhere: whether there are rewards, what the app can actually do, how you would dispute a transaction, and what a replacement card or a dispute costs. The absence of itemised dispute and replacement fees is itself the answer to a question you might not have thought to ask — if a charge goes wrong, you have no published schedule telling you what handling it will cost you.
A declined payment can also leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven, even though you spent nothing.
What can go wrong
This is where the review has to be least comfortable, because the risks here are not hypothetical edge cases. Three of them are structural and one is a documented pattern of user reports.
The physical card was discontinued in March 2026 following a regulatory event at the issuer. That is a news item, and I found no official incident notice. The former physical issuer was Paytend Europe UAB. Whatever happened, the product people signed up for two years ago no longer exists in that form, and the people who held balances on that card had to deal with it.
The company is not a bank and not an e-money institution. Bitstore Europe UAB is a Lithuanian company, number 306465386, registered in 2024 as a virtual-currency exchange and depository-wallet operator, and as of August 2026 it was not in the Bank of Lithuania’s e-money institution register. That distinction is not technical. An e-money institution must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insurance, and those funds are still not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. An ordinary company has no such obligation at all. And the issuer of the current virtual card is not publicly named.
The custody model puts your trust in one company. Custody is advertised through Cobo. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or the seed phrase; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, and you trust the provider completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, so anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return anything. This is not a hypothetical risk shape. Custodial platforms have a record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). An extra two-factor authentication layer was mentioned at the 2023 launch; the card’s public pages do not say what security exists today.
Users report cards suspended and balances stuck. From late 2024 through 2025, reports describe virtual cards suspended for “maintenance”, balances that were unspendable and unwithdrawable, monthly deductions that continued anyway, and slow support. Some people recovered; others were blocked for months. On Trustpilot the card shows 1.8 out of 5 from 23 reviews, 82% of them one-star — I have not read Trustpilot directly, so that figure comes via third-party reporting, and 23 reviews is a small sample that could move either way.
Regulatory change can remove the product without warning. The framework around these services is still moving. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an e-money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. A crypto card often depends on two licences at once, because the card is a payment service regulated under e-money and payment-services law while MiCA covers the crypto side — so a provider can be sound on one side and exposed on the other. Card networks themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.
One irreversible mistake is available to you here. The card does not name the networks it supports. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. If you send USDC, note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option; Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Stablecoins can also depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis — and Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof either.
Taxes. This is not advice, but it is a real cost people forget. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. That can mean each card payment funded from crypto is a separate disposal event, with short-term treatment if held a year or less.
What to take instead
I scored three alternatives in the same way. None of them is safe, and I would not tell anyone any of them is the answer — but two of them publish more than Bit.Store does, and one publishes a great deal more.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Creating a virtual card is completely free; monthly fee not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid “HyperCard”, network not stated; balance in USD or EUR | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR on the card |
| Card.fi | 6.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical Classic and Premium, plus metal | One-time $49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee | 32 coins across 5 networks; own deposit address per card |
CardFlow is aimed at Nigeria, describing itself as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” for “Nigerians and global users”. That is a strong signal that it is built for a Nigerian user with naira in mind, and no country list or exclusions are published. Its virtual card creation is free, and you can fund by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a naira bank transfer — networks not stated. Fees beyond creation are not stated. If you are in Nigeria and want to move between naira and crypto, this is worth a look; if you are elsewhere, the pitch does not obviously reach you.
HyperCard is a prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and converting. The official pages state no country list; the App Store listing says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is a statement about acceptance, not eligibility — a distinction worth holding on to, because plenty of readers misread the first for the second. No fees are listed anywhere I could read, which cuts both ways: it may mean there are none, or it may mean they are not published. Bit.Store publishes more, at least.
Card.fi scores highest here at 6.6, and it is the only one of the three that publishes a full schedule. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, with terms barring residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. You can have a virtual Classic, virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, or metal in stainless steel; every physical order includes a virtual card, and cards are issued under licence from the relevant card schemes. Pricing is one-off: $49 for Virtual Classic, $249 for Virtual Premium, with no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Fees are explicit — top-up 1.5% plus $1.00 on Classic, 1% on Premium; FX 3.5% on Classic, 2.5% on Premium; the conversion fee is shown before each top-up. Funding is 32 coins across 5 networks, converted at market rate on arrival, and the terms warn that the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Rewards are cashback on card spending only: 0.8% on Classic capped at 10 USDT a month, 1% on Premium, and on Metal 1.2% capped at 10,000 USDT (unofficial figure, not confirmed by the card) or 2% capped at 20,000 USDT, plus a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month. That is more transparency than Bit.Store offers on any single point, and transparency is what I most wanted to see in the card I am reviewing here.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Bit.Store to exactly one kind of person, and I want to be honest that this is a narrow recommendation.
I would recommend it if you already hold USDT or USDC, you want a virtual card and nothing else, you will spend tens of dollars a month rather than thousands, you pay in dollars, and you have checked that the card works from your country and that Apple Pay or Google Pay activates on your device. Under those conditions you get a card that does one thing — convert crypto into spendable balance — and the top-up fee of 2.5% is a visible, knowable cost rather than an unknown spread.
I would not recommend it if you need a bank account, if you need cash, if you are in a restricted country, if you want to hold more than a small balance with a non-bank custodian that is not in Lithuania’s e-money register, or if the idea of a monthly charge continuing while your card does not work would alarm you. It should also alarm you a little: that is precisely what users reported.
Before you load anything, three checks. Ask support, in writing, which networks are supported for each coin you hold — this is the one question where a wrong answer costs you money with no recourse. Ask what happens to your balance if the card is suspended, and get the answer in writing. And read the terms for the FX and purchase fees on your specific card type, because that is the number that will determine whether this card is cheap or expensive for you.
Check whether the provider appears in the ESMA interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities. Bitstore Europe UAB is described as registered in Lithuania as a virtual-currency exchange and depository-wallet operator, not as holding an EMI licence; that gap is the single fact that most shapes my view of this card.
Frequently asked questions
What is Bit.Store card?
Bit.Store is a crypto payment card from Bitstore Europe UAB, a Lithuanian company registered in 2024 as a virtual-currency exchange and depository-wallet operator. It converts crypto into a fiat balance you spend through a virtual card. The physical card was discontinued in March 2026, so what remains is virtual only. It is not a bank and, as of August 2026, not a registered electronic money institution.
Is Bit.Store a bank, and who owns it?
No, it is not a bank. Bitstore Europe UAB is a Lithuanian company, number 306465386, registered in 2024, and it was not in the Bank of Lithuania’s e-money institution register as of August 2026. The former physical card was issued by Paytend Europe UAB; the issuer of the current virtual card is not publicly named. That unnamed issuer is itself a question worth asking support about.
Does Bit.Store card require KYC?
The card’s public pages do not say. Third-party reporting describes “Simple KYC verification” on the virtual card page, while the 2023 launch described the card as KYC free. Treat both as unofficial. In practice, a service holding and converting your crypto inside the EU operates under anti-money-laundering rules requiring identity verification, sanctions screening and, where you are politically exposed, additional checks.
Which countries can use it?
The card does not publish a full list of eligible countries. Unofficial information lists 54 countries as available, with Belarus, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria and the United States restricted. Note that a card being accepted in a country and a resident of that country being eligible are different questions, and nationality is often screened separately from residence.
How do I top up the card, and what does it cost?
You send crypto to the card and it converts to card balance on arrival; 10+ cryptocurrencies are described, with BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC named. The top-up fee is 2.5%, raised from an earlier 1.5%, and a $15 minimum (an unofficial figure, not confirmed by the card) appeared in a previously published flow. Networks are not named anywhere, so confirm before sending — a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.
What are the fees and limits?
Issuance is free, the monthly fee was $1 under a previously published schedule and the annual fee $0, all unofficial. FX and purchase fees depend on card type with no complete public schedule, which is the number that will decide whether this is cheap for you. The virtual card has no ATM function, and a $10,000 monthly figure appears as a headline limit without clarity on whether it means top-up, spend or balance.
Can I use it with Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Apple Pay and Google Pay have been advertised since launch, and adding the card to Apple Pay replaces the number with a device-specific token stored in the Secure Element with a one-time code per payment. Whether it works for you can depend on the BIN, your device region and the wallet. That is unofficial, so add it once and test a small payment before relying on it.
Is the Bit.Store card safe for my money?
Not in the way a bank deposit is, and I would not describe it as safe. It is custodial — custody is advertised through Cobo — so the provider holds the keys and you trust them completely; transfers are irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery. Funds with a non-bank custodian are not deposit-guarantee protected. Trustpilot shows 1.8 out of 5 from 23 reviews, with reports of suspended cards and stuck balances in late 2024 and 2025.
Is Bit.Store worth it in 2026?
For someone who holds USDT or USDC, wants a virtual card only, spends small amounts in dollars and tops up with Apple Pay or Google Pay, it is worth considering — that is precisely the job it does. For anyone needing a bank account, cash, a large balance or long-term reliability, it is not. I scored it 5.0 out of 10, and reliability was the weakest mark at 2.
What should I check before loading money?
Three things, in this order. Confirm which networks are supported for each coin you hold, in writing, because an irreversible transfer on the wrong chain has no guarantee of recovery. Ask what happens to your balance if the card is suspended. And read the fee schedule for your specific card type. Treat all of it as unofficial until the company’s own pages confirm it.
Virtual cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
