Coinbase Card, reviewed as a crypto card you'd actually use day to day
The Coinbase card is the payment card from Coinbase, the US-based crypto exchange. It works as a Visa prepaid debit card that spends either a US-dollar balance held on Coinbase or a crypto balance that gets converted to dollars at the moment you pay. There is one tier, no monthly fee, and a rotating crypto reward you can opt into. The card is a single product sold in a single currency, in a single country, by a single issuer, and those narrow limits are the first thing to understand before you decide whether it fits your life.
If you read the card page and walk away with one impression, it should be this: the Coinbase card is straightforward if you are a US-resident Coinbase customer who wants to spend crypto through a familiar Visa network, and it is simply unavailable if you are not. The rest of this review walks through who can get it, how to get it, what it really costs, how to top it up, what everyday use looks like, what can go wrong, and which cards to consider instead.
Conditions and facts in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Coinbase card scores 6.4 out of 10 in this review. That is a middling score, and it is middling for structural reasons rather than because the card does anything particularly badly. The card does the basics well: it is a Visa prepaid debit with no monthly fee, a real Visa network behind it, and a real US bank (Pathward, N.A.) as issuer. The reason it does not score higher is that almost everything else about it is narrower than what competing cards offer, and what the card is, depends entirely on what Coinbase the exchange decides to let you do.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why it scores the way it does |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Available in all US states except Hawaii. No other countries. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Zero spending fees, no annual fee, zero from the issuer on international transactions, but a spread applies when crypto is converted. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Bank link or paycheck deposit with zero fees; only what is in your Coinbase balance is spendable, and the supported coins and networks are not spelled out publicly. |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by Pathward, N.A. (FDIC member) on the Marqeta platform; Coinbase as a whole holds a 4.0/5 on Trustpilot, with complaints about account locks and slow support. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual or physical Visa prepaid, ATM access, and reportedly works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. |
Who the card suits: US residents who already keep funds on Coinbase and want to spend them through a Visa card without paying a monthly fee, with no interest in features like multi-currency balances, premium tiers, or staking-linked rewards.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside the US, anyone who wants a card in a currency other than US dollars, anyone who keeps their crypto in their own self-custody wallet, and anyone who needs high ATM or daily cash limits published up front.
Who Coinbase will issue the card to
The card is available in all US states except Hawaii, and that is the entire footprint. Coinbase does not issue the card in any other country, and the card page is explicit about that. The identity rules follow the USA PATRIOT Act: you will need your name, address, date of birth, and an identifying number, and Coinbase “may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents.” A credit check is not part of the process, and no staking or minimum balance is required to qualify.
The public card page does not say what minimum age is required or what immigration status you need, and the card page does not name a precise list of documents. The older cardholder agreement says eligibility needs the cardholder to be at least 18 and a US citizen or permanent resident, and that use may be limited until identity is fully verified. If that older language is what still applies, it explains the rough shape of who can apply: an adult with a US address, the right to live in the US, and the documents to prove it. Coinbase does not publish a “how long does verification take” answer, so anyone applying should expect to be patient if their case is not the easy path.
Two practical consequences follow. First, if you are a US citizen living abroad, the card is not for you, because the rule is residence, not citizenship. Second, if you are a US resident who already has a Coinbase account, the card signup is treated as part of the same identity record, so existing customers will generally not be asked to re-verify from scratch.
If you are reading this from anywhere outside the United States, you can stop here, because the rest of the review is about a product you cannot apply for. The alternatives section near the end of this page describes cards that are available in Europe and other regions.
How to get the Coinbase card
The application lives inside the Coinbase app. The general flow is straightforward and matches what other crypto card programmes do: sign in, complete or confirm your identity, then create a virtual card or order a physical one. The card itself is a Visa prepaid debit card, available as a virtual card or a physical card, and it can be used to spend either cash on Coinbase or crypto on Coinbase, with all crypto converted to US dollars at the moment of payment.
A few details that the public card page does not spell out, and that the older agreement only partly covers. The card page does not say how long the physical card takes to arrive; the older agreement says replacement cards sent because the old one expired are issued without a fee. The card page does not state the minimum age or immigration status, beyond the older agreement’s note that you must be 18 or older and a US citizen or permanent resident. There is also no published answer for what happens if the address on file changes to a non-US address, except that the older agreement says the card may be cancelled and any remaining funds returned, so a move out of the country is more than an address update.
For most US-resident Coinbase customers the actual steps are:
- Sign in to the Coinbase app. If you do not already have an account, sign up first and complete identity verification.
- Open the Card section and either create a virtual card immediately, or order a physical card to be mailed to your US address.
- Link a bank account to fund the card, or set up a paycheck deposit into Coinbase.
- Wait for the physical card to arrive, if you ordered one, then activate it in the app.
The card is a Visa, and the back end is Pathward, N.A. as the issuer, on the Marqeta processing platform. That matters for two reasons: it means the card sits on a normal banking and card-processing stack. The exact scope of that coverage is set out in the older agreement; the current card page is shorter and refers you back to the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement for full details.
Fees: what the Coinbase card really costs
The headline is friendly: “zero spending fees and no annual fees.” That is what the card page says, and it matches the older fee schedule on the most-visited line items. There is no Coinbase transaction fee on a card purchase. The card itself is a single tier, with no paid levels, and the only variation in what you earn is the rotating crypto reward you pick, which is described in the next section.

The cost picture is not quite as flat as “zero” sounds, because there is a spread. When you pay in crypto, Coinbase has to convert your crypto into US dollars at the moment the transaction is authorised, and that conversion is the same kind of buy, sell, or trade spread that you would get on the exchange. Coinbase does not publish a single percentage for this spread on the card page; it says the spread applies whenever Coinbase buys, sells, or trades crypto, and that the full fee schedule is in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement. In plain language: a coffee paid in crypto will cost you a little more than the same coffee paid in US dollars, and the difference is the spread Coinbase keeps to do the conversion.
There are no international fees from the issuer (“you may also be charged a fee by Coinbase” is the older agreement’s wording), and the Visa network handles the actual foreign-currency conversion when you pay abroad. Coinbase does not publish a multi-currency balance feature, so the card is a US-dollar card even when used overseas; the network does the conversion at its wholesale rate, and the spread is what you give up by not funding the card in the local currency.
ATM withdrawals are zero from Coinbase’s side ($0 from the issuer, $0 balance inquiry per the older fee schedule). The ATM operator may charge its own fee, and the older combined terms cap cash withdrawals at no more than $1,000 in any 24-hour period and no more than six withdrawals per day. The current help center text confirms the zero-fee part, and says limits vary by customer and may be lowered after risk checks; the in-app path is Card > Support > “View spending and ATM limits.”
Costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated on the current card page |
| Monthly fee | $0 |
| Crypto conversion (at payment) | A spread applies; no published percentage |
| International transactions (issuer fee) | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal (issuer fee) | $0; the ATM operator may charge |
| ATM balance inquiry | $0 |
| ATM cash withdrawal limit (older terms) | $1,000 per 24 hours, max 6 withdrawals a day |
| Spending limits | Vary by customer; risk checks may lower them |
Three everyday payments, and what each one costs
A $5 coffee paid in US dollars from a US bank link. The coffee costs $5. There is no Coinbase transaction fee, no spread, and no cardholder fee. This is the cheap path: pay in dollars, fund in dollars, pay in dollars.
A $50 grocery shop paid in crypto (say, Bitcoin) from a Coinbase balance. The grocery costs $50 at the till. Coinbase converts your Bitcoin into dollars at the moment of authorisation and you give up the spread Coinbase charges for that conversion, which is not published as a single number. The older agreement’s international line is a useful proxy for what “no fee from the issuer” means in practice: the issuer charges nothing, the network does its job, and the only cost is the spread on the conversion.
A 100-euro dinner paid in Europe. The dinner costs about $110 at the till, depending on the day’s Visa rate. Coinbase charges 0% on top of that. The network converts euros to dollars, the spread on the crypto-to-dollar conversion (if you paid in crypto) is the only Coinbase-side cost, and the only other number to watch is whatever your bank charges for the foreign transaction, which is zero on this card. In short: the international fee is the easy part; the conversion spread is the cost to think about.
How to top up the Coinbase card
The card is funded in two ways: a linked US bank account, or a paycheck deposit into Coinbase, and the card page says both are zero fees. The card does not have a separate top-up step in the sense of an external stablecoin transfer or a card-to-card load; instead, you fund your Coinbase USD balance, and the card spends from that balance. If you keep crypto on Coinbase, that crypto is also “available” to spend, in the sense that the card converts it to dollars at the moment of payment, and the older fee schedule lists funding from the Coinbase USD Wallet at $0.

The public page does not say what the minimum top-up is, and it does not list supported coins and networks for an external transfer. That matters because the broader category of crypto cards often funds through a stablecoin deposit, and the networks and tokens supported on that deposit are usually listed in the help center. Coinbase is unusually quiet on that detail for its own card, which leaves a small hole in the picture: a cardholder who keeps USDC in their own wallet on, say, Polygon cannot simply send that USDC to the card to top it up in the way some competitor cards allow. The safer reading is that funding happens through the normal Coinbase funding rails (bank, paycheck, on-platform conversion) rather than through a wallet-to-card transfer.
Two practical things follow. First, the card is best understood as a way to spend a balance you already have on Coinbase, not as a way to receive a stablecoin transfer from an outside wallet. Second, if you keep most of your assets outside Coinbase, the card has no obvious path to spend them; you would convert on the exchange, transfer in, then pay. The older agreement says funds on the card do not expire after the card’s “Valid Thru” date, which is a small but real protection against a card being mailed to you, sitting in a drawer, and then being treated as a closed account.
Paying with the Coinbase card every day
The card works at any merchant that takes Visa, which in practice is most of them. You can add it to a mobile wallet (the card page does not officially say so, but multiple unofficial sources, including TechRadar and CryptoSlate, list Apple Pay and Google Pay support; treat that as unofficial, not confirmed by the card page itself). The card can be used at an ATM, with the limits described above. Blocked merchant categories are not listed, which means the standard MCC blocks some issuers apply (such as gambling, MCC 7995) are not stated; in the absence of any published policy, it is reasonable to expect normal Visa acceptance, with the usual variability that comes from merchant category restrictions.
The crypto reward is the most variable part of the experience. US card users can opt into a reward on every purchase, and the rate is variable and shown inside the app. The reward is paid in a crypto of your choice, drawn from a rotating list, which means the asset you earn in changes from time to time. The rate is not a fixed number, so anyone using the card for cashback should think of the reward as a promotional rate rather than a published one.
The Coinbase app is the control surface. It is available on iPhone (iOS 16.4 and above), Mac, and Vision, in 18 interface languages including Russian and Turkish. The App Store rating is 4.7 from about 1.8 million ratings, read on 20 October 2026. Google Play data was not available at the time of writing. The app is what you use to view transactions, freeze the card, change the reward, and reach support; the older cardholder agreement points to the in-app Card > Support route for card-specific help.
If something goes wrong, the older agreement gives a rough timeline: report unauthorised transactions, the issuer decides within 10 business days and may take up to 45 days, the account is credited within 10 business days in the meantime, and losses reported more than 60 days after the statement may not be recovered. Merchant refunds are handled by the merchant and may post with delay. Chargeback rights under Visa’s rules are not described in the public card page, so anyone dealing with a serious dispute should expect to deal with Coinbase support first, and the issuer only as a backstop.
What can go wrong with the Coinbase card
The card is built on a normal banking and processing stack, but the wider service is a crypto exchange, and that combination has its own history of customer-experience problems. A few things to weigh before you commit a balance to it.
Account locks and slow support. Trustpilot rates the broader Coinbase service at 4.0 out of 5 across 23,282 reviews, with 45% five-star and 43% one-star. The recurring themes in 2026 reviews are slow or absent support in fraud cases, account lockouts and heavy verification, multi-day holds on larger deposits, and fees on conversions and debit-card transfers. The card is the same company, the same identity record, and the same support queue, so anyone who has had a Coinbase account frozen for verification reasons should expect the same risk on the card side.
Bank-account overcharging. Interesting Engineering reported in 2026 that Coinbase confirmed a bug that mistakenly overcharged some users’ bank accounts. That is a payment-rail incident rather than a card-programme incident, but it is the kind of issue that surfaces on the same bank link the card uses to fund itself.
Custodial risk. The card is custodial, in the sense that the funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank until the moment of payment. The category has a long history of custodial failures (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin) and Coinbase is a large, regulated US exchange rather than a small offshore wallet, but the structural risk of holding funds with a custodian is the same.
Issuer change. The card page now names Pathward, N.A. as issuer, while the older agreement in the static-assets folder names MetaBank, N.A. with Marqeta as program manager. Coinbase is in the process of, or has completed, an issuer migration, and the practical effect is that the card programme has been rebuilt on a different banking partner. A change of issuer is the kind of event that has shut down other crypto card programmes in the past (Visa ended its global agreements with FTX in November 2022; WaveCrest was suspended in 2018), so it is worth knowing which bank is on the other end of your card today.
Sanctions and identity. Coinbase is a regulated US exchange, which means it is required to apply US sanctions screening. Tether has said it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, and a similar logic applies to any card programme on a US-licensed issuer. The card page does not describe the screening process in detail, and the older agreement is brief on it, so anyone with cross-border movement in their history should expect the standard KYC and sanctions steps, with the possibility of an account being restricted.
FX in practice. Third-party reviews disagree on whether the card charges a foreign-transaction fee, and Coinbase’s own public page is short on the detail. The older agreement says 0% from the issuer, and the help center is consistent with that. Anyone planning to use the card heavily abroad should still test a small transaction first, because the disagreement in third-party reviews is the kind of thing that resolves one way on a US billing address and another way on a non-US address.
What to use instead of the Coinbase card
The Coinbase card is one option in a market that has been consolidating. A few alternatives worth knowing about, none of them a perfect substitute.
Young Card
The Young Card is a crypto card with a 5.7 out of 10 in this review. The public material on it is thin: the card page does not state availability, fees, or funding in a public summary, so anyone considering it should read the latest cardholder terms before applying. The clearest published feature is the reward: cashback is paid in YNG tokens, with rates that depend on a Club tier. Essential earns 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, and Platinum 3.6%, and Bronze and Silver are not stated. The interesting trade-off is that the card is interesting only if you are bullish on YNG, because the reward is denominated in the issuer’s own token and the rate is modest even at the top published tier.
OKX
The OKX card is a Mastercard virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, available across the EU plus Norway, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded, and a launch date of 28 January 2026. The card is euro-denominated, and is issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider under OKX Europe Ltd., a MiCAR-licensed entity. The fee structure is friendly: no card fee, no transaction fee, no OKX FX fee, and a conversion spread of 0.1% per the explainer, or 0.4% per the launch press release; the explainer is the newer of the two and is the one to use.
The card is funded with USDC or USDG in OKX Pay, other coins have to be converted first, and there is no auto top-up, so a payment can be declined if the balance is too low. The reward is paid only on USDG purchases, USDC earns nothing, and the cashback rates depend on VIP tier: Regular 2% capped at 10 EUR a month, VIP1 4% capped at 300, VIP2 4.5% capped at 450, VIP3 5% capped at 1,000, and VIP4 and above 10% capped at 1,000 (the explainer text says 2 to 5%, the table says 10%, the table is the more recent number). The launch release had a 30-day promo of up to 20% on VIP and 15% on regular tiers.
The case for OKX over Coinbase is straightforward: it is in Europe, it is euro-denominated, and it is paid for by stablecoins the user already holds. The case against is that USDC earns no cashback, the published material on fees is internally inconsistent, and a virtual-only card with no published physical card is a smaller proposition.
BingX
BingX has a card that scores 5.8 out of 10 in this review. The card is available in Europe (EEA), APAC, LATAM, and other selected regions, with no country list and a recommendation to contact support to confirm. It comes as a virtual card issued instantly with no activation step, and a metal card mailed in 15 to 30 business days; both are Visa debit cards settling in USD.
The card is funded with USDT only, from the BingX Fund Account, and the card page does not state fees or cashback. In other words, the value of the BingX card is essentially that it exists and spends USDT; everything else about it (cost, reward, daily-use quality) is not publicly described, and any user considering it should ask support for the terms before applying.
| Card | Score | Geography | Currency | Funding | Reward | Standout feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coinbase | 6.4 / 10 | US only (except Hawaii) | USD | Bank link, paycheck, Coinbase balance | Variable, rotating crypto | Simple, one-tier, low cost |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU plus Norway, excluding Iceland and Liechtenstein | EUR | USDC, USDG in OKX Pay | USDG only, tiered 2 to 10% | Euro-denominated, MiCAR-licensed entity |
| Young | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 0.1 to 3.6% in YNG | Token-denominated reward |
| BingX | 5.8 / 10 | EEA, APAC, LATAM, “selected regions” | USD (settlement) | USDT only | Not stated | USDT-funded |
A wider note on alternatives. The category has been through a difficult two years. Visa said in November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026, but that is a single source and unconfirmed. The point is that the crypto card market is a live market in a way that a bank card market is not, and any comparison should account for the fact that the card on the right side of the table today may be on the left side of a closure notice tomorrow.
Who I would recommend the Coinbase card to
The card does one thing well, and the one thing it does well is the one most people want from a crypto card: it spends a crypto balance through a real Visa network, in US dollars, with no monthly fee and a reward that is variable but available. If you are a US-resident Coinbase customer with a balance you want to spend at the till, and you do not need anything more than that, the card is a reasonable choice and the 6.4 score is mostly a reflection of the limits of the product, not a complaint about the product itself.
The card is not for you if you live outside the US, keep your crypto in self-custody, want a multi-currency balance, need published high limits, or want a card in any currency other than US dollars. It is also worth pausing on if you have had Coinbase account problems in the past, because the card shares the same support queue and the same identity record. The category has had a rough few years, with closures and regulator action affecting the names behind several card programmes, and Coinbase is a large, US-licensed exchange, but the structural risks of a custodial product are still there, and the issuer migration from MetaBank to Pathward is a reminder that the bank on the back of the card can change.
The honest summary is that the card is what it says it is: a US-only, USD-only, single-tier Visa prepaid debit with no monthly fee, an unofficial mobile-wallet option, and a rotating crypto reward. If that matches your situation, the 6.4 score is the right shape of answer: good enough where it applies, simply unavailable where it does not.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Coinbase card?
The Coinbase card is a Visa prepaid debit card issued by Pathward, N.A. on the Marqeta platform, marketed by Coinbase. It comes as a virtual or physical card, spends either US dollars or crypto held on Coinbase, and converts crypto to US dollars at the moment of payment. It is a single-tier product with no monthly fee, available only in the United States, in every state except Hawaii.
How does the Coinbase card work?
You fund your Coinbase USD balance from a linked bank account or paycheck deposit, or you keep a crypto balance on Coinbase. When you pay with the card, Coinbase debits the US dollar balance; if you chose to pay in crypto, Coinbase converts that crypto into US dollars first and the spread on the conversion is the cost. The card sits on the Visa network, so it is accepted wherever Visa is accepted.
Is Coinbase a bank?
No. Coinbase is a US-based crypto exchange, not a bank. The card itself is issued by Pathward, N.A., which is a Member FDIC bank, but Coinbase as a company is not a bank and the card funds are not bank deposits. And that protection does not apply to the crypto balance.
Who owns Coinbase?
Coinbase is a publicly listed US company. The card is a product it markets, not one it issues: the issuing bank is Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, with a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence and Marqeta as the processing platform.
Is the Coinbase card available in the United Kingdom, the European Union, or Canada?
No. The Coinbase card is available in the United States only, in every state except Hawaii. There is no UK, EU, or Canadian version of the card; Coinbase has not published a non-US card programme. Customers in those regions should look at alternatives such as the OKX card (EU) or BingX (EEA, APAC, LATAM, selected regions).
How do I get the Coinbase card?
Sign in to the Coinbase app, open the Card section, and create a virtual card or order a physical one. The card is part of the same identity record as your Coinbase account, so existing customers who are already verified do not need to re-verify. The card is free to order; the card page does not state delivery times.
Does the Coinbase card require KYC?
Yes. The card follows the same identity rules as the Coinbase account: name, address, date of birth, and an identifying number, and Coinbase may also ask for a driver’s license or other ID. There is no credit check and no staking requirement. The card page does not state the minimum age, but the older cardholder agreement says 18 or older and a US citizen or permanent resident.
How do I add the Coinbase card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The Coinbase card page does not officially state mobile-wallet support. Multiple unofficial sources, including TechRadar and CryptoSlate, list Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported; treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by the card page itself. The most reliable way to add the card to a wallet is to open the wallet app, choose to add a card, and follow the prompts; if the issuer’s tokenisation is enabled, the card will appear.
Is the Coinbase card free?
The card has no monthly fee and no annual fee, and Coinbase charges $0 for ATM withdrawals. There is no Coinbase transaction fee on a card purchase, but a spread applies when Coinbase has to convert crypto into US dollars at the moment of payment, and that spread is not published as a single number. International transactions are 0% from the issuer; the Visa network handles the currency conversion at its wholesale rate.
Is the Coinbase card safe?
The card sits on a normal banking and processing stack (Pathward, N.A. as issuer, Marqeta as platform, Visa as network). Crypto held on Coinbase is custodial, and the card is part of the same Coinbase account, so the same support queue and the same identity record apply, with the same history of customer-experience complaints that Trustpilot shows for Coinbase as a whole. Anyone using the card should treat the crypto side as an exchange balance, not a bank deposit.
Exchange cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
