What the Confidopay card actually does, and what it costs
Somewhere between a bank account and a crypto wallet there is a card that lets you spend what is on a crypto balance, and Confidopay is one of them. That is the whole pitch, and it is a real one: if your normal card application has failed, if you are paid in crypto, or if you want a card that is not attached to a salary account, this is the category of thing that solves that problem. But the category is crowded, the fine print is where the differences live, and almost nothing about this card is explained on the front page of its own website.
I went through the card’s own public pages and worked out what is actually settled and what is not. The short version: it is a competently built product with a clean cost structure at the point of conversion, real banking licences behind it, and limits generous enough for ordinary life. It is also available to a narrow slice of Europe, it says almost nothing about foreign exchange fees or monthly charges, and its customer-service record cannot be judged because there is barely any public history to judge.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.6 out of 10
My score is 7.6 / 10, and the single most useful thing I can tell you is what that number is made of. The card is excellent at the thing a card does — spending money in shops — and merely acceptable at everything around it. Access is narrow, so if you are not in the right part of Europe this is not your card at all. Costs are transparent where they are listed and unlisted where they are not. Top-up works across six assets and networks, which is more than many rivals offer, but not the two you might most expect. Reliability has no scandals attached to it, but “no scandals” is partly a function of a young, small operation. Everyday use is where it wins outright.

Who it suits: EEA residents who hold crypto, want a payment card funded from that crypto, and have had a hard time with ordinary banks. Who it does not: anyone outside the EEA and Switzerland, anyone who needs a card in a currency other than the euro, anyone who wants predictable all-in costs on foreign spending, and anyone who intends to hold a large balance there for a long time. I will come back to that last point, because it is the one that deserves real thought.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Citizenship or residence in an EEA state or Switzerland; payment cards only for EEA residents; onboarding in Hungary suspended |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Physical and virtual card creation €0; crypto exchange 0.1% + €1; monthly fee and FX fee not stated |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC (ERC20), USDC on Polygon, BNB on BNB Smart Chain; USDT not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Issuer Wallester AS (Estonia); crypto services via Lightspark Payments Europe AS, VASP licence FVT000546; no incidents or complaint pages found |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual card immediately after verification, plus physical; Apple Pay and Google Pay for both; ATM €3,000/month and €350/day |
| Total | 7.6 / 10 | Strong everyday card, narrow access, incomplete fee disclosure |
What sits behind the score
The 10 out of 10 for everyday use is not a marketing flourish, and I want to explain why, because it explains the shape of the whole score. A virtual card you can hold seconds after finishing verification, a physical one on the way, both of them pushable into Apple Pay and Google Pay, and €3,000 a month of ATM withdrawals — that is a complete payment product. There is nothing a normal card does that this does not do, apart from borrow money, which it is not trying to do.
Against that, access scores 5. This is an EEA-and-Switzerland product with an EEA-residents-only rule on the physical payment card, and Russian citizens are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship. Cards also cannot be used in a list of jurisdictions that includes Russia, Belarus, Ukraine in part, the UAE and Türkiye. If you are reading this from outside that map, stop here and read the alternatives section instead; you have better options.
Cost scores 8, and the reason it is not a 9 or a 10 is the same reason the whole fee question is frustrating here: the numbers the company does publish are genuinely good, and the ones it does not publish are the ones that change what you actually pay.
Will they give you the card
Here is the eligibility rule as the card states it, and I will walk you through it piece by piece because it is more layered than it first appears.
Natural persons with citizenship or residency in an EEA state or Switzerland can apply. On top of that, the payment cards themselves are only issued to EEA residents — a Swiss citizen living in Switzerland is inside the citizenship rule but outside the residency rule for the card, as far as the stated policy goes. And onboarding in Hungary is suspended, which is stated without a date, so if you are Hungarian or resident there this is worth asking about rather than assuming.
There is also a nationality exclusion: citizens of Russia are excluded unless they additionally hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship. So Russian citizenship on its own does not disqualify you if you hold a second, qualifying citizenship. It is a layered rule, not a blanket one.
And there is a geography rule on use rather than on issue: card payments are blocked in listed jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine (partial), the UAE and Türkiye. Worth separating these two things clearly. Eligibility decides whether you get a card; the blocked-jurisdiction list decides where that card will work. A card that is blocked in your country of residence is not much use to you even if you could obtain one.
This is the first place to check whether you are wasting your time. Before you upload a passport to anyone, read the eligibility lines against your own nationality and where you actually live. If either does not match, nothing that happens later will help you, and you would be handing documents to a company that is going to decline you.
Why citizenship and residence are treated separately
This trips people up, so it is worth a paragraph. Under anti-money-laundering rules, regulated businesses have to verify identity, screen against sanctions lists, work out the purpose of the relationship and check whether you are politically exposed. In the EU that customer due diligence covers your name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, plus a sanctions check. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence because sanctions and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. A card issuer that serves European residents but is worried about certain nationalities is acting inside normal practice, not inventing a rule. The practical consequence for you is simply this: your passport tells them one thing, your address tells them another, and both are checked.
How to get it
The application runs on two verification tiers, and the second one is the part most people meet by surprise.
Tier 1 is the entry point. You need an ID card or passport if you are an EEA or Swiss citizen, or a passport if you are not, plus a selfie. Third-country citizens living in the EEA or Switzerland also need a residence permit. Proof of address may be requested. That is the whole of tier 1.
Tier 2 is triggered automatically by volume, not by choice. When you hit €15,000 of virtual-asset inflow or €25,000 in total, you are moved into enhanced checks. That means proof of address — a utility bill or a bank statement dated within the last three months, and mobile bills are not accepted — plus a source of funds. You have 30 days to complete it, and you keep full access while you do. Processing time for tier 1 and the specific grounds for rejection are not stated on the public pages.
The practical way to read this: if you are a normal spender, you will probably never see tier 2. If you are moving money through the platform rather than spending it, you will, and you should gather a utility bill and think about source-of-funds documentation before you need it rather than under pressure.
On the card itself: there is a virtual card and a physical card. The network and card currency are not stated, which sounds like trivia until you try to pay for something priced in a currency the account does not hold — more on that in the cost section. The virtual card is available immediately after verification. Where the physical card is delivered, how long it takes, what it costs and how a lost card is replaced are not stated. Those are ordinary questions with ordinary answers somewhere, and the fact that they are not on the public page is exactly the kind of thing to ask support before you commit.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section where a careful reading pays off, so let me give you the published figures first, then show you what they mean on three ordinary purchases.

Here is everything the card states about cost:
| Item | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Physical card creation | €0 |
| Virtual card creation | €0 |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not listed |
| Crypto exchange on card spend | 0.1% + €1 |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not listed |
| ATM fee | Not listed |
| Card payments, Tier 1 | €10,000/month and €10,000/day |
| Overall outbound, Tier 1 | €10,000/month |
| Card payments, Tier 2 | €15,000/month and €10,000/day |
| Overall outbound, Tier 2 | No overall outbound limit |
| ATM | €3,000/month and €350/day (both tiers) |
Fees are quoted in euro throughout. The card currency itself is not stated.
Now the part I actually want you to take away. Card creation is free, and the conversion cost when you spend is 0.1% plus €1 — that is a genuinely low, plainly stated number, and it is the strongest thing about this card financially. But there is no monthly fee listed and no FX fee listed. Those two absences are not rounding errors. A card that quotes you nothing for foreign exchange may have a good rate with no markup, or it may have something it has not published; you cannot tell from outside, and the difference between those two cases is several percent on every foreign purchase.
I am not going to guess at a number, and you should be sceptical of anyone who does. What I can tell you is where to look before you rely on this: the cardholder terms, and [email protected]. Ask what the FX treatment is on a purchase in a currency other than the euro, and what it costs to keep the account open each month. If the answer is “nothing” and “zero markup”, this is a first-class cost structure. Those two sentences are the ones to get in writing.
Three ordinary payments, and which fees bite
Take a week in Berlin for someone holding this card with a euro balance.
- Coffee. The crypto exchange fee of 0.1% plus €1 applies on conversion — the card states that card-spend conversion runs at 0.1% + €1. Small daily spending is where a flat fee hurts most, and it is worth remembering when you compare this with a card that charges only a percentage.
- A €60 train ticket booked online. Same conversion fee, proportionally less painful. This is the size of purchase the fee structure is actually designed around.
- A €200 hotel in Lisbon. Here you are outside the euro, and this is the purchase that turns the missing FX line from a curiosity into a real cost. What you pay depends entirely on a rate and a fee the card does not publish. If you travel regularly, this is the number to chase down before you book anything.
Two more patterns worth recognising. At an ATM, withdrawal is available with the physical card, limited to €3,000 a month and €350 a day, and the ATM fee is not listed — ATMs themselves usually charge their own operator fee on top, and that is not the card’s number to set. And on limits, note the shape: tier 1 caps card payments at €10,000 a day and a month and adds an overall outbound cap of €10,000 a month; tier 2 raises the monthly card-payment cap to €15,000 and removes the overall outbound limit, but the daily card-payment figure stays at €10,000.
None of this is bad. It is just not fully specified, and for a card aimed at people who are used to reading statements closely, unspecified is its own kind of risk.
How to top it up
Top-up is the part of this card that is clearly documented, and it is why the product exists.
You can deposit BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC (ERC20), USDC on Polygon, and BNB on BNB Smart Chain. Then you convert to fiat or spend directly. USDT is not listed. That omission is worth a sentence, because USDT is the single most-used stablecoin in the world — the BIS put roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in USDT and USDC combined as of July 2025 — and if your crypto sits in USDT, this card is not a direct route for you unless you convert it first. USDC, at least, is supported on two networks.
The cost of getting money in is 0.1% plus €1, the same figure as the card-spend conversion, whether you are depositing crypto or making a bank transfer in. A minimum is not stated.
Two technical points that decide whether a deposit arrives. First, network choice: Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — but your provider supports its own short list, and a transfer sent over a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible by nature. Second, gas: if you send ERC-20 tokens on Ethereum you need ETH in the wallet to pay the fee, so a wallet holding USDT and nothing else cannot send. Tron works differently, paying through bandwidth and energy and often burning TRX. And note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option anyway.
None of that is a criticism of this card specifically — it is how the chain works. It is just the reason the support network and the network name on the deposit screen are worth reading carefully before you press send, rather than after.
On the way out: crypto withdrawal is 0.1% plus €1 plus a third-party network fee, and bank transfer out is 0.1% plus €1. Two things are not described at all — what happens to your balance if you close the account, and the company reserves the right to close accounts with 30 days’ notice, immediately where fraud is involved. So the balance you leave behind is not documented, and the exit path has a clock on it. If you are treating this as a place to keep money rather than a place to spend from, that is the thing to ask about first.
Paying with it every day
This is the card’s best section and the one that earned it 10 out of 10, so let me be concrete about what “everyday” means here.
Both card types work with Apple Pay and Google Pay. Once you add the card to your phone’s wallet, most of your spending stops involving the physical object at all, and you get the usual tokenisation benefits: Apple Pay keeps a device-specific number in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. The issuer can also restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe use or on a particular channel. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for both the virtual and the physical card, which is convenient because you can start spending before the plastic arrives.
What is missing here is as informative as what is there. Categories blocked on the card are not stated. Cashback is not mentioned. And the site’s card network is not named, though the practical effect of Visa versus Mastercard is smaller than most people expect for ordinary shop purchases.
A realistic day: you unlock your phone, pay at the supermarket, the coffee app, the train ticket machine, and once a month you take out cash at an ATM. All of it works. What can interrupt it is the boring stuff — a declined online authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is worth knowing if you are living off the balance rather than topping it up weekly.
Chargebacks, refunds and getting money back
Disputes are not addressed on the public pages, and that is a genuine gap. Chargebacks work through the card issuer rather than the crypto brand, and reason codes run from fraud through duplicate billing to goods not received. Debit-card reversal rights in the US come from Regulation E, credit-card rights from Regulation Z, and coverage for prepaid cards varies and should not be assumed — prepaid-style cards, which is what many crypto cards are in practice, often sit outside the strongest protections. If a purchase goes wrong, you are in the issuer’s process, not a special crypto-friendly one.
Complaints are the more comfortable half of the picture: acknowledged within two business days and resolved in seven to ten business days. That is a reasonable, published commitment and one of the more reassuring things on this card’s site.
What can go wrong
I want to separate two different kinds of risk here: the card’s own behaviour, and the category’s structural risks, which apply to this card and every card like it.
On the card itself. The first thing to notice is what is not there. I found no Trustpilot page and no Reddit page for Confidopay in a single search, and no official incidents — no reports of a shutdown, a freeze, or a mass withdrawal. In one sense that is good news. In another sense it is thin evidence, because a product with a short history has had less time to accumulate a public record either way. I would rather tell you that plainly than dress it up as a reputation.
The company structure is the reassuring part, and it is worth understanding who actually holds your money. Confidopay UAB is a Lithuanian company, number 306414477, at Mėsinių g. 5, Vilnius. The card issuer is Wallester AS in Tallinn, Estonia, registration 11812881 — an established European institution rather than a start-up. Virtual asset services and the Virtual IBAN come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, which holds an Estonian VASP licence, FVT000546. That is a regulated crypto service provider inside a regulated European framework. Under MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, the transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — so it is worth checking a provider’s status on ESMA’s interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities rather than assuming every name you find is authorised.
That structure is also the explanation for the limits. The card is not issued by the crypto company; it is issued by an EU e-money institution, which must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them. Note what that does and does not mean: safeguarded e-money is not a bank deposit, and it may not sit inside a deposit guarantee scheme. If that distinction matters to you, it should be a factor.
Security features are stated: encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications. What is not stated is the custody model and the safeguarding arrangement, which is the single thing I would most want written down. A card that holds your crypto for you means someone else has the keys, and the difference between a card whose funds are safeguarded in segregated accounts and one that simply holds them is enormous. Do not assume it either way.
Support is [email protected], with live chat Monday to Friday 09:00–17:00 CET and email replies in 24–48 business hours. Those hours are Central European, and the reply window is slow by consumer standards — plan your questions accordingly, especially around a verification deadline.
The structural risks nobody can design away
These apply to the whole category, and they are the reason I would not treat this card as a savings account for a large balance.
Crypto transfers are irreversible. There is no built-in recovery for a transfer to the wrong network or address, and no mechanism for the network to freeze or return funds. Deposits carry the risk permanently; spend-side purchases are the safer direction.
Stablecoins can and do depeg. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022. USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If you are holding value in a stablecoin and spending it, you are holding a value that is stable by intention rather than by contract.
Stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. That is a compliance feature, and it is also a reminder that on-chain assets can be frozen by an issuer.
Card programmes get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures tend to follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so the one cost nobody can waive in a top-up is not theirs.
Custody has a body count. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. If this card holds your keys, you are exposed to that category of risk. Self-custody reverses it: the funds stay in your wallet until the moment of payment, and you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps an address you copied.
Foreign BINs get declined. The first six or eight digits of a card identify the issuing institution, and merchants can look them up and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. Address Verification Service compares numeric parts of a billing address and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. This is why an Estonian-issued card can look “foreign” in a shop somewhere else — and it is worth remembering that the merchant, not you, is making that call.
Merchant category rules are discretionary. Gambling, for example, sits under a four-digit category code that many issuers block by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. Confidopay does not state which categories it blocks, so you will not know until a payment is refused.
Taxes, briefly and without advice
This is not advice and not a complete picture — check with a professional in your own jurisdiction — but the mechanic is worth knowing. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency using the fair market value on the date of the transaction. If you spend a crypto-funded card payment by payment, each one can be a separate disposal. That is a bookkeeping consequence of using this card, not a trap, but it is easier to plan for now than to reconstruct later.
What to take instead
If the Confidopay eligibility rules or its unlisted FX fee do not suit you, the category has other options, and they differ in ways worth being specific about. Scores here are on the same ten-point scale as the headline number, so you can compare like with like.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Issuance | Standing fees | FX |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Confidopay | 7.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical, network not stated | €0 both | Monthly not listed | Not listed; conversion 0.1% + €1 |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | $5 one-time | Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | Visa rate + 2% FX fee |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency, Mastercard network | Issuance not stated | No annual fee | No FX fee; live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit | Not stated | Not stated (“see Cardholder Agreement”) | Zero FX fees or markups, real-time Visa rate |
That table hides more than it shows, so let me take each one in turn.
International Visa Card is the broadest on paper. It excludes residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, reviews FATF grey-list countries case by case, and blocks purchases in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela — note that this rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship, which is a different design from Confidopay’s. It pays in USD, has a $5 one-time virtual issuance, no maintenance fee on the Classic plan, and a 2% FX fee on foreign currency spend on top of the Visa exchange rate. Deposits of any kind are free, and you can fund with USDC or USDT into the USD account, or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT or FedNow. Its weak point is the physical card: “coming soon”. If you need plastic, it is not there.
UNi Card is the cheapest to hold and the vaguest to evaluate. It is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network that spends from the UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, and assets converted at live OTC rates with what the card describes as no hidden exchange fees. It also offers spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. Against that: eligibility is not stated, the physical-versus-virtual question is not stated, the issuance fee is not stated, and top-up is not stated either. Those four gaps are large for a financial product.
Morse comes closest to Confidopay on score, and it is genuinely worth a look if you are outside the EEA. Eligibility is by residence rather than citizenship — you must be at least 18 and resident in a supported country, with the app available in over 140 countries and local add/withdraw in over 70. It cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions, and also to UK, EU and UN sanctions. Some countries are in closed beta and need an invite code: American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, the United Kingdom and Western Sahara. The card is fully virtual for now and is a Visa prepaid debit that spends from the balance in any currency. Its cost story is the strongest of the three: zero FX fees or markups at the real-time Visa exchange rate, and paying online or contactless is free. Funding includes debit card, stablecoin transfer and account details (USD, EUR, MXN, COP, with BRL requiring a Brazilian CPF); USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free while other tokens and blockchains carry a fee, and Bitcoin, USDT and Ethereum can be deposited. Critically for anyone worried about custody, the Morse Wallet is self-custodial. What is missing is the fee schedule itself — the card page points to a Cardholder Agreement rather than listing figures — and a published list of supported countries.
How I would choose between them
- If you are in the EEA and hold crypto: Confidopay, after asking support the two questions about FX and monthly fees.
- If you are in the EEA and want to hold your own keys: Morse, accepting the invite-code list and the unpublished fee schedule.
- If you need a physical card today and a US dollar balance: International Visa Card, with the 2% FX fee as the price of access.
- If you want the simplest recurring fees in the category: UNi Card, on the strength of no annual fee and no FX fee, provided you can get answers on eligibility and funding.
- If you are outside all of these regions: none of these four. This category is built on European and US licensing, and outside their jurisdictions the honest answer is that you are looking at the wrong shelf.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Confidopay card to an EEA resident who has crypto sitting on-chain, has been declined by a mainstream bank or simply prefers not to depend on one, and wants a card that works in shops today. The conversion fee of 0.1% plus €1 is well below what most of this category charges, the card is free to create, both Apple Pay and Google Pay work, and the ATM limits are generous enough that cash is not a problem. The licensing underneath is real — an Estonian issuer and a licensed European crypto service provider — and there is no public history of failure.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You live outside the EEA and Switzerland. You are an EEA resident but a Russian citizen without a second qualifying citizenship. You are in Hungary, where onboarding is suspended. You need a card denominated in something other than the euro, or you need to know your foreign exchange cost before you book anything. You plan to hold a large balance for a long time, because the balance-return position on closure is not described and the company can close accounts on 30 days’ notice. You want to hold your own keys. Or you intend to dispute a payment, because chargebacks are not addressed on the public pages.
For the rest of you — the large middle of the eligible group who just want to spend what they hold — it is a good card, and the two things you should do before you rely on it are unglamorous: check your provider’s authorisation status on ESMA’s interim register, and ask support what the FX treatment is and whether there is a monthly fee. Those two answers will tell you more about whether this card fits your life than anything else on its website.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Confidopay card?
The Confidopay card is a payment card you fund with crypto rather than with a salary. You deposit supported assets, convert them to fiat or spend directly, and the balance pays for purchases as ordinary card transactions. There is a virtual card available immediately after verification and a physical card as well, and both work with Apple Pay and Google Pay. It is aimed at people who cannot easily get a conventional bank card.
How does the Confidopay card work?
Card spend triggers a conversion from your crypto balance at a stated 0.1% plus €1, and the resulting euro balance pays the merchant. It works like a prepaid card rather than a debit card linked to a bank account, which means it spends only what is loaded and cannot overdraw. Behind the scenes the card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and the crypto services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, a licensed Estonian virtual asset service provider.
Who owns Confidopay?
Confidopay UAB is a Lithuanian company, number 306414477, registered at Mėsinių g. 5, Vilnius. It is not itself the bank: the payment card is issued by Wallester AS in Tallinn, Estonia, registration 11812881, and virtual asset services and the Virtual IBAN are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS under VASP licence FVT000546.
Is Confidopay a bank?
No, and the distinction matters. The card sits on e-money and payment-services law rather than deposit law. Because the issuer is an electronic money institution, customer funds must be safeguarded by segregation in dedicated accounts or insurance, but safeguarded e-money is not a bank deposit and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The crypto side sits under MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation.
Is the Confidopay card available in my country?
It depends on two separate rules. To be eligible you need citizenship or residence in an EEA state or Switzerland, and the payment cards themselves are only issued to EEA residents; onboarding in Hungary is suspended. Separately, card payments are blocked in listed jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine in part, the UAE and Türkiye. Check both before you apply.
Does the Confidopay card require KYC?
Yes, and there are two tiers. Tier 1 needs an ID card or passport for EEA and Swiss citizens, or a passport for others, plus a selfie; third-country citizens in the EEA or Switzerland also need a residence permit, and proof of address may be requested. Tier 2 is triggered at €15,000 of virtual-asset inflow or €25,000 in total and requires proof of address within three months plus source of funds, with 30 days to complete while keeping full access.
How much does the Confidopay card cost?
Creating a physical or virtual card is €0, and crypto exchange on card spend is 0.1% plus €1, as is each crypto deposit or incoming bank transfer. No monthly or annual fee is listed, and the FX fee is not listed either — which are the two numbers worth confirming with support before you rely on the card. Crypto withdrawal adds a third-party network fee on top of 0.1% plus €1.
How do I top up the Confidopay card?
You can deposit BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on ERC20, USDC on Polygon, or BNB on BNB Smart Chain, then convert or spend. USDT is not listed among the supported assets. Each deposit costs 0.1% plus €1 and no minimum is stated. Make sure you send over a network the card supports, since transfers are irreversible and the wrong network can mean lost funds.
Can I add the Confidopay card to Apple Wallet?
Yes — Apple Pay is supported for both the virtual and the physical card, as is Google Pay. Adding the card replaces your card number with a device-specific token in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time security code. You can start paying this way with the virtual card before any plastic arrives.
Is the Confidopay card safe, and what should I watch out for?
There is no public record of failure: no Trustpilot or Reddit page was found, and no official incidents surfaced. Underneath, the issuer and crypto service provider are both licensed European entities, and the card’s stated safeguards include encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications. What is not stated is the custody model and safeguarding arrangement, so ask before you hold a large balance, and remember that card programmes in this category can be shut down — as the FTX card was after Visa terminated its agreements in November 2022.
App and neobank cards: your questions answered – cryptocardanswers
Content created by the «cryptocardanswers» team
