Young card: a solid exchange, a card with a lot left unsaid

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been looking at crypto cards because an ordinary bank card is awkward or impossible where you live, the Young card probably showed up on your list early. The reasoning is understandable: Young is a real exchange with real regulatory permissions, and it is reported to run a Visa debit card tied to the exchange account. That sounds like exactly the bridge you want between a crypto balance and everyday spending.

Young works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Here is the problem I ran into while reading through it. Young’s public pages are generous about the exchange and vague about the card. When I went looking for the things that decide whether a card is usable — which countries it goes to, what identity documents are needed, how much a payment costs, what the daily limit is, which coins you can load, whether the plastic arrives and how long it takes — the official pages had very little or nothing. Not zero, in most cases, but little enough that I could not tell you a plain answer.

So my verdict is not a simple thumbs up or down. It is a card attached to something reputable, with a set of gaps that you personally have to close before you rely on it. Read on for which gaps matter most for you.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.7 out of 10

Young scores 5.7 / 10 overall. That is a middling number, and it is worth being honest about why: the company behind this card is stronger than the card itself. The supervision is real and checkable. The card specification is largely a matter of inference.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Young starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 The list of countries is not disclosed, and there is no confirmation of any country restriction
Cost 7 / 10 Unofficial: issuance and the monthly fee are free; conversion and ATM fees are not disclosed
Top-up options 4 / 10 The coins and networks for funding the card are not disclosed; the card is tied to an exchange account
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Young Platform S.p.A. is under the supervision of Consob and Banca d’Italia, with payment partner TPPay S.p.A. (an IMEL); the card issuer is not named; Trustpilot 4.4 out of 5 for the exchange
Everyday use 5 / 10 Unofficial: a Visa debit linked to the exchange account; wallets, the virtual and plastic versions, and ATM access are not disclosed
Total 5.7 / 10 —

Who this suits, and who it does not, follows fairly directly from those numbers.

The audience note here is worth stating plainly: the card is aimed at users in the Italian market who hold YNG for exchange-linked cashback. That is a narrow fit, and if you fall outside it you are guessing rather than choosing.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: I could not confirm that from the card’s own pages. The country list is not stated.

That single line does most of the work in this section. Almost every question — who can get the card, from where, with what documents — collapses into the same missing information. Here is what I found and what I did not.

I want to be careful about how I phrase this, because “not stated” is easy to misread. It does not mean Young refuses to non-Italians. It means the public pages do not tell you, and I am not going to guess on your behalf. If you fall outside Italy, your first task before anything else is to get a written answer from Young support about your specific country of residence. That single question — can I open an account, and can I be issued this card where I live — decides whether the rest of this page matters to you.

One more general point belongs here, because it explains the shape of the answer. KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. And nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. So there will be checks. How many, and what they ask for, is exactly what Young does not say.

How to get it

The practical answer is: through the Young Platform app on iOS or Android, with the exchange account as the base. Beyond that, the steps are not documented publicly.

Let me lay out what is documented and what is not in the order you would hit them.

If you have never used Young, the honest order of operations is account first, card second. Because the card draws on the exchange account, you cannot decouple the two, and because the country and identity rules are unpublished, the account opening is where you find out whether any of this is available to you.

I am not going to write a step-by-step tutorial here. There is nothing published to reproduce, and inventing one would be worse than useless to you.

Fees and what a payment really costs

The headline is good and the detail is missing. Unofficial sources list the monthly fee and issuance cost as free. Everything else that would actually show up on your statement is not disclosed.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Young payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the full picture of what is known and unknown about money.

Fee or limit What is stated
Issuance Not stated officially; unofficial 2026 source lists it as free
Monthly fee Not stated officially; unofficial 2026 source lists it as free
Conversion fee Not stated
ATM fee Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Supported spending currency Not stated
Card-network fee on the purchase itself Not stated

Two everyday payments, and what applies to each. This is where the missing rows start to bite.

A coffee. You tap, the terminal authorises, the amount goes through Visa, and the balance on your exchange account is reduced. The card-network and merchant side of this is ordinary. What is not ordinary is what happens to your crypto on the way: if your balance is in a coin rather than in euros, something has to convert it, and the conversion fee and the FX spread are both undisclosed. A small purchase is exactly the case where a percentage cost looks harmless and a fixed component, if there is one, hurts most.

A monthly subscription or a flight. Here the daily and monthly limits, which are not published, would decide whether the payment goes through at all. A card you cannot trust to absorb a large one-off charge is not a card you can run your life on. And if your balance is denominated in something other than the currency the merchant charges, the conversion question from the coffee gets larger rather than smaller.

I would add one category you did not ask about and should think about anyway: gambling and lottery merchants carry the merchant category code MCC 7995, and many issuers block that code on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Young has not published such a list. So there is an entire class of spending where the answer is simply unknown.

There is one genuine cost lever here, and it is the most useful thing on this page for a daily user: the Club tiers. They are held by YNG balances, and they cut fees.

Tier YNG held What you get
Essential ~130 5% fee discount, +1% staking APY
Bronze ~1,100 30% discount, 1 free card deposit a month
Silver ~3,600 Half-price fees, +15% staking boost, monthly Market Report
Gold ~7,200 75% discount, 2 free card deposits a month
Platinum ~18,000 90% discount, 3 free card deposits a month, dedicated Account Manager

Read that table as a discount ladder, not as a pricing table. “5% fee discount” and “half-price fees” are discounts on something whose base price Young has not published, so I cannot tell you what a Platinum user’s coffee costs per kilo. What I can tell you is that holding YNG materially changes your costs, and the more you hold the more the fees fall. Whether that trade makes sense depends on you: it means holding a token issued by the exchange, which is a risk of its own.

One more fee category sits outside Young’s control and will still hit your deposit. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. If you fund the card by transferring stablecoins, you pay the network on top of anything Young charges.

How to top it up

This is the weakest section of the whole card, and it is the one I would read twice.

Not stated for the card itself: which coins you can use, which networks are supported, minimums, maximums, speed, and whether automatic top-up exists. Not stated for the card: the same, again. Whether you can withdraw money from the card, and on what terms: not stated.

What we do know is structural. The card is linked to the exchange account, so funding follows the exchange: you hold a balance on Young, and the card spends from it. The unofficial description calls it a Visa debit card linked to the exchange trading account. Whether that behaves like a prepaid card drawing on a stored balance or like a debit card pulling from an account at the moment of purchase is exactly what I could not establish.

That distinction matters more than it sounds. In the pre-loaded balance model, you convert or top up a fiat or stablecoin-denominated balance first and the card spends only that, so the card cannot overdraw. In a true debit model, funds are pulled at the moment of purchase. Either way, the exchange is the counterparty holding your money, and either way you should assume a blockchain transfer can be the way in.

Which raises the network question, because that is where people lose money. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, which means a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send at all. Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

So my practical advice is blunt: before you send anything, ask Young in writing which coins and which networks are supported for this card. Do not infer the answer from which networks the exchange happens to list. Getting this wrong is not a fee you pay, it is a balance you may not see again.

Paying with it every day

What I can tell you is thinner than I would like.

The one solid everyday-use fact is the cashback, and it is genuinely interesting. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens, and the rate depends on your Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%. Bronze and Silver are not stated.

Tier Cashback rate
Essential 0.1%
Bronze Not stated
Silver Not stated
Gold 1.8%
Platinum 3.6%

Set against that, a real user report on Trustpilot about the exchange, not the card, raised unclear or undisclosed fees on instant bank transfer. That is exactly the category of friction this page keeps running into.

Two general payment facts will shape your experience more than the app will. First, address verification: AVS compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines on foreign-issued ones. Second, 3-D Secure: the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric, and under that regime liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to your bank. Whether this card uses it is not stated.

And one thing to plan for: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven. If you depend on this card for anything with a deadline, that is a risk.

What can go wrong

The good news first, and it is real: no official incidents were found. The bad news is that the shape of the risk is unclear rather than low.

The company picture is the strongest thing about this card. Young Platform S.p.A. is authorised by Consob and Banca d’Italia as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR. Account and payment services are linked to TPPay S.p.A., an Electronic Money Institution registered with the Bank of Italy, and Young Platform is a registered Payment Services Agent of TPPay. That is a proper two-licence structure: MiCAR covers the crypto side and the payment-services side is regulated separately, which is why a card like this often depends on both. What is not named is the card issuer.

One caution about what that supervision does and does not mean for your balance. EMIs must safeguard customer funds, by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. So the supervision is real and the protection is not deposit-guarantee protection.

Trustpilot, for the exchange rather than the card, is 4.4 out of 5 from 980 reviews, read 2026-10-21. The themes users report are unclear or undisclosed fees on instant bank transfer, unhelpful support, a site bug that caused a loss of about €100 which the company acknowledged and offered compensation for, and stablecoins no longer being available. No review visible discusses card payments at all — which means the card has effectively no public track record to judge.

That list tells you what to watch. Unclear fees on instant bank transfer is a warning about transfers, which is how you would fund this card. A site bug costing €100 is a warning about a young interface handling money. Stablecoins no longer available is a warning about the category of asset this card most plausibly runs on.

Where security and support are concerned, the official position is thin: security arrangements are not stated, and customer support runs through the Young Platform support centre, with no published response times or channels. The typical safeguards in this category — app-based two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation, tokenised mobile wallets — cannot be assumed here.

Two broader risks sit underneath all of this. Custody: whoever holds the private key controls the crypto, and with a custodial platform the user must trust the provider completely. The record is not reassuring — Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. And programme risk: card programmes do get closed. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask you to withdraw remaining balances.

A tax note, offered as a fact rather than advice. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, and for personal holdings that is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less. Gain is measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction, which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal event. Your own country’s rules may differ; this is not tax advice.

What to take instead

None of these is a straight swap. Each is a different bet, and I am showing you the trade rather than picking a winner.

Card Score Who can get it What it is Cost and fees
Young 5.7 / 10 Country list not disclosed Unofficial: Visa debit linked to the exchange account Issuance and monthly fee free per unofficial 2026 source; conversion and ATM fees not disclosed
Coinbase Card 6.4 / 10 All US states except Hawaii; US PATRIOT Act identity rules; no other countries Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical, spends cash or crypto, all crypto converted to US dollars “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”; no Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies when it buys, sells or trades, so conversion at payment costs you
OKX 6.2 / 10 EU plus Norway from 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded; rule by EEA user of OKX Europe Ltd., a MiCAR licensed entity Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit linked to OKX Pay; physical card not mentioned; issued via an unnamed European licensed payment provider Card fee: none per the explainer as of May 2026; no transaction fee, no OKX FX fee; conversion spread 0.1% per the explainer in May 2026 against 0.4% in the launch press release
BingX 5.8 / 10 Europe (EEA), APAC, LATAM and other selected regions; no country list, contact support to confirm Virtual (instant, no activation) and metal (mailed 15-30 business days), Visa debit, settles in USD Not stated; card spends USDT from the Fund Account converted at the real-time rate

Where each of them beats Young, plainly:

Where Young wins: it is the only one of the four whose crypto side is supervised under MiCAR by Consob and Banca d’Italia, with the payment side run through a Bank of Italy-registered e-money institution. And it is the only one whose fee ladder you can move by holding its own token.

One thing to know about this category generally, because it explains why “who issues the card” keeps coming up. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. A card payment involves several parties: the network routes messages and sets rules, the issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. Young naming no card issuer is not unusual, but it does mean one more party you cannot examine.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Young card to someone in this position, and only roughly this position: you are in a country Young serves, you already use the exchange or are ready to, you hold YNG and are content to hold it, and your spending from this card is small and variable rather than structural. In that setup the card does what it appears to do, the cashback is a genuine add-on, and the missing disclosure matters less because you are not moving much money through it.

I would not recommend it as your primary card. Not because Young looks unsafe — the supervision is real and the exchange rating is good — but because you cannot verify the things a primary card requires. You do not know the daily limit, the monthly limit, the conversion fee, the ATM fee, the dispute procedure, or the security arrangements. For rent, salary or anything where a decline or an unexplained charge hurts, being unable to check is itself the disqualifying problem.

The single question I would put to Young support before anything else: in my country of residence, can I open the account and be issued this card, and on which networks can I fund it. Everything else on this page waits behind those two answers. If they answer clearly, the card is worth an afternoon of testing. If they do not, you have your answer too.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Young card?

It is a payment card linked to your Young exchange account, so that a balance you hold on the exchange can be spent in shops. Unofficial 2026 sources describe it as a Visa debit card tied to the exchange trading account; Young’s official pages do not say so plainly. An unofficial 2026 report dates its availability from 30 November 2025, alongside a new payment account. The card’s own specifications — limits, fees, delivery — are not disclosed publicly.

How does the Young card work?

Structurally, it works like other crypto payment cards: crypto or a stablecoin balance on the exchange funds spending through the card network, with a conversion step somewhere in the process. Young does not publish whether it behaves like a prepaid card drawing on a stored balance or a debit card pulling at the moment of purchase. What is published is the Club tier system, where YNG holdings reduce fees from a 5% discount at Essential to 90% at Platinum.

Is Young a bank?

No. Young Platform S.p.A. is authorised by Consob and Banca d’Italia as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCAR, and its account and payment services are linked to TPPay S.p.A., an e-money institution registered with the Bank of Italy, with Young a registered payment services agent of TPPay. Those are not bank licences. Customer funds must be safeguarded, but e-money is not bank deposit and may not have deposit guarantee coverage.

Who owns Young?

Young Platform S.p.A. is the named company behind the exchange and the card. The payment and account side runs through TPPay S.p.A., an Italian e-money institution. The card issuer is not named on the public pages, which is a common structure — the crypto brand is often the programme manager rather than the issuer — but it does leave one party you cannot examine directly.

Can I get the Young card in my country?

I could not confirm that, because the country list is not stated and there is no published confirmation of country restrictions. The card is aimed at the Italian market. If you are outside Italy, ask Young support in writing about your country of residence before you open anything, because the answer decides whether the rest applies to you at all.

How much does the Young card cost?

Unofficial 2026 sources list the monthly fee and issuance cost as free, and that is the best headline available. The costs that actually move your bill — conversion fee, ATM fee, FX handling — are not disclosed, nor are the daily and monthly limits. The only published cost lever is the Club tier, which discounts those undisclosed fees by 5%, 30%, half-price, 75% or 90% depending on your YNG holding.

Does the Young card require KYC?

The specific requirements are not stated. In practice, expect verification: EU due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person screening, while US rules require name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is screened separately from residence. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold back or end the relationship.

How do I top up the Young card?

The card’s coins and networks are not disclosed, which is the most important gap on this page. The card draws on your exchange account, so the practical route is a balance on Young, possibly topped up by a blockchain transfer. Transfers are irreversible, and a deposit on the wrong network can be lost with no guarantee of recovery, so confirm supported networks in writing first.

Is the Young card safe?

The company side looks solid: MiCAR authorisation under Consob and Banca d’Italia, payment services through a Bank of Italy-registered e-money institution. The card side is undocumented — no security arrangements, no published dispute process, no free card deposit terms. On Trustpilot the exchange scores 4.4 out of 5 from 980 reviews, with users citing unclear fees, support and a site bug, and no visible review discussing the card itself.

Is the Young card worth it?

For a user already holding YNG in the Italian market, the cashback in tokens and the fee ladder make it worth testing — 1.8% at Gold, 3.6% at Platinum. For anyone else, the value is speculative because the fees, limits and country eligibility are unpublished. I would treat it as a supplementary card, put a modest balance on it, and never run rent or salary through it.

Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team