Bitypay Card Review: Costs, Limits and Who It Suits (2026)
Bitypay’s card rates 7.4 out of 10 in my assessment. It looks attractive on paper — the accounts I could check describe a free Visa Infinite that draws on self-custody stablecoins, with no FX or ATM fee. But the card’s own public pages say almost nothing, and most of what circulates about it comes from third-party sites rather than Bitypay itself. My job here is to separate the two: what the card actually states, what is claimed but unofficial, and what remains unsaid. Below I walk you through who can get it, how to sign up, what it really costs, how to fund it, and what can go wrong — so you can judge whether it fits your situation before you commit anything.
The conditions described are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: the score, who it suits, who it does not
I gave Bitypay a 7.4 / 10. That is a respectable but not top score, and the reasons are mostly about transparency rather than the product itself. The card’s most attractive features — a Visa Infinite, self-custody, free spending in dollars, wide top-up options — are exactly the things that are hardest to confirm from official sources. Where the card does speak clearly, it speaks well; where it does not, I have said so.

Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Issuing countries are not disclosed and the official site was unavailable; unofficial sources describe full “Level 4” verification and one Reddit comment suggests eligibility may hinge on citizenship. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Unofficial lists show issuance and monthly fees free, FX and ATM free, and 0% on USDC top-up; the same page says transaction and maintenance fees are “not publicly disclosed.” |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | USDC as collateral in a self-custody wallet on Base or Arbitrum; unofficial sources also list USDT. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | The brand sits under Codego Group, but the issuer and licences are not named and the official site returned a 403; no complaints specific to this card surfaced. |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Unofficial: Visa Infinite, virtual and physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, contactless, and no ATM fee. |
| Total | 7.4 / 10 | A strong-looking card held back by thin official disclosure. |
Who this suits: if you already hold USDC and want a Visa Infinite that spends directly from your own self-custody wallet, with what looks like no FX or ATM fee, this card is designed for you. The audience is essentially holders of USDC who want a Visa Infinite card. You are getting a premium card network, no borrowing, and your keys stay with you.
Who it does not suit: if you need certainty before you move money — clear issuing countries, a published fee table, a named issuer and licence — this is the wrong card, because the card itself does not publish those things. It also does not suit anyone who needs a bank account in their own name, or who wants to spend a wide range of tokens beyond USDC without manual work.
Will they give you the card?
The short answer is: the card does not say. Issuing countries are not disclosed on the card’s public pages, and the official site was unavailable when this review was checked. That is the first thing you should weigh, because “who can get it” gates everything else.
What unofficial sources add: a full “Level 4” verification — email, phone, identity document, proof of address and a selfie — is described by one third-party site (cryptocards.so, 2026). The card’s own pages do not confirm this, so treat it as a strong hint rather than a promise. One Reddit comment reportedly suggests that usability depends on your citizenship and the regulatory gating around it. That is a single anecdote I did not read and cannot verify, but it is the same pattern you see across this category: nationality is screened separately from residence, and issuer risk policy often applies to citizenship as well as address.
So the honest answer is that eligibility is likely more selective than “anyone with a phone and an ID,” and you should expect to prove who you are and where you live. I cannot tell you which countries are in or out, because the card does not say.
How to get it
The card’s public pages do not describe a sign-up flow in a way I could confirm, and the official site was down. What I can tell you is what the third-party description implies: you would create an account, complete a “Level 4” identity verification (email, phone, ID document, proof of address, selfie), and then be issued a card. That is unofficial, from cryptocards.so (2026), not confirmed by Bitypay.
The card you would receive, according to the same unofficial source, is a Visa Infinite, available both as a virtual and as a physical card. Neither the issuance process nor delivery times are stated by the card. That matters: if you need a physical card in your hand quickly, you are relying on an unconfirmed delivery timeline.
My practical advice, without pretending to know the exact steps: expect a verification-heavy onboarding rather than an instant signup, and treat any specific instruction about documents or timing you find elsewhere as unofficial until you see it on Bitypay’s own site.
What it really costs: Fees
This is where Bitypay looks strongest and where the disclosure is weakest at the same time. The card’s own public pages do not publish a fee table. Third-party sources do — and the picture is attractive, but internally inconsistent, so read it carefully.

Here is what I could gather, with its source marked clearly.
| Fee or limit | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Free | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Monthly fee | Free | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| FX fee | Free | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Decline fee | Free | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| ATM fee | Free | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Top-up (USDC) | 0% deposit fee | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Transaction fee | Not publicly disclosed | Card’s own pages, per cryptocards.so |
| Maintenance fee | Not publicly disclosed | Card’s own pages, per cryptocards.so |
| Daily spend limit | Listed as unlimited | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Monthly spend limit | Listed as unlimited | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| ATM withdrawal limit | Listed as unlimited | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
The inconsistency is important: the same third-party page lists FX and decline fees as free while also saying transaction and maintenance fees are “not publicly disclosed.” “Free FX” alongside an undisclosed transaction fee means your real cost per purchase is not fully pinned down. Treat “free” on this card as a promising claim, not a settled fact.
Now let me run a few everyday payments through it, so you can see which fees would apply. These are illustrations of how the fee structure would bite, using only the fee types above — not quotes from the card.
- Buying coffee abroad, say 5 EUR, paid with the physical card. The FX fee is listed as free, and the transaction fee is not disclosed — so the only cost you can confirm is none, but you cannot rule out an undisclosed transaction fee.
- A subscription billed online, say 20 USD. Transaction fee undisclosed; decline fee free. This is the payment where an undisclosed fee would matter most, because it repeats monthly.
- Withdrawing cash at an ATM, say 100 USD. The ATM fee is listed as free and no ATM limit is stated, so this looks like the card’s cleanest everyday operation — again, unofficial.
The everyday lesson: if your spending is in dollars, or if you mostly top up and pay without touching foreign currency or cash machines, the described fee structure works in your favour. If you rely heavily on undisclosed transaction or maintenance fees, you are relying on a gap.
How to top it up
This is the part of Bitypay that is clearest, and it is the part I like most. The card’s own material describes a specific model: USDC held as collateral in a self-custody wallet, on the Base or Arbitrum networks. Spending happens over Visa rails with no manual conversion — that is, the card draws on the USDC you already hold, in your own wallet, without you converting it by hand each time.
Third-party sources add that USDT is also accepted, on Base and Arbitrum, with a 0% deposit fee on USDC top-ups. That 0% is unofficial but consistent with the self-custody design: because the funds never leave your wallet as a custodial balance, there is less for the provider to charge on.
Practical points to keep in mind:
- You need your own wallet, and you need USDC (and possibly USDT) on the right network. Getting the network wrong is the classic way to lose money in this category.
- Because it is self-custody, you keep your private keys. That is a real security benefit, but it also means a mistake on your side — a wrong network, a phishing address, lost keys — is a mistake on you, with no provider-side safety net.
- No top-up minimums, fees beyond the 0% USDC figure, or withdrawal rules are stated by the card. “How to withdraw money” is something the card does not address.
For you, the fit is simple: if you are comfortable holding stablecoins in your own wallet and topping them up from your own sources, this is a clean, low-friction way to spend them.
Paying with it every day
The card’s own pages are thin here, so most of what follows is unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) and I am flagging it as such. Described features: Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card is contactless. Combined with a physical Visa Infinite, that covers most of how people actually pay — tap in a shop, tap online, add to a phone wallet.
A few practical observations from how these cards behave in general, applied carefully to this one:
- Wallets matter. Adding a card to Apple Pay or Google Pay uses a device-specific number, not your real card number, and each tap uses a one-time code — so adding to a phone wallet is generally safer than handing over a plastic card.
- Online payments may trigger an extra identity check (3-D Secure), which is the issuer deciding whether to challenge you. Nothing in Bitypay’s material says how that works for you specifically.
- Address verification can cause declines on foreign-issued cards, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs. Because Bitypay does not state its issuing country, you cannot predict this in advance — another reason to keep a backup card.
On rewards, the unofficial source lists no cashback, no staking rewards, no welcome or referral bonus — but it does list free access to over 1,300 airport lounges, which is a classic Visa Infinite perk. If lounge access matters to you, that is the reward; if you rely on cashback, this is not the card for it. The card’s own pages state none of this.
What can go wrong
Now the honest risks. I want to lead with the transparency issue, because for this card it is the biggest one.
- Thin official disclosure. The official site returned a 403 during checking, the issuer and licences are not named, and many core details come from third parties. Before you commit meaningful funds, verify anything that matters to you on Bitypay’s own site. If you cannot confirm it, treat it as unconfirmed.
- Who is behind the card. The brand is owned and operated by Codego Group. That is the parent, but the issuer and its licences are not stated. In this category the issuer — not the crypto brand — is the regulated party that holds your funds and runs the card programme, so an unnamed issuer is a genuine gap.
- Self-custody cuts both ways. Because you hold the keys, you are protected from provider-side custody failure, but you carry the full risk of key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware. Transfers are irreversible; there is no undo.
- Network mistakes. Deposits on an unsupported network, or to an address on the wrong network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Make sure you are on Base or Arbitrum, the networks named for USDC.
- Verification can fail or lock you out. Full “Level 4” KYC is described. If verification cannot be completed, accounts can be frozen or closed pending documents — a pattern common to regulated providers. And nationality is screened separately from residence, so your citizenship can matter independent of where you live.
- The category’s closure risk. Card programmes do shut down. In this space Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a crypto card issuer, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing its programmes. Closures follow a pattern: stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw. This is not a prediction about Bitypay, but it is the risk profile of any crypto card.
- Complaints. I found no complaints specific to this card, and no Trustpilot page for Bitypay. Be careful here: searches return the unrelated legacy BitPay (bitpay.com), a different company. Do not read reviews of BitPay as if they were about Bitypay. That lack of complaints reflects little public track record rather than a proven-good history, so it is neutral, not reassuring.
None of this makes the card unsafe in itself. It makes it thinly documented, and that is what you are really being asked to accept.
What to take instead
If you want the same broad idea — spend stablecoins from your own wallet via a card — but with more published detail, there are alternatives I scored higher on transparency. None of these is a like-for-like match, and I am not endorsing any of them; here is how they differ from Bitypay.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost headline | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Mastercard (virtual, metal optional) | Virtual free; metal $199/year | Sign-up open in 45 listed countries/territories, proof of residency required |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | Visa (Standard / Infinite metal / Infinite gold, virtual + physical) | Membership 0 / $1,000 / $10,000 per year | Tiered by residence; citizenship and ID both matter |
| TokenPocket | 5.8 / 10 | Visa/Mastercard debit (mostly virtual) | No extra fees beyond a small NFT fee; 1% crypto deposit fee | European focus for Visa, wider list for Mastercard |
A few notes on how each compares to Bitypay:
- MetaMask is the closest to Bitypay’s self-custody idea and, like it, spends directly from your connected wallet. It publishes its sign-up list and its main costs more openly than Bitypay does. But its cashback is in its own mUSD token, and metal is expensive.
- KAST publishes one of the clearest fee tables in the category (stablecoin top-up and USD spending at 0%, non-USD FX at 0.5%–1.75%, and small fixed fees for declines and tiny transactions). Its catch is steep annual membership on the upper tiers and a strict ID/residence rule.
- TokenPocket keeps fees low but charges 1% on crypto deposits (refundable later via rewards) and its card is mostly virtual, with an Americas rollout only planned.
Set against these, Bitypay’s pitch — a premium Visa Infinite, unlimited listed limits, free FX/ATM, 0% USDC top-up — is the most attractive on paper, and the least verifiable. If your priority is knowing exactly what you are signing up for, one of the more transparent alternatives may serve you better.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bitypay card to a specific person: someone who already holds USDC in a self-custody wallet on Base or Arbitrum, wants to spend it through a premium Visa network without converting by hand, values keeping their own keys, and does not mind researching the issuer and terms themselves. If that is you, the card’s described behaviour — 0% USDC top-up, no FX or ATM fee, wide “unlimited” limits — is a good fit.
I would steer you away if any of the following matters to you: you need clear answers on which countries are served, a published and internally consistent fee table, or a clearly named issuer and licence. I would also steer you away if you plan to rely on cashback or on spending a broad range of tokens, or if you would rather not hold the responsibility that comes with self-custody.
My one-line verdict: a promising, premium-feeling card held back by thin official disclosure — worth taking only if you are comfortable verifying the details yourself, and only with money you can afford to see tied up in a wallet you control.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitypay card?
Bitypay is a Visa-branded payment card that spends stablecoins you already hold, rather than drawing on a bank account. The card’s own material describes USDC held as collateral in a self-custody wallet on the Base or Arbitrum networks, spent over Visa rails with no manual conversion. Third-party sources add that it is a Visa Infinite, available virtual and physical, under the Codego Group brand. Official detail is limited.
How does the Bitypay card work?
You hold your own stablecoins in a self-custody wallet, and the card spends from that balance directly through the Visa network, without you converting by hand each time. Because it is self-custody, you keep your private keys, so you bear responsibility for key loss and for sending funds on the correct network. The card does not publish many of the specifics, so treat unofficial descriptions as unconfirmed until you see them on Bitypay’s own site.
Is Bitypay a bank?
No — Bitypay is a card brand, not a bank. The brand is owned and operated by Codego Group, but the actual card issuer and its licences are not stated on the card’s public pages. In this category the issuer is the regulated party that holds funds and runs the programme, so the unnamed issuer is something you should confirm yourself before committing money.
Who can get the Bitypay card?
The card does not disclose which countries it is issued in, and the official site was unavailable when I checked. Unofficial sources describe a full “Level 4” identity verification, and one Reddit comment suggests eligibility may depend on citizenship as well as residence. In general, nationality is screened separately from residence in this sector, so your passport country may matter independently of where you live.
How do I get the Bitypay card?
The card’s public pages do not describe a confirmed sign-up flow, and delivery times are not stated. Unofficial sources suggest you would register an account, complete Level 4 verification (email, phone, ID, proof of address, selfie), and receive a virtual or physical Visa Infinite. Because none of this is confirmed by Bitypay directly, verify each step on the official site before sending documents or funds.
Does the Bitypay card require KYC?
Almost certainly yes, though the card does not state its requirements directly. Third-party sources describe full “Level 4” verification involving email, phone, identity document, proof of address and a selfie. This fits the norm for regulated providers, where incomplete due diligence can mean a frozen or closed account. Expect to prove who you are; do not expect it to be instant.
Is the Bitypay card free?
Unofficially, yes — issuance and the monthly fee are listed as free, as are FX, decline and ATM fees, with a 0% deposit fee on USDC top-ups. But the same source says transaction and maintenance fees are “not publicly disclosed.” So the card looks free to open and to hold, yet your true per-purchase cost is not fully pinned down. Treat “free” here as a promising claim, not a settled fact.
How do I top up the Bitypay card?
The clearest part of the offer: USDC is held as collateral in your own self-custody wallet, on Base or Arbitrum, and you spend it with no manual conversion. Unofficial sources add USDT support on the same networks and a 0% USDC deposit fee. Make sure you send on a supported network, because a deposit on the wrong network or to the wrong address can be lost with no guaranteed recovery.
Is the Bitypay card safe?
It depends what you mean by safe. The self-custody design means your keys never leave your wallet, so you avoid provider-side custody failure — but you take on full responsibility for key loss, phishing and wrong-network transfers. On top of that, the issuer and licences are not stated and official disclosure is thin. So the design is sound; the transparency is the weak point. Keep only what you can afford to have at risk.
Is the Bitypay card worth it?
For the right person, yes: if you hold USDC in self-custody, want to spend through a premium Visa network, and value keeping your own keys, the described features are attractive. For anyone who needs certainty first — issuing countries, a published fee table, a named issuer — it is not worth the uncertainty, and one of the more transparent alternatives may suit you better. Decide based on your need for clarity, not the headline.
Wallet cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
